Williams Martini Racing F1 Japanese Grand-Prix race review

Williams Martini Racing F1 Japanese Grand-Prix race review

08.10.2017: Felipe Massa finished 10th and Lance Stroll retired from the Japanese Grand Prix, his first since Bahrain 13 races ago

•    Felipe Massa finished 10th and Lance Stroll retired from the Japanese Grand Prix, his first since Bahrain 13 races ago



•    Both drivers had strong starts, Felipe defending his eighth place in the opening corners, while Lance overtook four cars on the first lap to move up to P11


•    The safety car was called out early when Sainz spun off and, shortly after the restart, Lance ran off the track and suspected a puncture, so pitted for a new set of tyres which dropped him down the order


•    Felipe made his only pitstop on lap 18 from eighth, and earned the place back again when his rivals made their stops. But he suffered damage to his car during the race and struggled for pace, dropping to P10 on lap 43 when Magnussen passed him at Turn 2 and Grosjean also slipped through


•    Lance was running 14th in the closing stages when he suffered a failure on the front right and was forced to retire


•    Felipe remains 11th in the Drivers’ Championship, with Lance 12th. The team also holds position in fifth in the Constructors’ Championship with 66 points
 
 


Paddy Lowe, Chief Technical Officer:
We had two very good starts, with Felipe retaining eighth and Lance doing very well to move up to 11th on the first lap. But very early on, Lance suspected he had a puncture, so we stopped to put on another set of tyres.


This committed him to a two-stop race, which he executed with good pace, but very near the end he had a car failure which caused a puncture in the Esses and threw him off the circuit. On Felipe’s side, he was going fine on a one-stop strategy but took a lot of damage on his car during the race. As he got towards half way, the pace degraded considerably.



He lost two places from eighth, but was able to defend 10th and a single point from Alonso in a very tense finish. It was a tough race for both drivers. Even though it was only one point, it feels like one of the more difficult points we’ve scored, so well done to the team, and to Felipe and Lance, for all they’ve done this weekend.
 


Felipe Massa
: It was a very difficult race for us today. I was struggling with the degradation of the tyres with both sets. The other cars had better pace than us today and it’s difficult to understand why. At the end, I lost positions to both Haas in a move that was a little bit tricky, but they were much quicker than me anyway.


If they didn’t pass me there, I think they could have passed me afterwards with the pace difference. I’m not happy with the pace today, but looking at the problems we had, we still finished in front of Renault and Toro Rosso, and one point is better than nothing.
 



Lance Stroll:
I had a really good start and was up to 11th, but then I made a mistake in Turn 11, hit Magnussen and I think something went on the car. I had to box really early as I thought something was broken or I had a puncture.



 Then I had a long stint on the soft tyre, working my way back up, but we were out of the points at that stage. I then felt there was something a bit strange at the front end, and then had a puncture. It is always surprising when you get a puncture, as it is very much unexpected and unfortunate at the same time.



I was very close to Ricciardo when I came back on the circuit, but I managed to brake without anything happening. Now we just have to turn the page, as it wasn't a lucky weekend for me, and look forward to Austin.
 
 
 
 
Track    Suzuka Circuit, Japan      Weather: Warm and dry
Lap Length    5.807 km / 3.609 miles    Temperature: Air: 25-27°C Track: 38-44°C     
Pos    Driver    Team    Time/Gap (Fastest Lap)    Grid    Pitstops


1.    L. Hamilton    Mercedes    1:27:31.194 (1:33.780)    1    1 (22)
2.    M. Verstappen    Red Bull Racing    + 1.211 (1:33.730)    4    1 (21)
3.    D. Ricciardo    Red Bull Racing    + 9.679 (1:33.694)    3    1 (25)


10.    F. Massa, FW40-04    WILLIAMS MARTINI RACING     + 1 LAP (1:35.943)    8    1 (17)

R.    L. Stroll, FW40-03    WILLIAMS MARTINI RACING    DNF    15    2 (4,35)
                                         
 
 

- Sophie Ogg, photos Williams

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/williams-martini-racing-f1-japan-gp-race-review---169085.html

08.10.2017 / MaP

Weitere Beiträge

Haas F1 Team Japanese Grand-Prix race review
08.10.2017
Event:  Japanese Grand Prix (Round 16 of 20)Date:  Sunday, Oct. 8Location:  Suzuka CircuitLayout:  5.807-kilometer (3.608-mile), 18-turn trackWeather:  Partly sunnyAir Temps:  25.5-27.3 degrees Celsius (77.9-81 weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Japanese Grand-Prix race review
08.10.2017
2017 JAPANESE GRAND PRIXSahara Force India scored 14 points in today’s Japanese Grand Prix as Esteban Ocon and Sergio Perez raced to sixth and seventh places at Suzuka.  P6 - ESTEBAN OCON - VJM1 weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Japanese Grand-Prix race review
08.10.2017
Formula 1 Japanese Grand Prix – Race  Sunday 08.10.2017Weather: sunny and dry, 26-27°C air, 39-45°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team finished the Japanese Grand Prix at the Suzuka Circuit in P15 (Pascal Wehrlein). Marcus Er weiter >>
Pirelli F1 Japanese Grand-Prix race review
08.10.2017
- Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton wins Japanese Grand-Prix with a one-stop supersoft - soft strategy in warm conditions- Alternative strategy used by his team mate Valtteri Bottas to finish just off the podium after a grid penalty weiter >>
McLaren Honda F1 Team Japanese Grand-Prix race review
08.10.2017
The McLaren Honda team left Suzuka empty handed after a frustrating Japanese Grand Prix, Fernando Alonso battling to a spirited 11th position, and Stoffel Vandoorne following him home 14th.It was a race that never truly came together for either weiter >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Japanese Grand-Prix race review
08.10.2017
2017 JAPANESE GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 08/10/2017  Pierre Gasly (STR12-04, Car 10)Race: 13th “It was quite a difficult race, I’m a bit disappointed. The overall pace was not great today, weiter >>
Quotes top 3 drivers after F1 Suzuka race 2017
08.10.2017
Winner Lewis Hamilton is welcomed by Takuma Sato, the winner of the Indinapolis 2017 race: "I had a great start. It is great to win here. Magnificent race. In Japan the support is immense. The fans always look after us. It was not easy as weiter >>
F1 Japanese Grand-Prix, Suzka race classification
08.10.2017
 FORMULA 1 JAPANESE GRAND PRIX 2017Suzuka International Racing CourseSunday, October 8th  2017 1     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     53 &nbs weiter >>
Renault Sport F1 Team Japanese Grand-Prix qualifying review
07.10.2017
 2017 Formula 1 Japanese Grand Prix, Saturday  Renault Sport Formula One Team driver Nico Hülkenberg led qualifying for the team, setting the twelfth-fastest time at the Suzuka International Circuit ahead of tomorrow’s Japa weiter >>
McLaren Honda F1 Japanese Grand-Prix qualifying review
07.10.2017
Despite qualifying 11th, Stoffel Vandoorne will start tomorrow’s Japanese Grand Prix from ninth position – taking advantage of three drivers ahead of him who earned grid penalties.It means the young Belgian will get to have his cak weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Japanese Grand-Prix qualifying review
07.10.2017
2017 JAPANESE GRAND PRIXSahara Force India showed well at Suzuka today with Esteban Ocon and Sergio Perez qualifying in seventh and eighth places for tomorrow’s Japanese Grand Prix.   P7 - ESTEBAN OCON weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Japanese Grand-Prix qualifying review
07.10.2017
 2017 Japanese Grand Prix - Saturday  Lewis claims pole in Suzuka with Valtteri coming in second •    Lewis claimed his 71st career pole position - his tenth of the 2017 season a weiter >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Japanese Grand-Prix qualifying review
07.10.2017
2017 JAPANESE GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 07/10/2017 Carlos Sainz (STR12-01, Car 55)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:30.799, pos. 13th, 23 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:30.565, (Q2) 1:30.413, pos. 15th Carlos will serve a 20 weiter >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Japanese Grand-Prix qualifying
07.10.2017
•    Felipe Massa qualified ninth and Lance Stroll 18th for the Japanese Grand Prix•    Lance was unfortunate to be eliminated from Q1. He was blocked by traffic at the chicane at the end of both laps on his first r weiter >>
Pirelli F1 Japanese Grand-Prix qualifying
07.10.2017
- Lewis Hamilton claims pole for Mercedes smashing Suzuka all-time lap-record on supersoft- Alternative strategy for Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen and Mercedes driver Valtteri Bottas, who will start on soft- Two pit stops expected for most drivers i weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Japanese Grand-Prix qualifying
07.10.2017
Formula 1 Japanese Grand Prix – Qualifying Saturday 07.10.2017Weather: sunny/cloudy and dry, 22-23°C air, 25-28°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team finished qualifying at the Suzuka Circuit ahead of the Japanese weiter >>
Haas F1 Team Japanese Grand-Prix qualifying
07.10.2017
Event:  Qualifying for the Japanese Grand Prix (Round 16 of 20)Date:  Saturday, Oct. 7Location:  Suzuka CircuitLayout:  5.807-kilometer (3.608-mile), 18-turn trackWeather:  OvercastAir Temps:  weiter >>
Qualifying - Japanese Grand-Prix classification
07.10.2017
FORMULA 1 JAPANESE GRAND PRIXSuzuka International Racing CourseSaturday, October 7th  20171     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:29.0 weiter >>
Japanese Grand-Prix Free Practice 3 classification
07.10.2017
FORMULA 1 JAPANESE GRAND PRIXSuzuka International Racing CourseSaturday, October 7th  2017 1     77     Valtteri Bottas     Mercedes     1:29.055     weiter >>
Renault Sport F1 Japanese Grand-Prix practices review
06.10.2017
Renault Sport Formula One Team saw a mixed-weather first day at Suzuka in preparation for this weekend’s Japanese Grand Prix. FP1 proved productive with dry conditions, whereas the afternoon saw extensive rainfall, meaning a delayed start to running, and only limited track action thereafter. weiter >>
McLaren Honda F1 Japanese Grand-Prix practices review
06.10.2017
Both McLaren Honda drivers made a solid start to their Japanese Grand Prix weekend, despite finishing this morning’s FP1 session not completely satisfied with the balance of their MCL32s.  A torrential rain shower in FP2 rendered the afternoon&rsqu weiter >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Japanese Grand-Prix practices review
06.10.2017
2017 Japanese Grand Prix - Friday  Lewis sets fastest time on a rainy Friday afternoon •    Lewis finished the morning session in P2 with Valtteri in P5 • &nbs weiter >>
Pirelli F1 Japanese Grand-Prix practice sessions
06.10.2017
- Vettel goes quickest in a dry FP1 on supersoft- Heavy rain affects FP2, with Hamilton fastest on full wet- Vettel fastest time of the day beats last year's pole by more than a second and is just 0.2 seconds off all-time Suzuka record weiter >>
Sahara Force India F1 Japanese Grand-Prix practices review
06.10.2017
2017 JAPANESE GRAND PRIX  SERGIO PEREZ - VJM10-02FP1    1:31.530    P13    23 lapsFP2    1:51.345    P3    3 laps weiter >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Japanese Grand-Prix practices
06.10.2017
Japanese GP Practice Paddy Lowe, Chief Technical Officer: We had dry conditions in FP1, almost throughout, just a spot here and there and some rain towards the end. We got in some good running with the time available. The pace on the sof weiter >>
Scuderia Toro Ross F1 Japanese Grand-Prix practices review
06.10.2017
2017 JAPANESE GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 06/10/2017 Carlos Sainz (STR12-01, Car 55)First Practice SessionBest lap: 1:32.252, pos. 17th, 14 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: no time, pos. 13th, 1 laps weiter >>
Haas F1 Japanese Grand-Prix Friday practices review
06.10.2017
JAPANESE Grand-Prix 2017Event:  Free Practice 1 and Free Practice 2 (FP1 and FP2) Date:  Friday, Oct. 6Location:  Suzuka CircuitLayout:  5.807-kilometer (3.608-mile), 18-turn trackFP1 Weather:  Overcast, weiter >>
Sauber F1 Team Japanese Grand-Prix practices
06.10.2017
Formula 1 Japanese Grand Prix – Practice – Friday  06.10.2017Weather: FP1: cloudy and light rain, 19-20°C air, 23-24°C track; FP2: cloudy and heavy rain, 15-16°C air, 17-18°C trackDur weiter >>
Suzuka Japanese Grand-Prix F1 Free Practice 2 classification
06.10.2017
FORMULA 1 JAPANESE GRAND PRIX 2017Suzuka International Racing CourseFriday, October 6th 20171     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:48.719   & weiter >>

Kategorien

© 2001-2017 automobilsport.com full copyright automobilsport.com