Lotus F1 Team German GP review

Lotus F1 Team German GP review

20.07.2014: On And On And On - 2014 German GP, Sunday Pastor Maldonado equalled his season-best finish of twelfth

On And On And On - 2014 German GP, Sunday




Pastor Maldonado equalled his season-best finish of twelfth from his P19 starting position whilst Romain Grosjean was forced to retire from the German Grand Prix with a cooling issue on his E22.


 The team demonstrated good race pace as it adapted to its first race weekend without a hydraulically connected suspension system yet maintained its signature tyre performance longevity trait with Pastor making two pit stops instead of the three completed by most race finishers. 


•    Romain started from P14 on new soft compound tyres, changing to new super soft tyres after 24 laps. He retired from the race after 26 laps because of an issue with his car’s cooling system.

•    Pastor started from nineteenth position on new super soft tyres. He pitted on lap 18 for new super soft tyres and lap 38 for new softs.



Romain Grosjean, DNF, E22-03


“We didn’t have an easy start with the soft tyres and I struggled to warm them up after the safety car too, but our overall pace was quite good today. I suffered from a loss of power due to an issue with our cooling system so was asked to switch off the car.


It’s such a shame as we were on a different strategy from our rivals so we looked like we could be on course for scoring points. Sometimes that’s how it goes in motor racing.”



Pastor Maldonado, P12, E22-01


“It was a tough race from the beginning; the incident in turn one was quite tricky to avoid but then the pace looked consistent. I did my best to manage the tyre degradation, which was quite high, and we were able to do only two stops.


Today’s lower temperature helped us there as well. The initial plan included three stops but we had a competitive first stint so we went for plan B which worked well for us today.”



Federico Gastaldi, Deputy Team Principal


"There was great evidence of the team’s spirit over the whole weekend in Hockenheim. We lost our suspension system which has meant a new challenge and some long days adapting the car to work in its new configuration.


Despite this, we had good race strategies and looked to be managing the tyres well with the pit stop crew making some fantastically fast tyre changes during the course of the race. Pastor drove impeccably all race and was unlucky not to be rewarded with points.


Romain drove superbly too, but we weren’t able to give him a reliable car today. We have improvements planned for Budapest and hope to perform much better there.”



Alan Permane, Trackside Operations Director


"It was a good drive from Pastor from nineteenth to twelfth. We stretched out the tyre performance lift to make two stops possible rather than the three completed by most other teams as the E22 and Pastor were working well on this strategy.


 It’s a shame we couldn’t make up the last couple of places and get some points, but it was a great race from Pastor nonetheless. Unfortunately we had a failure on part of the water system on Romain’s car, which we will investigate back at Enstone to ensure it doesn’t happen again.”



Simon Rebreyend, Renault Sport F1 track support leader

“The team has struggled to get a good balance on the car all weekend. It was always going to be a hard race from our starting positions so Pastor did a good job to get into 12th. On Romain’s car a cooling issue caused some problems and the team stopped it to avoid further damage to the Power Unit. All eyes forward to Hungary now.”



 Andy Stobart, photos Lotus F1

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/lotus-f1-team-german-gp-review-pastor-maldonado---125594.html

20.07.2014 / MaP

More News

Sahara Force India F1 German GP race review
20.07.2014
Formula 1 Grosser Preis Santander von Deutschland: Race Hockenheim Sahara Force India scored seven points in today’s German Grand Prix with Nico Hulkenberg finishing in seventh place and Sergio Perez in 10th.  more >>
Caterham F1 Team German GP review
20.07.2014
2014 GERMAN GRAND PRIXHockenheim, Germany - 20th July 2014   Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationTruphone’s mission is to deliver an outstanding international mobile experience around the world. more >>
Hockenheim German GP race classification 2014
20.07.2014
FORMULA 1 GROSSER PREIS SANTANDER VON DEUTSCHLAND 2014Provisional Results1     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     67     Winner     1    more >>
Pirelli German GP qualifying review 2014
20.07.2014
photo caption: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) sets pole position for his home race tomorrow, the German Grand Prix.      - Supersoft the quickest tyre in hot qualifying conditions- Two-stop strate more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 German GP qualifying
20.07.2014
•    Nico topped the timesheets in all three sessions today, ending with the fastest lap time of the weekend, a 1:16.540 •    The pole position represents his fifth of the season and the ninth in ten races more >>
Sahara Force India F1 German GP qualifying review
20.07.2014
Formula 1 Grosser Preis Santander von Deutschland: Qualifying Qualifying for the German Grand Prix saw both Sahara Force Indias finish inside the top ten with Nico Hulkenberg ending the session in ninth just ahead of Sergio Pere more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 German GP qualifying review
20.07.2014
Saturday 19 July 2014 GERMAN GP – QUALIFYING DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 5th, (3rd Practice – P7, 1:18.769)“It wasn’t too bad today, we would like to be further forward than fifth, but the lap I did more >>
Lotus F1 Team German GP qualifying review
20.07.2014
2014 German GP, Saturday  19th JulyRomain Grosjean qualified in fifteenth and Pastor Maldonado nineteenth after a searing hot qualifying session at the Hockenheimring for the German Grand Prix. Romain went through to the sec more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 German GP qualifying review
20.07.2014
2014 GERMAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 19/07/2014 Daniil Kvyat (STR9-03)Third Practice Session Best lap: 1:19.131, pos. 11th, 19 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:18.530, (Q2) 1:18.103, (Q3) 1:17 more >>
Sauber F1 Team German GP qualifying review
20.07.2014
Santander German Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 19.07.2014Weather: sunny and dry, 29-34°C air, 44-58°C trackIn qualifying for the German Grand Prix on the Hockenheimring the two Sauber F1 Te more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 German GP qualifying review
19.07.2014
2014 SANTANDER GERMAN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGHockenheimring, Saturday July 19An afternoon of mixed fortunes for our drivers.Kevin has ridden a great wave of form all weekend – he estab more >>
Caterham F1 Team Hockenheim qualifying review
19.07.2014
2014 GERMAN GRAND PRIX - FP3 & QUALIFYING Hockenheim, Germany - 19th July 2014   Caterham F1 Team Partner informationDell.com is the #1 technology marketplace in the world more >>
Hockenheim F1 German GP qualifying result
19.07.2014
Formula1  Grosser Preis Santander von Deutschland 2014 Hockenheimring1     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:17.631    1:17.109    more >>
Hockenheim German GP Free Practice 3 classification
19.07.2014
FORMULA 1 GROSSER PREIS SANTANDER VON DEUTSCHLAND 20141     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:17.779         242     44 &nb more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 German GP practices
18.07.2014
Hockenheim - 18/07/2014  The team's home race, the German Grand Prix, kicked off today at Hockenheim with both Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg topping the timesheets in the first two practice sessions. &bu more >>
Pirelli German GP practice sessions review
18.07.2014
2014 German Grand Prix – Practice Sessionsphoto caption: Nico Rosberg fastest time at Hockenheim- Free Practice takes place with some of the hottest track temperatures seen all year- Between two and thr more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 German GP Practices
18.07.2014
2014 SANTANDER GERMAN GRAND PRIX – FREE PRACTICEHockenheimring, Friday July 18With track temperatures reaching a scorching 58deg this afternoon, the team’s main focus during Friday’s two practice sessions was on how to be more >>
Renault Sport F1 German GP practices review
18.07.2014
Key practice points:•    Searing temperatures of over 30°C for the opening day of practice at the German Grand Prix. Track temperatures peak at over 50°C•    Renault-powered teams continu more >>
Sahara Force India F1 German GP practices
18.07.2014
Formula 1 Grosser Preis Santander Von Deutschland: Free Practice  Sahara Force India began its preparations for the German Grand Prix with a solid performance in both of today’s practice sessions at Hockenheim.  more >>
Caterham F1 Team German GP practices review
18.07.2014
2014 GERMAN GRAND PRIX - FP1 / FP2 Hockenheim, Germany - 18th July 2014   Caterham F1 Team Partner informationGermany is the home of the highly regarded CNN German Journalist Awards which this year celebrated its tenth an more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 German GP practices
18.07.2014
2014 GERMAN GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 18/07/2014Daniil Kvyat (STR9-03)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:20.337, pos. 9th, 28 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:19.452, pos. 12th, 27 laps more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 German GP practices
18.07.2014
GERMAN GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE at HockenheimringDANIEL RICCIARDOFirst Practice Session: Position: 4, Best Time: 1:19.697, Laps: 27Second Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:18.443, Laps: 35 more >>
Lotus F1 Team German GP practices review
18.07.2014
Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado completed the first day of running at the Hockenheim circuit in scorching weather ahead of this weekend’s German Grand Prix. Both drivers completed their programmes of suspension, more >>
Sauber F1 Team German GP Practices review
18.07.2014
Santander German Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 18.07.2014Weather: sunny and dry, 26-33°C air, 36-59°C trackThe first practice day for the German Grand Prix in Hockenheim was dominated by the sunny weat more >>
German GP Hockenheim Free Practice 2 classification
18.07.2014
FORMULA 1 GROSSER PREIS SANTANDER VON DEUTSCHLAND 20141     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:18.341         382     6  &nbs more >>
Hockenheim German GP Free Practice 1 classification
18.07.2014
FORMULA 1 GROSSER PREIS SANTANDER VON DEUTSCHLAND Hockenheimring 2014 1     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:19.131         29 more >>
Nico Rosberg erzählt am Rande des CHIO in Aachen von seiner Hochzeit und seinen Chancen auf den WM-Titel
16.07.2014
Es ist die größte und renommierteste Reitsportveranstaltung der Welt: der CHIO in Aachen. Viele sagen, der CHIO sei so etwas wie das "Wimbledon" des Reitsports. Andere wiederum sagen: Falsch, Aachen ist viel mehr als das! Ein paar Zahlen gef& more >>
Pirelli German GP Hockenheimring preview
16.07.2014
German Grand Prix Hockenheim, 17-20 July 2014photo caption:  Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) won the 2012 German Grand Prix at Hockenheim.- Soft and Supersoft tyres for a circuit used by Formula One just once every two years more >>
Renault Sport F1 Hockenheim preview
16.07.2014
GERMAN GRAND PRIX 2014 at Hockenheimring  Hockenheim in numbers :(with 1 being the easiest, 5 being the most severe)INTERNAL COMBUSTION ENGINE    4MGU-K    4MGU-H  &n more >>
On the Pit Wall with Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
16.07.2014
Venue Familiarity  Having alternated with the Nürburgring as the venue for the German Grand Prix in recent seasons, Hockenheim has not been visited by the teams for two years by the time we reach the race weekend. Unlike in Austria, more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 German GP preview
16.07.2014
2014 German Grand Prix - Hockenheim Round 10 of the 2014 Formula One World Championship brings us to Hockenheim for the German Grand Prix, held at the Hockenheimring.   Driver / Senio more >>
Caterham F1 German GP preview
16.07.2014
2014 GERMAN GRAND PRIX at HockenheimringQuick description Race Laps: 67Combination of high speed corners (>240 kph T1 and T12), long full throttle distance (1100mts) and slow corners where good traction is very important more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 German GP Hockenheim preview
16.07.2014
2014 Santander German Grand Prix  The German Grand Prix is one of the most iconic races in Formula 1. It was first included on the world championship calendar in 1951, when it was held at the infamous Nurburgring Nordschleife, and hosted more >>
Sahara Force India F1 German GP preview
16.07.2014
  Formula 1 Grosser Preis Santander von Deutschland Vijay’s VisionVijay Mallya sums up Silverstone and looks ahead to the German Grand Prix. How would you sum up the team’s performance at Silverstone?It became clear on Friday that our car was sensitive to th more >>
Sauber F1 Team German GP Hockenheim preview
16.07.2014
 2014 Santander German Grand Prix10th Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 18th to 20th July 2014The German Grand Prix is not only a home race for Adrian Sutil, but also for the Sauber F1 Team, as the Hockenheimr more >>
Lotus F1 Team German GP Hockenheim preview
16.07.2014
Romain Grosjean:After paying the price from a difficult start position at Silverstone, Romain Grosjean is determined to put up more of a fight in the German Grand Prix…A top ten grid place will be the first target for Ho more >>
Nico Rosberg gegen Lewis Hamilton: Teamduell wie einst Senna gegen Prost?
01.07.2014
Großen Preis Santander von Deutschland auf dem Hockenheimring Baden-WürttembergOffiziell ist alles in Ordnung. Offiziell kämpfen der Deutsche Nico Rosberg und der Englän more >>
Erfolgreiches Formel-1-Wochenende am Nürburgring
10.07.2013
Nürburgring zieht positive Bilanz nach dem Großen Preis Santander von Deutschland„Es hat alles reibungslos geklappt“, so das erfreuliche Fazit von Dr. Karl-Josef Schmidt, dem Gesch&a more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Nurburgring race
07.07.2013
GERMAN GP – RACE Car 1 SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Finish Position: WINNER, Start Position: 2nd“It was a tough race; it was one of the toughest for a long time. I’m happy the race wasn’t t more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright