Honda F1 Australian Grand-Prix review

Honda F1 Australian Grand-Prix review

17.03.2019: F1 2019 Round 01 Australia GP - Race Review Honda secured the first podium finish since our return to Formula 1 in 2015 courtesy of a thrilling drive from Max in the Australian Grand Prix.

F1 2019 Round 01 Australia GP - Race Review
 
 
Honda secured the first podium finish since our return to Formula 1 in 2015 courtesy of a thrilling drive from Max in the Australian Grand Prix.


 
Max started from fourth on the grid and was able to hold position at the start, staying in touch with the leading three of Valtteri Bottas, Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel. With Hamilton and Vettel pitting early on laps 15 and 14 respectively, a good strategic call from Aston Martin Red Bull Racing saw Max able to switch to fresh medium tyres later than his rivals (lap 25,) and he quickly reeled in the pair in front.




By getting Vettel out of position at Turn 1 on lap 30, Max managed to use DRS to breeze past on the run to Turn 3, completing the move before the braking zone and securing third place. It was nearly second as he set consistently quick lap times and put pressure on Hamilton, but in the end could not find a way past the Mercedes as he delivered the first Honda-powered podium since the 2008 British Grand Prix. There was also a point for Toro Rosso in the season-opening race, with Daniil climbing through from 15th on the grid into the top ten.



Similar to Max, it was a longer opening stint that allowed Daniil to leap a number of cars in front of him during the pit stops, - the Russian changed tyres on lap 26 - and he went wheel-to-wheel with Pierre, who was the very last driver to change tyres on lap 37, when the other Red Bull exited the pits alongside him. Daniil emerged ahead and held on for 10th place, with Pierre crossing the line just behind him after progressing from 17th to 11th as the pair fought at the back of a queue of cars up to seventh place. While three of the Honda drivers took advantage of long first stints, Alex pit on lap 14 having started on the soft compound tyre, and was one of those to be held up by a slow Antonio Giovinazzi as a result. That limited Alex to 14th place on his F1 debut, but he still gained valuable experience as all four cars ran reliably from lights to flag.
 
 
 


Toyoharu Tanabe
Technical Director, Honda F1    “A good start!



This was the first race of the season and our first with Aston Martin Red Bull Racing, so it was encouraging to finish third. It is the first time Honda has been on the podium since 2008 and the first time in this hybrid power era. Our thanks go to Max for a fantastic drive and for the team that supported him with an excellent strategy.



This is a good first step, but we must improve our PU performance if we want to beat our closest rivals. As for Scuderia Toro Rosso, they also did well, with Daniil getting the point for tenth place. It was a strong comeback from him after a year away from the sport. It seems that the car has good potential. Overall, it was a positive start, but it’s not where we want to be. I therefore thank all the staff who work on our F1 project in Japan and the UK, knowing they will be working hard to help us improve.”
 
 



Alex Albon
Red Bull Toro Rosso Honda    Race: 14th




“Mixed feelings today! It was my first experience of a race weekend and I didn’t really know what to expect. The race started off very well, I dropped the clutch and thought ‘great, that was okay!’ I made up two positions straight away and at that time we were in the mix, as I was already one position away from the points.


That was pretty much as good as it got for me, though. We were in a battle with Giovinazzi, I think he was struggling with his tyres and everyone on that strategy lost out. All of the guys who stayed out on the harder compound behind overcut us. That compromised our race but I’m still happy with how my weekend went. I think we could have had points so that stings a little, but it was a good experience and I came away with a clean weekend, relatively speaking!”
 
 



Daniil Kvyat
Red Bull Toro Rosso Honda    Race: 11th



“It was an excellent race today! I’m happy with the way I drove and it was really enjoyable. There was a lot of positives to come from the race - it’s just a shame about yesterday’s qualifying as we had the opportunity to start a bit further ahead! We had good tyre management throughout the race and we definitely had the pace to fight for higher positions but, as we know, it’s difficult to overtake around Albert Park. I tried to catch Stroll, but I was a bit on the edge and I couldn’t make it. I had a good battle with Pierre towards the end of the race, I felt like I could fight him well and at the end it was satisfying to keep a quicker car behind almost the whole race. I know we have a good package with the car and the engine, so we need to keep developing it. I’m very optimistic for the next few races and I think it’s possible to achieve good results.”



 
Franz Tost
Red Bull Toro Rosso Honda, Team Principal



“We’re always happy to come to Melbourne, not only because it’s the first race of the season, but It’s a special race with an extraordinary atmosphere and a lot of great fans!
 



“First of all, I would like to congratulate Honda for finishing on the podium with Aston Martin Red Bull Racing, which is certainly a big success for them and they deserved such a result. As for our race, we started 13th and 15th and we decided to go for a different strategy for our drivers: Alex started on the option tyre, while Daniil started on the prime. This turned out to be the right decision, because it gave us the possibility to be flexible with our strategy. Daniil drove a fantastic race, bringing home a point - we must not forget he’s been out of the cockpit for a year and a half, so to come back and fight successfully into the top 10 is a good sign for the rest of the season. Alex did a great job too, because this was his first race in F1 and it’s not an easy circuit around here. Nevertheless, he didn’t make any mistake and learned a lot throughout the weekend. After the first race weekend, we feel we have a strong package, so I’m optimistic for the next races.”
 
 



Pierre Gasly
Aston Martin Red Bull Racing    Race: 11th





“It was a pretty difficult race. With the new bigger rear wings, I couldn’t see the lights on the grid so I had to react with the cars around me and I lost a couple of places. Then I got stuck in traffic and even with the DRS, it’s super difficult to overtake here plus I had some debris in my front wing which didn’t help. I spent the whole race five tenths from the car in front but my tyres were just sliding and I couldn’t get past. I pushed as much as I could and I tried everything but it wasn’t enough to make it into the points. In general, the pace over the weekend was really good. In qualifying, we got knocked out of Q1 but I was happy with my first lap and it was just unfortunate that we didn’t make it through. Bahrain is a race I really like and we’ve seen the car is competitive so we’ll keep our heads down, stay focused and give a big push in two weeks’ time.”
 
 



Max Verstappen
Aston Martin Red Bull Racing    Race: 3rd




“I am very happy for the Team and also for Honda to finish on the podium today. Since we started working together it has been amazing and I am really enjoying the partnership, so this is a well-deserved third place for all of us. To be able to challenge Lewis at the end of the race and overtake Seb on-track, which around here is very difficult, is very positive. We had a little advantage with the tyres but it was satisfying to pressure Lewis even though I couldn’t get quite close enough to overtake him. The car was working really well and we also look strong on the straights which is hopefully a good sign for the rest of the season. I heard this is the first podium for Honda since 2008 so I am very happy that I managed to achieve this for them today.”
 





Christian Horner
Aston Martin Red Bull Racing, Team Principal


    “A fantastic start to the season with a podium finish at our first Grand Prix with our new power unit partner Honda, who haven’t finished in the top three since 2008. Max put in a remarkable performance today, and after a decent start and one of the day’s fastest pit stops, he was able to take advantage of the C3 tyre and make a great pass on Sebastian. He went on to put Lewis under pressure for the rest of the race, but didn’t get quite close enough. Pierre battled his way from P17 to finish just outside of the points, but at this track it’s notoriously hard to overtake. He drove the wheels off the car and it’s a shame that it wasn’t rewarded with a point. He raced hard and I’m sure his time will come. After a promising season opener, we now look ahead to Bahrain.”
 
 

          

          - HONDA photos Red Bull

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/-honda-f1-australian-gp-review---187935.html

17.03.2019 / MaP

More News

SportPesa Racing Point F1 Australian Grand-Prix race review
17.03.2019
2019 AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX  P13 - SERGIO PEREZ - Chassis 01Strategy: Used Soft (13 laps) – New Hard (44 laps) Sergio: “I’m disappointed to come away from Melbourne missing out on point more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Australian Grand-Prix race
17.03.2019
2019 AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 17/03/2019 Daniil Kvyat (STR14-03, Car 26)Race: Pos. 10th “It was an excellent race today! I’m happy with the way I drove and it was really enjoyable. There was a lot of po more >>
Renault F1 Team Australian Grand Prix race review
17.03.2019
2019 FORMULA 1 ROLEX AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX, SUNDAY Renault F1 Team began the 2019 FIA Formula 1 World Championship with a solid points finish courtesy of Nico Hülkenberg’s seventh place in the Rolex Australian Grand Prix at Albert Park, Melbourne. more >>
4 points for Alfa Romeo Team F1 in Australian GP race
17.03.2019
1 for Charlie Whiting1 for the engineers and mechanics on-site at Albert Park1 for all our team members back in the factory in Hinwil1 for Peter Sauber, who gave Kimi his first chance to race in Formula One back in 2001 here in Australia     more >>
Rich Energy Haas F1 Australian Grand Prix race review
17.03.2019
Event: Australian Grand Prix (Round 1 of 21)Date: Sunday, March 17Location: Melbourne Grand Prix CircuitLayout: 5.303-kilometer (3.295-mile), 16-turn trackWeather: Sunny and clearAir Temps: 22.8-23.9 degrees Celsius (73-75 degrees Fahrenheit)Track Temps: 37.1-44.3 degrees Celsius (98.8-111.7 degrees Fahrenheit)Race Winner: V more >>
ROKit Williams F1 Australian Grand-Prix race
17.03.2019
Australian Grand Prix•    George Russell finished 16th and Robert Kubica 17th in the Australian Grand Prix•    George started 19th on the medium Pirelli tyre, with Robert 20th on the grid on the har more >>
Australian Grand-Prix Race classification
17.03.2019
FORMULA 1 ROLEX AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX 2019Melbourne, Albert Park CircuitSunday, March 17th  2019   1     77     Valtteri Bottas     Mercedes     58   & more >>
Honda F1 Australian Grand Prix qualifying preview
16.03.2019
F1 2019 Round 01 Australia GP - Qualifying  An extremely competitive first qualifying session of the season resulted in mixed emotions as only one Honda-powered car reached Q3 at the Australian Grand Prix. The first par more >>
McLaren F1 Australian Grand-Prix qualifying
16.03.2019
Australian Grand Prix - QualifyingAlbert Park, Saturday 16 MarchLando and Carlos start the opening round of this year’s FIA Formula 1 World Championship in Australia tomorrow from the fourth and ninth rows respectively on the 20-car grid more >>
Possible race strategies for Australian Grand-Prix
16.03.2019
In theory, the quickest strategy for the 58-lap Australian Grand Prix is actually a two stopper: two stints on the soft tyre of 21 laps each, followed by a shorter 16-lap final stint on the medium.In practice, the teams are more likely to a more >>
Pirelli F1 Australian Grand-Prix qualifying review
16.03.2019
 Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton kept up the monopoly on Australian Grand Prix pole positions that he has held since 2014 with another fastest time in qualifying, using the soft tyre from start to finish of each session. Hamilton’s pole position time broke more >>
Second and third row for Ferrari in Australian GP
16.03.2019
Sebastian Vettel and Charles Leclerc will start the Australian Grand Prix from the second and third row of the grid respectively. It was not the easiest of sessions for the Scuderia and it ended with Sebastian third fastest and Charles fifth. The race gets underway at 16h10 local time (06h10 CET.) more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 - Australian Grand Prix qualifying
16.03.2019
2019 Australian Grand Prix - Saturday  Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport lock out the front row for the 2019 F1 season-opener in Melbourne •    Lewis claimed his 84th Formula One more >>
Aston Martin Red Bull Racing F1 Australian Grand-Prix qualifying
16.03.2019
 AUSTRALIAN GP – QUALIFYING MAX VERSTAPPEN, Position: 4th 1: 21.320 (Practice 3 – P9 1:23.481)“I am pretty happy with the way qualifying went. After some of the difficulties we’ve had this weekend, espe more >>
Rich Energy Haas F1 Australian GP qualifying
16.03.2019
Event: Qualifying for the Australian Grand Prix (Round 1 of 21)Date: Saturday, March 16Location: Melbourne Grand Prix CircuitLayout: 5.303-kilometer (3.295-mile), 16-turn trackWeather: Sunny and clearAir Temps: 22.8-23.3 degrees Celsius (73-73.9 degrees Fahrenheit)Track Temps: 34.3-39.4 degrees Celsius (93.7-102.9 degrees Fahrenheit) more >>
SportPesa Racing Point F1 Australian Grand-Prix qualifying
16.03.2019
QUALIFYING REPORT2019 AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX   P10 - SERGIO PEREZ - Chassis 01Q1    1:22.908          Q2    1:22.532  more >>
Alfa Romeo Racing F1 Australian Grand Prix qualifying
16.03.2019
2019 Formula One Rolex Australian Grand Prix – Qualifying – SaturdayWeather: FP3: sunny and dry, 22-24°C air, 43-46°C track; Qualifying: sunny and dry, 23°C air, 34-39°C trackFréd& more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Australian Grand Prix qualifying
16.03.2019
Alex Albon (STR14-02, Car 23)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:24.328, pos. 15th, 15 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:22.757, (Q2) 1:22.636, pos. 13th  “My Qualifying started off okay. I did my first lap and when I go more >>
Renault F1 Australian Grand Prix qualifying
16.03.2019
Renault F1 Team will start the season-opening Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix with Nico Hülkenberg eleventh and Daniel Ricciardo twelfth following a tight qualifying session around Albert Park, Melbourne. Both drivers eased into Q2 follow more >>
ROKit Williams F1 Australian Grand Prix qualifying
16.03.2019
Australian Grand Prix QualifyingQualifying Notes•    George Russell qualified 19th and Robert Kubica 20th for the Australian Grand Prix•    George set a time of 1:24.360 on his thi more >>
Honda F1 Australian GP practice review
15.03.2019
F1 2019 Round 01 Australia GP - Practice  The new Formula 1 season officially got underway on Friday with the first two practice sessions for the Australian Grand Prix. The new Aston Martin Red Bull Racing Honda partnership got off more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Australian GP Practices
15.03.2019
2019 Australian Grand Prix - Friday  Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport start the season with a trouble-free Friday •    Lewis finished the first session of the year in P1 with Valtteri in P5 more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Australian GP practices review
15.03.2019
2019 AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX FRIDAY 15/03/2019 Daniil Kvyat (STR14-03, Car 26)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:24.832, pos. 7th, 30 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:23.933, pos. 11th, 36 laps more >>
Renault Sport F1 Australian GP practices review
15.03.2019
2019 FORMULA 1 ROLEX AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX, FRIDAY Renault F1 Team completed a positive first day of practice for the season-opening race of the 2019 FIA Formula 1 World Championship, the Rolex Australian Grand Prix. Nico H more >>
McLaren Racing F1 Australian GP practices
15.03.2019
2019 Australian Grand Prix - Free Practice"We're still in the mix with the other teams in what we knew was a tight midfield"Carlos and Lando completed the team’s run plan in today’s opening two practice sessions, completing 45 more >>
Haas F1 Team Australian Grand Prix practices
15.03.2019
Event: Free Practice 1 and Free Practice 2 for the Australian Grand Prix (Round 1 of 21)Date: Friday, March 15Location: Melbourne Grand Prix CircuitLayout: 5.303-kilometer (3.295-mile), 16-turn trackFP1 Weather: Clear and sunnyFP2 Weather: Clear and sunnyDrivers: Romain Grosjean and Kevin Magnussen     more >>
Aston Martin Red Bull Racing F1 Australian GP practices
15.03.2019
AUSTRALIAN GP – FRIDAY PRACTICEFriday, March 15th   2019 MAX VERSTAPPENFirst Practice Session: 1:23.792 Position: 4, Laps: 22Second Practice Session: 1:23.400 Position: 3, Laps: 33 more >>
ROKit Williams F1 Australian GP practices
15.03.2019
Australian Grand Prix PracticeFriday, March 15th  2019Dave Robson, Senior Race Engineer: It was the first official on-track running of the new race season and we were able to complete our normal Friday programme. We started to look at t more >>
Pirelli F1 - What we learned from Australian FP1 and FP2
15.03.2019
•    The cars are faster than last year: the best time from Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton in FP2 was more than 1.3 seconds faster than the equivalent time last year, despite the cars being heavier. There is a strong chance that we’ll see a new lap record in qualifying.   more >>
SportPesa Racing Point F1 Australian GP practices review
15.03.2019
2019 AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX Friday, March 15th  2019  SERGIO PEREZ - Chassis 01FP1    1:25.498    P16    21 lapsFP2    1:24.401    P more >>
Alfa Romeo Racing F1 Australian GP practices review
15.03.2019
 2019 Formula One Rolex Australian Grand Prix – Practice – Friday Mystery solved (kind of) What’s the most heard sentence in pre-season testing?“Only in Melbourne we’ll know where we stand!” Well, here we are (after FP2)! more >>
Australian Grand-Prix Practice 2 classification
15.03.2019
FORMULA 1 ROLEX AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX 2019Melbourne, Albert Park CircuitFriday, March 15th  20191     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:22.600  &nb more >>
Australian Grand-Prix Practice 1 classification
15.03.2019
FORMULA 1 ROLEX AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX 2019Melbourne, Albert Park CircuitFriday, March 15th  20191     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:23.599 more >>
Charles Leclerc quotes ahead of Australian Grand-Prix
14.03.2019
Charles Leclerc. “Obviously this will be a very special race for me, being my debut with Ferrari and that will make this Australian GP unique. I’ve already got good memories of Melbourne, because Albert Park was where I ma more >>
Sebastian Vettel quotes ahead of Australian Grand-Prix
14.03.2019
Sebastian Vettel: “I feel Melbourne is the perfect place to start the championship. There’s an enjoyable atmosphere and the people are nice and welcoming. However, the circuit itself is very unusual and you have to get attuned to the track: you have to remember the lines precisely and it’s not always easy to spot the breaking point and, on to more >>
Scuderia Ferrari Australian GP Preview
14.03.2019
The 70th Formula 1 World Championship season is about to get underway at Australia’s Albert Park circuit, which has already hosted the first race of the year 21 times. The race on Sunday 17 March will be the 35th Australian Grand Prix, the 24th held in Melbourne, which became the venue after Adelaide had been the host city from 1985 to 1995. more >>
Renault F1 Team Australian GP factfile
13.03.2019
Renault F1 Team is in Melbourne ready for the highly-anticipated, season-opening race of the 2019 FIA Formula 1 World Championship, the Rolex Australian Grand Prix. The New Kid… • Daniel Ricciardo makes his debu more >>
Aston Martin Red Bull drivers - Surf's up down under
13.03.2019
 So what better way to kick off the 2019 season – and Pierre’s first race weekend with the Team – than with Max organising a surfing lesson for our newest recruit with three-time surfing world champion, Mick Fanning, at Australia’s famous Torquay Beach.  more >>
Honda F1 Australian Grand Prix preview
13.03.2019
F1 2019 Round 1 Australian GP - Setup  Car’s launched and pre-season testing complete - Albert Park once again plays host to the opening round of the F1 season.  And once again, we see a new look Honda more >>

Kategorien

2001-2021 automobilsport.com full copyright