Lotus F1 Team drivers Silverstone preview

Lotus F1 Team drivers Silverstone preview

28.06.2014: BRITISH Grand Prix 4/5/6 JULY 2014 SILVERSTONE ROMAIN GROSJEAN RACE DRIVER #8



BRITISH Grand Prix 4/5/6 JULY 2014 SILVERSTONE


ROMAIN GROSJEAN RACE DRIVER #8

Braking Out


Romain Grosjean previews the British Grand Prix expectant to reverse the recent trend of difficult Grands Prix at the circuit closest to home, Silverstone.


How do you like Silverstone?


It’s a fantastic track with a lot of high speed corners which should suit the E22 a lot better than the circuits we’ve visited recently which have seemed to jump on every weakness with our current package.  



How frustrating was the gearbox issue which put you to the back of the grid in Austria?


I would be lying if I said it wasn’t frustrating! It was one of those things where an electronic part argued with a mechanical part and I ended up starting from the pit lane as a result.


In a way that gives you an auto reset as anything you achieve in the race is a benefit so I got my head down and did the best I could, even if there were other gremlins trying to attack me in the car too.   



How was the performance on track?


 Austria really didn’t play to our strengths, but then we did see other teams in similar situations. We had brake issues so it was a race where I had to stay focused on what I was doing and every lap seemed like a new experience as you never knew quite what to expect!   



What do you think of Silverstone?



 I won there in the GP2 Series in 2011, so I have to say I quite like it! I scored points there in my F1 debut but then last year my race wasn’t so good there. This means I must be due a good result. 


Why is Silverstone rated as one of the favourite circuits for many drivers?



Silverstone is challenging, but it has a good feel. It’s one of the quickest tracks of the year. There are corners which are legendary like the Magotts, Becketts, Chapel complex. It’s quite a feeling going through there and I can’t wait to feel that sensation once more.


 It’s also a special Grand Prix for the team as the factory is very close to the track. It’s always nice to see not only the race team, but also some of the many people from the factory come to see us out in action.


It’s thanks to all their hard work that we’re out on track and they are all doing an amazing job, always working so hard. I will be in the factory before and after the race so it really does have a feeling of a home event.  



How is it as a driver visiting the factory?


It’s still a magical experience as you know there are so many people and so many resources just to make two cars that you and your team-mate will race around the world. It’s such a privileged position to be in and everyone at every level in Enstone does an amazing job.


For sure, this year has been difficult as our performance has not been where we want it to be, but everyone gets their heads down and keeps working towards getting us to our goal.   



What’s easy about a Silverstone weekend?



It’s not far to go from home so I can sleep in my own bed and be with my family. It’s nice to have a Grand Prix where you don’t have to visit an airport and it’s nice to be close to the factory where you know everyone is working their hardest to give you the best car possible.  



What is difficult about a Silverstone weekend?



Over the years there’s been quite a bit of wet weather over the weekend, and this was not so much of a surprise to the Englishmen I’ve spoken to! I live quite near to the track now and my experience of regularly visiting Enstone means that I know the weather can change quite a lot.


An English summer’s day is wonderful, but sometimes you have to look hard to find one! That said, it’s looked pretty good so far this year. Certainly, it’s fantastic to be at Silverstone when the weather is good and the fans are all out.   




Pastor Maldonado RACE DRIVER #13

A New Sensation 

After what was a strong race for him in the cockpit, battling and overcoming various difficulties to bring the car home in Austria, Pastor Maldonado looks forward to one of his favourite circuits on the calendar.




What are your thoughts of the British Grand Prix?



I’ve won at Silverstone in the GP2 Series and I’ve always really liked the circuit. I’ve spent so much time in England that it’s like a second home to me, especially as I have family who live very close to the circuit in Oxfordshire.


It’s a great event coming mid-season and it always provides an interesting race.


It’s always a very special event for the teams based nearby and the support all drivers get there is amazing with some of the most knowledgeable fans in the world. This will be my first home Grand Prix for Lotus F1 Team so I’m looking forward to racing just down the road from the factory and seeing many familiar faces over the weekend.  


What do you think of Silverstone as a circuit?



I think that Silverstone is an amazing track. It has a great history, it’s fast and the change to the most recent layout hasn’t really changed the nature of the track too much. It’s always a special place to visit and you know that you’re always there for the racing as it’s not on the doorstep of a big city.


 I have always enjoyed racing at Silverstone since my first visit back in 2007. I also have good memories of it as I have had some great races there, including winning in both 2009 and 2010 in the GP2 Series.  



Which parts of the circuit do you like in particular?



My favourite corner is Becketts as it is really quick through there. I think the track will suit our car because it’s similar to Barcelona and it’s also very fun to drive with sections like Maggots and Becketts which really test you as a driver.  


What about the feeling of racing somewhere which so many teams call home?



Certainly, it’s home for many, many people who work in the paddock and you do get a special feeling there. The support you get from the fans is amazing  



What particular challenges could you face at Silverstone?


With the track being quick and the temperatures usually low it is easy to grain the front tyres and this is something we will have to manage and consider when deciding on the pit stop strategy. Certainly, we’re always asking for more power and better reliability this year and this is something I hope we can experience in England. 



What did you learn in Austria?


The team and Renault Sport F1 hopefully learnt quite a lot and for me behind the wheel it was a challenge. There were many issues to manage, but we but we drove through them to get to the end of the race. This year’s cars give you a lot to manage in terms of settings and driving strategies, so there is a lot to focus on when everything is working as it should.


There’s even more to focus on when something’s not working the way it should! Quite a few teams were caught out with issues in Austria so it was satisfying for me and the team to get to the end of the race. 



 What’s the approach to the British Grand Prix?


 Like always, just to maximise the package we have and make the very most of every opportunity. Hopefully the high speed corners will work better with our car and it would be great to be back to where we were in Barcelona which is quite a similar circuit to Silverstone.


Obviously, at the Barcelona test teams were all running to different programmes, so I don’t think we’re suddenly going to be the fastest car, but I do expect to be further up the order than we have been at recent races.   






- Andy Stobart, photo Lotus F1

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/lotus-f1-team-drivers-silverstone-preview-grosjean-maldonado---124918.html

28.06.2014 / MaP

More News

Pirelli Tyre failures to be closely examined, new bonding process not at fault
30.06.2013
2013 British Grand Prix – RaceNico Rosberg has given Mercedes its first victory in the British Grand Prix since 1955 with first place at Silverstone.The were a number of rear-left tyre failures during more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing secures podium in dramatic Silverstone F1 race
30.06.2013
British Grand-Prix 2013 Silverstone•    Mark Webber takes second position, less than one second from race winner, Nico Rosberg•    Fifth consecutive year the Renault-powered Red Bull more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Silverstone race
30.06.2013
BRITISH GP – RACE Car 2 MARK WEBBER, Finish Position: 2nd, Start Position: 4th“What a day! I don’t think any of us expected it to unfold like this. The start was pretty bad, we have to look into that as we had had more >>
Lotus F1 Team Silverstone race review
30.06.2013
Kimi Räikkönen set a new record for consecutive Grand Prix points placings [25] by taking fifth position in an eventful British Grand Prix at Silverstone today. The Finn ran as high as second place in a race punctuated by safety car periods and characterised b more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Silverstone race
30.06.2013
2013 Formula 1 Santander British Grand Prix, RaceSahara Force India picked up eight world championship points as Adrian Sutil and Paul Di Resta delivered strong race performances to finish in seventh and ninth places respectively in today’s British Grand Prix.  more >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Silverstone race
30.06.2013
2013 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIXSilverstone, Sunday June 30“We were very unlucky today”JENSON BUTTONMP4-28A-03Started         &n more >>
Sauber F1 Team Silverstone race review
30.06.2013
 Santander British Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 30.06.2013Weather: sunny, 21-22°C air, 31-34°C trackThe result of the British Grand Prix in Silverstone was influenced by a series of tyre problems, which more >>
Caterham F1 Team Silverstone race
30.06.2013
2013 BRITISH GRAND PRIX   Silverstone, UK - 28th June 2013  WeatherRace: Sunny, windy, air temp 21° / track temp 32° (start), 21° / 31° (lap 26), 22° / 34° (lap x) more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 with Nico Rosberg victory in Silverstone
30.06.2013
British Grand Prix 2013  Race Silverstone 30.6.2013 Nico Rosberg won an eventful British Grand Prix with Lewis Hamilton finishing in fourth place after a battling drive. • &n more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Silverstone race review
30.06.2013
2013 BRITISH GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 30/06/2013  Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-04)RacePosition: 8th“That was a chaotic race, but for most of it I was in a reasonably strong position. more >>
Silverstone F1 Race classification 2013
30.06.2013
FORMULA 1 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIXProvisional Results1     9     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     52     Winner     2     more >>
Hamilton sets fastest ever lap on new Silverstone on Pirelli P Zero white
29.06.2013
2013 British Grand Prix – Qualifyingphoto caption:  Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) on pole for the 2013 British Grand Prix.Local hero Lewis Hamilton has claimed pole position at his home more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Silverstone qualifying - Pole
29.06.2013
QUALIFYING  Lewis Hamilton took pole position for the British Grand Prix with a stunning lap at Silverstone this afternoon. •    Lewis achieved the team's fifth pole posi more >>
Lotus F1 Team Silverstone qualifying 2013
29.06.2013
Romain Grosjean will start from eighth on the grid and Kimi Räikkönen right behind him in ninth after today’s qualifying for the British Grand Prix at Silverstone.After a promising Q1 session where the cars finished P3 and P4 more >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Silverstone qualifying review
29.06.2013
2013 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGSilverstone, Saturday June 29“I will drive my heart out tomorrow.”JENSON BUTTONMP4-28A-03FP312th  &nbs more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Silverstone qualifying review
29.06.2013
 Formula 1 Santander British Grand Prix, Qualifying 2013 Sahara Force India delivered a strong showing at its local track as Paul Di Resta qualified in fifth place for the British Grand Prix with Adrian Sutil in seventh.  more >>
Sauber F1 Team Silverstone qualifying
29.06.2013
Santander British Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 29.06.2013Weather: partly cloudy 16-18°C air, 19-30°C trackQualifying for the British Grand Prix was disappointing for Sauber F1 Team drivers Nic more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Silverstone qualifying review
29.06.2013
2013 BRITISH GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 29/06/2013  Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-04)Third Practice Session Best lap: 1:32.440, pos. 6th, 19 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:32.097, (Q2) 1:31.182, (Q more >>
Silverstone F1 qualifying result 2013
29.06.2013
FORMULA 1 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX Silverstone 29.6.20131     10     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:30.995    1:31.224    1:29.607 &nb more >>
Silverstone F1 Practice 3 results
29.06.2013
FORMULA 1 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX 2013 at SilverstoneSaturday June 29th, 2013     1     9     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:31.487 more >>
Teams test Pirelli prototype hard tyre after rain at Silverstone
28.06.2013
2013 British Grand Prix – Practice Sessionsphoto caption: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) sets fastest time in FP2 on Friday in Silverstone on Pirelli medium tyres.After a wet start to the day, the drivers eventually got the ch more >>
Lotus F1 Team Silverstone practices review
28.06.2013
British Grand Prix 2013Free Practice 1 & 2        Kimi Raikkönen: Wanted man#GodSaveOurTyres By lotus_F1team: “Last year it was Michael, now it’s Mark... don’t worry, more >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Silverstone practices review
28.06.2013
2013 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX – FREE PRACTICE“A difficult day, but a step forward”Silverstone, Friday June 28JENSON BUTTONMP4-28A-03FP1        more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Silverstone practices review
28.06.2013
BRITISH GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE  CAR 1, SEBASTIAN VETTEL  First Practice Session: Position: -, Best Time: No time, Laps: 4Second Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:32.680, Laps: 31 more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Silverstone practice review
28.06.2013
2013 Formula 1 Santander British Grand Prix, Free Practice  A damp day at Silverstone saw limited practice running this morning for the Sahara Force India drivers. Conditions improved for the afternoon session as Paul Di Resta set the fourth fastest time, with Adrian Sutil in eighth place.  more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Silverstone practices review
28.06.2013
BRITISH Grand Prix 2013 Silverstone Friday Practices Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton finished the first day of the British Grand Prix weekend in first and fifth places today. •    Ni more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Silverstone practices
28.06.2013
2013 BRITISH GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 28/06/2013  Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-04)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:54.249, pos. 1st, 10 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:33.171, pos. 6th, 34 laps more >>
Sauber F1 Team Silverstone practices review
28.06.2013
Santander British Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 28.06.2013Weather: rain, then dry 17-21°C air, 16-20°C trackAs expected Silverstone lived up to expectations with bad weather and welcomed the more >>
Caterham F1 Team Friday practices review
28.06.2013
BRITISH GRAND PRIX FP1 & FP2Silverstone, UK - 28th June 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationDell has been ranked in the top five of Newsweek’s Greenest Companies in America for the past three years more >>
Silverstone F1 Practice 2 results
28.06.2013
SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX1     9     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:32.248         332     2 more >>
Silverstone F1 Free Practice 1 results
28.06.2013
SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX 2013 Weather: standing water overall on the track1     19     Daniel Ricciardo     STR-Ferrari     1:54.249       &nbs more >>
Vettel explores the future of Formula One and road car technology ahead of British GP
27.06.2013
•    Ahead of the British Grand Prix, Vettel and Infiniti Red Bull Racing engineer visit Infiniti’s European Technology Center in the UK to discuss future power train and hybrid technologies•    Vettel tests the world’s fastest production hybrid vehicle on dyno and provides performance driving input& more >>
Felipe Massa gets drivers "pit stop ready" at Shell Towcester
27.06.2013
On his way to the Silverstone Circuit, Northamptonshire, Massa joined forces with the Shell Towcester forecourt attendants to deliver a ‘pit stop’ service to Shell customers and share tips on performance driving. more >>
Renault Sport F1 Silverstone preview
27.06.2013
PREVIEW TO THE BRITISH GRAND PRIX  Silverstone statisticsLENGTH (KM)    AVERAGE SPEED (KM/H)    TOP SPEED (KM/H)    % OF LAP AT FULL THROTTLE    FUEL CONSU more >>
Caterham F1 Team Silverstone preview
25.06.2013
BRITISH GRAND PRIX 2013GeneralRace Laps: 52Pitlane altitude (m): 1022012 air / track temp (°c): 25 / 312012 ATM pressure (HPA): 9902012 humidity (%): 452012 wind (kph): NNE 20  more >>
Romain Grosjean: “An English summer’s day is wonderful, but sometimes you have to look hard to find one!”
25.06.2013
After his fightback through the field in Montréal went largely unnoticed thanks to a change to the planned strategy with an extra pit stop, Romain looks to Silverstone for redemptionHow do you like Silverstone? more >>
Kimi Räikkönen: “I expect us to be back where we should be”
25.06.2013
After two race weekends with meagre points pickings, our Finn is eager to get his championship challenge back on track at SilverstoneYour championship potential has taken something of a hit in the last two races; is this a big concern? more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Silverstone preview
25.06.2013
GP BRITAIN 2013MARK WEBBERWhat’s your best Silverstone memory?I think the 2010 victory was pretty special – it was my first British GP win. It’s the home race for a lot of t more >>
Sauber F1 Team Silverstone preview
25.06.2013
2013 Santander British Grand Prix8th Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 28th to 30th June 2013The Sauber F1 Team heads to Great Britain for the Santander British Grand Prix, which will take pl more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright