Repsol Honda Team's Santi Hernandez Preview 2021

Repsol Honda Team's Santi Hernandez Preview 2021

04.03.2021: 2020 was a difficult and strange year, especially at the track. What did the unique circumstances teach you and your team? “Basically, it was a difficult year because after Marc’s injury it was a strange situation because we had never been in MotoGP

2020 was a difficult and strange year, especially at the track. What did the unique circumstances teach you and your team?


“Basically, it was a difficult year because after Marc’s injury it was a strange situation because we had never been in MotoGP in that kind of situation with Marc and of course after that Stefan came to replace Marc.

 

In the beginning it was strange because he is the test rider, and we were thinking it was only for three races but race by race we saw that Marc was not coming and then at the end Stefan did all the season.


Of course, for him it was difficult because it’s not easy to combine being a test rider and a GP rider and of course at the beginning for him it was hard because he did not have the race speed but step by step and race by race, he understood how to ride the bike and understood the races and the team and Honda worked very well to try things for the future and to improve in the races with Stefan.



In the end I think it was a great job by the team and by Stefan because at the end he made a very good result, he was fighting for the top ten and for us it was very important.”



What does it mean to work in the Repsol Honda Team?



“Like I have said many times, for me when I was young, I was following the races and always the Honda team has been like the best team in MotoGP.


It’s a dream to work together with Honda and when I started to work with them, I was so happy and proud to work with them. I want to say thanks for what they have done last year, it was a difficult situation with Covid, and they respected us and helped us with all the aspects we could hope for.


I want to say thanks because not many teams or even factories or companies are able to do that, and Honda are working very hard to give us the good things and maintain the calmness in these situations. For this I want to say thanks because in these hard situations they do a very good job.”



What will the approach of the team be with Marc not at the Qatar Test?


“For the team and for HRC there’s no change. Of course, we want Marc to come back as soon as possible because this is our target and our rider.


But we are happy to have Stefan because last year he did a great job and now what we want to do with Stefan and Honda is to try and understand the new things we have this season, try to set up as much as we can to be ready for Marc when he comes back to give him all the best to get good results. But the most important is to try the things to be ready for when Marc comes back.”




Does your approach to the new season change with marc not having raced for one year?


“The approach for this season is a little bit different to the past because with one year without riding for Marc with his injury, first of all we have to check how Marc is feeling physically and of course how he will get the new feeling with the bike – this is the most important.



But when you are working with a rider like Marc, always you have to think to try to fight for the title. But of course, it’s a little bit different but in my mentality, I hope, not I hope, I think, also Marc by himself will also think about the title.”




What goes in to preparing for a season competing in the MotoGP World Championship, how do you prepare yourself and your team?



“For the team and for me, the situation does not change so much because at the end we have to be ready for the start of the season. Anyway, Marc is in a different situation to the past but for the team and for Honda there’s no change.

We are working to improve on last year, the areas are similar with Stefan as with Marc in the past. For us there’s not so much change, of course you are thinking when will Marc come back but for our job it doesn’t change a lot. We have to be ready for when Marc comes and try to do our best.”






 Repsol Honda Team MotoGP,also photo

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/repsol-honda-team-santi-hernandez-preview-2021---219979.html

04.03.2021 / MaP

More News

Repsol Honda Team's Ramon Aurin Preview 2021
04.03.2021
What do you think Pol can achieve in 2021?“Our target is clear: we want to get the podium in the first few races and after we want to fight for the championship. Pol is not a rookie; he is a guy w more >>
Qatar MotoGP Test- 2021 starts now, videopass
03.03.2021
In light of the disruption to the pre-season, the Qatar test has seen extra days added in order to give teams the time needed to get up to speed ahead of the first Grand Prix later in March. Two extra test days were added as well as a shakedown Test day at Losail. It brings the Official Test days to five. more >>
Elf Marc VDS Racing Team riders Lowes and Fernandez enjoy productive start to 2021 pre-season schedule
03.03.2021
  Elf Marc VDS Racing Team riders Sam Lowes and Augusto Fernandez kicked off their 2021 Moto2 World Championship preparations with a successful two-day test session in Valencia.    Sporting a stunning black and silver winter more >>
PETRONAS Sepang Racing Team launch 2021 Campaign
02.03.2021
Franco Morbidelli and Valentino Rossi unveil the PETRONAS Yamaha SRT 2021 Yamaha YZR-M1PETRONAS Yamaha Sepang Racing Team is excited to start its third season in the MotoGP World Championship campaign with riders Franco Morbidelli and Valentino Rossi showcasing more >>
Frecciarossa official carrier of the Ducati Lenovo Team in MotoGP
25.02.2021
Frecciarossa and Ducati Corse meet to give life to an important partnership that sees two Italian excellences together in sport.As it was already last year, the Frecciarossa logo – the flagship of Trenitalia's fleet – will be present on the Ducati Desm more >>
Repsol Honda’s 2021 Studio Photos
25.02.2021
The studio photos of Marc Marquez and Pol Espargaro with their 2021 Repsol Honda RC213V machines are here. more >>
Remembering Fausto Gresini, a friend, a colleague, a real sportsman
24.02.2021
Midori Moriwaki and MIE Racing would like to extend their deepest condolences to the family, friends and colleagues of Fausto Gresini who passed away yesterday, leaving the entire motorbike racing family devastated by the sad news.                Midori MoriwakiTeam Principal"T more >>
Mechinno confirmed as Technical Partner of Ducati Corse also in 2021
23.02.2021
•    For the third consecutive year, Mechinno renews its partnership with Ducati Corse, supporting the prestigious Italian team in the 2021 MotoGP World Championship.Thanks to ambitious results, Mechinno announc more >>
Spaniard Espargaro and six-time MotoGP champion Márquez excited for 2021 season start
22.02.2021
"To ride for the Repsol Honda Team is every rider's dream" - EspargaróMarc Márquez believes he can make an impact on the 2021 MotoGP season when doctors give him the green light following his right humerus injury as fellow Spaniar more >>
Ready for the challenge – Repsol Honda Team launch 2021 campaign
22.02.2021
Marc Marquez and Pol Espargaro prepare for all new challenges in 2021 with the Repsol Honda Team.After a season like no other, both on and off the track, 2021 presents the MotoGP World Championship with a chance to rally in the face of adversity and forge ahe more >>
Alfa Romeo Racing ORLEN C41 virtual launch
20.02.2021
Alfa Romeo Racing ORLEN will be launching its 2021 contender, the C41, on Monday 22nd February, 2021. The ceremony will take place from 11:05am GMT at the Grand Theatre in Warsaw, Poland.Owing to Covid regulations, the event will be virtual, with the transmission ava more >>
PETRONAS Sepang Racing Team to officially present its 2021 MotoGP teams by virtual launch on March 1.
20.02.2021
This year will see PETRONAS Sepang Racing Team unveil its 2021 MotoGP challenger and officially present its teams for this season in a virtual launch on March 1, at 10.30am CET (5.30pm GMT +8) on the team’s official YouTube channel, as well as being broadcast on MotoGP.com. more >>
Esaote and the Ducati Lenovo Team back together on the track for the 2021 MotoGP World Championship
19.02.2021
•    The partnership between the two brands in the name of innovation, performance and Italian style is also confirmed for 2021.  Esaote, an Italian company among the world leaders in the field of medical diagnostic imaging more >>
LCR Honda Castrol Team preview 2021
19.02.2021
Alex MarquezBioBorn on April 23, 1996 in Lleida, Alex Márquez has lived surrounded by motorcycles practically from very early on in his life and found himself fascinated with everything related to the world of two wheels. more >>
LCR Honda Castrol Team launch livestream
19.02.2021
2021 LCR Honda CASTROL Team unveil Friday, February 20th 2021 - find here on facebook the livestream from the launch LIVESTREAM HERE   more >>
PETRONAS Sepang Racing Team eager for more high flying success with FlyMeTo
19.02.2021
Travel search engine FlyMeTo continues as Official Partner for second consecutive year   After joining PETRONAS Sepang Racing Team in 2020, the Malaysian squad is pleased to announce that travel search engine FlyMeTo will continue as an Of more >>
New Red Bull KTM Factory Racing rider and Brad Binder talk up 2021 hopes.
12.02.2021
New Red Bull KTM Factory Racing rider Miguel Oliveira believes that the team has a bike capable of winning consistently in 2021 as both him and teammate Brad Binder gear up for battle in the FIM MotoGP World Championship season opener at the Qatar more >>
Update on Marc Marquez’s medical progress
12.02.2021
A further review of Marc Marquez at the Hospital Ruber Internacional, 10 weeks after surgery for an infected pseudoarthrosis of the right humerus, has confirmed a favourable clinical situation. The medical team led by Doctors Samuel Antuña a more >>
The Ducati Lenovo Team and Riello UPS celebrate 15 years of partnership
11.02.2021
  •    The Borgo Panigale-based team and the Verona-based company celebrate 15 years of collaboration by renewing their partnership for the 2021 MotoGP World Championship.Riello UPS, a brand of the more >>
Ducati and NetApp signed the fourth year of sponsorship in the 2021 MotoGP Championship
10.02.2021
After three years of collaboration with excellent results in the MotoGP championship, Ducati is pleased to announce the renewal of the partnership with NetApp for the 2021 MotoGP World Championship.Last year’s MotoGP season was out of the more >>
UnipolSai alongside the Ducati Lenovo Team again for the 2021 MotoGP season
10.02.2021
•    The partnership between the Unipol Group's insurance company and the Borgo Panigale factory in the 2021 MotoGP World Championship confirmed for the fifth consecutive yearDucati is pleased to announce that UnipolSai As more >>
The 2021 Ducati Lenovo Team presented online
09.02.2021
•    Lenovo announced as Title Partner of the factory Ducati team in MotoGP as Jack Miller and Francesco Bagnaia wear the Ducati squad's official colours for the first time•    Claudio Domenical more >>
Honda extend commitment to MotoGP
05.02.2021
Honda will continue to add to their illustrious history in Grand Prix racing as an agreement is signed with Dorna Sports S.L. to compete for the next five years, from 2022 to 2026.A journey which began in 1954 when Honda’s founder, Soichiro Honda, declared entry more >>
Marc VDS Racing Team and ELF agree exciting new title sponsorship deal
05.02.2021
The Marc VDS Racing Team is delighted to announce that world renowned French lubricant giant ELF will be its title sponsor for the 2021 Moto2 World Championship.    The new agreement further strengthens the close and long-standing collaborati more >>
KTM MotoGP 2021 livestream presentation
04.02.2021
MOTOGP™ 2021: NEXT LEVELJoin us to unearth the new look KTM MotoGP line-up for 2021 with Red Bull KTM Factory Racing and Tech3 KTM Factory Racing showing off their fresh faces and colors for the forthcoming season. 20 more >>
LCR Honda IDEMITSU 2021 Team Launch online
03.02.2021
Watch LCR Honda IDEMITSU Team Launch 2021 online on Facebook hereon Saturday, February 20th 2021  10.00 (CEST time)watch here -Victoria R more >>
LCR Honda CASTROL 2021 Team Launch online
03.02.2021
watch LCR Honda CASTROL Team Launch 2021 on Facebook hereon February 19th 2021 at 12.00 (CET time) see here - Victoria Ramos, phot more >>
PETRONAS Sepang Racing Team continues BARRACUDA partnership
03.02.2021
PETRONAS SRT and BARRACUDA enter third year together     BARRACUDA will continue as an Official Partner for PETRONAS Sepang Racing Team in 2021, a season that promises to be an exciting one with strong ri more >>
Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup Entry List 2021
02.02.2021
  Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup 5 Tatchakorn Buasri (Thailand)7 Daniel Muñoz (Spain)8 Eddie O‘Shea (Great Britain)9 Freddie Heinrich (Germany)13 Sho Nishimura (Japan)14 Cormac Buchanan (New Zealand) more >>
Early Kick-Off for revised Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup Calendar
02.02.2021
Portimão is the venue for the first two Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup races on April 17th and 18th. Our preseason test takes place at the same venue over three days, April 9th, 10 & 11th.   In our 15th season we theref more >>
PETRONAS Sepang Racing Team joined by Green Power Generators
29.01.2021
PETRONAS SRT charged-up by Green Power Generators for 2021Green Power Generators will join PETRONAS Sepang Racing Team in 2021 as a new partner as the squad prepares for what could be its strongest season-ever with incredible depth of talent across all t more >>
LCR Honda Castrol and LCR Honda Idemitsu Teams confirms presence in MotoGP until 2026
27.01.2021
LCR HONDA CASTROL  & LCR HONDA IDEMITSUIn the year that marks it’s 25th anniversary, the LCR team is pleased to announce its presence in MotoGP until 2026.The independent team is currently participating in MotoGP and will conti more >>
2021 MotoGP™ provisional calendar updated
22.01.2021
Two races in Qatar and one in Portimão will now open the season, with the Argentina and Americas GPs postponed   The FIM, IRTA and Dorna Sports can now reveal an updated calendar for the 2021 FIM MotoGP™ World Cha more >>
Marc VDS Racing to withdraw from FIM Enel MotoE World Cup competition
21.01.2021
  The Marc VDS Racing Team has taken the difficult decision to withdraw its planned entry in the 2021 FIM Enel MotoE World Cup competition.    The Belgian team was a proud founder member of the innovative electric bike series more >>
Ducati in MotoGP until 2026
20.01.2021
•    Ducati and Dorna Sports SL have signed an agreement that confirms the Borgo Panigale manufacturer's presence in MotoGP for another five years.     Ducati and Dorna Sports SL are pleased to announce that t more >>
Pol Espargaro: “These colours mean glory to me”
19.01.2021
As the start of the 2021 MotoGP World Championship draws closer, Pol Espargaro sat down ahead of his official debut with the Repsol Honda Team to share his thoughts on joining the most iconic team in Grand Prix racing. A dream fulfilled, Espar more >>
Marc Marquez undergoes six-week check-up
15.01.2021
Today Marc Márquez has gone to the Hospital Ruber Internacional for a medical check-up.     The eight-time world champion has visited six weeks after the surgery performed on December 3 for an infected pseudar more >>
KTM to vie for MotoGP glory until 2026
13.01.2021
KTM Motorsports will be gunning for new milestones and more MotoGP ‘highs’ for the next six years after signing a contract extension with commercial rights-holders and promoters Dorna Sports S.L., ensuring that the KTM RC16 will be present on the grid until 2026.  more >>
LCR Honda's Cecchinello's review on Takaaki Nakagami's 2020 season
17.12.2020
  A few weeks after the end of the 2020 season, LCR Honda Team Principal Lucio Cecchinello comments on Takaaki Nakagami’s performance.  The Japanese rider joined the LCR Honda IDEMITSU Team in 2018 and has been ridin more >>

Kategorien

2001-2021 automobilsport.com full copyright