McLaren Honda F1 Spa race review

McLaren Honda F1 Spa race review

23.08.2015: 2015 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Sunday August 23 As predicted, the flat-out sweeps of Spa-Francorchamps

2015 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX   
Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Sunday August 23




As predicted, the flat-out sweeps of Spa-Francorchamps proved difficult for the McLaren-Honda package, and we finished 13th (Fernando Alonso) and 14th (Jenson Button).
 

Both drivers made quick getaways, jumped a handful of cars, then ran to the flag using a three-stop strategy. An ERS deployment issue affected Jenson’s progress, meaning he lost touch with his team-mate. Fernando was able to make a little more initial headway, but an overall lack of pace meant he was also unable to outpace the cars around him.    
       


   
#14 Fernando Alonso
MP4-30-01

Started    20th
   
Finished     13th

   
Fastest Lap    1m53.692s on lap 34 (+1.276s, 5th)
   
Pit-stops    Three: laps 8 (2.89s), 20 (4.70s) and 32 (3.00s) [Pri-Opt-Opt-Opt]
   
   

“That was a tough race and a painful weekend: we simply weren’t competitive today.


“My only fun came at the start – to start 20th and be 14th at the end of the first lap was a good feeling. After that, our overall pace wasn’t good enough, but at least we got both cars to the finish, so hopefully we can learn a bit for the next race.
 

“That’s just the way things are at the moment. Monza will also be difficult, but I’m sure we’ll have some better races after that.”   

   

   
#22 Jenson Button
MP4-30-04

Started    19th
   
Finished     14th

   
Fastest Lap    1m55.533s on lap 38 (+3.117s, 15th)
   
Pit-stops    Three: laps 11 (3.84s), 20 (4.12s) and 35 (2.87s) [Pri-Opt-Opt-Opt]
   
     
“From the early laps, I had a problem with the deployment from the ERS pack. I’d get deployment from it in different places now and again, but it was never really deploying and recovering as it should. It would cut immediately after Raidillon, for example, and then I’d have to rely on the ICE alone.
 

“That’s a lot of power to lose, and it meant I was driving the Kemmel Straight and the straight up to Blanchimont without any deployment at all. You can’t really do much in that situation.”   

   

   
Eric Boullier
Racing director, McLaren-Honda   



“Of all the circuits on the current Formula 1 calendar, to this one is our car indubitably least suited.
 

“That being the case, it would be disingenuous indeed if we were to move to look askance at our finishing positions here today.
 

“Granted, to finish 13th and 14th on a circuit that has hosted 14 McLaren grand prix wins is unpropitious in the extreme, but splenetic we are not. Moreover, working shoulder to shoulder with Honda, we’ll work as assiduously as is humanly possible in an effort to make the progress necessary to toil our way back to the front.”                               




Yasuhisa Arai
Honda R&D senior managing officer - chief officer of motorsport   



“Obviously, it was a difficult race, even with the updates we brought to Spa.
 

“First of all, I must thank Fernando and Jenson for their professionalism throughout the weekend. It’s most disappointing to us that we couldn’t meet their expectations, or those of the team and the fans, who had been waiting for the updates to produce results.
 

“We came to Spa knowing the difficulties of managing the ins and outs of the energy. We will look over the data from the weekend – including our gap to the other teams – and prepare for Monza.”   



Silvia Hoffer Frangipane- photo McLaren

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mclaren-honda-f1-spa-race-review---140078.html

23.08.2015 / MaP

More News

Spa F1 Belgian Grand Prix race result
23.08.2015
Formula1  - SHELL Belgian Grand Prix 2015Sunday, August 23rd 2015 full results www.formula1.com  more >>
Pirelli F1 Belgian Grand Prix qualifying
23.08.2015
2015 Belgian Grand Prix – Spa Francorchamps- Hamilton's six consecutive pole positions this season equals Michael Schumacher's benchmark, using P Zero yellow soft- Performance gap of approximately 1,4/1.5 seconds betwe more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Belgian GP qualifying review
23.08.2015
 Belgian Grand Prix 2015Spa-Francorchamps  QUALIFYING  Lewis storms to Spa pole, Nico seals an all silver front row! •    Lewis took his third Belgian Grand Prix pole a more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Belgian GP qualifying review
23.08.2015
Belgian GP Qualifying Qualifying Notes•    Valtteri qualified third and Felipe seventh for tomorrow’s Belgian Grand Prix.•    After making it through the first two sessions comfortabl more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Belgian GP qualifying
23.08.2015
2015 Formula 1 Belgian Grand Prix, Qualifying  Sahara Force India delivered a strong qualifying performance in Spa-Francorchamps today with Sergio Perez setting the fifth fastest time ahead of Nico Hulkenberg in P11. more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Belgian GP qualifying
23.08.2015
BELGIAN GP – QUALIFYING   DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 6*, (3rd Practice – 6, 1:49.930)“It’s pretty cool that everyone is so close and I am pretty happy with the lap. I don’t t more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Belgian GP qualifying
23.08.2015
2015 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 22/08/2015  Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:50.552, pos. 11th, 20 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:49.109, (Q2) 1:49.065, (Q3) 1:49.771 more >>
Lotus F1 Team Belgian Grand Prix qualifying
23.08.2015
 2015 Belgian GP,Spa Francorchamps Saturday 22nd August  Lotus F1 Team enjoyed their best qualifying session of 2015, with Romain Grosjean fourth fastest and Pastor Maldonado eighth at an uncharacteristically hot Spa-Francorch more >>
Sauber F1 Team Belgian GP qualifying
23.08.2015
Shell Belgian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 22.08.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 21-24°C air, 28-41°C trackThe result in qualifying for the Belgian Grand Prix was not as expected for the Sauber F1 Team. Marcus Ericsson made it into Q2 and will start the race from P13, while Felipe Nasr qualified in P16. more >>
Spa F1 Belgian GP Qualifying result
22.08.2015
Formula1 SHELL Belgium Grand-PrixSaturday, August 22nd 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:48.908     1:48.024     1:47.197   & more >>
Pirelli investigation update on Nico Rosberg's right-rear tyre deflation
22.08.2015
2015 Belgian Grand Prix Pirelli confirms no structural integrity issue following a full investigation on Nico Rosberg's right-rear deflation in Free Practice. This issue is consistent with an external cut into the ty more >>
Practice 3 Belgian GP result 2015
22.08.2015
Formula1 SHELL Belgium Grand-PrixSaturday, August 22nd 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:48.98 more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Team Belgian GP practices review
21.08.2015
Belgian Grand Prix 2015Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Friday August 21The stop-start nature of today’s practice sessions, which were affected by a number of red- and yellow-flag interruptions, meant it was difficult to fully more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Spa practices review
21.08.2015
Shell Belgian Grand Prix at  Spa-Francorchamps Friday, August 21st, 2015 Dramatic start to Belgian Grand Prix weekend in Spa •    Nico topped the times in both practice sessions with Lewis more >>
Lotus F1 Team Belgian GP free practices
21.08.2015
 2015 Belgian GP, Friday 21st August  Lotus F1 Team opened their Belgian Grand Prix weekend with a strong top ten time from Romain to underlie the team’s potential after an eventful and challenging first day back on track. more >>
Sauber F1 Team Belgian GP practices review
21.08.2015
Shell Belgian Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 21.08.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 17-24°C air, 22-40°C trackPostive practice sessions ahead of the Belgian Grand Prix for the Sauber F1 Team in terms of pace, finishing more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Belgian GP Practices
21.08.2015
Belgian GP Practice Objectives: aero evaluations, set-up and tyre work. Rob Smedley, Head of Performance Engineering: We have had a decent Friday. We had set ourselves an ambitious programme to complete and although more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Spa Free Practice review
21.08.2015
2015 Formula One Shell Belgian Grand Prix, Free Practice  Sahara Force India returned to action after the summer break with a positive day of practice in Spa-Francorchamps. Nico Hülkenberg  more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Belgian GP practices
21.08.2015
BELGIAN GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE   DANIEL RICCIARDO First Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:51.373, Laps: 18Second Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:50.136, Laps: 15  &ld more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Belgian GP Spa practices
21.08.2015
2015 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 21/08/2015 Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:52.421, pos. 8th, 26 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:51.037, pos. 12th more >>
SPA F1 practice 2 result
21.08.2015
Belgium Grand Prix in Spa FrancorchampsFriday, August 21st 20151     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:49.385         19 more >>
Spa F1 Free Practice result
21.08.2015
2015 Belgian Grand Prix in Spa FrancorchampsFriday, August 21st 20151     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:51.082         192 & more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Belgien GP Vorschau
19.08.2015
Die Formel 1-Saison 2015 geht beim Großen Preis von Belgien in Spa-Francorchamps in ihre elfte Runde. Lewis HamiltonEs war gut, eine Rennpause einzulegen. Ich habe mich erholt, trainiert und meine Akkus aufgeladen. A more >>
Renault F1 Belgian GP preview
19.08.2015
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX 2015 in Spa FrancorchampsPOWER UNIT DETAILSICESpa is the hardest circuit of the year for the Power Units. Over 65% of the 7km track is spent flat out, which translates as around 73secs per la more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Belgian GP preview
18.08.2015
Formula1 - Belgian Grand-Prix at Spa Francorchamps 2015What are you expecting from the weekend ahead in Belgium?MV: “The Hungaroring was clearly a good track for us from a performance and point-scoring point of view. Spa more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Belgian GP preview
18.08.2015
2015 Formula One Shell Belgian Grand Prix Vijay's visionTeam Principal, Dr Vijay Mallya, looks forward to a strong second half of the season. VJM: “The summer break has given us a chance to reg more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Belgian GP preview
18.08.2015
Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps snapshot        2015 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX PREVIEW    Formula1 Round 11/1921-23 August 2015      Fernando Alonso more >>
Pirelli F1 Belgian GP preview
18.08.2015
 Belgian Grand Prix Preview: Spa-Francorchamps, August 20-23, 2015- Medium and soft P Zero compounds as Formula one enters second half of the season- High speeds and a long lap make Spa one of the most challenging tracks of the year more >>
Gian Carlo Minardi -Road to Spa -Francorchamps
18.08.2015
After a three weeks break, the F1 Worls Championship is ready to start again with enthusiasm thanks to the appeal of the Spa-Francorchamps and to the results at the Hungaroring. It also restarts with some uncertainties due to the variable weather condition more >>
Sauber F1 Team 2015 Shell Belgian Grand Prix preview
18.08.2015
11th Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 21st to 23rd August 2015After a two week summer break and factory shutdown, Formula One and, therefore, also the Sauber F1 Team returns to the legendary Ardennes race track in Spa-F more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Belgian GP preview
18.08.2015
Daniel RICCIARDO: So, Daniel, when did you first encounter the Beast of the Ardennes? When I was a kid I played the racing games quite a bit and Spa was always the track I played – it was my favourite &ndas more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Belgian GP preview
17.08.2015
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX RACE SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS21 – 23 AUGUST The Spa-Francorchamps circuit is one of Formula One’s most iconic and revered. The extreme climb through Eau Rouge with clouds of spray hanging between more >>
Lotus F1 Team drivers Belgian Grand Prix preview
14.08.2015
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX  -  21/22/23 AUGUST 2015SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS ROMAIN GROSJEAN  -SPARK REIGNITEDRomain Grosjean bounces back from the summer shutdown ready for results on the splend more >>
Lotus F1 Team Belgian GP Spa preview
14.08.2015
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX  -  21/22/23 AUGUST 2015SPA-FRANCORCHAMPSFEDERICO GASTALDIHEALTH SPALotus F1 Team Deputy Team Principal Federico Gastaldi returns from the summer shutdown galvanised more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 - Daniel Ricciardo win Spa battle
24.08.2014
BELGIAN GP – RACE  DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: WINNER! Start Position: 5th“You know everyone was saying we didn’t really have a chance around here, but I think we had some really good pace more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Spa race review
24.08.2014
Nico Rosberg took second place in today's Belgian Grand Prix, while Lewis Hamilton retired in the latter stages of a dramatic race at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps. •    Lewis pitted on the second lap after suffering a puncture more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Spa race review
24.08.2014
2014 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX Spa-Francorchamps, Sunday August 24“Formula 1 delivered a magnificent afternoon’s entertainment here in Belgium today”Both McLarens featured prominently in an action-packed race on the world’s most challenging racetrack. more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Spa race review
24.08.2014
2014 Formula 1 Shell Belgian Grand Prix: Race   Sahara Force India scored two points in today’s Belgian Grand Prix as Sergio Perez finished in ninth place. Teammate Nico Hulkenberg finished in P11. The team has now scored 100 points, making this more >>
Pirelli Belgian GP Spa F1 race review
24.08.2014
2014 Belgian Grand Prix – Racephoto caption:  Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull) celebrates winning the Belgian Grand Prix.- Daniel Ricciardo wins his second consecutive race with a two-stop strategy: sets his fast more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright