McLaren Honda F1 Malaysian GP review

McLaren Honda F1 Malaysian GP review

29.03.2015: 2015 MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX Sepang International Circuit, Sunday March 29 “Able to mix it with the others”

2015 MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX
Sepang International Circuit, Sunday March 29




“Able to mix it with the others”



Despite failing to get both cars to the flag, the Malaysian Grand Prix marked a significant step-up in performance for the whole McLaren-Honda team.


The two MP4-30s were the only cars to start the race on the Hard (Prime) tyres, but were able quickly to switch to the Medium (Option) when both boxed during an early Safety Car period. Jenson was delayed at his stop by an issue with the left-front, and was also hampered behind Manor’s Roberto Merhi, who failed to catch the cars in front ahead of the restart.


During the race itself, both our cars ran more strongly than they had in Australia two weeks ago – Fernando ran as high as eighth before an ERS cooling problem required him to stop his car on lap 21. Jenson was able to latch onto a midfield battle but was also ordered to stop by the team. He retired on lap 41 with a turbo issue.



JENSON BUTTON
MP4-30-01

Started                   17th
Finished                 DNF – turbo (41 laps)
Fastest lap             1m46.056s on lap 38 (+3.994s, 16th)
Pitstops                 Three: laps 4 (10.66s), 21 (3.80s) and 35 (4.11s) [Pri-Opt-Opt-Opt]



“The start of the race was a bit of a mess for me: I’d had a longer-than-normal pit-stop under the Safety Car, and came out behind Roberto [Mehri], who didn’t close down the gap before the Safety Car came in. At the restart, I then started about four or five seconds behind the pack, had to get past him, then chased down the cars in front – which hurt my tyres.


“But I enjoyed it out there – we’re actually racing people. To be able to see one of the Red Bulls ahead of me – and so far into the race – was obviously a nice surprise. And we were able to mix it with the others a little bit more, too. Fighting in the pack is the most positive thing to take away from this weekend – hopefully, before too long, we can start to pick them off on a race-by-race basis.


“Today has been a useful day; it’s just a pity that both Fernando and I ended up finishing it early.”




FERNANDO ALONSO
MP4-30-03

Started                   18th
Finished                 DNF – ERS cooling (21 laps)
Fastest lap             1m48.460s on lap 17 (+6.398s, 17th)
Pitstops                 One: lap 4 (3.24s) [Pri-Opt]


“This whole weekend has been better than I expected.


“The main positive to take away from today is the fact that we were able to run with other cars – Jenson and I weren’t simply fighting with each other. That was the first step we needed to take, and we’ve taken it already.


“Indeed, our race pace was surprisingly good; I was running with the pack, and I was even able to catch the Red Bulls before the pit-stops. That was a nice surprise.


“We still need a little more time to investigate the exact cause of my retirement. The team came over the radio to tell me to back off a little, to save the car, so I brought it back to the pits.


“For us, these are the sort of reliability problems you’d usually discover in pre-season testing, but, given our lack of running over the winter, unfortunately we’re likely to encounter such issues in the first few races of the year.


“Hopefully, we can take another step forward in China.”




ERIC BOULLIER
Racing director, McLaren-Hond
a


“The fact that neither Fernando nor Jenson finished today’s race is of course disappointing, but they both drove extremely well in arduous, challenging and frustrating conditions.
 

“Moreover, in line with the MP4-30’s improved qualifying pace of yesterday, its race pace today was also a significant improvement over what it showed in Melbourne two weeks ago.
 

“Furthermore, the 62 laps driven by Fernando and Jenson this afternoon have garnered us additional invaluable data that will inform the ongoing intense development programme in which we are relentlessly engaged.
 

“Last but far from least, I want to say ‘merci beaucoup’ to our mechanics, a mettlesome troupe who have been working with indefatigable tenacity, in severe heat and humidity, ever since we arrived in Sepang.”




YASUHISA ARAI
Honda R&D senior managing officer – chief officer of motorsport




"Fernando was showing some good pace today until we had to pull his car out of the race with an ERS cooling issue. Obviously, that was a big disappointment for us.


“Jenson’s car then encountered a turbo issue, when we were just about to push to maintain his position within a busy, jostling pack.


“Both retirements were a result of the harsh use of the power unit within competitive race conditions, not the result of the high-temperature conditions encountered at this circuit.


“We’ll investigate the issues further and aim to improve things before Shanghai.”

         

Silvia Hoffer Frangipane , photo McLaren Honda  

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mclaren-honda-f1-malaysian-gp-review---134140.html

29.03.2015 / MaP

More News

Sahara Force India F1 Malaysian GP race
29.03.2015
2015 Formula One Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix, Race Sahara Force India battled hard in the Malaysian Grand Prix with Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg finishing in P13 and P14 respectively.  P13    more >>
Constructors' Championship standings after Malaysian Grand-Prix 2015
29.03.2015
FIA FORMULA1 Championship 2015Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team 43 12 33 23 76Scuderia Ferrari 15 3 NC 37 14 52Williams Martini Racing 12 4 18 56 30Sauber F1 Team 14 58 12 NC 14Scuderia Tor more >>
Drivers' Championship standings after Malaysian GP 2015
29.03.2015
FIA FORMULA1 Championship 2015L. HAMILTON 25 1 18 2    43S. VETTEL 15 3 251   40 N. ROSBERG 18 2 15 3    33F. MASSA 12 4 8 6     20 more >>
Malaysia GP 2015 top 3 driver quotes
29.03.2015
MALAYSIAN Grand Prix 2015 - Sepang International CircuitSebastian Vettel ­Grazia a tuti la scuderia. Oggi ho fatto una grande gara.Thanks a lot . Today is really a special day. This more >>
F1 Race in Malaysia classification 2015
29.03.2015
2015 FORMULA 1 PETRONAS MALAYSIA GRAND PRIX Kuala Lumpur  01       S. Vettel       Ferrari     56 laps     2502       L. Hamilton   more >>
Pirelli F1 Malaysian Grand Prix qualifying review
28.03.2015
- Split strategies during rain-affected qualifying: Hamilton on pole with Cinturato Intermediate- Ferrari drivers and WIlliams driver Valtteri Bottas the only ones to use just the P Zero Hard Tyre in Q1- Three stop strategy most l more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Malaysian GP qualifying
28.03.2015
Sepang QUALIFYING  Dramatic afternoon session in Sepang sees Lewis and Nico take first and third position during qualifying for tomorrow's Malaysian Grand Prix •    Pole for Lewis today marks his 40t more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Malaysian GP qualifying
28.03.2015
Malaysian Grand Prix Qualifying Qualifying Notes•    Felipe Massa qualified seventh and Valtteri Bottas ninth for tomorrow’s Malaysian GP•    The end of Q2 w more >>
Lotus F1 Team Malaysian GP qualifying review
28.03.2015
 2015 Malaysian GP, Saturday 28th March  Romain Grosjean qualified eighth and Pastor Maldonado twelfth after a rain-affected qualifying for the Malaysian Grand Prix at the Sepang International Circuit. Both cars progress more >>
Sauber F1 Team Malaysian GP Qualifying
28.03.2015
Petronas Malaysian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 28.03.2015Weather: 3rd practice: sunny and dry, 33-35°C air, 58-62°C trackQualifying: dry in the beginning; then heavy rain, 34-24°C air, 55-27°C track more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Malaysian GP qualifying review
28.03.2015
2015 MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGSepang International Circuit, Saturday March 28“Real progress is being made”McLaren-Honda will start from 17th (Jenson Button) and 18th (Fernando Alonso) on the grid more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Malaysian GP qualifying
28.03.2015
2015 MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 28/03/2015  Max Verstappen (STR10-03, Car 33)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:40.989, pos. 9th, 18 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:40.793, (Q2) 1:41.430, (Q3) 1:5 more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Malysian qualifying review
28.03.2015
2015 Formula 1 Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix: Qualifying  Sahara Force India survived the rain storms in Sepang today as Nico Hulkenberg qualified in P13 ahead of Sergio Perez in P14.  P13 &nb more >>
Qualifying Malaysian Grand Prix result 2015
28.03.2015
Malaysian Grand Prix 2015 - Sepang International Circuit1     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:39.269     1:41.517     1:49.834     more >>
Sepang Free Practice 3 Classification 2015
28.03.2015
Malaysian Grand Prix 2015 - Sepang International Circuit1     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:39.690           132   more >>
Pirelli F1 Malaysian GP practice sessions
27.03.2015
- Track temperatures of 56 degrees, similar to the highest temperatures in 2014, cause high wear and degradation- Performance gap of approximately 0.9 -1.0 seconds between hard and medium compounds- No blistering despite the e more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Malaysian GP practices review
27.03.2015
Mixed bag for MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS on a hot and humid opening day at the Sepang International Circuit •    Nico topped the times during the morning session, with Lewis claiming top spot in the afternoon •&nbs more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Malaysian GP practices
27.03.2015
2015 Formula 1 Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix: Free Practice  Sahara Force India started its Malaysian Grand Prix weekend with two productive practice sessions in the hot and humid conditions at Sepang.   more >>
Lotus F1 Team Malaysian GP practices review
27.03.2015
2015 Malaysian GP, Friday Lotus F1 Team opened-up strongly but experienced a modicum of frustration in the first day of running for the Malaysian Grand Prix. In hot and humid conditions at the Sepang International Circu more >>
Williams Martini F1 Malaysian GP practices
27.03.2015
Malaysian Grand Prix Practice Objectives: Set-up work, aero evaluations and tyre work Rob Smedley, Head of Performance Engineering:  It was a really busy day for us today with plenty o more >>
Sauber F1 Team Malaysian GP practices
27.03.2015
Petronas Malaysian Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 27.03.2015 Weather: sunny and dry, 29-35°C air, 39-61°C trackThe Malaysian Grand Prix on the Sepang International Circuit started in extreme conditions with very more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Malaysian GP practices review
27.03.2015
2015 MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 27/03/2015  Max Verstappen (STR10-03, Car 33)First Practice SessionBest lap: 1:41.803, pos. 7th, 23 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:41.220, pos. 8th, 30 more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Malaysian GP practices review
27.03.2015
MALAYSIA GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE   DANIIL KVYAT First Practice Session: Position: 9, Best Time: 1:42.055, Laps: 18Second Practice Session: Position: 4, Best Time: 1:40.346, Laps: 17& more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Malaysian GP practices review
27.03.2015
2015 MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX – FREE PRACTICE“A definite step forward”Sepang International Circuit, Friday March 27FERNANDO ALONSOMP4-30-03FP1       & more >>
Sepang Malaysian GP Practice 2 classification
27.03.2015
Petronas Malaysian Grand Prix 2015 - Sepang International Circuit1     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:39.790           162 more >>
Sepang Malaysian GP Practice 1 classification
27.03.2015
Petronas Malaysian Grand Prix 2015 - Sepang International Circuit1     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:40.124     202     Kimi Raikkonen   &nbs more >>
Renault Sport F1 Malaysian GP preview 2015
24.03.2015
F1 MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX 2015  POWER UNIT DETAILSICEThe ICE will be running at full throttle for around 60% of the lap. This is one of the higher percentages of the season, particularly when compared t more >>
Fernando Alonso to return to the cockpit in Malaysia
24.03.2015
McLaren-Honda is pleased to announce that, subject to a successful final FIA medical assessment this Thursday 26th March at the Sepang International Circuit, Fernando Alonso will return to the cockpit of his MP4-30 car for this week more >>
Featured this Week: Keeping Cool in Malaysia
24.03.2015
Cooling - a key challenge in the new Hybrid Formula One era. The down-sizing of the ICE from a V8, 2.4 litre configuration to a V6, 1.6 litre configuration and resultant increase in power per litre has created an engine that runs hotter, with yet further heat generated more >>
Silver Arrows Statistics at the Malaysian Grand Prix
24.03.2015
           Silver Arrows          Lewis Hamilton          Nico Rosberg          Mercedes-Benz more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Malaysian GP preview
24.03.2015
2015 Malaysian Grand Prix - Sepang International Circuit The 2015 Formula One World Championship season continues with Round Two, the Malaysian Grand Prix, held at the Sepang International Circuit   more >>
Williams Martini F1 Racing Malaysian GP preview
24.03.2015
MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX  SEPANG INTERNATIONAL CIRCUIT, KUALA LUMPURROUND 2 OF 19   27-29 MARCHKuala Lumpur’s Sepang International Circuit was first in the spate of modern tracks in emerging markets for F more >>
Sauber F1 Team Petronas Malaysian GP preview
24.03.2015
 2015 Petronas Malaysian Grand Prix2nd Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 27th to 29th March 2015After a successful season opener in Melbourne, the Sauber F1 Team and its drivers Marcus Ericsson and more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Malaysian GP preview
24.03.2015
2015 MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX Carlos Sainz (Car 55)“I’ve been to Malaysia before and I like the country. I raced there in Formula BMW, which was also my first ever race in a single-seater. I came second, so I have memories more >>
Pirelli F1 Malaysian GP preview Sepang, March 26-29, 2015
23.03.2015
- Medium and Hard P Zero compounds for high temperatures and abrasive asphalt of Malaysia- Tropical climate makes it likely for 2015 Cinturato intermediate and full wet tyres to make their competitive debut- Faster lap times give even more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Petronas Malaysia GP preview
23.03.2015
2015 Formula 1 Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix PreviewSahara Force India gets ready for this weekend’s Malaysian Grand Prix at Sepang. Vijay’s VisionVijay Mallya reflects on Melbourne more >>
Lotus F1 Nick Chester on Malaysian GP 2012
20.03.2015
MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX 2015 PREVIEW RACE 2Technical Director Nick Chester evaluates the first Grand Prix of the season and looks to the challenge of Sepang.NICK CHESTERWE LOOK LIKE WE COULD BE REGULAR Q3 CONTENDERS more >>
Lotus F1 Team driver Pastor Maldonado Malaysian GP preview
20.03.2015
MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX  2015 PREVIEW RACE 2PASTOR  MALDONADO77 RACES 1 WIN POINTS SEPANG IS ONE OF THE TOUGHEST RACES OF THE YEARDespite an exceptionally short Australian Grand Prix, P more >>
Lotus F1 Team driver Romain Grosjean Malaysian GP preview
20.03.2015
MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX  2015 -  RACE 2ROMAIN GROSJEAN65 RACES 9 PODIUMS POINTS THE E23 DEMONSTRATES PRETTY GOOD BASELINE CHARACTERISTICSAfter a one-lap long Australian Grand Prix, Romain Grosjean more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright