McLaren F1 Team Bahrain Grand-Prix preview

McLaren F1 Team Bahrain Grand-Prix preview

03.04.2018: F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix 2018 Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir 06-08 April 2018 Start time 18:10hrs local, 16:10hrs BST, 17:10hrs

F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix 2018
Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir
06-08 April 2018





Start time 18:10hrs local, 16:10hrs BST, 17:10hrs CET
Race laps 57
Tyre choice White Medium, yellow Soft, red Supersoft


 


 
The essentials



Toughest corner
Turn 10, a downhill left-hander taken in second gear (85km/h/53mph). The cars are simultaneously turning left and braking, which makes it easy to lock the unloaded inside front wheel. The drivers need to drive in a progressive and controlled fashion because the second DRS zone follows and a good exit is vital


Unique difficulty Temperatures
. In 2014 the time of the race was switched from day to night, from 14:00hrs to 18:00hrs. The race starts seven minutes after sunset, meaning the track and ambient temperatures drop as the race progresses. That alters the balance of the cars and affects tyrewear


Biggest headache
The Bahrain International Circuit is the only track on the calendar that’s located in a desert. It’s windy and sand from the surrounding wilderness gets blown onto the track surface, which affects grip levels and forces the teams to attach filters onto the brake and engine inlets

 


 
Engineer's lowdown




Brakes
There are eight significant braking zones, the toughest of which are into Turns One and 14. It’s also the first hot race of the year and the combination of high ambient temperatures and heavier cars (734kg) means brakes will need to be monitored closely during the race



Power
The cars use 1.8kg of fuel per lap, which is high. Without a Safety Car period, it will be difficult for the cars to make the end of the race without some degree of fuel saving. Fuel consumption is negatively affected by the large number of acceleration zones from low speed



Aero
To maximise end-of-straight speeds, the cars run in a medium downforce configuration. The aero balance is slightly different to elsewhere on the calendar because the cars are set-up to understeer in an effort to protect the rear tyres



 
Eric Boullier ,Racing Director



“Bahrain is an exciting event for the whole team and a special venue for McLaren. It’s our second home due to the team’s ownership and we always receive a fantastic welcome from our Bahraini hosts. The facilities are world-class and it’s a very enjoyable venue at which to host a grand prix.



“The back-to-back races of Bahrain and China pose very different challenges, and, given that most of our personnel don’t travel back to the UK between them, both logistics and car development are two tricky issues that everyone needs to get on top of.



“Speaking of car development, we’re working hard to bring updates to the next two grands prix, which we hope will help our boys continue to put up a good fight. As we saw in Melbourne, our competition is tough.



We can’t take anything for granted and we know that despite a stronger performance than we’ve seen in recent months, we also benefitted from circumstances around us. Our principal targets are further up the grid ahead of us, so we know there’s work to do and our focus is on the development race as well as the race on track.



“The result at Albert Park was a boost that we all needed, but now we must move on, look firmly ahead and keep pushing forward.”

 
 
 

Silvia Hoffer Frangipane- photos McLaren

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mclaren-f1-team-bahrain-gp-preview---174456.html

03.04.2018 / MaP

More News

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix preview
03.04.2018
 2018 Bahrain Grand Prix - Preview  Throwing forward to Round 2 of the 2018 Formula One season, as battle continues in Bahrain. Toto Talks Bahrain   more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 - What Are Engine Modes?
03.04.2018
Over a million working hours have gone into designing, developing and constructing our 2018 Formula One car. While the result of some of that engineering work can easily be spotted by the untrained eye - for example the comple more >>
Pirelli F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix preview
03.04.2018
2018 MEDIUM TYRE AND PIRELLI HOT LAPS  PROGRAMME MAKE THEIR DEBUTSThe Bahrain International  Circuit introduces  the  2018  medium compound to a grand prix weekend , nominated alongside the soft and supersoft, but this  m more >>
Charles Leclerc quote ahead of Bahrain Grand-Prix
03.04.2018
2018 Formula One Gulf Air Bahrain Grand PrixSakhir International CircuitCharles Leclerc (car number 16):“After having participated in my first Formula 1 race in Australia, I look forward to going into my second more >>
Marcus Ericsson quote ahead of Bahrain Grand-Prix
03.04.2018
2018 Formula One Gulf Air Bahrain Grand PrixSakhir International CircuitMarcus Ericsson (car number 9):“Off to the first back-to-back of the year. Bahrain is a track that I know very well. I have been there more >>
Alfa Romeo Sauber F1 Team Bahrain Grand-Prix preview
03.04.2018
2018 Formula One Gulf Air Bahrain Grand PrixSakhir International CircuitAfter the season kick-off in Melbourne, the Alfa Romeo Sauber F1 Team is heading to Bahrain for the 2nd round of the FIA Formula One World Championship and the fo more >>
Esteban Ocon - Sahara Force India F1 driver quotes ahead of Bahrain Grand-Prix
02.04.2018
2018 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX Sakhir International Circuit Esteban: “When I think about Bahrain I always remember the beautiful paddock, which has so much space and looks amazing at night with all the trees lit up. more >>
Sergio Perez, Sahara Force India F1 driver quotes ahead of Bahrain Grand-Prix
02.04.2018
2018 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX Sakhir International Circuit Sergio: “Racing in Bahrain is good fun. It’s unusual because you’re in the desert and we also race under the lights. It’s actually one o more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix preview
02.04.2018
2018 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX Sakhir International Circuit “Melbourne was a clear indicator that the competitiveness of the grid has closed up in 2018. We’ve got to work hard to maintain our fourth place in the championship and more >>
Carlos Sainz, Renault F1 driver quotes ahead of Bahrain Grand-Prix
31.03.2018
Desert OrchidCarlos Sainz sealed his second points finish in his new colours in Australia, but the season-opener leaves him thirsty for more in the Middle East.How do you feel after the first race more >>
Nico Hülkenberg, Renault F1 driver quotes ahead of Bahrain Grand-Prix
31.03.2018
Night RiderA solid seventh place in Melbourne for Nico Hülkenberg opens up his points-scoring account for 2018. Now the German is eyeing up another strong weekend in the Bahrain desert.How d more >>
Renault Sport F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix preview
31.03.2018
FORMULA 1 2018 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX Foreword from Renault Sport Racing Managing Director, Cyril AbiteboulIn Australia, there were a number of strong points; reliability, performance and the final result. more >>
Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 driver quotes ahead of Bahrain Grand-Prix
31.03.2018
The Australian Grand Prix was shaping up to be a milestone race for Haas F1 Team. How do you rebound from such a difficult set of circumstances, especially when the result could’ve been so rewarding?“We try t more >>
Romain Grosjean, Haas F1 driver quotes ahead of Bahrain Grand-Prix
31.03.2018
The Australian Grand Prix was shaping up to be a milestone race for Haas F1 Team. How do you rebound from such a difficult set of circumstances, especially when the result could’ve been so rewarding?“Wel more >>
After Heartbreak in Australia, Haas F1 Team Takes its Speed to Sakhir
31.03.2018
The speed Haas F1 Team showcased during winter testing at Circuit de Barcelona – Catalunya continued to turn heads when the 2018 FIA Formula One World Championship headed down under for the season-opening Australian Grand Prix.  more >>
Renault Sport F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix race review
16.04.2017
2017 Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix, Sunday 16 April 2017 Renault Sport Formula One Team scored its first points of 2017 after a hard-fought Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix at the Bahrain International Circuit.  more >>
Sauber F1 Team Bahrain Grand-Prix race review
16.04.2017
Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix – Race  Sunday 16.04.2017Weather: dry, 26-24°C air, 35-28°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team finished the Bahrain Grand Prix in P11 with Pascal Wehrlein. Marcus Ericsson was unlucky – he ha more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix race
16.04.2017
2017 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXSahara Force India moved up to fourth place in the championship after Sergio Perez and Esteban Ocon finished in seventh and tenth places in today’s Bahrain Grand Prix.  SERGIO PEREZ more >>
McLaren-Honda F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix race review
16.04.2017
The Bahrain Grand Prix started in frustrating fashion for the McLaren-Honda team, when a water-pressure issue was detected in the #2 car of Stoffel Vandoorne on the way to the grid. The problem could not be fixed in time, and the team had no choice but to remove the more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Bahrain GP race review
16.04.2017
2017 Bahrain Grand Prix - Sunday  Silver Arrows seal double podium in breathtaking Bahrain Grand Prix •    Lewis today took the 107th top three finish of his Formula One career in P2 • &nbs more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix race review
16.04.2017
2017 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 16/04/2017 Daniil Kvyat (STR12-01, Car 26)Race: pos. 12th “After my first lap I think my race was over, unfortunately. I had very little grip on lap 1 and went off the track becau more >>
Pirelli F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix race
16.04.2017
- Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel wins a strategic Grand-Prix with a two-stop strategy- All the drivers stop twice apart from Sauber's Pascal Wehrlein - Several variations on the the two-stop strategy, using soft and supersoft, with contained degradation more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix race
16.04.2017
•    Felipe Massa finished sixth in the Bahrain Grand Prix•    Lance Stroll’s race came to an early conclusion on lap 12 after being hit by Sainz•    Both cars started t more >>
Haas F1 Team Bahrain Grand Prix race review
16.04.2017
Event:  Bahrain Grand Prix (Round 3 of 20)Date:  Sunday, April 16Location:  Bahrain International Circuit in SakhirLayout:  5.412-kilometer (3.363-mile), 15-turn trackWeather:  ClearAir Temps:  23.9-26.3 degrees Celsius (75-79.3 degrees Fahrenheit)Track Temps:  28.3-34.8 degrees Celsius (82.9-94.6 degrees Fahrenheit)Ra more >>
F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix race classification
16.04.2017
FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX Bahrain International Circuit, SakhirSunday, April 16th 20171     5     Sebastian Vettel     Ferrari     57     1:33:53.3 more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix qualifying
15.04.2017
2017 Bahrain Grand Prix - Saturday  Maiden Formula One pole for Valtteri, Lewis completes Silver Arrows lockout •    Valtteri Bottas tonight claimed his first F1 career pole position at the Bahrain International Circuit more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix qualifying
15.04.2017
Bahrain GP Qualifying Qualifying Notes•    Felipe Massa qualified eighth and Lance Stroll 12th for the Bahrain Grand Prix •    Felipe made it comfortably through to Q2 with his first lap more >>
Renault Sport F1 Bahrain Grand Prix qualifying
15.04.2017
2017 Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix Saturday 15 April 2017    Renault Sport Formula One Team’s Nico Hülkenberg has qualified in seventh position for the second Grand Prix in a row whilst Jolyon Palmer qualified i more >>
McLaren-Honda F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix qualifying review
15.04.2017
Today during FP3, when the air temperatures peaked at 35 degrees and track temperatures at 40, both sides of the McLaren-Honda garage enjoyed a trouble-free session, completing runs on alternate set-up configurations and practising pitstops mid-session. Fernando comp more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix qualifying review
15.04.2017
2017 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX QUALIFYINGSahara Force India ended today’s qualifying session for the Bahrain Grand Prix with Esteban Ocon in P14 and Sergio Perez in P18.  ESTEBAN OCON - VJM10-01Q1    1:31 more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix qualifying review
15.04.2017
2017 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX SATURDAY 15/04/2017 Daniil Kvyat (STR12-01, Car 26)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:33.744, pos. 10th, 11 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:31.531, (Q2) 1:30.923, pos. 11th more >>
Sauber F1 Team Bahrain Grand-Prix qualifying review
15.04.2017
Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix – Qualifying  Saturday 15.04.2017Weather: FP3: sunny and dry, 34-35°C air, 37-40°C track; Qualifying: dry, 33-29°C air, 34°C trackPascal Wehrlein bou more >>
Pirelli F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix qualifying
15.04.2017
- Valtteri Bottas claims his first pole for Mercedes and saves a new set of supersoft tyres- Two stop strategy likely tomorrow, depending on track conditions- Fastest ever lap of Sakhir Circuit set in A3                       &nb more >>
Haas F1 Team Bahrain Grand-Prix qualifying review
15.04.2017
Event:  Qualifying for the Bahrain Grand Prix (Round 3 of 20)Date:  Saturday, April 15Location:  Bahrain International Circuit in SakhirLayout:  5.412-kilometer (3.363-mile), 15-turn trackWeather:  ClearAir T more >>
F1 Bahrain Grand Prix qualifying classification
15.04.2017
FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX Bahrain International Circuit, SakhirSaturday, April 15th  20171     77     Valtteri Bottas     Mercedes     1:31.041    more >>
F1 Practice 3 Bahrain Grand-Prix classification
15.04.2017
FORMULA 1 GULF AIR BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX Bahrain International Circuit, SakhirSaturday, April 15th 20171     33     Max Verstappen     Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer    more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix practices review
14.04.2017
2017 BAHRAIN GRAND PRIXSahara Force India completed a busy practice programme in Bahrain ahead of Sunday’s race with Sergio Perez and Esteban Ocon covering 117 laps between them.  SERGIO PEREZ - VJM10 more >>
McLaren-Honda F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix practices review
14.04.2017
Under the blazing desert sun and in 39 degrees, the team executed planned set-up changes on both cars between runs during the first practice session of the day. A floor change on Stoffel’s car and a rear wing change on Fernando’s car meant they completed 10 and 14 laps respectively. more >>
Pirelli F1 Bahrain Grand-Prix practices
14.04.2017
- Much higher track temperatures than last year in both free practices, with slippery conditions- Ferrari's Sebastian Vettet fastest in both session, using soft tyre in FP1 then supersoft tyre in FP2- Top three in Fp2 within the same tenth of a second more >>

Kategorien

2001-2021 automobilsport.com full copyright