Caterham F1 Team Sao Paulo preview

Caterham F1 Team Sao Paulo preview

21.11.2013: 2013 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX Sao Paulo, Brazil -General

2013 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX





Sao Paulo, Brazil -  General


Race Laps: 71

Fuel consumption and fuel effect are relatively low, compared to the majority of the season

Kerbs are not a problem

The track is not especially bumpy

The Brazilian GP is a hard race for the drivers with many compressions and a long time spent dealing with lateral loads which are applied on the opposite side to most circuits


Low atmospheric pressure due to the altitude of the circuit which is the highest of the season: 786 m above sea level.


Top speed can be reached in T1 or T4 depending on wind condition

First gear is not used on the track

Maximising traction is usually the main balance issue
 


2012 Weather


Air/Track temp ( C): 32 / 40
ATM Press (HPA): 786
Hum (%): 62
Wind (kph): NNE2.7
 

2012 Timing

Qualifying


P1: HAM 1.12.458 Q3
P2: BUT 1.12.513 Q3
P3:  WEB 1.12.581 Q3
CF1T best: P19 PET 1.17.073 Q1
 

Race


P1: BUT (1.18.108 lap 37)
P2: ALO (1.18.623 lap 36)
P3: MAS (1.18.879 lap 37)
CF1T best: P11 PET (1.20.528 lap 39)
 


Circuit Particularity


Bumpiness: medium
Overtaking chance: low
Kerbs: smooth
Ride height setting particularity: none
Engine severity: medium
Gearbox severity: medium
Lat/Long grip: lateral
Aero eff ratio: medium
Safety car history: 2011 – none, 2010 – 1 (laps 51 – 55)
Track grip evo during w/e: high
Aero settings: medium / high
Brake wear severity: medium
Brake cooling necessity: high
 



Driver Quotes
 
 
Charles Pic:
“We’ve reached the end of the season, a year which I’ve enjoyed and believe I’ve learnt a lot from, both on and off track. There have been a number of really good moments, Bahrain for example when we brought the new parts and the car was suddenly a big step forwards, that felt really good and was a fair reward for the work everyone had put in.


And, every time I’ve been to the factory, it’s been an honour to see how dedicated everyone is to pushing the team forwards. We did a cool event with all the staff after quali in Silverstone and it was great to see so many people at the factory on a Saturday, and to see what it meant to their families to be part of a team that keeps growing in the right direction.


Sure there have been some tough moments too, but what I’ve liked all year has been the spirit right across the whole team. We started in Australia with a car that we knew would be a challenge to compete with teams ahead, but by Bahrain and then Spain, because of the efforts put in by everyone at the factory and on track, we’d overtaken our nearest rivals in pace terms, a position we’ve held at most of the circuits since then.
 

“So now we’re in Brazil and it’s the last race of the year. In 2012 I had my highest ever finish in F1 in Brazil, 12th and that was partly down to having a crazy race all around us and that’s what we’re hoping for again 2013, even though this year it’s a fight with the team I was with in 2012!


We know we have the pace to be in the right place when the chequered flag falls, and I know that whatever the weather does I’ll be ready to fight right to the end. Now it’s a bit out of our hands, so we’ll do what we’ve done all year – work as hard as we can and grab any opportunities that arise. It’ll be an exciting weekend whatever happens, and one in which there will be quite a lot of attention on us, so I’m excited about what’s ahead.”
 


Giedo van der Garde:
“It’s hard to believe we’re already at the end of the season, but here we are in Brazil and we have a big weekend ahead of us, for the whole team, our partners and our fans. I have to say it’s been a fantastic year, one in which I’ve learnt so much, more than I could have thought when the first test started back in February, but one in which I’ve enjoyed every minute – the highs and the lows.


 I think I’m really lucky that I’m with a team that gave me the chance last year to learn, doing things like FP1 in Brazil in 2012 which will definitely be helpful here, but also throughout the season. When we announced that I’d be driving for Caterham back in January I said I knew I had a lot to learn and I needed some time to find my true pace, but the team helped me do just that and mid-season, that’s when it all started to come good.


It would obviously be nice to finish on a high now in Brazil and we’re all ready to do that, if the chance comes our way.
 

“I’m fully ready for what’s ahead this weekend, mentally and physically. I’m feeling good and hopefully it’ll be wet / dry, just like it was in Monaco and Spa when we got into Q2, conditions that I really like and that I think you need to be a bit brave to really take advantage of.


Since being in Brazil it’s rained both days at around race time, so who knows, maybe the luck will finally go our way and we’ll have a chance to fight to the flag for the position we’re aiming for.  If not, then so be it. I’m a positive guy and I know the whole team has worked incredibly hard all year to keep making progress, so if things don’t go our way it won’t be through lack of effort.


All we can do is drive as hard and as fast as possible, and continue to work like we have all year, then we’ll see where we are on Sunday night.”

 


- Tom Webb,  photo Caterham F1

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/brazil-gp-caterham-f1-team-sao-paulo-preview-charles-pic-van-der-garde---117366.html

21.11.2013 / MaP

More News

TW Steel Introduces Bold CEO Tech Emerson Fittipaldi Limited Edition
21.11.2013
To celebrate the 40th anniversary of motorsport legend Emerson Fittipaldi becoming the first home driver to win the Brazilian Grand Prix, TW Steel has chosen to honour its famed brand ambassador with anot more >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Interlagos preview
21.11.2013
2013 Brazilian Grand Prix previewAutodromo Jose Carlos Pace facts & statsThe 2013 FIA Formula 1 World Championship draws to a close in Brazil this weekend. The season finale takes place at the Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, one of the more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Brazilian Grand Prix preview
21.11.2013
2013 Brazilian Grand Prix  Sahara Force India gets ready for the final round of the 2013 FIA Formula One World Championship. Vijay’s VisionDr Vijay Mallya looks ahead to the final race of more >>
Heikki Kovalainen: “All we need is a better Sunday”
21.11.2013
Our Finnish Enstone returnee is determined to harness the positives from his E21 debut and strike back with a strong performance at the season-ending Brazilian Grand PrixWhat do you think of Interlagos?It’s a great c more >>
Romain Grosjean: “I love going Brazilian”
21.11.2013
After a standout performance in Austin, Romain Grosjean looks ahead to the season finale at Interlagos hoping to end the year on a highTell us about Interlagos; is it a track you like?It’s a more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Sao Paulo preview
20.11.2013
Sao Paulo - Preview  The final race of the 2013 Formula One World Championship takes place at Interlagos in Sao Paulo on Sunday 24 November. •    At 4.309 km, the Interlagos circ more >>
Adieu to Renault V8 Engine at Brazilian GP 2013
20.11.2013
After eight seasons, the FIA Formula One World Championship will say goodbye to the 2.4 litre V8 engine formula at the Brazilian Grand Prix.At the end of the year, the highly optimized, ultra-high output, ultra-high speed, normally as more >>
Sebastian Vettel seals title with four stops at Brazilian Grand Prix
25.11.2012
Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel has claimed his third consecutive world title – making him the youngest-ever triple world champion – after a dramatic Brazilian Grand Prix, while McLaren’s Jenson Button took his third win of the season. more >>
Sebastian Vettel is the 2012 World Champion,
25.11.2012
..2011 World Champion and 2010 World ChampionRed Bull Racing claims triple double Championships '10, '11, '12Car 1 SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Finish Position: 6th, Start Position: 4th       &nbs more >>
Four teams, nine wins, 839 points and double title for Renault in 2012
25.11.2012
Sebastian Vettel’s drive to sixth position in today’s dramatic Brazilian Grand Prix saw him crowned the 2012 FIA Formula One Drivers’ World Champion.It is the third consecutive title for Sebastian and comes just one week after more >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Interlagos race
25.11.2012
2012 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIXAutodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Interlagos, Sunday November 25“It was crazy out there!”182nd          more >>
Lotus F1 Team Interlagos race
25.11.2012
End Credits – Brazilian Grand Prix, Sunday 25 NovemberLotus F1 Team secured fourth position in the 2012 FIA Formula 1 Constructors’ World Championship with over twice the points tally of nearest rival Mercedes, with Kimi Räikk&ou more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Interlagos race
25.11.2012
2012 Brazilian Grand Prix: Race Report Sahara Force India led 30 laps of the Brazilian Grand Prix as Nico Hulkenberg competed for the victory at Interlagos, eventually finishing fifth. Paul Di Resta looked set for points, but crashed on more >>
MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS F1 Team Interlagos race review
25.11.2012
2012 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX INTERLAGOS25 NOVEMBERA thrilling Brazilian Grand Prix at Interlagos this afternoon saw Michael Schumacher end his Formula One career with a battling seventh place finish, whilst Nico Rosberg came home in 1 more >>
Sauber F1 Team Interlagos Race
25.11.2012
Brazilian GP – Race – Sunday, 25.11.2012   Weather: changing conditions with light rain, 20-18°C air, 25-20° track The season finale of the 2012 FIA Formula One World Championship in Brazil was a thriller in which more >>
Caterham F1 Team Interlagos race review
25.11.2012
Brazilian Grand Prix - Sunday 25th November 2012Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationIn 2011 the total EADS workforce numbered more than 133,000 peopleWeatherRace: Overcast, intermittent rain more >>
HRT F1 Team Interlagos race
25.11.2012
Brazilian Grand PrixAutódromo Jose Carlos Pace, Interlagos, Sao Paulo Sunday, 25th of November 2012 Weather: Wet – Air 19ºC, Track 23ºCRace: 71 laps – Track distance: 4.309kmPedro de la Ro more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Interlagos race
25.11.2012
2012 BRAZIL GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 25/11/2012  Jean-Eric Vergne (STR7-02)Race finish: 8th“It’s good to finish eighth, however, I am not so happy with myself, because I m more >>
First quotes from Interlagos race
25.11.2012
BRAZILIAN GP 2012Sebastian Vettel  sixth in the race - World Champion 2012It has not sunk in yet that I am world Champion today. I hardly had any time for myself. Its very difficult to find the right words. Everything possible has go more >>
Interlagos Race results 2012
25.11.2012
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 20121     3     Jenson Button     McLaren-Mercedes     71     Winner     2     252 more >>
Lotus F1 Team Interlagos qualifying
24.11.2012
The Final Countdown – Brazilian GP, Saturday 24 NovemberKimi Räikkönen bounced back to P9 on the grid for tomorrow’s Brazilian Grand Prix after missing most of this morning’s running due to an engine failure early in the sessio more >>
Tyre strategy holds the key to qualifying and race in Brazil
24.11.2012
Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel has moved a step closer to clinching a third consecutive world title – which would make him the youngest triple world champion in the history of the sport – by qualifying fourth for the Brazilian Grand Prix, four places ahea more >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Interlagos qualifying
24.11.2012
2012 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGAutodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Interlagos, Saturday November 24“My perfect farewell”155th            po more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 qualifying review
24.11.2012
Saturday 24 November 2012¬ BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX  QUALIFYING Car 2 MARK WEBBER, Position: 3rd, (3rd Practice – P3, 1:13.385)“We got the most out of that, but it was disappointing n more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Interlagos qualifying
24.11.2012
2012 Brazilian Grand Prix: Qualifying ReportSahara Force India continued to show strong form in Sao Paulo as Nico Hulkenberg qualified in seventh place for tomorrow’s Brazilian Grand Prix. Paul Di Resta will line up P11.  more >>
Sauber F1 Team Interlagos qualifying
24.11.2012
Brazilian GP – Qualifying – Saturday, 24.11.2012   Weather: drying track, 24-28°C air, 31-36°C track,  The final race of the 2012 FIA Formula One World Championship will be a challenging one for the Sauber F1 Te more >>
MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS F1 Interlagos qualifying
24.11.2012
2012 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX  INTERLAGOS 24 NOVEMBERQUALIFYINGNico Rosberg and Michael Schumacher qualified in 10th and 14th places today for the Brazilian Grand Prix at Interlagos. more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Interlagos Qualifying
24.11.2012
2012 BRAZIL GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 24/11/2012  Daniel Ricciardo (STR7-04)Third Practice Session Best lap 1:14.687, pos. 16th, 21 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:16.744, more >>
Caterham F1 Team Interlagos qualifying review
24.11.2012
Brazilian Grand Prix FP3 & QualifyingCaterham F1 Team Partner informationMore than 1 billion people connect via Dell servers every single dayWeatherFP3: Overcast, dry, ai more >>
HRT F1 Team Interlagos qualifying
24.11.2012
FP3 and Qualifying at the Brazilian Grand PrixAutódromo Jose Carlos Pace, Interlagos, Sao PauloSaturday, 24th of November 2012 Weather: Overcast – Air 32ºC, Track 40ºC11.00-1 more >>
Interlagos Qualifying result 2012
24.11.2012
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 20121     4     Lewis Hamilton     McLaren-Mercedes     1:15.075    1:13.398    1:12.458   &n more >>
Interlagos Practice 3 results
24.11.2012
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 20121     3     Jenson Button     McLaren-Mercedes     1:13.188         222  &n more >>
Teams get first taste of Pirelli’s 2013 tyres at Interlagos
23.11.2012
The Formula One teams got their first taste of Pirelli’s 2013 tyres during free practice in Brazil, with the Italian firm bringing two extra sets of prototype tyres in addition to the usual allocation of P Zero Silver hard tyres and P Ze more >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Interlagos Practices
23.11.2012
2012 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX – FREE PRACTICE“I’m savouring every moment”Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Interlagos, Friday November 23LEWIS HAMILTONMP4-27A-04FP1  &nbs more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Interlagos practices review
23.11.2012
BRAZILIAN GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE  Car 1, Sebastian Vettel“It was alright today, it was very slippery for everyone. It was quite hot today and in terms of track conditions not that easy, so I th more >>
Lotus F1 Team Interlagos practices
23.11.2012
Relax, Take it Easy – Brazilian GP, Friday 23 November 2012Romain Grosjean went seventh fastest whilst Kimi Räikkönen set the twelfth fastest time during a hot opening day of the Brazilian Grand Prix weekend at Interlagos, São Paulo. more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Interlagos practices
23.11.2012
2012 Brazilian Grand Prix, Free Practice Report Sahara Force India completed its final Friday practice sessions of the year with Paul Di Resta and Nico Hulkenberg showing competitive times in the very hot condit more >>
Sauber F1 Team Interlagos practices review
23.11.2012
Brazilian GP – Practice – Friday, 23.11.2012   Weather: sunny and dry, 22-33°C air, 32-49 track° The heat is on for the season’s finale – and so far it doesn’t really suit the Sauber F1 Team. The f more >>
HRT F1 Interlagos practices
23.11.2012
Free Practice sessions at the Brazilian Grand PrixAutódromo Jose Carlos Pace, Interlagos, Sao PauloFriday, 23rd of November 2012 Weather: Sunny – Air 34ºC, Track 55ºC10.00 - 11.3 more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright