Lotus F1 Chinese GP qualifying review

Lotus F1 Chinese GP qualifying review

11.04.2015: Eight Line Poem - 2015 Chinese GP, Saturday Romain Grosjean placed eighth and Pastor Maldonado eleventh in mild and pleasant

Eight Line Poem - 2015 Chinese GP, Saturday


 
Romain Grosjean placed eighth and Pastor Maldonado eleventh in mild and pleasant conditions during qualifying for the Chinese Grand Prix. Pastor suffered from unwanted oversteer on his final qualifying lap and was just shy of breaking into the top ten. Romain made it into the final top ten and dug deep for his P8 lap, a 1min 37.905secs.
 


Romain Grosjean, E23-02. Q: P8, 1:37.905. FP3: P10, 1:39.405


“It was a very tight qualifying session which made it very exciting in the car and I’m sure exciting to watch too. We made some good changes from yesterday which gave me a nice balance and I think that was about the best possible from the car at the moment.


 It’s going to be a long race and I think the key will be to take care of your front left tyres. I’m enjoying driving the E23 and I think we’ve found a strong baseline set-up which is important for me.”
 


Pastor Maldonado, E23-03. Q: P11, 1:38.134. FP3: P16, 1:39.766

“I expect to fight in Q3 but it’s been harder for me so far this weekend than it has in the previous two races. For whatever reason we’ve struggled through the weekend to find the right balance from the car which means I can’t be fully confident to push on this type of track.


That said, I’m looking forward to tomorrow as we’re stronger on race pace so will be much more competitive hunting down those points we want.”
 



Alan Permane, Trackside Operations Director:
“We’re looking forward to a strong race.”

 


How was qualifying for the team?


We qualified where we should have done with the current pace of the E23, meaning both drivers did good jobs. Romain made cleaner progress through the sessions and was able to get a strong final lap for his P8 position. Pastor didn’t have the cleanest of laps at the end of Q2 so was unlucky to just miss out on being in the top ten.
 

What are the considerations for tomorrow’s race?


We have good tyre management and the weather prediction is for dry and mild conditions so it’s a case of deducing where the best opportunities lie. We’ve seen a mix of two and three stops here before and I’m sure we’ll be in that range tomorrow. Both tyre compounds are behaving well with a reasonable lap time difference between them so there shouldn’t be too much to catch us out. We’re looking forward to a strong race.



Clarisse Hoffmann- photo Lotus F1

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/lotus-f1-chinese-gp-qualifying-review---134686.html

11.04.2015 / MaP

More News

Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
CHINESE GP – QUALIFYING  DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 7, 1:38.534 (3rd Practice – P5, 1:39.020)“P7 is what we expected for today. I think we are always trying to find a compromise, us and drivers and more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 11/04/2015   Max Verstappen (STR10-03, Car 33)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:39.274, pos. 9th, 19 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:38.387, (Q2) 1:38.393, more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese GP qualifying
11.04.2015
2015 Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix: Qualifying Today’s qualifying session for the Chinese Grand Prix saw Sergio Perez qualify in P15 just ahead of teammate Nico Hulkenberg in P16.  P1 more >>
MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS to #DriveForGood with Laureus in Shanghai and Beyond
11.04.2015
Laureus branding to feature on F1 W06 Hybrid throughout Chinese Grand Prix weekend, Laureus ambassador Nico Rosberg will #DriveForGood throughout 2015 F1 season  On the eve of the 2015 Laureus World Sports Awards, to be held i more >>
F1 Chinese Grand Prix qualifying result 2015
11.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix  - Shanghai International Circuit - April 11th, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:38.285     1:36.423     more >>
F1 Chinese Grand Prix Free Practice 3 classification
11.04.2015
 Chinese Grand Prix  - Shanghai International Circuit - April 11th, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:37.615         & more >>
Pirelli F1 Chinese GP Practice sessions review
10.04.2015
- Exemplary durability from Pirelli P Zero White Medium and P Zero Yellow Soft tyres: nearly no graining despite cool temperatures- Performance gap of approximately 1.6-1.7 seconds between the two compounds in Shanghai- A more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
Battle resumes at the Shanghai International Circuit as MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS top the times on the opening day in China •    Lewis topped the times in both sessions, with Nico finishing the morning in P2 and the a more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix Practice Objectives: Set-up work, aero evaluations and tyre work Rob Smedley, Head of Performance Engineering: We completed the majority of our plan today, unfortunately w more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese GP Free Practices review
10.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 10.04.2015Weather: sunny/overcast and dry, 14-17°C air, 26-41°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team enjoyed a positive first practice day leading up to the Chinese Grand Prix more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP practices review
10.04.2015
“There’s been progress today – hashtag progress!”Shanghai International Circuit, Friday April 10McLaren-Honda enjoyed a positive first day of practice in Shanghai – both cars regularly ran in more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
2015 Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix: Free Practice  Sahara Force India started its Chinese Grand Prix weekend with two busy practice sessions in Shanghai.  Nico Hülkenberg   & more >>
Lotus F1 Team Chinese GP Practices review
10.04.2015
Lotus F1 Team enjoyed a strong first day of running at the Shanghai International Circuit with team Third and Reserve Driver Jolyon Palmer running for the first time in a Grand Prix practice session. Jolyon ran in Romain’s car in the morning with more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
CHINESE GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE   DANIEL RICCIARDO First Practice Session: Position: 6, Best Time: 1:41.029, Laps: 21Second Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:38.311, Laps: 24 laps more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
 2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 10/04/2015  Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:41.112, pos. 8th, 23 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:39.971, pos. 15th more >>
Chinese GP F1 Free Practice 2 result 2015
10.04.2015
Formula 1 China Grand Prix 2015 Shanghai International Circuit   April 10, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     01:37.219     more >>
Chinese GP F1 Free Practice 1 result 2015
10.04.2015
Formula 1 China Grand Prix 2015 Shanghai International Circuit   April 10, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:39.033         more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 partners with HISENSE
09.04.2015
Infiniti Red Bull Racing is pleased to announce today a multi-year partnership with Hisense, China’s leading electronics manufacturer.  Hisense has become an Official Supplier to the Team, enabling the company to showcase its technology and raise global brand aware more >>
Renault Sport F1 Chinese GP preview
08.04.2015
CHINESE GRAND PRIX 2015 - Shanghai International Circuit  POWER UNIT DETAILSICEThe 1.3km back straight is one of the key characteristics of the Shanghai circuit. Down the straight the ICE will be at maximum more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP preview
07.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix  ROUND 3 OF 1910-12 APRIL   SHANGHAI INTERNATIONAL CIRCUIT, CHINA Aerodynamic performance is tested at the Chinese Grand Prix thanks to the circuit’s 1km back straight and its more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP preview
07.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX PREVIEWShanghai International Circuit snapshotFernando Alonso“Like Sepang, Shanghai’s got a real mix of corners and some interesting fast stuff around the back of the circu more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP preview
07.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIXCarlos Sainz (Car 55)“China is a circuit that I don’t know at all, in a country that I don’t know very well, so I am looking forward to enjoying a new experience. It’s a very special a more >>
Pirelli F1 China Grand Prix preview
06.04.2015
China Grand Prix Shanghai, April 9-12, 2015- Formula One heads to China with medium and soft tyres: The same choice as the season-opener in Australia- Once again, after Malaysia, tyre strategy is set to be crucial- Varia more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese GP preview
06.04.2015
2015 Chinese Grand Prix at Sepang International Circuit3rd Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 10th to 12th April 2015The Malaysian Grand Prix did not produce the results the Sauber F1 Team had hoped for. Howev more >>
Sahara Force India F1 China GP preview
06.04.2015
Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix 2015Sahara Force India looks ahead to round three of the 2015 Formula One season in Shanghai.  Vijay’s VisionTeam Principal, Dr Vijay Mallya, reflec more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese GP preview
06.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix 2015 at Shanghai International Circuit  DANI RICCIARDOWhat’s the best thing about going to Shanghai?The city’s pretty cool and more >>
Silver Arrows Statistics ahead of Chinese Grand-Prix 2015
06.04.2015
2015 Chinese Grand Prix - Preview Shanghai International Circuit At the Chinese Grand Prix             Silver Arrows          Lewis Hamilton  &n more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP preview
06.04.2015
2015 Chinese Grand Prix - Preview Shanghai International Circuit The 2015 Formula One World Championship season continues with Round Three, the Chinese Grand Prix, held at the Shanghai International Circuit   more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 news, Laureus Award and more
06.04.2015
My Race Hub  Real racing experiences, in real-time. The all-new My Race Hub from MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS is now live and kicking - providing in-depth insights into every Grand Prix weekend, direct from the garage.  With insight from the pit wall, exclusive team radio updates, strategic analysis and breaking news, My Race Hub can be used as a second screen interfa more >>
Driver and team standings after Chinese GP 2014
20.04.2014
Drivers’ championship                                   more >>
Renault F1 Sport Chinese Grand Prix review
20.04.2014
•    Three Renault-powered cars finish in the top ten with Infiniti Red Bull Racing fourth and fifth and Scuderia Toro Rosso tenth•    Infiniti Red Bull Racing move into second position in constructors’ championsh more >>
Very strong performance from Pirelli medium tyre in China
20.04.2014
 2014 Chinese Grand Prix – Race- Ensures just two pit stops for top 15- Soft tyre used to start the race in demanding cool conditions- Formula One now heads to Europe- Second in-season tyre more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP race winner
20.04.2014
 UBS CHINESE Grand Prix at Shanghai International Circuit 2014 MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS took its third consecutive one-two finish and fourth consecutive win today at the 2014 UBS Chinese Grand Prix. Lewis Hamilton took his more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese GP race review
20.04.2014
Sunday 20 April 2014 CHINESE GP – RACE DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: 4th, Start Position: 2nd“I started on the dirty side of the grid and had quite a poor getaway; I was spinning up on the line a bit too long and more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese GP race review
20.04.2014
2014 Formula 1 UBS Chinese Grand Prix: Race  Sahara Force India continued its strong points-scoring form in China as Nico Hulkenberg finished in sixth place ahead of Sergio Perez in ninth. The ten points scored today leave the team more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Chinese GP race review
20.04.2014
2014 CHINESE GRAND PRIX  Shanghai International Circuit, Sunday April 20That was a difficult weekend for the whole McLaren team. After qualifying 12th (Jenson) and 15th (Kevin), both drivers struggled in the midfield throughout the race. Kev more >>
Caterham F1 Team Chinese GP race review
20.04.2014
2014 CHINESE GRAND PRIX Shanghai, China - 20th April, 2014   Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationGo to www.GE.com to learn how GE innovation builds, powers, moves and cures the world.   more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP race review
20.04.2014
2014 CHINA GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 20/04/2014  Daniil Kvyat (STR9-03)RacePosition: 10th“It felt great today and I’m very happy with my performance. I had a good more >>
Lotus F1 Team Chinese GP race review
20.04.2014
Come Closer - 2014 Chinese Grand Prix, SundayPastor Maldonado finished in fourteenth position whilst Romain Grosjean was forced to retire from the Chinese Grand Prix on lap 28 because of a gearbox problem. Romain mad more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright