Bridgestone Motorsport’s French Grand Prix report

Bridgestone Motorsport’s French Grand Prix report

22.06.2008: Bridgestone Motorsport’s French Grand Prix report

Felipe Massa (Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro) has won the eighth round of the FIA Formula One World Championship from second on the grid after using a medium-soft-soft compound Bridgestone Potenza tyre strategy in the French Grand Prix at Magny Cours.

Massa was joined on the podium by team-mate Kimi Raikkonen and Panasonic Toyota Racing driver Jarno Trulli, who scored his first podium finish since the Spanish Grand Prix in 2005. Finishing fourth was Heikki Kovalainen (Vodafone McLaren Mercedes) whilst BMW Sauber F1 Team driver Robert Kubica finished in fifth.

Mark Webber (Red Bull Racing) finished sixth, ahead of Nelson Piquet (ING Renault F1 Team) who scored his first Formula One World Championship points. Fernando Alonso (ING Renault F1 Team) was the final driver to score, gaining a point for his eighth position.

The top thirteen drivers finished on the lead lap, and despite light rain during the latter parts of the race, only Bridgestone’s dry grooved Potenza tyres were used. Tyre performance from the medium and soft Bridgestone Potenza tyres was strong in the race and the majority of drivers used a medium-medium-soft strategy to achieve their result.

Notably, AT&T Williams driver Nico Rosberg used a one stop strategy, completing his first 40 laps using the soft compound tyre. The race’s fastest lap, a 1min 16.630secs, was set by Raikkonen on lap 16 using the medium compound tyre. Only Raikkonen and Massa set race lap times in the 1min 16secs today.

Leaving Magny Cours, Massa leads the drivers’ championship with 48 points, ahead of Kubica on 46. Raikkonen is in third place with 43 points. Ferrari lead the constructors’ championship with 91 points, ahead of BMW Sauber on 74 points. McLaren Mercedes are in third place with 58 points.

Formula One teams will be testing next week at Silverstone June 24-26, using the hard and medium compound Potenza tyres. The next Grand Prix is the Santander British Grand Prix at Silverstone on July 4-6 where Bridgestone’s hard and medium compound Potenza tyres will be used.

 

Hirohide Hamashima - Director of Bridgestone Motorsport Tyre Development, said:

"We are very happy with our tyre performance here today. There were many strategies possible, but I believe the best solution was the medium – medium – soft strategy that we saw most drivers use. Kimi was fastest, but unfortunately for him he had a problem and he had to be patient to take second place. Congratulations to Felipe and Ferrari for their win and especially to Felipe for taking the championship lead.

Congratulations also to Jarno Trulli and Toyota for their good result. In Moto GP we must also praise Casey Stoner and Ducati for their win and Valentino Rossi and Yamaha for their second place in the MotoGP race at Donington Park."

 

Bridgestone Potenza Driver Tyre Strategies Rd.8 – French Grand Prix

In 2008, the tyre regulations stipulate that the two dry tyre specifications must be visibly distinguishable from each other. At the French Grand Prix, the soft compound Bridgestone Potenza tyre was marked with a white line in the second from inside groove. The extreme wet weather tyre was also marked with a white line.

 

-Rachel Ingham – Andy Stobart - photos Bridgestone

more photos will be on automobilsport.com under PHOTOS - FORMULA1

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/france-gp-bridgestone-motorsport-french-grand-prix-review-tyre-strategy-potenza-tyres---39720.html

22.06.2008 / MaP

More News

Nelson Piquet: „Ich wusste, dass dieser Moment kommt"
22.06.2008
Der junge Brasilianer freut sich über seine ersten WM-Punkte, die er heute mit Platz sieben in Magny-Cours einfuhr. Nelson, wie lief dein Rennen? more >>
Panasonic Toyota Racing F1 - Race review
22.06.2008
French Grand Prix - Race Round-Up Sunday 22 June 2008 Today's Weather: Dry race despite brief shower near the end, air 24-26°C, track 25-32°C Constructors' Champio more >>
Another three points to stay fourth for Red Bull Racing F1
22.06.2008
Car 10, MARK WEBBER, (Finish Position 6th, Start Position: 6th) "My start wasn't great, but my first stint wasn't too bad in terms of pace. I was trying to keep up with Fernando (Alonso) as I knew he was short and I put in some laps that were right on the edge before the first stop. On my out lap I knew I was still under pressure from others who were more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 - Rain dance failed in Magny-Cours
22.06.2008
2008 FRENCH GRAND PRIX - SUNDAY 22/06/08   Sebastian Vettel (STR3-03) Pos. 12th "I think we can be proud of ourselves because we had a very strong race. We started and finished P12, but we were in a part of the pack that included McLaren and BMW. I think we did a fantastic job of keeping ahead of one BMW simply because w more >>
Force India Formula One - Race review
22.06.2008
2008 French Grand Prix Race Report Adrian Sutil (car 20, VJM01/02): 19th: 1:32:57.001 (+1 lap) Giancarlo Fisichella (car 21, VJM01/05): 18th: 1:32:37.032 (+1 lap)  - The Force India Formula One Team achieved its target of a double finish in today's French Grand Prix at the Circuit de Nevers in Burgundy. Gian more >>
AT&T Williams F1 - French race review
22.06.2008
FRENCH GRAND PRIX – RACE SUNDAY 22 JUNE, 2008  The AT&T Williams team return home from a fruitless weekend in France with neither driver able to secure points in today’s French Grand Prix. Kazuki Nakajima brought his FW30 home in the same position in which he started the race, 15th. At a disadvantage from the outset due to his ten-place penalty wh more >>
Magny-Cours Race result
22.06.2008
FORMULA 1 GRAND PRIX DE FRANCE 2008 1 2 Felipe Massa Ferrari 70 Winner 2 10 2 1 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 70 +17.9 secs 1 8 3 11 Jarno Trulli Toyota 70 +28.2 secs 4 6 4 23 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes 70 +28.9 secs 10 5 5 4 Robert Kubica BMW Sauber 70 +30.5 secs 5 4 6 10 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 70 +40.3 secs 6 3 more >>
ING Renault F1 Team Pat Symonds Interview
22.06.2008
„Die Möglichkeit heftiger Schauer bleibt" Der Leitende Ingenieur und Chefstratege des ING Renault F1 Team bewertet die Chancen seiner Piloten und nennt die rennentscheidenden Punkte. Pat, wie verlief das Rennwochenende für Ihr Team bislang? Pat Symonds Ziemlich gut. Das Auto ist schnell und wir befinden uns hier wieder auf einem ähnli more >>
Fernando Alonso: „Das sieht vielversprechend aus"
21.06.2008
Interview Fernando Alonso Der zweifache Weltmeister analysiert seine erfolgreiche Qualifyingsession in Magny-Cours. Fernando, Du gehst morgen als Dritter ins Rennen. Glücklich? Fernando Alonso "Ja, natürlich. Wir zeigen jetzt seit einigen Wochen am Samstag gute Leistungen. Das Auto wird immer besser. Wir wissen jetzt, wo wir noc more >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 - Magny Cours qualifying review
21.06.2008
Magny-Cours, Saturday 21st June 2008 Lewis Hamilton MP4-23 04 Heikki Kovalainen MP4-23 05   2008 FRENCH GRAND PRIX QUALIFYING Vodafone McLaren Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton finished third fastest in Saturday's qualifying session for tomorrow's French Grand Prix, with a time of 1m16.693. However, the penalty he rec more >>
ING Renault F1 Team : Grundstein für ein starkes Rennen
21.06.2008
21. Juni 2008 – GP Frankreich, Samstag:   Das ING Renault F1 Team konnte seine starken Trainingsleistungen in Magny-Cours heute im Qualifying bestätigen. Fernando Alonso und Nelson Piquet erreichten die Startplätze 3 und 10 für den Großen Preis von Frankreich. Fernando Alonso, Renault R28-02 Nelson Piquet, Renault R28-01 more >>
AT&T Williams F1 - Magny Cours Qualifying review
21.06.2008
FRENCH GRAND PRIX - QUALIFYING SATURDAY 21 JUNE, 2008 AT&T Williams did not fare well in Magny-Cours today during qualifying for Sunday’s French Grand Prix. Nico Rosberg made the cut into Q2, but was unable to convert into Q3 and closed his afternoon in P15. With a ten-place penalty, Nico will line up on the last row of the grid. Compromised by traffic more >>
Panasonic Toyota Racing F1 - Qualifying review
21.06.2008
French Grand Prix - Qualifying Round-Up Saturday 21 June 2008 Today's Weather: Mainly sunny. Air 27-28°C, track 41-50°C Best 2008 grid position: 3rd Jarno Trulli (Malaysia) Best 2008 race result: 4th Jarno Trulli (Malaysia), Timo Glock (Canada) more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 - French qualifying review
21.06.2008
Car 10 MARK WEBBER, Position 8th "I'm pretty happy with that. Of course you always want a little bit more, but it could also have been worse for us, so it's okay. I had Jarno (Trulli) spinning in front of me on my first flying lap in Q3, so it all rested on my final one - but we got there. We've got both cars in the top ten, which is what want we wanted. Let's see more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 1st time 2 in Q2
21.06.2008
2008 FRENCH GRAND PRIX - SATURDAY 21/06/08   Sebastian Vettel (STR3-03) "That was very close and I think we can be happy to have both cars in Q2. I came very near to making Q3 and although I can't say I'm angry, when you get so close it is disappointing not to have done it. My laps were not perfect but they were pretty good. We more >>
Force India Formula One - French Qualifying review
21.06.2008
2008 French Grand Prix Qualifying and Final Free Practice Report Adrian Sutil (car 20, VJM01/02): FP3: 20th 1:17.612 (21 laps) Q1: 20th 1:17.053 (9 laps) Giancarlo Fisichella (car 21, VJM01/05): FP3: 19th 1:17.365 (23 laps) Q1: 19th 1:16.971 (10 laps)   Qualifying for the 2008 French Grand P more >>
Magny Cours Qualifying results
21.06.2008
FORMULA 1 GRAND PRIX DE FRANCE 2008 1 1 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1:15.133 1:15.161 1:16.449 16 2 2 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:15.024 1:15.041 1:16.490 17 3 22 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:15.634 1:15.293 1:16.693 15 4 5 Fernando Alonso Renault 1:15.754 1:15.483 1:16.840 18 5 11 Jarno Trulli Toyota 1:15.521 1:15.362 1:16.920 19 more >>
Fernando Alonso: „Auftrag erfüllt"
21.06.2008
Nach dem erfolgreichen Freitagstraining fühlt sich der spanische Renault F1-Pilot gut gerüstet fürs Qualifying in Magny-Cours. Fernando, wie lief dein erster Trainingstag? Fernando Alonso: "Ziemlich gut, würde ich sagen. Die Balance des Autos stimmt, und die neuen Entwicklungsteile funktionieren tadellos. Unsere Freitagsbestzeit h more >>
Saturday Practice results
21.06.2008
France Grand-Prix 2008 1 6 Nelsinho Piquet Renault 1:15.750 19 2 10 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1:15.759 0.009 14 3 15 Sebastian Vettel STR-Ferrari 1:15.827 0.077 21 4 7 Nico Rosberg Williams-Toyota 1:15.974 0.224 17 5 1 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1:16.003 0.253 18 6 11 Jarno Trulli Toyota 1:16.147 0.397 20 more >>
Vodafone McLaren-Mercedes F1 - Free practice review
20.06.2008
Magny-Cours, Friday 20th June 2008 Lewis Hamilton MP4-23 04 Heikki Kovalainen MP4-23 05 2008 FRENCH GRAND PRIX FREE PRACTICE Vodafone McLaren Mercedes drivers Lewis Hamilton and Heikki Kovalainen finished Friday's second Free Pract more >>
Force India Formula One - Magny Cours free practice review
20.06.2008
2008 French Grand Prix Free Practice Report Adrian Sutil (car 20, VJM01/02): FP1: 20th 1:18.673 (13 laps) FP2: 20th 1:17.868 (33 laps) Giancarlo Fisichella (car 21, VJM01/05): FP1: 19th 1:18.072 (27 laps) FP2: 18th 1:17.394 (42 laps)   The Force India Formula One Team's 2008 Fr more >>
Panasonic Toyota Racing F1 - Magny Cours Free practice review
20.06.2008
French Grand Prix - Free Practice Round-Up Friday 20 June 2008 Today's Weather: Cloudy but dry. Air 18-23°C, track 17-46°C more >>
AT&T Williams F1 Free Practice review
20.06.2008
FRENCH GRAND PRIX - FREE PRACTICE The AT&T Williams team had a productive day of free practice at the Circuit de Nevers in Magny-Cours today. Nico Rosberg and Kazuki Nakajima concentrated on set-up work of their FW30s ahead of tomorrow’s qualifying round and in preparation for Sunday’s French Grand Prix. Both drivers enjoyed uninterrupted running under moderate more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 - Free Practice review
20.06.2008
2008 FRENCH GRAND PRIX - FRIDAY 20/06/08 Sebastian Vettel (STR3-03) "I am very happy with the work we did today. I had a good pace since the beginning of the morning session and we made changes that seemed to improve the car. Fifth looks very good, but you never know what fuel loads the others were running, but it's better than being twentie more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 - Free practice review
20.06.2008
ARE YOU WORRIED ABOUT TRAFFIC JAMS THIS WEEKEND? Then have this super I-Spy Magny-Cours game to keep you entertained... QUOTES Car 9 DAVID COULTHARD, 1st Practice P12, 2nd Practice P10 "There was some initial graining on the tyres early in the session, but it improved as the track rubbered in. It was a pretty normal Friday prac more >>
Magny-Cours 2, la marche vers l'avenir
20.06.2008
Le projet Magny-Cours 2 est davantage qu’un projet de travaux. Il constitue un engagement marqué par la volonté de moderniser, d'innover, d'anticiper afin de conserver une position avancée dans le monde des sports mécaniques et de développer l'att more >>
Magny-Cours 2 Projet de modernisation-standardisation du Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cours
20.06.2008
Magny-Cours 2 L’ambition d'excellence pour les sports mécaniques français Un contexte en constante évolution Face à la mondialisat more >>
Friday practice2 results
20.06.2008
FORMULA 1 GRAND PRIX DE FRANCE 2008   1 5 Fernando Alonso Renault 1:15.778 37 2 2 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:15.854 0.076 24 3 1 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1:15.999 0.221 42 4 22 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:16.232 0.454 29 5 15 Sebastian Vettel STR-Ferrari 1:16.298 0.520 42 6 4 Robert Kubica BMW Sauber 1:16.31 more >>
Friday Practice1 results
20.06.2008
FORMULA 1 GRAND PRIX DE FRANCE 2008 1 2 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:15.306 22 2 22 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:16.002 0.696 22 3 23 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes 1:16.055 0.749 20 4 1 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1:16.073 0.767 21 5 4 Robert Kubica BMW Sauber 1:16.377 1.071 19 6 5 Fernando Alonso Renault 1:16.400 1.094 2 more >>
Thunderstorms forecast in France
20.06.2008
Friday weather update Welcome to the first day of practice for the French Grand Prix at the Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cours, the eighth round of the 2008 FIA Formula One World Championship. As in Canada, there is a possibility that rain could affect the outcome of the weekend. The forecast of partial cloud and an ambient temperature high of 24 degrees Celsiu more >>
GP Frankreich: Die Situation bei Red Bull Racing – mit Fabrice Lom
18.06.2008
Fabrice Lom, leitender Motoreningenieur beim Partnerteam Red Bull Racing, mit einer Analyse des Kanada-Grand Prix und der Vorschau auf den Großen Preis von Frankreich.   Fabrice, in Montreal fuhr David Coulthard aufs Podium, Sie müssen begeistert sein ... Fabrice Lom:" Absolut, wir sind alle sehr glücklich mit diesem more >>
Renault F1 und der Grand Prix von Frankreich
18.06.2008
In seinem ersten Jahr in der Formel 1 ging das französische Werksteam nicht beim Großen Preis von Frankreich an den Start, das Debüt des Renault RS01 folgte erst zwei Wochen später im englischen Silverstone. 1978 hätte die „Equipe Jaune" wohl auch besser auf eine Teilnahme verzichtet: Nach Platz elf im Qualifying schied der gelbe Turbo-Rennwagen von Jean-Pierre Jabouille more >>
GP Frankreich: ING Renault F1 Technik-Fokus
18.06.2008
Der Circuit de Nevers in Magny-Cours besteht aus einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Herausforderungen für Auto und Fahrer: Den drei Highspeed-Kurven zu Beginn der Runde folgen die sehr langsame Adelaide-Haarnadelkurve, zwei anspruchsvolle, schnelle Schikanen und noch einige weitere Besonderheiten, die am Fernsehschirm kaum zu erkennen sind. Wie immer geht es auch hier daru more >>
Bob Bell: „Wir lassen uns nicht beirren und werden uns durchsetzen"
18.06.2008
Bob, in Kanada agierte das Team wieder etwas glücklos. Wie wollen Sie diesen Trend umkehren? Bob Bell: " Ich glaube daran, dass jeder seines Glückes Schmied ist. Einfach nur dasitzen und darauf warten, dass sich etwas verbessert, hilft nicht weiter. Wir haben die beiden zurückliegenden Rennen analysiert – und bei genauer Betrachtung zeigt sich, dass es sich more >>
Nelson Piquet: „Ich bin voll konzentriert und entschlossen, mein Bestes für unser Team zu geben"
18.06.2008
Nelson, Kanada schien ein vielversprechendes Rennen zu werden, aber am Ende fehlte doch wieder das gewisse Glück … Nelson Piquet:" Ja, das stimmt. Wir hätten in Kanada Punkte einfahren können, bekamen aber einige technische Probleme, sodass wir das Rennen nicht beenden konnten. Doch es gibt auch Positives aus Montreal mitzunehmen: Ich more >>
Fernando Alonso: „In Frankreich zu fahren, motiviert ungemein"
18.06.2008
Fernando, eine tolle Vorstellung beim Qualifying in Montreal brachte dich im Rennen in Reichweite einer Podiumsplatzierung. Dann auszuscheiden, muss ziemlich frustrierend sein ... Fernando Alonso: " Wir haben die Riesenchance verpasst, in Montreal Punkte zu machen, das ist ganz klar. Aber wir müssen weiter positiv nach vorn blicken. Unsere Vorstellu more >>
Q+A with Chairman and Team Principal Tadashi Yamashina
18.06.2008
The French Grand Prix marks a year since you became Chairman and Team Principal, how has it been? I have enjoyed it very much and I have especially enjoyed getting familiar with all the team members and the different cultures within our team. I know the performance and the team work of all my colleagues is getting better and better. Everyone is very more >>
Force India Formula One Team - Magny Cours preview
17.06.2008
French Grand Prix Preview 20 - 22 June 2008 Following one race on the North American continent, the FIA Formula One World Championship now returns to Europe for the French Grand Prix from 20 - 22 Jun more >>
AT&T Williams F1 - Magny Cours preview
17.06.2008
After a brief trip across the Atlantic for the Canadian Grand Prix, Formula One moves to France this weekend for round eight of the Championship and the first of seven consecutive European races, the French Grand Prix. The Circuit de Never more >>

Kategorien

2001-2021 automobilsport.com full copyright