Lotus F1 Team Italian Grand Prix Monza preview

Lotus F1 Team Italian Grand Prix Monza preview

29.08.2015: ITALIAN GRAND PRIX 4/5/6 SEPTEMBER 2015 MONZA FEDERICO GASTALDI

ITALIAN GRAND PRIX
4/5/6 SEPTEMBER 2015   MONZA




FEDERICO GASTALDI
MONZA MAGIC

Deputy Team Principal Federico Gastaldi looks ahead to the Italian Grand Prix.



The Belgian Grand Prix yielded a brilliant result for the team, now that you have had a few days to absorb it, what is your take on it?

I was very, very happy for the team but not amazed because I know that the team has the ability to always deliver such great results. We have great drivers and fantastic people here at Enstone.


For me we are the best people in the paddock so I’m not surprised by the result and even though we currently face some challenges, we can still deliver strong cars. It was a great job by Romain and a great job by all at Enstone.
 


Monza is next, a notoriously high-speed track…


Monza is a fantastic race track. As in Spa, we have good chances to perform well in Italy with the E23 and bring back home a haul of points.
 



Pastor suffered a retirement in Spa, what is the team doing to make sure this doesn’t happen at the next race?


First the team will prepare the cars as usual for the weekend sessions and hopefully, with a clear weekend, we can hope for a good performance by both drivers.
 



Where do you feel the team is at currently?


We are facing challenges but we are a united team. We have shown many times that we are fighters and that we punch above our weight. We are now fifth in the Constructor’s Championship and that makes me proud of everyone at Enstone.


We want to continue to show our worth and fight on each and every lap these coming races.



How important is Monza, and Italy, for Formula 1?


It’s very important for me personally as my ancestors were from Italy! More seriously, Monza, Spa, Silverstone, have all been part of the original history of motor racing. Monza is and will always remain a classic in the Formula 1 calendar.


The fans - or tifosi in Italy - are simply amazing and there are so many of them at all these historic venues no matter if it pours with rain or even if it snowed!
 


What do you like the most about Italy?


The people; Italy is very colourful. The Italian food of course is also wonderful. It makes me feel at home when I’m there, I love the country.
 



This is the last European race of the season, what are your thoughts heading to the final batch of long-haul races?



We will be heading to races overseas after Monza and we’ll be visiting some great countries and venues. From Singapore which always offers a great night spectacle, to the USA that is extremely popular, to Mexico, a new venue that we are looking forward to visiting this year, and of course Russia, Brazil and Abu Dhabi, places where F1 is warmly greeted and where the promoters are doing a fantastic job.


We shall be looking forward to visiting all these places in the latter part of the season..



NICK CHESTER
TEMPLE OF SPEED


Technical Director Nick Chester looks back at the team’s performance in Spa and talks about Monza, the fastest circuit on the calendar. 



What’s the potential for Monza?


I think that the potential is quite good. The cars have performed well at medium downforce tracks like Montréal and Spa. Monza is a step lower downforce that we never run anywhere else. The car seems to be efficient heading down to these kinds of levels.


The E23 also has good braking and is reasonably well set-up for low drag. It should go quite well in Italy.
 


With Monza’s straights is it a case of simply taking off all the wing and ensuring the car’s as slippery as possible
?

Monza is one of the fastest circuits that requires the lowest downforce setting. The cars will be doing around 350kph so very fast. It is also important for the car to be good over the kerbs at the chicanes and so far we have seen the E23 is pretty good over kerbs.
 


Any new parts
?

We will be doing more work on our new front wing which we first ran on the Friday in Spa and will run a number of tests in Monza.



Coming back to Spa, the sessions were somewhat mixed up – did this mean our pace and potential was masked at times?

Possibly, although straight away in FP1 Pastor looked reasonably quick before his shunt – he was around P8 - and Romain was P7 in the second session. We were already looking reasonably fast on the Friday and then on Saturday with more running Romain went quicker still. If anything our pace picked up through the weekend with good qualifying results for both drivers and then very strong pace in the race for Romain.
 


What went wrong for Pastor in the race?


We are still checking all the parts but he had a big excursion at Eau Rouge and hit some curbs very hard which gave the chassis a 17G impact. That looks to have effectively knocked the power off the car and although he managed to get the power back on, it looks like we might have damaged the clutch control valve.


Even though we may have been able to reset it when Pastor came back to the pits, we looked at the extent of the damage and decided to retire the car.


Pastor started the race from P7 and Romain from P9 (who’d qualified in P4) - was there potential for a 3-4 result?


Pastor’s pace was pretty good throughout the weekend, only a little bit off Romain as we saw in qualifying but certainly P4 or P5 were possible.
 



What went right for Romain?


Pretty much everything! He drove incredibly well. His qualifying lap was brilliant - it was disappointing to get the gearbox penalty which in the end didn’t affect us as he drove such a good race. Romain didn’t have the easiest of weekends as he missed FP1 and then had stoppage time in FP2.


Still, he was incredibly positive all weekend; his management of the race was excellent looking after the tyres when he needed to and then pushed when he had to push. Everything was perfect.


 
Romain was closing in on Sebastian at a rapid rate – would he have likely got past if Sebastian Vettel’s tyres had held on?


He had another two laps left to overtake him before Sebastian’s tyre failed and I think that it would have been possible. He was closing in all the time and he could have had a good shot at passing him.





- Clarisse Hoffmann, photos Lotus F1

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/lotus-f1-team-italian-grand-prix-monza-preview---140286.html

29.08.2015 / MaP

More News

Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 driver quotes ahead Italian GP
28.08.2015
Daniil Kvyat:   We’ve just left one of F1’s big boy tracks, Spa, and we’re headed for another – Monza. Absolutely. Monza is my favourite tra more >>
Pirelli tyres experience high-speed extremes in Monza
12.09.2014
At last weekend’s Italian Grand Prix in Monza, Red Bull driver Daniel Ricciardo – the winner of three grands prix this year – reached 362.1 kph (while slipstreaming) on the main straight: the highest top speed that will be clocked in 2014. At the speed Ricciardo recorded, the wheel is rotating around 2800 times every minute, or just under 50 times every second. more >>
Italian GP.. The point by Gian Carlo Minardi
08.09.2014
We have experienced a lively Grand Prix, with too many mistakes and the first seasonal retirement for Fernando Alonso, after so many races. It’s certainly not been a good weekend for the colours of Maranello, both in terms of performances and reliability. In fact, Ferrari says goodbye to the home race with a disappointing ninth place and only two points in world ranking more >>
Dry training sessions, a sunny Grand Prix and a cloudless race finish in Monza
08.09.2014
caption: UBIMET meteorologists chicking radar images in a truck in MonzaAn exciting race in Northern Italy – who would have expected Fernando Alonso to drop out of the race for the first t more >>
Pirelli Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
- One stop strategy for all but one of the finishers- Extremely low degradation despite high top speeds and warm temperatures- Hamilton wins Italian Grand Prix for the second time with Pirelli- Kvyat uses different strategy to nearly claim points finish from the back of the grid more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian GP review
07.09.2014
Monza - 07/09/2014 RACE  Lewis Hamilton won the 2014 Italian Grand Prix with Nico Rosberg second, achieving the team's seventh 1-2 finish. •    Lewis took his sixth win of the season, driving more >>
Renault Sport F1 Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
ITALIAN GRAND PRIX RACE 2014  Infiniti Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo showed good performance to race to a strong fifth in today’s Italian Grand Prix. Daniel overtook four cars in less than 10 laps to secure fifth and consolidate his more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
2014 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX“Superb wheel-to-wheel action – fantastic entertainment for the fans”Autodromo di Monza, Sunday September 7Eventual finishing positions of eighth (Jenson Button) and 10th (Kevin Magnussen) more >>
Sauber F1 Team Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
Italian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 07.09.2014Weather: sunny and dry, 25-26°C air, 37-45°C trackThe Italian Grand Prix on the highspeed track in Monza became, as expected, a difficult race for the Sauber F1 Team. Adrian Sutil more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
2014 Formula 1 Gran Premio D'Italia: Race  Sahara Force India scored six points in Monza as Sergio Perez battled hard to finish in seventh place at the Italian Grand Prix. Nico Hulkenberg finished the race in P12.  more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
ITALIAN GP – RACE DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: 5th, Start Position: 9th“The strategy helped today, it kept the tyres fresh enough to go those extra few laps at the end. I saw the cars in front of me pit and the more >>
Lotus F1 Team Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
To The End - 2014 Italian GP, SundaySunday 7th September  Pastor Maldonado finished fourteenth and Romain Grosjean sixteenth after a fast-paced Italian Grand Prix under blue skies at Monza today. Pastor made a great start and dro more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
Daniil Kvyat (STR9-03)RacePosition: 11th“I feel disappointed with how my race ended. We had a brake disc failure I think, but I managed to hang on and bring the car home in P11. It’s a shame when you give it your hundred more >>
Caterham F1 Team Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
2014 ITALIAN GRAND PRIXAutodromo di Monza, Italy – 7 September 2014Kamui Kobayashi, P17Marcus Ericsson, P19 Weather:Dry, sunny, min/max track temp 37°-44°, air temp 25° more >>
Christian Albers has resigned from his position as CEO for Caterham F1 Team.
07.09.2014
Manfredi Ravetto is taking over his current duties with immediate effect. Christijan Albers, Team Principal: “Over the past months I have dedicated all my energy to ensure the takeover of the team would go as smoothly as more >>
Top three F1 driver quotes from Monza
07.09.2014
Lewis Hamilton, winner A great crowd. Amazing the line filled out with fans. Thank you for your support. We are team-mates and we are very proud to be 1-2 again, the seventh time of the season. It is also the first time that I won six more >>
Monza Italian GP F1 race result 2014
07.09.2014
FORMULA 1 GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA 20141     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     53     Winner     1     252     more >>
Pirelli Italian GP F1 qualifying review
06.09.2014
 2014 Italian Grand Prix Monzaphoto caption : Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) sets pole position for tomorrow’s Italian Grand Prix.- Hamilton on pole using P Zero White medium tyres: Speeds in excess of 350 KPH- One pit more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Italian GP qualifying review
06.09.2014
2014 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYING  Autodromo di Monza, Saturday September 6“The team has done a great job to deliver this Monza-specific package”After showing promise in all three free practice sessions, both dri more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian GP qualifying review
06.09.2014
2014 Formula 1 Gran Premio D'Italia: Qualifying Qualifying for the Italian Grand Prix at Monza saw Sergio Perez secure tenth place on the grid with Nico Hulkenberg ending the session in P14.P10      Ser more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
06.09.2014
Formula1 Italian Grand Prix at Monza qualifying 2014 Lewis Hamilton took pole position for the 2014 Italian Grand Prix with Nico Rosberg completing a front low lockout for the team. •    Today's result is th more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Italian GP qualifying review
06.09.2014
ITALIAN GP – QUALIFYING SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Position: 8th, (3rd Practice – P6, 1:26.290)“I think realistically anything from P5 to P10 was maybe possible, but it was very close. It’s a shame when you more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian GP qualifying review
06.09.2014
 2014 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 06/09/2014  Daniil Kvyat (STR9-03)Third Practice Session Best lap: 1:26.437, pos. 8th, 21 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:26.261, (Q2) 1:26.070, pos. 11th more >>
Sauber F1 Team Monza qualifying review
06.09.2014
Italian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 06.09.2014Weather: sunny and dry, 22-26°C air, 32-46°C trackIn qualifying for the Italian Grand Prix in Monza, Adrian Sutil and Esteban Gutiérrez came in 15th and 16th, more >>
Caterham F1 Team Italian GP qualifying review
06.09.2014
2014 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX: FP3 & QUALIFYINGAutodromo di Monza, Italy – 6 September 2014Fastest laps / positions:FP3: KOB 1:28.265, P18 / ERI 1:29.251, P21QF: KOB 1:27.671, P19 / ERI 1:28.562, P22  more >>
Monza Italian GP F1 Qualifying result 2014
06.09.2014
FORMULA 1 GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA 20141     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:25.363    1:24.560    1:24.109     202   & more >>
Monza Italian GP F1 Practice 3 classification 2014
06.09.2014
FORMULA 1 GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA 20141     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:25.519         232     14     Fernando Alonso     Ferrari     1:25.931     0.412   &nbs more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Monza practice review
05.09.2014
2014 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – FREE PRACTICEAutodromo di Monza, Friday September 5“Set for a close and exciting grand prix weekend”For the second of the season’s two successive high-speed low-downforce more >>
Pirelli Italian Grand Prix F1 practice sessions review
05.09.2014
Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) set the fastest time in this afternoon’s practice session.- Just one pit stop expected for the fastest track of the year- Low wear and degradation on the hard and medium tyres- Diffe more >>
Lotus F1 Team Italian GP practices review
05.09.2014
Don't Be a Drag - 2014 Italian GP, Friday  Friday 5th September  Pastor Maldonado, Romain Grosjean and Charles Pic all took turns in the E22 today on the first day of practice for the Italian Grand Prix. Charles took to the more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Italian GP practices
05.09.2014
ITALIAN GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE   SEBASTIAN VETTEL  First Practice Session: Position: 6, Best Time: 1:27.271, Laps: 27Second Practice Session: Position: 7, Best Time: 1:26.762, Laps: 27&ldqu more >>
Sauber F1 Team Monza free practices review
05.09.2014
Italian Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 05.09.2014Weather: sunny/overcast and dry, 21-26°C air, 25-43°C track   At the Italian Grand Prix on the high speed track in Monza Esteban Gutiérrez, along with test and more >>
Caterham F1 Team Monza Free practices review
05.09.2014
2014 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX: FP1 & FP2Autodromo di Monza, Italy – 5 September 2014 Fastest laps / positions:FP1: ERI 1:30.948, P23 / MER 1:30.704, P22FP2: KOB 1:29.178, P21 / ERI 1:29.275, P22  more >>
Renault Sport F1 Italian GP practice review
05.09.2014
Formula1  Italian Grand Prix, Monza 2014Key practice points:•    F1 back at the ‘Cathedral of Speed’, the Autodromo di Monza, where over 75% of the lap is taken at full throttle& more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian GP practices review
05.09.2014
2014 Formula 1 Gran Premio D'Italia: Free Practice  Sahara Force India enjoyed a positive day of practice for the Italian Grand Prix in Monza with Daniel Juncadella, Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez behind the wheel of the VJM07.  more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Monza free practices review
05.09.2014
F1 Italian Grand Prix in Monza - 05/09/2014 PRACTICE  MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS started the weekend at the historic Monza circuit at the top of the timesheets as Lewis Hamilton set the pace in the first session with Nico Rosberg leading the way in the more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian GP free practices review
05.09.2014
2014 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 05/09/2014 Daniil Kvyat (STR9-02)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:27.741, pos. 9th, 33 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:27.476, pos. 13th, 37 laps more >>
Italian Grand Prix Monza F1 Practice 2 classification
05.09.2014
FORMULA 1 GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA 20141     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:26.225         412     44   &nb more >>
Italian GP Monza F1 Practice 1 classification
05.09.2014
FORMULA 1 GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA 2014 - Monza1     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:26.187         252     more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright