Renault Sport F1 Canadian Grand-Prix preview

Renault Sport F1 Canadian Grand-Prix preview

04.06.2018: FORMULA 1 2018 CANADIAN GRAND PRIX Foreword from Renault Sport Racing Managing Director, Cyril Abiteboul


FORMULA 1 2018 CANADIAN GRAND PRIX



Foreword from Renault Sport Racing Managing Director, Cyril Abiteboul



The Monaco Grand Prix is always a test for teams, chassis and engines, both in performance and in reliability. We left there with mixed feelings.



We got both drivers to the finish to score double points - it was a welcome return to the top ten for Nico after two tough races, while Carlos maintained his run. In fact, only he, Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel have scored in the last four events.



However, we also exposed some of our weaknesses. We know we have to work on tyre management and optimising qualifying to provide our drivers with less challenging circumstances for them to perform at their best. These finer points are now the focus; by and large we are performing well, but these details can make the difference between scoring points and finishing just outside.



We therefore look forward to Canada with optimism; we have the next stage of our power unit development scheduled and a number of aero and mechanical upgrades. Canada is a tough race, but we need to pull together to make the most of every opportunity.






Under the radar

After the team’s third double-points finish of the season in Monaco, focus immediately switches to Montréal, a track which places emphasis on power, balancing downforce and heavy braking, as Chassis Technical Director Nick Chester reveals.




What can we expect when we arrive in Canada?



It’s a track which isn’t used very much, so it’s usually a pretty dirty surface when we start running on it. It’s very much a traction circuit, as there are quite a few slow corners and then some big long straights. Canada is about power and traction.



 You need a lower downforce set-up level, as you also need that straight-line speed. Striking a downforce balance can be quite difficult, but we’re usually pretty good at working out what level to run when we get there.




 Kerb riding too is important, and we need to get the car low and stiff to balance between the best aero and getting the car riding the kerbs. Kerb riding is important but we need to optimise rideheights for the aero platform so there is a balance to be struck between aero performance and getting the car riding the kerbs.



Is it difficult to manage a flyaway race in between the busy European segment of the calendar?


The logistics are slightly harder for Canada, as you have to pack up earlier and get it freighted out there. It’s going to be more difficult afterwards as we will need to get everything back ready for the triple header. It’s going to be a challenge and a big job.



Will there be anything new for the Renault R.S.18 in Montréal?


There’s a B-spec engine for Canada and we’re looking forward to that, as it should bring a bit more performance. There are a few bodywork updates too with some rear wing end plates, as well as small changes to the front wing. We’re trying to bring things to the track at every race.



How do we look back on Monaco?


Overall, it was a decent weekend with both cars scoring points. Nico recovered well in the race and worked his strategy very well. Carlos endured heavy tyre degradation to his fronts and had to settle for tenth. It’s important that we keep chipping away at points, and we’ve done that in Monaco. 




Ciaron’s Corner:



This is one of the more power-sensitive circuits of the year because the cars spend a long time accelerating at full throttle out of the mainly low and medium-low speed corners. It is also hard on the brakes as there are a number of big stops from high speed around the lap.



There is a big kerb at the apex of Turn 13, and taking too much of this can knock the car off-line, with very little chance for the driver to recover before the car hits the wall, which is very close to the edge of the track on the exit of Turn 14.




Tyres:



Supersoft (red) – Hülkenberg 3, Sainz 3

Ultrasoft (purple) – Hülkenberg 2, Sainz 2

Hypersoft (pink) – Hülkenberg 8, Sainz 8




Canada Stats

Nico


Starts: 7
Points: 22
Average Points: 3.142 (F1 career average: 3.05)
KM: 5,251
Laps: 1,204
KM Raced: 2,015
Laps Raced: 462
Positions Gained 2017 (+/-): +2
Fastest Lap: 1:16.136 (2017)
Fastest Qualifying: 1:13.271 (2017)
Average Qualifying: 10th
Average Finish: 10th



Carlos


Starts: 3
Points: 2
Average Points: 0.66 (F1 career average: 2.09)
KM: 1,779
Laps: 408
Raced KM: 602
Raced Laps: 138
Positions Gained 2017 (+/-): N/A
Fastest Lap: 1:16.578 (2016)
Fastest Qualifying: 1:13.756 (2017)
Average Qualifying: 13th
Average Finish: 13th



Renault in Canada


Starts: 141
Wins: 6
Podiums: 23
Pole Positions: 9
Fastest Laps: 8
Points: 382

This time last year


Qualifying:
Palmer – P15
Hülkenberg – P10

Race:

Palmer – P11
Hülkenberg – P8



Unusual fact:
Montréal has the highest number of restaurants per capita in Canada and the second highest in North America after New York City.

 



- Renault Sport F1  -  photos

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/renault-sport-f1-canadian-gp-preview---176840.html

04.06.2018 / MaP

More News

Sahara Force India F1 Canadian Grand-Prix preview
04.06.2018
2018 CANADIAN GRAND PRIX  Sergio: “I was disappointed not to get the result I think we deserved in Monaco. The car was quick, but the luck wasn’t on my side. We are becoming more competitive with each race weekend and I more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Canadian Grand-Prix preview
04.06.2018
2018 CANADIAN GRAND PRIX  Brendon Hartley (Car 28):“I’ve never been to Canada before and I’ve been told by every driver that this track is one of the highlights on the calendar, so from one more >>
Canadian Grand-Prix facts and stats
01.06.2018
Canadian Grand-Prix 2018Circuit Gilles Villeneuve•    Total number of race laps: 70•    Complete race distance: 305.270 kilometers (189.686 miles)•  &n more >>
Kevin Magnussen, Haas F1 driver quote ahead of Canadian Grand-Prix
01.06.2018
Canadian Grand-Prix 2018Circuit Gilles VilleneuveYou’ll have some updates on your racecar for the Canadian Grand Prix. When new parts and pieces are added to your car, how important is that FP1 session to under more >>
Romain Grosjean, Haas F1 driver quote ahead of Canadian Grand-Prix
01.06.2018
Canadian Grand-Prix 2018Circuit Gilles VilleneuveYou’ll have some updates on your racecar for the Canadian Grand Prix. When new parts and pieces are added to your car, how important is that FP1 session to understand how they affect more >>
Haas F1 Team Sets Sights on Canadian GP
01.06.2018
 If the Haas VF-18s of Romain Grosjean and Kevin Magnussen could sport a bumper sticker in the Canadian Grand Prix June 10 at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Montreal, it might read “Happiness is Monaco in my rearview mirror.”  more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Canadian GP race review
13.06.2016
2016 Canadian Grand Prix - Sunday  Montreal master class from Lewis as Nico battles back to P5 in eventful Canadian Grand Prix •    Lewis took his 45th career victory today - his fifth at the Circuit more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Canadian Grand Prix review
13.06.2016
Canadian Grand Prix•    Valtteri Bottas claimed the team’s first podium of the season, finishing third in today’s Canadian Grand Prix •    Felipe Ma more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Canadian GP race review
12.06.2016
2016 CANADIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 12/06/2016  Carlos Sainz (STR11-01, Car 55)Race: Pos. 9th “A really good race for me today here in Montreal! If you had told me before the race that I would hav more >>
Sauber F1 Team Canadian Grand Prix race review
12.06.2016
Formula 1 Canadian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday 12.06.2016Weather: overcast and dry, 12-13°C air, 21-24°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team ended the Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal in P15 (Marcus Ericsson) and P18 (F more >>
Pirelli F1 Canadian Grand Prix race review
12.06.2016
2016 Canada Grand Prix – Race- Lewis Hamilton claims victory from pole with one-stop strategy, holding off Sebastian Vettel on a two-stopper- With the coledes conditions in recent history, differing strategies help drivers to climb up through t more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Canadian GP race review
12.06.2016
2016 Formula 1 Canadian Grand Prix: Race  Both Sahara Force India cars finished inside the top ten today with Nico Hulkenberg racing to eighth place ahead of Sergio Perez in tenth.  P8   &nbs more >>
Renault Sport F1 Canadian Grand Prix race review
12.06.2016
2016 Formula 1 Canadian Grand Prix, Sunday 12 June 2016 Renault Sport Formula One Team contested a hard-fought Canadian Grand Prix with Kevin Magnussen finishing in sixteenth and Jolyon Palmer retiring due to a water leak. more >>
Haas F1 Team Canadian Grand Prix race review
12.06.2016
Canadian Grand Prix: Race    Event:  Canadian Grand Prix (Round 7 of 21)Date:  Sunday, June 12Location:  Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in MontrealLayout:  4.361-kilometer (2.710-mile), 14-turn circu more >>
McLaren Honda Racing F1 Canadian GP race review
12.06.2016
2016 Canadian Grand PrixCircuit Gilles Villeneuve, Sunday June 12After several races that have demonstrated steadily building momentum, this afternoon’s grand prix was a disappointing one for the whole McLaren-Honda team. more >>
F1 Canadian Grand Prix race result
12.06.2016
Formula1 GRAND PRIX DU CANADA 2016 - RACE RESULT10- 12 Jun 2016 Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve, Montreal1     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     70     more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Canadian Grand Prix qualifying review
11.06.2016
Canadian Grand Prix QualifyingSaturday, June 11th 2016DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 4th, 1:13.166 (Practice 3 – P6, 1:14.487)“I’m pretty happy. This weekend was steady – I think we buil more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Canadian Grand Prix qualifying
11.06.2016
2016 Formula 1 Canadian Grand Prix: Qualifying Saturday, June 11th 2016 Sahara Force India showed well in today’s qualifying hour with Nico Hulkenberg securing a ninth place starting position for tomorrow more >>
Sauber F1 Team Canadian Grand Prix qualifying review
11.06.2016
Formula 1 Canadian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday 11.06.2016Weather: overcast and dry/damp, 14-16°C air, 19-22°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team finished qualifying ahead of the Canadian Grand Prix on the Ci more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Canadian GP qualifying review
11.06.2016
Canadian GP Qualifying Qualifying Notes•    Valtteri Bottas qualified seventh and Felipe Massa eighth for the Canadian Grand Prix•    Both cars made it comfortably through into Q2 and more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Canadian GP qualifying review
11.06.2016
2016 Canadian Grand Prix - Saturday Stage set for epic battle in Montreal after Silver Arrows edge tight qualifying battle •    Lewis took his 53rd Formula One pole positio more >>
Pirelli F1 Canadian Grand Prix qualifying
11.06.2016
- Lewis Hamilton claims pole on P Zero purple ultrasoft with a time more than 1.5s faster than his pole last year;- One-stop strategy expected if the race stays cool and dry: weather conditions for Sunday remain uncertain- Montreal is the more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Canadian Grand Prix qualifying review
11.06.2016
2016 Canadian Grand Prix – qualifying Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Saturday June 11“It’ll be maximum attack tomorrow” Fernando Alonso underlined the burgeoning competitiveness of the McLaren-Honda more >>
Haas F1 Team Canadian Grand Prix qualifying review
11.06.2016
Canadian Grand Prix: Qualifying    Event:  Qualifying for the Canadian Grand Prix (Round 7 of 21)Date:  Saturday, June 11Location:  Circuit Gilles VilleneuveLayout:  4.361-kilometer (2.710-mile), more >>
Renault Sport F1 Canadian Grand Prix qualifying review
11.06.2016
2016 Formula 1 Canadian Grand Prix, Saturday Jolyon Palmer fell just 0.015secs off Q2 today as the leading Renault Sport Formula One Team driver in qualifying for the Canadian Grand Prix. Q1 started dry, but gentle more >>
F1 Montreal qualifying classification
11.06.2016
Formula1  Canadian Grand Prix 2016Circuit Gilles VilleneuveSaturday, June 11th, 20161     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:14.121     1: more >>
F1 Canada GP Practice 3 classification
11.06.2016
FORMULA 1 GRAND PRIX DU CANADA 2016Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve, MontrealSaturday, June 11th 20161     5     Sebastian Vettel     Ferrari     1:13.919      &nbs more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Canadian GP practices review
11.06.2016
2016 Canadian Grand PrixFriday, June 10th 2016 Times tumble on opening day in Montreal •    Lewis topped both sessions with Nico second in FP1 and third in FP2 • &nbs more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Canadian GP practices review
11.06.2016
Canadian Grand Prix Friday PracticeJune 12th 2016Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal DANIEL RICCIARDOFirst Practice Session: Position: 11, Best Time: 1:16.734, Laps: 28Second Practice Session: Position: 5, Bes more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Canada GP practices review
11.06.2016
2016 Canadian Grand Prix – free practiceCircuit Gilles Villeneuve, Friday June 10“A positive day – but improvement needed” Both Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso ran competitively throug more >>
Haas F1 Team Canadian Grand Prix practices review
11.06.2016
Canadian Grand Prix: Friday Practice    Event: Free Practice 1 and Free Practice 2 (FP1 and FP2) Date:  Friday, June 10Location:  Circuit Gilles VilleneuveLayout:  4.361-kilometer (2.710-mile), 14-turn more >>
Renault Sport F1 Canadian Grand Prix practices review
10.06.2016
2016 Formula 1 Canadian Grand Prix, Friday10 June 2016 Renault Sport Formula One Team took to a gloriously sunny Circuit Gilles Villeneuve for the opening practice sessions for the Formula 1 Grand Prix du Canada. more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Canadian Grand Prix practices
10.06.2016
2016 Formula 1 Canadian Grand Prix: Free Practice Sahara Force India started its Canadian Grand Prix weekend with a productive Friday in Montreal. Nico Hülkenberg       VJ more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Canadian GP practices review
10.06.2016
Canadian GP PracticeJune 10th, 2016 Objectives: Aero evaluations, set-up and tyre work. Rob Smedley, Head of Performance Engineering: FP1 was a little bit fraught with what happened on Felipe’s car. more >>
Pirelli F1 Canada Grand Prix practice sessions review
10.06.2016
- Ultrasoft tyres allow Hamilton to set best time of the day already beating 2015 pole time- Cool track temperatures in the morning, then rising to nearly 40 degrees centigrade in FP2- Ultrasoft aro more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Canadian Grand Prix practices
10.06.2016
2016 CANADIAN GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 10/06/2016  Carlos Sainz (STR11-01, Car 55)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:16.543, pos. 8th, 21 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:15.410, pos. 10th, 42 l more >>
Sauber F1 Team Canadian GP practices review
10.06.2016
Formula 1 Canadian Grand Prix – Practice  Friday 10.06.2016Weather: sunny and dry, 13-20°C air, 25-46°C trackDuring the practice sessions ahead of the Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal, the Sauber F1 Team drivers were able more >>
F1 Canadian GP Free Practice 2 classification
10.06.2016
F1 Canadian Grand PrixCircuit Gilles VilleneuveFriday, June 10th 20161     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:14.212         4 more >>
F1 Canadian GP Free Practice 1 classification
10.06.2016
Formula1 - Canadian Grand-PrixCircuit Gilles VilleneuveFriday, June 10th 20161     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:14.755         2 more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright