Lotus F1 Team Brazilian GP race review

Lotus F1 Team Brazilian GP race review

09.11.2014: 2014 Brazilian GP, Sunday Sunday 9th November Pastor Maldonado finished twelfth whilst Romain Grosjean

2014 Brazilian GP, Sunday  Sunday 9th November



 
Pastor Maldonado finished twelfth whilst Romain Grosjean was classified seventeenth in a pit stop-plentiful Brazilian Grand Prix at Interlagos.


Romain’s race started with promise, running in the top ten, but ended eight laps shy of the chequered flag after a Power Unit issue. Pastor made a poor getaway at the start, but fought back from eighteenth to twelfth at the chequered flag.
 

•    Romain started from P14 on new medium compound tyres. He changed to fresh medium compound tyres on lap 24 then scrubbed medium compound tyres on lap 40, changing to a final set of new soft compound tyres on lap 59.


•    Pastor started from P16 on new soft compound tyres. He changed to new medium compound tyres on laps 4 and 27 then scrubbed mediums on lap 45.
 


Romain Grosjean, P17, E22-03


“The start of the race was good and we were able to run high up in the field quite quickly. We had to switch from a two-stop to a three-stop strategy half way through the race however and that came with some challenges. A lot of work was done to improve the car’s performance this weekend so it’s hard not to be able to finish.


We’ll be looking into what happened and make sure we’re ready to make the most of the double points on offer for the next race.”
 


Pastor Maldonado, P12, E22-02


“It was a tough race. We had to switch from a two-stop to a three-stop strategy due to high tyre wear which meant our race was compromised. My start wasn’t great but we managed to be a lot more competitive towards the end of the race and were aiming for points.


 I tried my best and was hoping to overtake Valtteri Bottas but it wasn’t possible in the end. We’ll be pushing hard in Abu Dhabi, that’s for sure.”
 


Federico Gastaldi, Deputy Team Principal

"Today we expected a better result on track, especially after some of the evidence to suggest we could have a reasonably decent race. Neither driver experienced a perfect day. Pastor struggled at the start, but then fought back to make up a lot of places.

 Romain was able to run high up the order early-on but we had to change strategy which penalised him, but not as much as his engine failure. Now our focus is Abu Dhabi and the double points available there.”
 


Alan Permane, Trackside Operations Director


"Today’s race didn’t go the way we wanted it. Pastor didn’t get a good start off the line and Romain’s car was unable to make it to the chequered flag. We were hoping to capitalise on better tyre life than our rivals, and although we were able stretch more durable performance from the medium compound than some, it was insufficient to secure fewer pit stops for us which meant no advantage.


We have one race remaining in 2014 where we will push to gain some final points from this season, then our focus is 100% on 2015.”
 


Simon Rebreyend, Renault Sport F1 track support leader

“Everything went well on Pastor’s side of the garage today and it was good to see him work his way up to twelfth after a difficult qualifying session. The hotter temperatures and high altitude make Interlagos one of the tougher venues for the new Power Units, but we managed to deal with those circumstances pretty well in the end.


Romain’s strategy meant he should have been a factor over the final stint, but unfortunately he had a Power Unit issue that lead to his ICE losing a cylinder. Hopefully he can bounce back in Abu Dhabi and close out the season with a strong result.”


- Andy Stobart, photo Lotus

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/lotus-f1-team-brazil-gp-race-review---129813.html

09.11.2014 / MaP

More News

Sauber F1 Team Brazilian GP race review
09.11.2014
Petrobras Brazilian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 9.11.2014Weather: sunny and dry, 23-25°C air, 44-57°C trackAfter both Sauber F1 Team drivers had shown strong performances in quite cold conditions on Saturday in qualifying for t more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Brazilian GP race review
09.11.2014
2014 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIXAutodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Sunday November 9Today’s was a typically frantic and exciting Brazilian Grand Prix.The race was dominated by tyre wear, the front-runners opting to run a three-stop st more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Brazilian GP race
09.11.2014
2014 Formula 1 Grande Premio Petrobras Do Brasil: Race Sahara Force India scored four points in today’s Brazilian Grand Prix as Nico Hulkenberg raced to eighth place. Teammate Sergio Perez completed the race in P15.   more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Brazilian GP race review
09.11.2014
BRAZILIAN GP – RACE SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Finish Position: 5th, Start Position: 6th“I had a good launch at the start and then into Turn 4… maybe I don’t have the best memories of Turn 4 here from two years ago, I didn& more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Brazilian GP race review
09.11.2014
2014 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 09/11/2014   Daniil Kvyat (STR9-03)RacePosition: 11th“A tough race, but starting from the 17th position on the grid and ending up 11th was the highest more >>
F1 top 3 driver quotes from Interlagos
09.11.2014
Brazilian Grand Prix 2014 Interlagos, Sao PauloNico Rosberg:  I felt comfortable the whole week-end in the car. I am very happy. The atmosphere is fantastic. I am very glad to see the support given here to Felipe Massa. more >>
Interlagos F1 Brazil GP race result 2014
09.11.2014
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 20141     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     71     Winner     1     252  &nbs more >>
Fastest ever pole position at Interlagos for Nico Rosberg
08.11.2014
... on P Zero Yellow soft Pirelli tyres2014 Brazilian Grand Prix – QualifyingNico Rosberg (Mercedes) sets pole position for the Brazilian Grand Prix tomorrow.- Warm and cloudy condition more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Brazilian GP qualifying
08.11.2014
Brazil - 08/11/2014 QUALIFYING  Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton secured a seventh consecutive Silver Arrows front row lockout during qualifying for the Brazilian Grand Prix at Interlagos •    Nico's 10t more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Brazilian GP qualifying review
08.11.2014
BRAZILIAN GP – QUALIFYING  SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Position: 6th, (3rd Practice – P11, 1:11.967) “I got happier with the car as qualifying progressed and we’re in a solid position to start the race tomorrow. It’s hard more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Brazilian GP qualifying review
08.11.2014
2014 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGAutodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Saturday November 8“Whatever happens tomorrow, we can have a strong race”It was a successful turnaround for the whole team today after a diffi more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Brazilian GP qualifying review
08.11.2014
2014 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 08/11/2014   Daniil Kvyat (STR9-03)Third Practice Session Best lap: 1:11.834, pos. 10th, 26 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:11.423, (Q2) no time, pos. 14th (7 grid p more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Brazilian GP qualifying
08.11.2014
2014 Formula 1 Grande Premio Petrobras Do Brasil: Qualifying Qualifying for tomorrow’s Brazilian Grand Prix at Interlagos saw Nico Hulkenberg set the twelfth fastest time of the session. Teammate Sergio Perez ended the day i more >>
Lotus F1 Team Brazilian GP qualifying review
08.11.2014
2014 Brazilian GP, Saturday 8th November  Romain Grosjean qualified fifteenth and Pastor Maldonado eighteenth after a frustrating qualifying session at Interlagos for the Brazilian Grand Prix. Neither driver was able to unlock the pace of the so more >>
Sauber F1 Team Brazilian GP qualifying
08.11.2014
Petrobras Brazilian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 8.11.2014Weather: sunny/overcast and dry, 23-26°C air, 31-40°C trackBoth Sauber F1 Team drivers put in a good performance in qualifying for the Brazilian Grand Prix more >>
Rosberg on pole, top 3 driver quotes from Interlagos
08.11.2014
Brazilian Grand Prix 2014  - Interlagos, Sao PauloNico Rosberg:  ­Pole- man ­ This is a good week-end . I am very happy to be where I am in pole. The risk for me is to make a mistake and I must stay out of reach and no mistakes.&nbs more >>
Interlagos F1 Qualifying result 2014
08.11.2014
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 20141     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:10.347    1:10.303    1:10.023     142  & more >>
Interlagos F1 Brazilian GP Practice 3 result 2014
08.11.2014
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 20141     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:10.446         282     44   more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Brazilian GP practices
07.11.2014
2014 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX – FREE PRACTICE“With some hard work tonight, we should be able to make significant improvements”Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Friday November 7Kevin spent the first half of the more >>
Lotus F1 Team Brazilian GP practices review
07.11.2014
 2014 Brazilian GP, Friday 7th November  Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado completed a total of 124 laps after a solid opening day of practice at Interlagos for the Brazilian Grand Prix. In the morning, Pastor se more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Brazilian GP practices
07.11.2014
MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS set the pace on the opening day at Interlagos, with Nico Rosberg narrowly leading team-mate Lewis Hamilton in the opening practice sessions for the Brazilian Grand Prix. •    Nico finished both the morning and more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Brazilian GP practices
07.11.2014
2014 Formula 1 Grande Premio Petrobras Do Brasil: Free Practice It was a mixed day of practice at Interlagos for Sahara Force India with the bulk of the workload falling on the shoulders of Nico Hulkenberg. Ni more >>
Pirelli F1 Brazilian GP practices review
07.11.2014
2014 Brazilian Grand Prix – Practice Sessions- Track evolution an important factor at Interlagos- Medium and soft tyres separated by 0.8-1.0 seconds- Very hot weather today: Rain still possibility for rest of weekendN more >>
Renault Sport F1 Brazilian GP practices review
07.11.2014
BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX PRACTICE   Key practice points:•    Rain-threatened Brazilian Grand Prix weekend begins under warm and clear skies at Interlagos, where tyre degradation looks set to play a fundamental role more >>
Sauber F1 Team Brazilian GP practices review
07.11.2014
Petrobras Brazilian Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 7.11.2014Weather: sunny and dry, 19-31°C air, 28-58°C trackThere were mixed fortunes on day one of the Brazilian Grand Prix in Interlagos for the two Sauber F1 Tea more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Brazilian GP practices
07.11.2014
BRAZILIAN GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE   DANIEL RICCIARDO First Practice Session: Position: 10, Best Time: 1:14.197, Laps: 27Second Practice Session: Position: 4, Best Time: 1:12.956, Laps: 24“It was a more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Brazilian GP practices review
07.11.2014
2014 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 07/11/2014 Daniil Kvyat (STR9-03)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:13.723, pos. 3rd, 39 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:13.254, pos. 8th, 35 laps more >>
Interlagos F1 Brazilian GP Free Practice 2 result
07.11.2014
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 20141     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:12.123         362     44  &n more >>
Interlagos F1 Brazil GP Free Practice 1 result 2014
07.11.2014
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 20141     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:12.764         302     44 &n more >>
Gian Carlo Minardi Brazilian GP preview
06.11.2014
Seven days after Austin’s Grand Prix, Circus arrives at Interlagos, a historical Formula 1 circuit. The round on the Brazilian circuit is characterized by one of the shortest track of championship and, besides technical problems, it is alwa more >>
Showers mean trickier race weather for Brazilian GP
06.11.2014
UBIMET forecasts high probability of rain showers photo caption: Technical support for the weather observation After two races with more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Brazilian GP preview
05.11.2014
2014 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX JEAN-ERIC VERGNE (25): "...I really like Brazil the country, the atmosphere and I reckon it’s one of my favourite races of the year. The track has been completely resurfaced apparently, but w more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Sao Paulo: The Inside Line and on the Pitwall
05.11.2014
Brazilian Grand Prix 2014 at Sao PauloLewis  You start the lap absolutely flat out into the low-grip Turn One. The corner really falls away from you quite steeply here and it's so easy to lock up, but you need to make sure to more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Brazilian GP preview
05.11.2014
2014 Brazilian Grand Prix -Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Sao Paulo Round 18 of the 2014 Formula One World Championship brings us to São Paulo for the Brazilian Grand Prix, held at the Autódromo José Carlos Pace. more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Brazilian GP preview
05.11.2014
2014 Formula 1 Grande Premio Petrobras Do Brasil Vijay’s VisionVijay Mallya looks forward to this weekend’s Brazilian Grand Prix. Vijay, the team was out of luck in Austin - do you expect a change o more >>
Lotus F1 Team drivers Brazilian GP preview
05.11.2014
ROMAIN GROSJEANRACE DRIVER #8I’m annoyed and I really want to score in BrazilRomain was somewhat miffed to be biffed out of the points in Austin so he’s gunning to score I’d say everything is pretty on the stree more >>
Renault Sport F1 Brazilian GP preview
04.11.2014
BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX 2014  INTERLAGOS IN NUMBERS(with 1 being the easiest, 5 being the most severe) RÉMI TAFFIN, RENAULT SPORT F1 HEAD OF TRACK OPERATIONSThe ma more >>
Sauber F1 Team Brazilian GP preview
04.11.2014
 2014 Petrobras Brazilian Grand Prix18th Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 7th to 9th November 2014The penultimate race of this year’s FIA Formula One World Championship will take place this weekend. From 7th to 9 more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Brazilian GP preview
04.11.2014
Sebastian Vettel:In Sao Paulo I have taken part in races which we will always remember, for different reasons. Like in 2009, when we almost took the title in the last race of the season. In the end it wasn’t enough and Jenso more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright