SUBARU World Rally Team -Three Days To Go Until Rallye Monte Carlo

16.01.2007: SUBARU World Rally Team -Three Days To Go Until Rallye Monte Carlo

15 January 2007

Carlos Sainz, Rallye Monte Carlo 1995

The Subaru World Rally Team has won Rallye Monte Carlo three times in the past.

The team first won on the icy, snowy mountain roads in 1995, when Carlos Sainz won seven stages and led all the way from start to finish.

The win in 1997, courtesy of Piero Liatti, was that famous debut victory for the Subaru Impreza World Rally Car.

In 2002, Tommi Makinen started his career with the team by winning first time out on the event, which at the time was based in Monte Carlo and Digne-les-Bains.

Other rallies that the Subaru World Rally Team has won three times include Australia, Corsica and Portugal.

On the gravel stages of Australia the team won with Colin McRae in 1997, Richard Burns in 1999 and Petter Solberg in 2003.

McRae was also a master of the sinuous roads around the Mediterranean island of Corsica (home of France’s round of the World Rally Championship. The Scottish driver won there in 1997 and 1998. The third win was taken by Petter – to date his only win on an asphalt rally – in 2003.

‘King’ Carlos claimed the Impreza’s first Portuguese win in 1995. McRae added a second victory for the team in 1998 and Richard Burns grabbed the third in 2000.


- Subaru World Rally Team -


16.01.2007 / MaP

More News

Subaru World Rally Team - Rallye Monte Carlo 2007 preview
The Event This weekend the Subaru World Rally Team begins its challenge for the 2007 World Rally Championship on one of the most demanding and unpredictable events of the season. The team starts the year with an unchanged driver line-up, with Petter Solberg/Phil Mills and Chris Atkinson/Glenn Macneall at the wheel of the Subaru Impreza WRCs. One aspect of more >>
A big challenge for the OMV Kronos Citroen WRT
++ Stohl/Minor want to further improve their Monte Carlo-balance ++ Testing during the night for the first time ++ Team Manager Marc Van Dalen is very confident ++ Currently the final preparations for the beginning of the FIA World Rally Championship 2007 in Monte Carlo (January 18 to 21) are under way for the OMV Kronos Citroen World Rally more >>
WRC Rallyes:  A challenging start for the Stobart M-Sport Ford Rally Team at Rallye Monte-Carlo
Rallye Monte Carlo, 18-20 January Event Preview A new year, new team, new rally stages and a whole new experience for the three Stobart M-Sport Ford rally crews contesting the opening round of the 2007 FIA World Rally Championship. The 75th anniversary of the prestigious Rallye Monte C more >>
75e Rallye Automobile Monte-Carlo 2007- Entry List
Championnat du Monde des Rallyes de la FIAFIA World Rally Championship   1 CITROEN TOTAL WRT (F ) LOEB Sébastien F CITROEN A 1 ELENA Daniel MC C4 8 2 CITROEN TOTAL WRT (F ) SORDO Daniel E CITROEN A 1MARTI Marc E C4 8 3 BP FORD WORLD RALLY TEAM (GB ) GRONHOLM Marcus FIN FORD A 1RAUTIAINEN Timo FIN Focus RS WRC 06 8 4 BP FORD more >>
List of Winners - RALLYE MONTE-CARLO since 1911
2006 M. GRÖNHOLM / T. RAUTIAINEN FORD Focus RS WRC No 2005 S. LOEB / D. ELENA Citroën Xsara WRC 2004 S. LOEB / D. ELENA Citroën Xsara WRC 2003 S. LOEB / D. ELENA Citroën Total 2002 T. MAKINEN / K. LINDSTROM Subaru Impreza WRC 2001 T. MAKINEN / R. MANNISENMAKI Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 2000 T. MAKINEN / R. MANNISENMAKI Mitsubishi La more >>
WRC Rallyes: - Programme and final route Rallye Monte-Carlo 2007
The programme and the final route for the 75th Monte-Carlo Rally have been finalised. Some changes have been made to the original stage organisation in legs 2 and 3. Leg 2 has been amended as follows: SS 03 and 06 - St Pierreville / Col de la Fayolle (29 km) has been lengthened and is now called St Pierreville / Antraigues (46 km). Since these stages are now signi more >>
18th to 21st January 2007Programme & final course details The Automobile Club de Monaco is celebrating its 75th Rallye Automobile Monte-Carlo, which will take place from 18th to 21st January 2007. With three quarters of a century under its belt, the Rallye Automobile Monte-C more >>

more >>



2001-2019 full copyright