McLaren Honda F1 Team Singapore Grand-Prix qualifying review

McLaren Honda F1 Team Singapore Grand-Prix qualifying review

16.09.2017: The McLaren Honda team will start tomorrowís Singapore Grand Prix from eighth (Fernando) and ninth (Stoffel) positions on the grid.

The McLaren Honda team will start tomorrow’s Singapore Grand Prix from eighth (Fernando) and ninth (Stoffel) positions on the grid.




Armed with a competitive and highly drivable package, both drivers were comfortably inside the top 10 during both of today’s hour-long sessions, but slightly lost out during the Q3 shootout as faster rivals were able to stretch their advantage.


Nonetheless, the team is hopeful of scoring world championship points tomorrow.




THE DRIVERS

 
FERNANDO ALONSO
#FA14  MCL32-02
FP3 4th 1m42.383s (+0.554s) 11 laps
Q1 3rd 1m42.086s (on Options)
Q2 9th 1m41.442s (on Options)
Q3 8th overall* 1m41.179s (on Options)




“The first target of having both cars in Q3 has been achieved, so 50 per cent of the job is done. Now our second target is to get both cars in the points tomorrow, which I think is possible from these starting positions.


“Race pace here is always a bit of a question mark; it’s difficult to read. Yesterday’s long runs were not long enough and, added to the difficulty of overtaking on this track, positions will be more or less set after the first lap.


“That means we need to concentrate on making a good start and having a clean first corner. After that. I’ll keep focussed and not make any mistakes. It is a very demanding race but hopefully we can bring some points home.




“The first six cars are too far away in terms of race pace, so our aim will be to defend our positions and possibly climb up to seventh.


“I hope we can complete the job tomorrow.”

 




STOFFEL VANDOORNE
#SV2  MCL32-03
FP3 5th 1m42.439s (+0.610s) 13 laps
Q1 5th 1m42.222s (on Options)
Q2 6th 1m41.227s (on Options)
Q3 9th overall* 1m41.398s (on Options)




“We came into the weekend more or less expecting to get both cars into Q3, and we achieved that today.


“We were always on the pace throughout Q1 and Q2, but perhaps we lacked that little bit extra in Q3 compared to our rivals. But nonetheless it’s been a smooth and solid effort from the whole team.


“While today is a good starting point, tomorrow is where it really matters. I might be hoping for quite a few Safety Cars in the race, but I still think we can conclude the weekend on a high.”

 



THE MANAGEMENT


ERIC BOULLIER  McLAREN HONDA RACING DIRECTOR


 
“This is a track that we knew would play to the strengths of our package, so it was pleasing to see our drivers pushing the limits right up at the sharp end of the field.


“Getting two cars into the top 10 today sets us up well for what is always a difficult, demanding and unpredictable race. We hope to come away from it tomorrow with more valuable world championship points.



“Fernando and Stoffel have both driven outstandingly well all weekend, and it was a joy to watch them attacking this difficult and uncompromising street circuit. Likewise, the whole team has performed at an extremely high level throughout this busy Singapore GP week - whether that’s been in the sweltering pit garage, the hospitality suite or back at the factory. 



“When these things come together, it’s worth emphasising that, as a race team, we operate as a singular unit, and it’s days like today that remind us what we can achieve together when we have the merest sniff of a competitive package.”




 
YUSUKE HASEGAWA
HONDA R&D CO. LTD HEAD OF F1 PROJECT & EXECUTIVE CHIEF ENGINEER


 
“Both drivers started the day well with a solid performance in FP3, leaving us feeling positive about our car heading into qualifying this afternoon. Fernando and Stoffel then maintained their momentum, and were both able to successfully go through into Q3.



“Although we knew this was a circuit more suited to our package, it is still good that we were able to show some competitiveness and secure top 10 grid slots for the race. Despite this, we can still see a gap to the frontrunners so we will continue to make further improvements.



“We think we have decent race pace, but it’s very difficult to overtake at this track, so if we can get away well at the start we can hopefully be in the fight for points.”

 


 

Silvia Hoffer Frangipane - photos McLaren and Sutton
 

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mclaren-honda-f1-singapore-gp-qualifying-review---168037.html

16.09.2017 / MaP

More News

Williams Martini Racing F1 Singapore GP qualifying review
16.09.2017
Singapore Grand Prix Qualifying  •    Felipe Massa qualified 17th with Lance Stroll 18th for the Singapore Grand Prix•    Felipe hit the wall in the final corner on his first flying lap, which forced him to pit for new tyres more >>
Haas F1 Singapore Grand Prix qualifying review
16.09.2017
Event:  Qualifying for the Singapore Grand Prix (Round 14 of 20)Date:  Saturday, Sept. 16Location:  Marina Bay Street CircuitLayout:  5.065-kilometer (3.147-mile), 23-turn trackWeather:  Clear and humidAir Temps:  28.5-28.9 degrees Celsius (83.3-84 degrees Fahrenheit)Track Temps:  32.8-33.7 degrees Celsius (91-92.7 degrees F more >>
Notes from Singapore Grand-Prix
16.09.2017
2017 FORMULA 1 SINGAPORE AIRLINES SINGAPORE GRAND PRIX.Also note that it is Ocon's birthday tomorrow and in the end, Markus Ericsson already has a penalty - five places on the grid  for changing gearboxBoth Mclarens are in Q3 for the 3rd time this year (Monaco, Hungary - notably the 3 slowest circuits on the calendar). more >>
Singapore Grand-Prix F1 Qualifying classification
16.09.2017
FORMULA 1 SINGAPORE AIRLINES SINGAPORE GRAND PRIXMarina Bay Street Circuit, SingaporeSaturday, September 16th 20171     5     Sebastian Vettel     Ferrari     more >>
Singapore Grand-Prix F1 Free Practice 3 classification
16.09.2017
FORMULA 1 SINGAPORE AIRLINES SINGAPORE GRAND PRIXMarina Bay Street Circuit, SingaporeSaturday, September 16th 20171     33     Max Verstappen     Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer & more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Singapore Grand-Prix practices
15.09.2017
DANIEL RICCIARDOFirst Practice Session: 1:42.489 Position: 1, Laps: 21Second Practice Session: 1:40.852, Position: 1, Laps: 33“It was a good day out there today, but I expected this, to be honest, and am not reall more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Singapore Grand Prix practices
15.09.2017
Singapore Grand Prix Practice  Paddy Lowe, Chief Technical Officer: Generally, we had a good day. We did most of the running we wanted to do apart from that Lance had a gearbox failure in FP1 which meant he only got running i more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Singapore Grand-Prix practices
15.09.2017
Carlos Sainz (STR12-01, Car 55)Second Practice SessionBest lap: 1:43.236, pos. 12th, 38 laps“After sitting out in this afternoon’s FP1, I obviously had to take my time to get used to driving here in FP2 – I had to do more >>
Renault Sport F1 Singapore Grand-Prix practices
15.09.2017
 2017 Formula 1 Singapore Airlines Singapore Grand Prix, Friday  Renault Sport Formula One Team ended the first day of the 2017 Formula 1 Singapore Airlines Singapore Grand Prix with driver Nico Hülkenberg ranking fifth-f more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Singapore Grand-Prix practices
15.09.2017
2017 Singapore Grand Prix - Friday  Silver Arrows prepare for challenging battle in the Singapore heat •    Lewis finished the morning session in P4 with Valtteri in P6 at the Marina Bay Street Circuit more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Singapore Grand-Prix practices
15.09.2017
“A CIRCUIT WHERE WE CAN SHOW OUR STRENGTHS” Fernando Alonso and Stoffel Vandoorne enjoyed a pair of trouble-free and consistent practice sessions around the streets of Marina Bay this evening.On his very first vi more >>
Sauber F1 Team Singapore Grand-Prix practices
15.09.2017
Formula 1 Singapore Grand Prix – Practice Friday 15.09.2017Weather: dry, 31-29°C air, 35-33°C track The Sauber F1 Team used the free practices day at the Singapore GP to conduct mechanical tests (Ericsson) and tak more >>
Pirelli F1 Singapore Grand-Prix practice sessions review
15.09.2017
- All-time track record already broken in FP1 using the ultrasoft at the Marina Bay Circuit- Red Bull dominates both sessions, with Daniel Ricciardo going more than three seconds faster than last years's best FP2 time-around a second between supersoft and ultrasoft compounds so far  more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Singapore Grand-Prix practices
15.09.2017
2017 SINGAPORE GRAND PRIXSahara Force India completed a busy practice programme in Singapore with 119 laps covered between the two cars during the day.  SERGIO PEREZ - VJM10-02FP1  more >>
Haas F1 Team Singapore Grand Prix practices review
15.09.2017
Singapore Grand-Prix 2017Event:  Free Practice 1 and Free Practice 2 (FP1 and FP2) Date:  Friday, Sept. 15Location:  Marina Bay Street CircuitLayout:  5.065-kilometer (3.147-mile), 23-turn trackFP1 more >>
Singapore GP Free practice 2 classification
15.09.2017
FORMULA 1 -  SINGAPORE AIRLINES SINGAPORE GRAND PRIX Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore15 - 17 September 2017 Friday, September 15th 20171     3     Daniel Ricciardo &nbs more >>
Singapore GP Free practice 1 classification
15.09.2017
FORMULA 1 -  SINGAPORE AIRLINES SINGAPORE GRAND PRIX Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore15 - 17 September 2017 Friday, September 15th 20171     3     Daniel Ricciardo   &n more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Singapore Grand-Prix preview
14.09.2017
Singapore Grand Prix 2017MARINA BAY STREET CIRCUITROUND 14 OF 20 15-17 SEPTEMBER 2017Held at the glamorous Marina Bay street circuit, the Singapore night race sees Formula One enter the final international leg of th more >>
Sauber F1 Team Singapore Grand-Prix preview
13.09.2017
 2017 Formula One Singapore Grand PrixAfter competing in the last of the European races at Monza, the Sauber F1 Team is heading out to Singapore for the first of three races in Asia during the second half of the 2017 Formula One se more >>
Pirelli F1 Singapore Grand-Prix preview
12.09.2017
SINGAPORE GRAND PRIX PREVIEW Round 14 of 20Singapore, 15-17 September 2017Following one of the season’s most straightforward one-stop races in terms of strategy, at Monza, Formula 1 now heads to one of the most complex tactical races of the year, around the illuminated streets of Singapore. The three softest tyres in the P Zero range – more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Singapore Grand-Prix preview
12.09.2017
Singapore Grand Prix -  Battle continues with Round 14 of the 2017 season from the Marina Bay Street Circuit  Toto Talks Singapore  Identifying clearly our strengths and our weaknesses has been a more >>
McLaren Honda F1 driver and management quotes ahead of Singapore GP
11.09.2017
THE DRIVERS  FERNANDO ALONSO#FA14  MCL32-05“We knew the double-header of Spa and Monza would be difficult for us, but three DNFs out of four was still really disappointing. Still, we showed better pace than we anticip more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Singapore Grand-Prix preview
11.09.2017
LOWDOWNRace title 2017 Formula 1 Singapore Airlines Singapore Grand PrixCircuit name Marina Bay CircuitFirst race 2008Previous winners 2016 Nico Rosberg, 61 laps, 1:55:48.950s more >>
Flex-Box becomes Race Partner of the Sauber F1 Team
11.09.2017
The Sauber F1 Team is delighted to announce a one-time race partnership with Flex-Box at the upcoming Singapore Grand Prix. Flex-Box is a global company, which specializes in manufacturing shipping contain more >>
Marina Bay Street Circuit Singapore stats and facts
10.09.2017
Marina Bay Street CircuitSINGAPORE•    Total number of race laps: 61  •    Complete race distance: 308.828 kilometers (191.897 miles)•  more >>
Romain Grosjean quotes ahead of Singapore F1 Grand-Prix
10.09.2017
The past two grands prix have been at high-speed circuits where teams opt for minimal downforce. Belgium seemed to work out well for you and the team, but that wasn’t the case in Italy. Despite having to qualify in the wet on Saturday, what made these two high-speed tracks provide such different outcomes? more >>
Kevin Magnussen quotes ahead of Singapore F1 Grand-Prix
10.09.2017
The past two grands prix have been at high-speed circuits where teams opt for minimal downforce. Belgium seemed to work out well for you and the team, but that wasn’t the case in Italy. Despite having to qualify in the wet on Saturday, what made these two high-speed tracks provide such different outcomes? more >>
Haas F1 Team Ready for Seasonís Longest Race in Singapore
10.09.2017
Racing spectrum swings to Singapore after quickest race of year in Monza After competing in the quickest race in terms of duration, as the Sept. 3 Italian Grand Prix at the 5.793-kilometer (3.6-mile) Autodromo Nazionale Monza ended in a more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Singapore GP race review
18.09.2016
2016 Singapore Grand Prix - Sunday  Silver Arrows claim double podium after intense battle on the streets of Singapore •    Nico today took his 22nd career victory - his first at the Marina Bay Street Circuit and more >>
Red Bull's Ricciardo racks up another podium in Singapore
18.09.2016
Daniel Ricciardo picked up another podium this season for Red Bull Racing as he maintained his qualifying pace in the race to split the two Mercedes at the Singapore GP.Nico Rosberg finished first to regain the 2016 championship lead with Lewis H more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Singapore Grand Prix race review
18.09.2016
2016 Formula 1 Singapore Grand Prix: Race  Sahara Force India scored four points in today’s Singapore Grand Prix as Sergio Perez raced from P17 to P8 as the only driver to execute what was effectively a one-stop strategy. more >>
Pirelli F1 Singapore Grand Prix race review
18.09.2016
- Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg wins Singapore Grand Prix with a two-stop strategy- Mixture of two and three stop strategies sets up an exciting finale at Marina Bay Circuit- Pirelli 2017 tyre testing campaign continues this week with Merced more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Singapore Grand Prix race
18.09.2016
2016 Singapore Grand PrixMarina Bay Circuit, Sunday September 18 “Seventh was the maximum we could achieve today” Fernando Alonso drove a hard and determined race to finish the Singapore Grand Prix in seven more >>
Haas F1 Team Singapore Grand Prix race review
18.09.2016
Singapore Grand Prix: Race    Event:  Singapore Grand Prix (Round 15 of 21)Date:  Sunday, Sept. 18Location:  Marina Bay Street CircuitLayout:  5.065-kilometer (3.147-mile), 23-turn circuitWeather:&nbs more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Singapore Grand Prix race
18.09.2016
Singapore Grand Prix 2016Marina Bay Street Circuit Race Notes:•    Felipe Massa finished 12th in the Singapore Grand Prix while Valtteri Bottas was forced to retire•   more >>
Renault Sport F1 Singapore Grand Prix race review
18.09.2016
2016 Formula 1 Singapore Airlines Singapore Grand Prix, Sunday Renault Sport Formula One Team’s Kevin Magnussen enjoyed his and the team’s second highest finish of the season with tenth position in the Singapore Airlines Singapore Gra more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Singapore Grand Prix race review
18.09.2016
2016 SINGAPORE GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 18/09/2016  Daniil Kvyat (STR11-03, Car 26)Race: Pos. 9th“I think I did the most I could out there today – I had good fun and enjoyed some great battles! Unfortunately more >>
Sauber F1 Team Singapore Grand Prix race
18.09.2016
Formula 1 Singapore Airlines Grand Prix – Race – Sunday18.09.2016Weather: dry, 31-30°C air, 36-34°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team saw the chequered flag for the Singapore Grand Prix in P13 and P17. At the night race on the Mar more >>
F1 Singapore Grand Prix race classification
18.09.2016
F1 Singapore Grand Prix 2016Marina Bay Street CircuitSunday, September 18th 20161     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     61     1:55:48.950     25 more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright