McLaren Honda F1 Team Italian Grand-Prix practices review

McLaren Honda F1 Team Italian Grand-Prix practices review

01.09.2017: In a session where rain threatened for most of the morning and eventually appeared at the end both drivers completed their FP1 programmes with

In a session where rain threatened for most of the morning – and eventually appeared at the end – both drivers completed their FP1 programmes with no major problems.




 The team used the session to execute its scheduled handling and set-up changes, and both cars ran a number of tests in preparation for the weekend ahead. Fernando also did his first run of the day in his MCL32 complete with halo fitted to the cockpit.


Fernando will take a 35-place grid penalty on Sunday for a power unit change, and, like in Spa, the team is electing to maximise its opportunities at this power-hungry track by implementing a tow strategy using each car’s slipstream.



Stoffel and Fernando practised this in the final stages of FP1, before Fernando ended his running 20 minutes before end of the session to allow his crew enough time to change his engine ahead of FP2.



The team worked hard over lunch to switch Fernando’s engines, and he made it back out onto the track just a few minutes after the start of the second session. Both drivers covered a lot of mileage with minimal stoppages, both completing 31 laps.



Fernando had a small glitch early on when he reported a loss of power, but this was quickly rectified through software management. The team once again opted to practise towing with both cars, as well as evaluate set-up configurations for the race. Stoffel ended FP2 in a strong seventh position, with Fernando just two-hundredths behind him in eighth.




THE DRIVERS


 

FERNANDO ALONSO
#FA14  MCL32-05


FP1 1m24.015s (+2.478s) 17 laps 15th
FP2 1m22.968s (+1.562s) 31 laps 8th



“Today has been a very positive day, with a good feeling in both sessions. We did find some performance here, which was a little bit unexpected because coming to such an unfavourable circuit for us we weren’t hoping much, but we have both cars in the top 10 and this is very good.


“We’ve tried some interesting things and there’s been some good learning, and hopefully tomorrow we can put more into qualifying and repeat the result, even though it will be more difficult.


“Stoffel helped me in Spa, when he had penalties, and here I’m starting last due to penalties again, so I will try to help him as much as I can by doing some towing, and hopefully put him in the best position for Sunday.”




 
STOFFEL VANDOORNE
#SV2  MCL32-04

FP1 1m23.465s (+1.928s) 24 laps 9th
FP2 1m22.947s (+1.541s) 31 laps 7th




“It’s been a bit of a surprising Friday for us as a team. To be inside the top 10 with both cars has been a very positive start to the weekend, especially on a track like Monza where we know the engine deficit plays a very big role.



I think it’s been a very positive Friday but, as we can see, the lap-times are very close behind us, so we need to keep working – to keep fighting for every tenth, hundredth, thousandth we can find – because it’s easy to lose a lot of places here.



“We would be extremely happy if we can carry forward today’s performance into tomorrow, but I think we might go backwards a little bit as the others probably have a bit extra in hand with engine modes. But we just need to benefit from others’ mistakes, really focus on our own performance, and hopefully we can carry this momentum through to tomorrow.


“The weather forecast doesn’t really worry me. So far today has been dry – I haven’t yet seen the weather forecast for the rest of the weekend – but we’ll see what happens and you never know how it will affect our running.”

 



THE MANAGEMENT



ERIC BOULLIER   McLAREN-HONDA RACING DIRECTOR


 
“Today’s been encouragingly productive for the team, as we’ve managed to complete important tests and cover our scheduled programmes for the day. The mechanics worked really hard to change Fernando’s engine between sessions, and for that I’d like to thank them for yet another day of hard work at the track, and for the speed at which they managed to complete it.



“Both sides of the garage have had a solid day’s running, and we were able to conduct some useful towing practice ahead of tomorrow’s qualifying session.



On a track so notoriously fast and power-hungry as Monza, we have to utilise every tool we have in our armoury tomorrow to give ourselves the best chance on the grid for Sunday. There are other cars that will also be out of position due to penalties, so it’s all to play for.


“Unseasonal rain had been threatening all morning, but this afternoon we enjoyed more typical Italian sunshine, with higher track temperatures and dry running allowing us to gather important data ahead of Sunday’s race.



We were able to shift our attention to longer running at the end of FP2 – despite a brief Virtual Safety Car period – and also complete the usual pitstop practice, so overall I’m pleased with what we’ve done today and I hope we can translate that into a positive day tomorrow.”




 
YUSUKE HASEGAWA
HONDA R&D CO. LTD HEAD OF F1 PROJECT & EXECUTIVE CHIEF ENGINEER


 
“Despite the unstable weather conditions today, especially this morning, we were able to run through our practice programme as planned.


“We brought an updated PU to Italy this weekend, which Fernando ran in FP1. Although we will receive a penalty for the race on Sunday, it was important for us to introduce this new update as soon as possible, and to test its performance on track. I can confirm that we saw a positive result in the performance as expected.


“Fernando’s PU was switched out before FP2, and he will run the remainder of the weekend with his Belgium race PU. I would like to thank the team for their hard work to get Fernando back out on track so quickly.


“Stoffel also ran through his programme as planned and finished the day seventh quickest overall, which was a very good start to his weekend.


“Although the power-hungry nature of this track means we’ll no doubt have another tough grand prix, we’ll continue to prepare and push for Q3 in qualifying tomorrow.”

 


 

Silvia Hoffer Frangipane - photos Sutton

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mclaren-honda-f1-team-italian-gp-practices-review---167665.html

01.09.2017 / MaP

More News

Sauber F1 Team Italian Grand-Prix practices review
01.09.2017
Formula 1 Heineken Italian Grand Prix – PracticeFriday 01.09.2017Weather: sunny/cloudy and dry, 22-28°C air, 24-41°C trackThe two practice sessions ahead of the Italian Grand Prix in Monza ran smoothly for the more >>
Renault Sport F1 Team Italian Grand-Prix practices review
01.09.2017
Formula 1 Heineken Italian Grand Prix, Friday  Renault Sport Formula One Team ended the first day of the Formula 1 Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia 2017 with Nico Hülkenberg leading the charge for the team with the twelfth faste more >>
Haas F1 Italian Grand-Prix practices review
01.09.2017
Italian Grand-Prix 2017Event:  Free Practice 1 and Free Practice 2 (FP1 and FP2) Date:  Friday, Sept. 1Location:  Autodromo Nazionale MonzaLayout:  5.793-kilometer (3.6-mile), 11-turn circuitFP1 Weat more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand-Prix practices
01.09.2017
2017 ITALIAN GRAND PRIXFriday, September 1st, 2017 Carlos Sainz (STR12-02, Car 55)First Practice SessionBest lap: 1:23.680, pos. 11th, 22 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:23.150, pos. 11th, 21 la more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand-Prix practices review
01.09.2017
2017 ITALIAN GRAND PRIXSahara Force India completed a positive first day of action in Monza as the sun shone on the Northern Italian circuit.  SERGIO PEREZ - VJM10-02FP1    1:23.317&n more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian Grand-Prix practices review
01.09.2017
Italian Grand Prix Practice Paddy Lowe, Chief Technical Officer: We managed to run our whole programme in FP1 and FP2 without any issues, running a number of different aerodynamic configurations, with both drivers pretty happ more >>
Pirelli F1 Italian Grand-Prix practice sessions
01.09.2017
- Mercedes fastest in both free practice sessions, using supersoft tyres to go quickest- Gap between supersoft and soft is currently around 0.7 seconds: FP2 times nearly a second and a half faster than last year- Some rain in the morning did not affect track evolution, but slick tyres still used throughout the day   more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Monza Free practices review
01.09.2017
2017 Italian Grand Prix - Friday  Silver Arrows set the practice pace on Friday •    Lewis finished the morning session in P1 with Valtteri in P2 at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza •  more >>
Italian Grand-Prix Free Practice 2 classification
01.09.2017
F1  GRAN PREMIO HEINEKEN D'ITALIA 2017 Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Monza Friday, September 1st, 20171     77     Valtteri Bottas     Mercedes     1:21.406  &n more >>
Italian Grand-Prix Free Practice 1 classification
01.09.2017
F1  GRAN PREMIO HEINEKEN D'ITALIA 2017 Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Monza Friday, September 1st, 20171     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:21.537 more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
31.08.2017
Italian Grand Prix Preview 1-3 SEPTEMBER 2017AUTODROMO NAZIONALE MONZAROUND 13 OF 20 Italy’s Autodromo Nazionale Monza hosts Round 13 of this year’s Formula One World Championship and serves more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
30.08.2017
2017 Italian Grand Prix - Preview  Battle continues with Round 13 of the 2017 season from the Autodromo Nazionale Monza •    Toto Talks Italy •    Featured this Week: Power more >>
Renault Sport F1 Monza Autodromo facts and figures
30.08.2017
Track Notes:Monza is another one of Formula 1’s most prestigious races with its historic and antique feel. In terms of the actual circuit, Monza is fast and flowing with long straigh more >>
Renault Sport F1 driver quotes ahead of Italian Grand-Prix
30.08.2017
NICO HUELKENBERG    Keeping momentumNico Hülkenberg fired his way to a third sixth position of the season in Spa as he lines up more points on the high-speed and historic Monza circui more >>
Renault Sport F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
30.08.2017
FORMULA 1 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX Foreword from Renault Sport Racing Managing Director, Cyril AbiteboulThe Italian Grand Prix caps the end of the European segment of the Formula 1 calendar as we begin to switch our attention to Asia in more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
30.08.2017
2017 ITALIAN GRAND PRIXSahara Force India gets ready for the Italian Grand Prix in Monza.  Vijay Mallya: “It’s hard to look back on the race at Spa, knowing we had the pace to score a lot of points, and came away more >>
McLaren Honda F1 driver and management quotes ahead of Italian Grand-Prix
29.08.2017
FERNANDO ALONSO#FA14  MCL32-05“Like Spa, Monza is one of those legendary tracks where everybody loves watching cars going racing. With the new wider, faster cars this year, it will definitely be another circuit where we’ll see a n more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
LOWDOWNRace title Formula 1 Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia 2017Circuit name Autodromo Nazionale MonzaFirst race 1950Previous winners 2016 Nico Rosberg, 53 laps, 1:17:28.089s 2015 Lewis more >>
Haas F1 driver quotes ahead of Italian Grand-Prix
29.08.2017
  ROMAIN GROSJEANHow has the technical partnership with Ferrari been and how has it evolved as Haas F1 Team went from designing a car to building it first racecar to building the current-generation car whi more >>
Haas F1 Team Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
F1 Set to Worship at Temple of Speed Molto Veloce Monza Meets New Formula One Era  Autodromo Nazionale Monza Circuit Length: 5.793 km (3.6 miles)Laps: 53Race Distance: 306.72 km (190.587 miles)Broadcast: more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
ITALIAN GRAND-PRIX 2017 Autodromo Nazionale MonzaCARLOS SAINZSUPPORTThe Italian GP weekend is a bit of a fru more >>
Pirelli F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
ITALIAN GRAND PRIX - F1 Round 13 of 20Monza, 01-03 September 2017For its home race in Monza, Pirelli will bring the medium, soft and supersoft tyres, just as was the case last yea more >>
Honda to Hold Demonstration Run of Honda RA300 at the F1 Italian Grand Prix
26.08.2017
Honda announced plans to hold a demonstration run of the Honda RA300 on race day of the 2017 FIA* Formula One (F1) World Championship Italian Grand Prix at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza (Monza Circuit) to commemorate the 50th anniversary of Honda's Italian Grand Prix victory with the RA300, which also took place at the Monza circuit more >>
Pirelli Italian Grand-Prix - Selected sets per driver
22.08.2017
SELECTED SETS PER DRIVERThe FIA communicated to Pirelli each team’s tyre choices for the forthcoming Italian Grand Prix (Monza, 1-3 September).               more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: 5th, Start Position: 6th“You hope for a podium every race but realistically, coming here, we thought Ferrari would have an edge on us. We also thought Williams and Force India would be strong and w more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand Prix race
04.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix - Sunday September 4th 2016 •    Nico Rosberg today took his 21st career victory - his 1st at the Autodromo Nazionale di Monza and 7th of the 2016 season so far •   more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix race
04.09.2016
Italian Grand Prix•    Valtteri Bottas finished sixth and Felipe Massa ninth in the Italian Grand Prix•    Valtteri had a good start, running P4 in the opening laps and battling with more >>
Sauber F1 Team Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
Formula 1 Heineken Italian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday 04.09.2016Weather: sunny and dry, 29-30°C air, 35-40°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team finished the 2016 European Formula 1 season at the Italian Grand Prix in M more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
 2016 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 04/09/2016 Carlos Sainz (STR11-01, Car 55)Race: Pos. 15th “I think we tried everything we could today to make it into the points, but when you just don’t have the pace, it&rsq more >>
Renault Sport F1 Team Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
2016 Formula 1 Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia, Sunday Renault Sport Formula One Team experienced a character-building Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia at the Autodromo di Monza. Jolyon Palmer made up a number of positio more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Monza race review
04.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand PrixAutodromo Nazionale di Monza, Sunday September 4“I couldn’t have wished for anything better” Neither McLaren-Honda finished in the points at Monza this afternoon, despite spirited scraps more >>
Haas F1 Team Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
Event:  Italian Grand Prix (Round 14 of 21)Date:  Sunday, Sept. 4Location:  Autodromo Nazionale MonzaLayout:  5.793-kilometer (3.6-mile), 11-turn circuitWeather:  Sunny before turning overcastTemperature:  30 degrees more >>
Pirelli F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
-Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg wins at Monza with a one-stop soft-medium tyre strategy- All three compounds used in the race in a mixture of one and two-stop-strategies-Pirelli's 2017 tyre testing campaign resumes this week with Ferrari and Merc more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
 2016 Formula 1 Italian Grand Prix: Race Sahara Force India scored five points in today’s Italian Grand Prix as Sergio Perez raced to eighth place ahead of Nico Hulkenberg in tenth. P8   & more >>
Italian Grand Prix F1 race classification
04.09.2016
FORMULA 1 GRAN PREMIO HEINEKEN D'ITALIA 2016Autodromo di MonzaSunday, September 4th  2016  1     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     53     more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
2016 Formula 1 Italian Grand Prix: Qualifying  Sahara Force India showed well today in Monza with Sergio Perez qualifying in eighth place just ahead of teammate Nico Hulkenberg in ninth. P8    more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
Italian Grand-Prix -MonzaSaturday, September 3rd 2016DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 6th, 1:22.389 (Practice 3 – P7 1:23.709)“We expected to be floating around the top five and we were one thousandth of a more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
2016 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 03/09/2016Carlos Sainz (STR11-01, Car 55)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:24.240, pos. 13th, 17 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:23.661, (Q2) 1:23.496, pos. 16th more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying
03.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix - Saturday Silver Arrows storm to 8th front-row lockout of the season! •    Lewis Hamilton today took his 56th career pole position - his 5th at the Autodromo Nazionale di Monza and 7th o more >>

Kategorien

2001-2021 automobilsport.com full copyright