Honda F1 Australian Grand Prix preview

Honda F1 Australian Grand Prix preview

13.03.2019: F1 2019 Round 1 Australian GP - Setup Car’s launched and pre-season testing complete - Albert Park once again plays host to the opening round of the F1 season.

F1 2019 Round 1 Australian GP - Setup
 
 
Car’s launched and pre-season testing complete

- Albert Park once again plays host to the opening round of the F1 season.


 
And once again, we see a new look Honda Racing F1 line up taking to the grid in 2019, with the team now supplying power units to both Aston Martin Red Bull Racing as well as Scuderia Toro Rosso. Last year saw a frustrating beginning to the season for Toro Rosso-Honda, with only one car reaching the finish line after an MGU-H related issue forced us back to the garage. The whole team will be hoping for a stronger start in 2019 around this fast-flowing temporary street circuit. This tree-lined track stays slippery throughout the weekend and with no benchmarks currently set, this is the first chance for us to see how the grid compares. One thing we do know, it’s not going to be one to miss.
 
 


 
Toyoharu Tanabe
Technical Director, Honda F1




After a few short winter months, the new championship is about to start as usual in Melbourne. The first round is always an exciting moment for everyone in the sport and for us at Honda, this year’s opening weekend in Albert Park will be the start of new challenges, as it will be the first time we are working with two teams since the start of this new hybrid-power era. Over the eight days of pre-season testing we completed a high mileage with four drivers and our two teams. As is often the case in testing, we spotted some minor issues, which we fixed prior to going to Melbourne.


I should like to thank all the Honda members in HRD-Sakura and HRD-Milton Keynes for the huge amount of work they did in order for us to be well prepared to supply two teams this year. I must also thank the staff of Scuderia Toro Rosso and Aston Martin Red Bull Racing for their extremely helpful attitude and great effort over the winter. And now it’s time to go racing!
 
 




Pierre Gasly
Aston Martin Red Bull Racing
    


The new season started. It’s only my second full season in Formula One and there are a lot of things to learn this year, which makes it even more challenging. It’s my second time in Melbourne and I really loved it when I went there for the first time last year. It has an amazing atmosphere, I don’t know if it’s because it’s the first race of the year, but there’s something special about it and the people are really relaxed and joyful. Everybody at the track is super positive and excited about the start of the new season and the paddock has a good vibe. I’ve prepared myself well all winter for this first race and first season with the Team. It’s going to be a special weekend for me wearing Aston Martin Red Bull Racing colours.
 
 


Alexander Albon
Red Bull Toro Rosso Honda



“After the sessions in Barcelona, I can't wait to get to Melbourne and my first F1 race. Before testing began, there were some pre-test nerves and I was keen to know if I would be able to learn about the car quickly enough and be comfortable with it. Having done my four days, I think Toro Rosso and I can be happy with how it went. For my first drive in a Formula 1 car, I found the car really impressive. Your mind can't really understand how quick it is until you actually drive it. The cars are just at a different level to anything I've driven before.


"On the first day, despite all the training I had done, I felt my neck muscles a bit, but that got better and better every time I drove the car because your body adapts. By Day 2, I started to feel I had a good understanding of what to do in the car to be quick, but it was only on the last day of the test that I began to feel comfortable on the edge, even if there's still a way to go. My team has been very helpful, also because Toro Rosso has so much experience helping rookie drivers. They are very open and they know what rookies struggle with. I found it relatively seamless working with my race and data engineers as they got me up to speed as quickly as possible.


"My only experience of Albert Park is on the simulator. It's a really bumpy circuit so understanding the bumps and the kerbs is important as, in order to be quick, you need to know exactly where on track to place the car. I will also have to get used to the track evolution from FP1 through to qualifying as the circuit is not used during the year. Apart from actually driving the car, I will have to get accustomed to the fast pace of a race weekend, particularly qualifying for example, so I was pleased to be able to simulate that on my final test day. I'll just have to experience it for real once we get to Melbourne."
 


 
Max Verstappen
Aston Martin Red Bull Racing


I always look forward to going to Australia and I’m ready to start racing again. Even though the season starts earlier this year, it still felt like a long winter. Melbourne is an interesting weekend as it’s the first race of the season and nobody really knows where they stand, especially with the regulation changes and us with our new power unit.



Albert Park is an interesting track, it’s actually quite bumpy and has a lot of fast corners, so it’s fun when you have a well-balanced car there. It’s not the easiest circuit to overtake on as the straights aren’t quite long enough which makes it hard to set-up a pass, but it’s always possible. If we look at our longer runs from testing, our performance seems pretty promising and we hope to be competitive from the beginning of the year. Overall, I think we have a pretty good package, but we won’t know where we are until we get into the race weekend and see if we have closed the gap to Mercedes and Ferrari.
 
 




Daniil Kvyat
Red Bull Toro Rosso Honda
 



I think that we have done a very good job during testing and completed a lot of laps. We have done our homework at the tests which is the most important thing, every time I was out on track it seemed we were in quite good shape. Exactly how good, only time will tell. It was my first time working with Honda and it went smoothly. They are very hard working, but performance wise, we will have to wait for the first couple of races to see where we are.



“As for being back with everyone at Toro Rosso, the attitude of the team is very positive. I see everyone working hard and in a well-focussed way, so now we need to keep it that way at the races. We are on the right path. “I am looking forward to the first race of the season. It will be cool for me to back in Melbourne, especially after a year off. I'm very excited, I've been waiting for this moment for a while, but we must concentrate on our job rather than think about the excitement of the first race.



“Melbourne is a very technical track and has a variety of corner types. It's also very bumpy which is a good test of your car control. It's tricky and can catch you out with shadows falling on parts of the track, with the sun setting towards the end of the race - you need to be alert at this track, as it requires a high level of concentration. When you manage to put a good lap together it always feels very nice. If I had to pick out one section, it would be the high-speed chicane. In these current cars it will be very nice to drive. As for the slower corners, you need to be clean and precise and get them right.


“To sum it up: we prepared well in testing and now let's go to Melbourne!”
 
 
 

 
 Honda Motor

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/honda-f1-australian-gp-preview---187711.html

13.03.2019 / MaP

More News

Alfa Romeo Racing F1 Australian Grand-Prix preview
13.03.2019
2019 FIA Formula One Rolex Australian Grand Prix  Frédéric Vasseur, Team Principal Alfa Romeo Racing and CEO Sauber Motorsport AG:“Our arrival in Melbourne symbolizes the start of another big oppor more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Australian Grand-Prix preview
12.03.2019
2019 Australian Grand Prix -Looking ahead to the first race of the 2019 Formula One season in Melbourne  Toto Talks Australia  It's finally time to go racing again. Everyone in Bra more >>
Alex Albon quotes ahead of Australian Grand-Prix
12.03.2019
AUSTRALIAN GRAND-PRIX 2019Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 driver, car 23Alex Albon - “The first weekend of living my dream”“After the sessions in Barcelona, I can't wait to get to Melbourne and my first F1 rac more >>
Daniil Kvyat quotes ahead of Australian Grand-Prix
12.03.2019
AUSTRALIAN GRAND-PRIX 2019Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 driver, car 26Daniil Kvyat -  “We are on the right path”“I think that we have done a very good job during testing and completed a lot of l more >>
SportPesa Racing Point F1 Australian Grand-Prix preview
12.03.2019
AUSTRALIAN GRAND-PRIX 2019 Otmar: Australia is a great place to start the season.  We always get a warm welcome from the fans and, after a long winter of development and testing, it’s great to finally get back to racing. There&rs more >>
Lance Stroll quotes ahead of Australian Grand-Prix
12.03.2019
2019 AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX SportPesa Racing Point F1 driver, car 18Lance Stroll: I feel really excited heading into the first race weekend. I love being ‘down under’ and, because it’s the first race of more >>
Sergio Perez quotes ahead of Australian Grand-Prix
12.03.2019
2019 AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX SportPesa Racing Point F1 driver car 11 Sergio Perez: It’s been such a long winter and I’m excited to be back in the car in Melbourne. I enjoyed some rest time at home with my family and my friends more >>
Pirelli F1 Australian Grand-Prix preview
11.03.2019
The Australian Grand Prix season-opener takes place on a street circuit at Albert Park, but a slightly unusual one. Rather than being stop-and-go in nature like Monaco or Singapore, the track has a more flowing rhythm that also takes in some reasonably quick corners. more >>
Robert Kubica quotes ahead of Australian Grand-Prix
11.03.2019
AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX PREVIEWMELBOURNE GRAND PRIX CIRCUIT15-17 MARCH 2019ROUND 1 OF 21Robert KUBICA, ROKit Williams F1 driverIt will be a very emotional Grand Prix. It is the more >>
George Russell quotes ahead of Australian Grand-Prix
11.03.2019
AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX PREVIEWMELBOURNE GRAND PRIX CIRCUIT15-17 MARCH 2019ROUND 1 OF 21George Russell, ROKit Williams F1 driverI am extremely excited for Melbourne. It will be my first race i more >>
ROKiT Williams F1 Australian Grand-Prix preview
11.03.2019
AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX PREVIEWMELBOURNE GRAND PRIX CIRCUIT15-17 MARCH 2019ROUND 1 OF 21After an intense winter, the 2019 FIA Formula One World Championship is officially about to get underway! The season kicks off this weekend at Aust more >>
Australian Grand-Prix facts and stats
11.03.2019
Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit•    Total number of race laps: 58•    Complete race distance: 307.574 kilometers (191.118 miles)•    Pit lane speed limit: 60 kph (37 more >>
Daniel Ricciardo quotes ahead of home Grand-Prix
11.03.2019
Daniel RicciardoRenault Sport F1 TeamDaniel Ricciardo will don the black and yellow colours of Renault for the first time at a Grand Prix in Melbourne. And with 150 races under his belt in Formula 1, he heads home to Austr more >>
Nico Hülkenberg quotes ahead of Australian Grand-Prix
11.03.2019
Nico HULKENBERGRenault Sport F1 driverThe Australian Grand Prix kicks off Nico Hülkenberg’s third season with the team and his ninth year in Formula 1. After posting the fifth fastest time in pre-season testing, Nico is pumped up more >>
Renault Sport F1 Australian Grand-Prix preview and stats
11.03.2019
Foreword from Renault F1 Team Team Principal, Cyril AbiteboulThe first race of the year, the Australian Grand Prix, is a high point of the season, but even more so this year as Daniel Ricciardo makes his race debut for the team. We head there united and more >>
Einige Regeländerungen für die neue Formel-1-Saison 2019
11.03.2019
Mit dem Start der neuen Formel-1-Saison wird es 2019 im Gegensatz zu den Vorjahren keine tiefgreifenden Änderungen beim Reglement geben. Die wichtigsten Anpassungen beziehen sich auf die eingesetzten Front- und Heckflügel der Fahrzeuge.   more >>
Alfa Romeo Sauber F1 Team Australian Grand-Prix race review
25.03.2018
2018 Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix – Race Sunday  25.03.2018Weather: sunny and dry, 23-25°C air, 33-40°C trackThe Alfa Romeo Sauber F1 Team showed progress throughout the weekend with the race looking pr more >>
McLaren F1 Team Australian Grand Prix race review
25.03.2018
2018 Australian Grand Prix  #AusGP   An encouraging inaugural race of the season for McLaren and its new relationship with Renault. Both Fernando and Stoffel started the race one place ah more >>
Renault Sport F1 Team Australian Grand-Prix race review
25.03.2018
2018 Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix, Sunday   Renault Sport Formula One Team opened up its 2018 account with both Nico Hülkenberg and Carlos Sainz finishing in the top ten in today’s Australian Grand Prix. more >>
Pirelli F1 Australian Grand-Prix race review
25.03.2018
- Ferrari driver Sebastian Vettel wins a thrilling Grand-Prix helped by pit stop strategy from second row of the grid - One -topper from ultrasoft to soft utilised by the majority of drivers, in warm and dry conditions-Alternativ more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Australian Grand-Prix race
25.03.2018
 2018 AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 25/03/2018 Brendon Hartley (STR13-03, Car 28)Race: Pos. 15th “It wasn’t a great race for me today, I locked the brakes into Turn 1 at the start and flat-spotted more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Australian Grand-Prix race review
25.03.2018
2018 Australian Grand Prix - Sunday  Lewis comes home second as Valtteri fights back to P8 •    Lewis Hamilton came home in P2 in Albert Park to claim his eighth Formula One podium finish in Australia and 1 more >>
Haas F1 Team Australian Grand-Prix race review
25.03.2018
Event:  Australian Grand Prix (Round 1 of 21)Date:  Sunday, March 25Location:  Melbourne Grand Prix CircuitLayout:  5.303-kilometer (3.295-mile), 16-turn trackWeather:  Mostly sunnyAir Temps:  23.3-24.8 degrees Celsius (73.9-76.6 degrees Fahrenheit)Track Temps:  33-39.8 degrees Celsius (91.4-103.6 degrees Fahrenheit)Ra more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Australian Grand-Prix race review
25.03.2018
2018 AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX Sahara Force India completed today’s Australian Grand Prix with Sergio Perez racing to P11 ahead of Esteban Ocon in P12.  P11 - SERGIO PEREZ - VJM11-02Stra more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Australian GP race review
25.03.2018
Australian Grand Prix 2018 •    Lance Stroll finished 14th in the Australian Grand Prix, with Sergey Sirotkin retiring on his Formula One race debut•    Both cars started o more >>
Melbourne F1 Australian GP race classification
25.03.2018
ROLEX AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX -Melbourne Grand Prix CircuitSunday, March 25th 2018     1     5     Sebastian Vettel     Ferrari     58     1:2 more >>
Renault Sport F1 Team Australian Grand-Prix qualifying
24.03.2018
2018 Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix, Saturday  Renault Sport Formula One Team ended the first qualifying session of the 2018 season with both cars qualifying inside the top ten for the Australian Grand Prix at more >>
McLaren F1 Team Australian Grand Prix qualifying
24.03.2018
2018 Australian Grand Prix – qualifying As feared yesterday, the Formula 1 community arrived at Albert Park to torrential rain and thunderstorms on Saturday morning. By the start of FP3, the rain had subsided, but left a very damp trac more >>
Alfa Romeo Sauber F1 Team Australian Grand Prix qualifying
24.03.2018
Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix – Qualifying Saturday 24.03.2018The Alfa Romeo Sauber F1 Team concluded a positive qualifying session at Albert Park with Marcus Ericsson and Charles Leclerc in P17 and P18 respecti more >>
Pirelli F1 Australian Grand-Prix qualifying review
24.03.2018
- Lewis Hamilton breaks his own all-time Melbourne lap record on ultrasoft and wins inaugural Pirelli Pole Position Award   - Red Bull opts for alternative starting strategy on supersoft: both one and two stops are possible more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Australian Grand-Prix qualifying
24.03.2018
2018 AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIXSahara Force India competed the first qualifying session of the year with both cars progressing to Q2.   P13 - SERGIO PEREZ - VJM11-02Q1    1:24.344       more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Australian GP qualifying
24.03.2018
2018 Australian Grand Prix - Saturday  Lewis storms to the first pole position of the 2018 Formula One season •    With the fastest lap ever at Albert Park, Lewis claimed his 73rd career pole position - h more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Australian GP qualifying review
24.03.2018
2018 AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 24/03/2018 Brendon Hartley (STR13-03, Car 28)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:35.438, pos. 12th, 16 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:24.532, pos. 16th &l more >>
Haas F1 Team Australian GP qualifying review
24.03.2018
Event:  Qualifying for the Australian Grand Prix (Round 1 of 21)Date:  Saturday, March 24Location:  Melbourne Grand Prix CircuitLayout:  5.303-kilometer (3.295-mile), 16-turn trackWeather:  Partly cloudy more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Australian GP qualifying review
24.03.2018
Australian Grand Prix Qualifying Qualifying Notes   •    Lance Stroll qualified 14th and Sergey Sirotkin 19th for the Australian Grand Prix•    Both Lance and Serg more >>
F1 qualifying in Australian GP classification
24.03.2018
ROLEX AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit, MelbourneSaturday, March 24th 20181     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:22.824    more >>
Practice 3 in Australian GP classification
24.03.2018
ROLEX AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit, MelbourneSaturday, March 24th 20181     5     Sebastian Vettel     Ferrari     1:26.067      &nb more >>
Pirelli F1 Australian Grand-Prix Friday Practices
23.03.2018
-Mercedes fastest all day on ultrasoft in warm conditions, but uncertain weather expected for rest of the weekend- Low degradation so far on a "green! and slippery track with new softer compounds- So far, around 0.6 seconds separate the ultrasoft and supersoft compounds: All three tyres are viable options for the race more >>
Renault Sport F1 Team Australian Grand-Prix Friday practices
23.03.2018
2018 Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix, Friday  Nico Hülkenberg and Carlos Sainz gave the Renault R.S.18 its season track debut at Albert Park today as preparations got underway for the season-opening Rolex Australian Grand Prix. more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright