Lotus F1 Team Hungarian GP preview

Lotus F1 Team Hungarian GP preview

23.07.2014: HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX 25/26/27 JULY 2014 HUNGARORING ROMAIN GROSJEAN RACE DRIVER #

HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX 25/26/27 JULY 2014
HUNGARORING

ROMAIN GROSJEAN RACE DRIVER #8


I love Budapest



What are your thoughts on Budapest?


I love Budapest and I love the Hungaroring. It’s a place that I really look forward to visiting every year. It is usually sunny and hot and is just before the summer break so you give all the energy you have before you go on holiday. It is an exciting Grand Prix every year.


What is it about the Hungaroring that you particularly like?


It’s a great track and one that’s suited us in the past. It was great to be on the podium there in 2012. I can remember feeling frustrated that year as we did have a chance to be fighting for the win, but that didn’t work out because of traffic. I like the circuit with its style of up and downs and twisty corners.


I like the feeling you get when driving on the track and the grip you get from it. I’ve been very quick in qualifying every time there. I did one of my best overtakes in my career in Formula 1 last year and I got penalised for a few small centimetres which was tough at the time…Nevertheless, it is hard to overtake at the Hungaroring making qualifying very, very important, as is the race strategy.


What’s the key to a good result in Budapest?


Qualifying. It’s a tight and twisty track so you do need a good qualifying result. We showed in 2012 that being on the front row certainly helps and last year’s P3 wasn’t too bad either.



What other memories do you have of the track?

I scored my first GP2 Series pole position there in 2008. In 2011 I won and finished third, which was a pretty good weekend. Driving-wise, it’s not the most physically challenging in terms of high speed corners, but the heat you experience in the cockpit can be quite an issue.


It can also be a difficult circuit early in the weekend as the track is not used very much, meaning it’s quite slippery when you first go out.



How was your German Grand Prix weekend?


Frustrating as we didn’t finish the race and we also lost some pace on the car with the move away from the interlinked suspension system. In terms of my driving, I was absolutely giving all I could. I had a great start in the race, but then we struggled with tyre temperature after the safety car.


Our race pace was a lot better than our qualifying pace and I know the team will make progress to reclaim some of the speed we’ve lost.



With pace so hard to come by for the team in 2014, what’s the approach to a race weekend?


You just have to maximise everything. We’re fully focused on making the very best we can in every lap of each session. Of course, the results are very different from those we enjoyed over the last two seasons but our approach is the same. We are still learning a lot about the E22 and there’s still pace to come so we just keep pushing.



After Budapest there’s the summer break – are you looking forward to that?


Of course, as a racer you always want to be out on track, but as there are no Grands Prix it would be good to get a little rest and particularly to spend some time with my family.


Naturally, I’ll continue with my training as that’s something you do all through the year, but it’s important to return refreshed from the summer break as there’s plenty of travelling for the final eight races of the year.


Romain Grosjean gives his thoughts on a track where he’s enjoyed good results in the past as well as looking forward to a little rest afterwards.


It’s a place that I really look forward to visiting every year.





PASTOR MALDONADO
RACE DRIVER #13


One of the best of the season



Are you looking forward to Budapest?



The Hungarian Grand Prix is one of the best of the season. We are very close to Budapest and I like the city very much. There is a big community of fans at the race weekend and the people are very friendly. On track, it can be very challenging.


The weather is usually very hot there and it is very demanding from a physical point of view. It is one of the races that I enjoy best because of these demands and I really like the challenge that it presents.




What are your thoughts on the Hungaroring?



It is a very demanding circuit for drivers as it is often very hot and there are limited overtaking opportunities. It has quite a slow speed layout, so we’ll be able to see how much improvement we’ve made on this type of configuration.


Qualifying is so important at this track because of the small number of overtaking opportunities, but I’ve qualified well there in the past so hopefully I can deliver a strong performance that will give the team a boost as we head into the summer break. I have won there in other categories so the track has good memories for me. The fans create a great atmosphere and it’s always good to race at a track where there is a strong feeling like this.




The team recently confirmed you for 2015?


I joined Lotus F1 Team on a multi-year deal, but there is always talk and gossip in Formula 1 about drivers and teams. We both know we haven’t had the first season either of us wanted in terms of results so this was a clear statement that we’re both committed to working together and getting results in the future.


From my perspective, I’m fully behind Lotus F1 Team and I know we’ll achieve great things together.



How would you assess your German Grand Prix?


Though we didn’t score any points it was a good race as we had a reliable car and our lap times weren’t bad relative to our opposition. Qualifying was frustrating, as we didn’t get all we wanted out of the car so it’s always difficult when you start so far back on the grid.


 We had the suspension changes to get used to, so it was good to run the race distance and get a lot of data to help us for the next races. It was quite an eventful race; I’m happy that we made it to the end without any incidents to report.



What are your plans for the summer break?


Some time with my family of course! They are very important to me so that’s why I spend as much time as I can with them, even over Grands Prix weekends. I think the summer break is more important for the team and all the crew who do so many long hours over the course of the season.


For me as a driver, I get pretty well looked after and I don’t have to work late nights on the car. There’s a lot of travel in the second half of the year so we all need to be refreshed and ready to go.




- Andy Stobart -   photo Lotus

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/lotus-f1-team-hungarian-gp-preview-grosjean-maldonado---125706.html

23.07.2014 / MaP

More News

Renault Sport F1 German GP race review
20.07.2014
GERMAN GRAND PRIX 2014  Renault-powered Infiniti Red Bull Racing finished the German Grand Prix in fourth and sixth positions following a thrilling race at the Hockenheimring. Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo batt more >>
Pirelli German GP F1 race review
20.07.2014
- Nico Rosberg wins his home Grand Prix with two-stop strategy- Hamilton makes up 17 places with three-stop strategy- Soft and supersoft tyres ensure close racing from start to finishNico Rosberg (Mercedes) celebrat more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 German GP race
20.07.2014
Hockenheim - 20/07/2014 RACE  Nico Rosberg took a dominating home victory at the German Grand Prix with Lewis Hamilton finishing in third position, gaining 17 places from the grid. •  more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 German GP review
20.07.2014
2014 SANTANDER GERMAN GRAND PRIXHockenheimring, Sunday July 20This was a day that promised much, but delivered comparatively little. From fourth on the grid, Kevin Magnussen looked set for a more >>
Sauber F1 Team German GP race
20.07.2014
Santander German Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 20.07.2014 Weather: sunny/overcast and dry, 24-26°C air, 32-34°C trackEsteban Gutiérrez finished the German Grand Prix at the Hockenheimring in 14th. Adrian Suti more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 German GP race
20.07.2014
2014 GERMAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 20/07/2014  Jean-Eric Vergne (STR9-01)RacePosition: 13th"I was having a good race until the moment in which I had to make a five seconds stop-and-g more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 German GP race review
20.07.2014
Sunday 20 July 2014  GERMAN GP – RACE SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Finish Position: 4th, Start Position: 5th“It was fun with Fernando today – we started maybe where we left off in Silverstone! It was quite enterta more >>
Lotus F1 Team German GP review
20.07.2014
On And On And On - 2014 German GP, SundayPastor Maldonado equalled his season-best finish of twelfth from his P19 starting position whilst Romain Grosjean was forced to retire from the German Grand Prix with a cooling is more >>
Sahara Force India F1 German GP race review
20.07.2014
Formula 1 Grosser Preis Santander von Deutschland: Race Hockenheim Sahara Force India scored seven points in today’s German Grand Prix with Nico Hulkenberg finishing in seventh place and Sergio Perez in 10th.  more >>
Caterham F1 Team German GP review
20.07.2014
2014 GERMAN GRAND PRIXHockenheim, Germany - 20th July 2014   Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationTruphone’s mission is to deliver an outstanding international mobile experience around the world. more >>
Hockenheim German GP race classification 2014
20.07.2014
FORMULA 1 GROSSER PREIS SANTANDER VON DEUTSCHLAND 2014Provisional Results1     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     67     Winner     1    more >>
Pirelli German GP qualifying review 2014
20.07.2014
photo caption: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) sets pole position for his home race tomorrow, the German Grand Prix.      - Supersoft the quickest tyre in hot qualifying conditions- Two-stop strate more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 German GP qualifying
20.07.2014
•    Nico topped the timesheets in all three sessions today, ending with the fastest lap time of the weekend, a 1:16.540 •    The pole position represents his fifth of the season and the ninth in ten races more >>
Sahara Force India F1 German GP qualifying review
20.07.2014
Formula 1 Grosser Preis Santander von Deutschland: Qualifying Qualifying for the German Grand Prix saw both Sahara Force Indias finish inside the top ten with Nico Hulkenberg ending the session in ninth just ahead of Sergio Pere more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 German GP qualifying review
20.07.2014
Saturday 19 July 2014 GERMAN GP – QUALIFYING DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 5th, (3rd Practice – P7, 1:18.769)“It wasn’t too bad today, we would like to be further forward than fifth, but the lap I did more >>
Lotus F1 Team German GP qualifying review
20.07.2014
2014 German GP, Saturday  19th JulyRomain Grosjean qualified in fifteenth and Pastor Maldonado nineteenth after a searing hot qualifying session at the Hockenheimring for the German Grand Prix. Romain went through to the sec more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 German GP qualifying review
20.07.2014
2014 GERMAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 19/07/2014 Daniil Kvyat (STR9-03)Third Practice Session Best lap: 1:19.131, pos. 11th, 19 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:18.530, (Q2) 1:18.103, (Q3) 1:17 more >>
Sauber F1 Team German GP qualifying review
20.07.2014
Santander German Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 19.07.2014Weather: sunny and dry, 29-34°C air, 44-58°C trackIn qualifying for the German Grand Prix on the Hockenheimring the two Sauber F1 Te more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 German GP qualifying review
19.07.2014
2014 SANTANDER GERMAN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGHockenheimring, Saturday July 19An afternoon of mixed fortunes for our drivers.Kevin has ridden a great wave of form all weekend – he estab more >>
Caterham F1 Team Hockenheim qualifying review
19.07.2014
2014 GERMAN GRAND PRIX - FP3 & QUALIFYING Hockenheim, Germany - 19th July 2014   Caterham F1 Team Partner informationDell.com is the #1 technology marketplace in the world more >>
Hockenheim F1 German GP qualifying result
19.07.2014
Formula1  Grosser Preis Santander von Deutschland 2014 Hockenheimring1     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:17.631    1:17.109    more >>
Hockenheim German GP Free Practice 3 classification
19.07.2014
FORMULA 1 GROSSER PREIS SANTANDER VON DEUTSCHLAND 20141     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:17.779         242     44 &nb more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 German GP practices
18.07.2014
Hockenheim - 18/07/2014  The team's home race, the German Grand Prix, kicked off today at Hockenheim with both Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg topping the timesheets in the first two practice sessions. &bu more >>
Pirelli German GP practice sessions review
18.07.2014
2014 German Grand Prix – Practice Sessionsphoto caption: Nico Rosberg fastest time at Hockenheim- Free Practice takes place with some of the hottest track temperatures seen all year- Between two and thr more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 German GP Practices
18.07.2014
2014 SANTANDER GERMAN GRAND PRIX – FREE PRACTICEHockenheimring, Friday July 18With track temperatures reaching a scorching 58deg this afternoon, the team’s main focus during Friday’s two practice sessions was on how to be more >>
Renault Sport F1 German GP practices review
18.07.2014
Key practice points:•    Searing temperatures of over 30°C for the opening day of practice at the German Grand Prix. Track temperatures peak at over 50°C•    Renault-powered teams continu more >>
Sahara Force India F1 German GP practices
18.07.2014
Formula 1 Grosser Preis Santander Von Deutschland: Free Practice  Sahara Force India began its preparations for the German Grand Prix with a solid performance in both of today’s practice sessions at Hockenheim.  more >>
Caterham F1 Team German GP practices review
18.07.2014
2014 GERMAN GRAND PRIX - FP1 / FP2 Hockenheim, Germany - 18th July 2014   Caterham F1 Team Partner informationGermany is the home of the highly regarded CNN German Journalist Awards which this year celebrated its tenth an more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 German GP practices
18.07.2014
2014 GERMAN GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 18/07/2014Daniil Kvyat (STR9-03)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:20.337, pos. 9th, 28 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:19.452, pos. 12th, 27 laps more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 German GP practices
18.07.2014
GERMAN GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE at HockenheimringDANIEL RICCIARDOFirst Practice Session: Position: 4, Best Time: 1:19.697, Laps: 27Second Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:18.443, Laps: 35 more >>
Lotus F1 Team German GP practices review
18.07.2014
Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado completed the first day of running at the Hockenheim circuit in scorching weather ahead of this weekend’s German Grand Prix. Both drivers completed their programmes of suspension, more >>
Sauber F1 Team German GP Practices review
18.07.2014
Santander German Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 18.07.2014Weather: sunny and dry, 26-33°C air, 36-59°C trackThe first practice day for the German Grand Prix in Hockenheim was dominated by the sunny weat more >>
German GP Hockenheim Free Practice 2 classification
18.07.2014
FORMULA 1 GROSSER PREIS SANTANDER VON DEUTSCHLAND 20141     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:18.341         382     6  &nbs more >>
Hockenheim German GP Free Practice 1 classification
18.07.2014
FORMULA 1 GROSSER PREIS SANTANDER VON DEUTSCHLAND Hockenheimring 2014 1     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:19.131         29 more >>
Nico Rosberg erzählt am Rande des CHIO in Aachen von seiner Hochzeit und seinen Chancen auf den WM-Titel
16.07.2014
Es ist die größte und renommierteste Reitsportveranstaltung der Welt: der CHIO in Aachen. Viele sagen, der CHIO sei so etwas wie das "Wimbledon" des Reitsports. Andere wiederum sagen: Falsch, Aachen ist viel mehr als das! Ein paar Zahlen gef& more >>
Pirelli German GP Hockenheimring preview
16.07.2014
German Grand Prix Hockenheim, 17-20 July 2014photo caption:  Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) won the 2012 German Grand Prix at Hockenheim.- Soft and Supersoft tyres for a circuit used by Formula One just once every two years more >>
Renault Sport F1 Hockenheim preview
16.07.2014
GERMAN GRAND PRIX 2014 at Hockenheimring  Hockenheim in numbers :(with 1 being the easiest, 5 being the most severe)INTERNAL COMBUSTION ENGINE    4MGU-K    4MGU-H  &n more >>
On the Pit Wall with Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
16.07.2014
Venue Familiarity  Having alternated with the Nürburgring as the venue for the German Grand Prix in recent seasons, Hockenheim has not been visited by the teams for two years by the time we reach the race weekend. Unlike in Austria, more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 German GP preview
16.07.2014
2014 German Grand Prix - Hockenheim Round 10 of the 2014 Formula One World Championship brings us to Hockenheim for the German Grand Prix, held at the Hockenheimring.   Driver / Senio more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright