McLaren F1 Team Chinese Grand-Prix preview

McLaren F1 Team Chinese Grand-Prix preview

10.04.2018: Chinese Grand Prix preview Shanghai International Circuit 13-15 April 2018 Start time 14:10hrs local, 07:10hrs BST, 08:10hrs CET

Chinese Grand Prix – preview

 
Shanghai International Circuit
13-15 April 2018
Start time 14:10hrs local, 07:10hrs BST, 08:10hrs CET
Race laps 56
Tyre choice White Medium, yellow Soft, purple Ultrasoft


 
 
The essentials


Toughest corner Turn One, a 270-degree right-hander. The cars turn in at 300km/h/186mph and scrub off speed as the drivers increase the steering angle towards a late-apex. The drivers are also braking through here; as the aerodynamic load comes off the car they have to be careful not to lock the unloaded inside front wheel



Unique difficulty Balancing straight-line speed with braking stability and cornering grip. The 1.17km/0.727-mile back straight is the longest of the season and to be competitive in the race, a high top-speed is vital. But take off too much downforce and the car will slide in the corners and wear out its tyres


Biggest challenge Keeping the tyres in their correct temperature range will be particularly difficult this year. Pirelli is bringing an eclectic range of tyre compounds: the Ultrasoft will act as a qualifying tyre, but there will be no Supersoft rubber and the cars will be forced to jump to a much harder compound at the pit-stops

 
 


Engineer's lowdown



Braking There are eight braking events around the lap, which is relatively high, including one of the most severe braking zones of the season, into Turn 14, where longitudinal forces peak at 7g. But the long straights allow the brakes to cool, and that makes it a relatively easy race in terms of brake wear


Power The cars use 1.7kg of fuel per lap, which is average for the season. But such is the increase in full throttle this year, due to the increased aerodynamic downforce produced by the cars, every race is marginal on fuel without a Safety Car period


Aero The long straights encourage the teams to take off downforce. That makes the two 270-degree corners very tough, because a precise front-end is crucial to a good lap-time

 
 


Fernando Alonso



“After a couple of positive results, I’m excited to go to China. Turn One in Shanghai is one of the best corners of the calendar and it’s a great track to race on for a driver.



“For us, consistency has to be the key. We’ve been able to pull everything together on a Sunday so far – a combination of both hard work and good fortune – but we haven’t given ourselves the best chances on Saturday, so it’s important we pull the whole package together. 



“It won’t happen overnight, but we know where our issues lie and we know that we need to work hard to overcome them as soon as possible. In the meantime, we’ll be pushing hard in China, as always, and continue our fight to the front of the midfield pack.”

 




 
Stoffel Vandoorne



“Last year was my first experience of the Chinese Grand Prix, and, although the race was short-lived for both of us, I did enjoy racing there.


“As we saw last year, the weather in Shanghai can be unpredictable. If we can continue our good momentum in terms of putting together a good strategy and taking every opportunity where we can, rain could be a fun addition to our race weekend.


“But, we know it’s a tough circuit for our package and we need to maximise every session, every day, to give ourselves the best chance of a good result.



We can’t be on the back foot on Sunday and it’s important we do as much learning as we can on Friday to enable us to fight for representative positions on the grid on Saturday afternoon.”

 




Eric Boullier Racing Director



“We now head to Shanghai after a hard-fought couple of races for McLaren. Our results are solid but haven’t come easily, and we are by no means satisfied with our progress so far.



“We know there’s a lot of work to do and we’re working hard, day and night, to bring more performance to the car each time we hit the track. Our biggest deficit is our qualifying performance and addressing this is our priority.



“The Shanghai International Circuit is a very different challenge again to Melbourne and Bahrain. The long straight, high top speeds and the low and medium-speed corners mean it has a bit of everything, so our objective is to get on top of the circuit’s characteristics from Friday onwards.”

 
 
 


Tim Bampton- photos McLaren

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mclaren-f1-team-chinese-gp-preview---174853.html

10.04.2018 / MaP

More News

Renault Sport F1 Chinese Grand-Prix preview
10.04.2018
 2018 Formula 1 Heineken Chinese Grand Prix Preview Renault Sport Formula One Team previews the third race weekend of the 2018 Formula 1 season, the Chinese Grand Prix. Drivers Nico Hülkenberg and Ca more >>
Alfa Romeo Sauber F1 Team Chinese Grand-Prix preview
10.04.2018
2018 Formula One Heineken Chinese Grand PrixThe Alfa Romeo F1 Team is heading to China feeling positive for the second leg of the first back-to-back races on the calendar.Marcus Ericsson is determined to maintain the more >>
Kevin Magnussen, Haas F1 driver quotes ahead of Chinese Grand-Prix
10.04.2018
Chinese Grand-Prix 2018Kevin Magnussen, driver car 20    Finding and then holding onto the tires’ proper operating window proved a challenge last year. How has it been so far this year?“The tires are dif more >>
Romain Grosjean, Haas F1 driver quotes ahead of Chinese Grand-Prix
10.04.2018
Chinese Grand-Prix 2018Romain Grosjean, driver car 8  Finding and then holding onto the tires’ proper operating window proved a challenge last year. How has it been so far this year?“It& more >>
Haas F1 Team Chinese Grand-Prix preview
10.04.2018
American Squad Brings its Speed to Chinese Grand Prix  Shanghai International Circuit Circuit Length: 5.451 kilometers (3.387 miles) Laps: 56Race Distance: 305.066 kilometers (189.559 miles) Broadcast: ESPN2 at 2 a. more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese Grand-Prix preview
10.04.2018
F1: Race 2018 Chinese Grand Prix  Battle resumes this weekend with Round 3 of the 2018 Formula One season at the Shanghai International Circuit.  Toto Talks China  This is not the start to the 2018 seas more >>
Pirelli F1 Chinese Grand-Prix preview
09.04.2018
Shanghai: An unusual tyre nomination, mixed track layout, unpredictable weather, and varied strategiesThe season’s third  race presents the  first  nomination of  the  year with a gap between the selected compounds&nb more >>
Pirelli F1 selected sets per driver for Chinese Grand-Prix
03.04.2018
The FIA communicated to Pirelli each team’s tyre choices for the forthcoming Chinese Grand Prix (April, 13-15).                   Anthony Peacock  more >>
F1 Chinese Grand-Prix secured for coming three years
29.09.2017
The Chinese Grand Prix will continue to be a part of the Formula 1 World Championship for at least the next three years after a deal was agreed for Shanghai to host the race from 2018 to 2020.From its debut in 2004, China has become one of the most more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese Grand-Prix race review
09.04.2017
2017 CHINESE GRAND PRIXSahara Force India scored three points in today’s Chinese Grand Prix with Sergio Perez racing to ninth place ahead of Esteban Ocon in tenth.  SERGIO PEREZ - VJM10-02P9   more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese Grand-Prix race review
09.04.2017
MAX VERSTAPPEN, Finish Position: 3rd, Start Position: 16th   “That was a very special race. When I woke up this morning I never expected to be on the podium. It was a very good first lap, I passed nine cars I think which i more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese Grand-Prix race review
09.04.2017
2017 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 09/04/2017 Carlos Sainz (STR12-03, Car 55)Race: pos. 7th “WOW! What a race, I just don’t have words to describe it! On the grid I said I wanted to start the race on more >>
Pirelli F1 Chinese Grand-Prixe race review
09.04.2017
 CHINESE GRAND PRIX RACE- Drying weather conditions and early safety cars mix up the strategies in Shanghai- Lewis Hamilton wins from pole on a two-stop strategy, using the soft tyre for most of the race-Max Verstappen fights his more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese Grand-Prix race review
09.04.2017
2017 Chinese Grand Prix - Sunday  Lewis claims first victory of 2017 with Valtteri sixth in topsy-turvy Chinese Grand Prix •    Lewis took his 54th Formula One victory today - his fifth at the Shang more >>
McLaren-Honda F1 Chinese Grand-Prix race review
09.04.2017
Chinese Grand-Prix 2017Sunday, April 9th 2017It was a short-lived Chinese Grand Prix for the McLaren-Honda team at the Shanghai International Circuit. Rain earlier in the day meant that the track was pretty damp f more >>
Haas F1 Team Chinese Grand-Prix race review
09.04.2017
Event:  Chinese Grand Prix (Round 2 of 20)Date:  Sunday, April 9Location:  Shanghai International CircuitLayout:  5.451-kilometer (3.387-mile), 16-turn circuitWeather:  OvercastAir Temps:  12.5-13.4 degrees Celsius (54.5-56.1 degrees Fahrenheit)Track Temps:  0-15.7 degrees Celsius (32-60.3 degrees Fahrenheit) more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese Grand-Prix race review
09.04.2017
Chinese Grand Prix 2017Sunday, April 9th 2017 •    Felipe Massa finished 14th whilst Lance Stroll’s first ever Chinese Grand Prix was cut short after contact from Perez on the opening lap put him into a spin at Tur more >>
Renault Sport F1 Chinese Grand-Prixe race review
09.04.2017
2017 Formula 1 Heineken Chinese Grand Prix, Sunday9 April 2017 Renault Sport Formula One Team endured a frustrating Heineken Chinese Grand Prix with Nico Hülkenberg finishing 12th and Jolyon Palmer finishing 13th after an eventful more >>
Heineken Chinese Grand-Prix race classification
09.04.2017
FORMULA 1 HEINEKEN CHINESE GRAND PRIX Shanghai International Circuit, ShanghaiSunday, April 9th 20171     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     56     1:37:36.158   more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese Grand-Prix qualifying
08.04.2017
2017 Chinese Grand Prix - Saturday  Centimetres separate the top three in Shanghai pole position shootout •    Lewis today claimed his 63rd career pole position - his sixth at the Shanghai International Circuit, secon more >>
McLaren-Honda F1 Chinese Grand-Prix qualifying review
08.04.2017
Today was much more action-packed on track than yesterday, the team making the most of the track time in FP3 to fully dial in the car ready for qualifying and the race. Fernando Alonso completed 17 laps and Stoffel Vandoorne 21, providing the engine more >>
Renault Sport F1 Chinese Grand-Prix qualifying review
08.04.2017
2017 Formula 1 Heineken Chinese Grand Prix, Saturday Renault Sport Formula One Team’s Nico Hülkenberg has qualified seventh for the Heineken Chinese Grand Prix with a qualifying performance underlying the team’s current potenti more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese Grand-Prix qualifying
08.04.2017
Chinese Grand Prix Qualifying •    Felipe Massa will start the Chinese Grand Prix sixth and Lance Stroll 10th after a solid performance in qualifying at the Shanghai International Circuit•    more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese Grand-Prix qualifying
08.04.2017
2017 CHINESE GRAND PRIX QUALIFYING Sergio Perez will start tomorrow’s Chinese Grand Prix from eighth on the grid. Teammate Esteban Ocon qualified P20 after losing out during the yellow flags at the end of Q1.  SERGIO P more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
08.04.2017
2017 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 08/04/2017 Daniil Kvyat (STR12-01, Car 26)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:35.804, pos. 15th, 23 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:34.440, (Q2) 1:34.034, (Q3) 1:33.719, pos. 9th more >>
Haas F1 Chinese Grand-Prix qualifying review
08.04.2017
Event:  Qualifying for the Chinese Grand Prix (Round 2 of 20)Date:  Saturday, April 8Location:  Shanghai International CircuitLayout:  5.451-kilometer (3.387-mile), 16-turn circuitWeather:  Hazy sunshineAir Temps:  19.7-21.5 degrees Celsius (67.5-70.7 degrees Fahrenheit)Track Temps:  30-32.5 degrees Celsius (86-90.5 more >>
Sauber F1 China GP qualifying review
08.04.2017
Formula 1 Heineken Chinese Grand Prix – Qualifying  Saturday 08.04.2017Weather: sunny/overcast and dry, 20-23°C air, 30-36°C trackMixed feelings for the Sauber F1 Team ahead of the Chinese Grand Prix on the Shanghai International more >>
Pirelli F1 Chinese Grand-Prix qualifying
08.04.2017
- Hamilton claims pole on supersofts tyres with fastes ever lap of Shanghai- Dry weather for the first time today, but rain expected tomorrow- It it stays dry, one stop supersoft-soft strategy is likelyThe teams fina more >>
F1 Chinese Grand-Prix Qualifying classificaton
08.04.2017
FORMULA 1 HEINEKEN CHINESE GRAND PRIX Shanghai International Circuit07 -09 April 2017 Saturday, April 8th 20171     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes   &nb more >>
F1 Practice 3 Chinese Grand-Prix classificaton
08.04.2017
FORMULA 1 HEINEKEN CHINESE GRAND PRIX Shanghai International Circuit07 -09 April 2017 Saturday, April 8th 20171     5     Sebastian Vettel     Ferrari     1:33.336     &n more >>
Pirelli F1 Chinese Grand-Prix practice sessions
07.04.2017
- 2017 intermediate and wet tyres make their (brief) debut.- in FP1 Max Verstappen sets fastest time of the day on inters- FP1 shortened due to medical helicopter being unable to fly- No running in FP2 for the same reason- more >>
Renault Sport F1 Chinese Grand Prix Friday Practice
07.04.2017
2017 Formula 1 Heineken Chinese Grand Prix, Friday Renault Sport Formula One Team had a quiet start to the Heineken Chinese Grand Prix with low cloud precluding the medical helicopter from being able to fulfil its role, meaning track run more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese Grand Prix Friday practice
07.04.2017
F1 Chinese Grand-PrixShanghai International CircuitFriday, April 7th 2017An update from Free Practice in Shanghai as the track action begins for the second round of the 2017 Formula One season.Shanghai is something of an more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese Grand-Prix Friday practice
07.04.2017
2017 CHINESE GRAND PRIX FREE PRACTICE Adverse weather caused both practice sessions for this weekend’s Chinese Grand Prix to be disrupted. Sergio Perez completed just three out laps this morning, while teammate Esteban Ocon was limited to two laps of the Shanghai track. more >>
McLaren-Honda F1 Chinese Grand-Prix Friday practice
07.04.2017
“TOGETHER, WE ALL HOPE TO BE ABLE TO PUT ON A BETTER SHOW TOMORROW”#ChineseGPToday was an unusual day in Shanghai, with a heavily disrupted first session owing to mist and intermittent showers, which meant the medical helicopter more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP Friday practice
07.04.2017
Chinese Grand Prix Practice Paddy Lowe, Chief Technical Officer: Whilst it’s been a frustrating day for everyone, it’s probably more so for other teams, because we were able to make the best of the opportunity. W more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese Grand-Prix Friday practice
07.04.2017
2017 Chinese Grand Prix - Friday  No silver lining to Shanghai clouds on day one in China •    Track action was limited to a handful of laps today, with running suspended for the majority of FP1 and the entirely of FP2 due to po more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP Friday practice review
07.04.2017
2017 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – Friday, April 7th 2017 Carlos Sainz (STR12-03, Car 55)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:52.840, pos. 4th, 5 lapsSecond Practice SessionNo laps“A ver more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese Grand Prix Friday Practice
07.04.2017
Formula 1 Heineken Chinese Grand Prix – Practice – Friday 07.04.2017Weather: FP1: cloudy/foggy and damp, 13-14°C air, 15-16°C trackThere was almost no running time during the practice sessions ahead of the Chinese Grand Prix for more >>

Kategorien

2001-2021 automobilsport.com full copyright