Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Belgian GP qualifying review

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Belgian GP qualifying review

23.08.2015: Belgian Grand Prix 2015 Spa-Francorchamps QUALIFYING Lewis storms to Spa pole, Nico seals an all silver front row

 Belgian Grand Prix 2015
Spa-Francorchamps  QUALIFYING




 
Lewis storms to Spa pole, Nico seals an all silver front row!



•    Lewis took his third Belgian Grand Prix pole and 48th in Formula One

•    Ten P1 grid slots in 2015 to date sees Lewis claim this season's pole position trophy

•    With six consecutive poles in a single season, Lewis also equals a record set by Mika Häkkinen in 1999

•    Nico claimed P2 to secure the ninth Silver Arrows front row lockout of the season

•    Both drivers ran twice in Q1 (prime/prime), once in Q2 (option) and twice in Q3 (option/option)



Drivers    Chassis No.    P3    Q1    Q2    Q3


Lewis Hamilton     F1 W06 Hybrid/05     P1     1:48.908     P1     1:48.024     P2     1:47.197     P1

Nico Rosberg     F1 W06 Hybrid/01     P2     1:48.923     P2     1:47.955     P1     1:47.655     P2

Weather    Clear, warm

Temperatures    Air: 21 - 24 °C    Track: 28 - 41 °C



Lewis Hamilton


I'm really happy with the performance of the team and the car this weekend. It felt good right from the start and I'm so grateful for the big push the team has made in continuing to improve the car. It can be tough to find the ideal setup and then get a good rhythm at this track - but I've felt comfortable throughout.


Saying that, Nico has been quick all the way through and it's generally been very close between us. Fortunately for me I pulled my two best laps out at the end. Of course, it's great to have pole, but I'm well aware that it's only one step. There's a long run down to turn five so anything can happen there and especially at the start.


The team has done a lot of analysis on that front and we've been working on it in the simulator and here at the track. I feel we're as ready as we can be so we'll see how it goes. For now, though, I'm happy with today and looking forward to tomorrow's race.
 


Nico Rosberg

Qualifying went well until the end. But in Q3, Lewis just found so much time which unfortunately I didn't manage to do. So, a disappointing day, but there is still so much to play for in the race. I need a good start and then after Eau Rouge there should be a good chance to overtake at the end of the long straight, so I will push hard to make it happen.


 We have a new starting procedure which we all need to get right and it will be interesting to see how that works tomorrow. But, overall, I'm still very positive that a win is possible here in Spa.
 


Toto Wolff, Head of Mercedes-Benz Motorsport


We're very pleased with today's result. After our race in Hungary, it was important to lay down a marker and we did that this afternoon. Lewis drove a fantastic lap - he had almost unbelievable pace in sector 2, and we had seen glimpses of that during practice this morning.


But Nico has looked very competitive all weekend and will be strong tomorrow too, I am sure. Looking to Sunday, we are all stepping into new territory with the revised formation lap and start procedures. We have done a lot of practice this weekend, like everybody else, and now we need to wait and see how it turns out tomorrow afternoon.
 


Paddy Lowe, Executive Director (Technical)


A fantastic result to secure the front row in Spa - and in such unusually warm weather too, which I think we're all struggling to get used to! Congratulations to Lewis on two quite incredible laps at the end - and on taking the 2015 pole position trophy for which he now cannot be surpassed.


For Nico, he was right in the mix until Q3, so we're confident he'll be strong in the race also. Both cars ran flawlessly, so a great job from the team in what was a tense session, with the competition between our two drivers extremely close for the majority of running.


In fact, analysing the results throughout the grid, it looks set to be a tightly contested race tomorrow, so we're looking forward to an exciting start to the second half of the season.
 

   
 
 Bradley Lord     - photo Mercedes

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mercedes-amg-petronas-f1-belgian-gp-qualifying-review---140044.html

23.08.2015 / MaP

More News

Williams Martini Racing F1 Belgian GP qualifying review
23.08.2015
Belgian GP Qualifying Qualifying Notes•    Valtteri qualified third and Felipe seventh for tomorrow’s Belgian Grand Prix.•    After making it through the first two sessions comfortabl more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Belgian GP qualifying
23.08.2015
2015 Formula 1 Belgian Grand Prix, Qualifying  Sahara Force India delivered a strong qualifying performance in Spa-Francorchamps today with Sergio Perez setting the fifth fastest time ahead of Nico Hulkenberg in P11. more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Belgian GP qualifying
23.08.2015
BELGIAN GP – QUALIFYING   DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 6*, (3rd Practice – 6, 1:49.930)“It’s pretty cool that everyone is so close and I am pretty happy with the lap. I don’t t more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Belgian GP qualifying
23.08.2015
2015 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 22/08/2015  Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:50.552, pos. 11th, 20 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:49.109, (Q2) 1:49.065, (Q3) 1:49.771 more >>
Lotus F1 Team Belgian Grand Prix qualifying
23.08.2015
 2015 Belgian GP,Spa Francorchamps Saturday 22nd August  Lotus F1 Team enjoyed their best qualifying session of 2015, with Romain Grosjean fourth fastest and Pastor Maldonado eighth at an uncharacteristically hot Spa-Francorch more >>
Sauber F1 Team Belgian GP qualifying
23.08.2015
Shell Belgian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 22.08.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 21-24°C air, 28-41°C trackThe result in qualifying for the Belgian Grand Prix was not as expected for the Sauber F1 Team. Marcus Ericsson made it into Q2 and will start the race from P13, while Felipe Nasr qualified in P16. more >>
Spa F1 Belgian GP Qualifying result
22.08.2015
Formula1 SHELL Belgium Grand-PrixSaturday, August 22nd 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:48.908     1:48.024     1:47.197   & more >>
Pirelli investigation update on Nico Rosberg's right-rear tyre deflation
22.08.2015
2015 Belgian Grand Prix Pirelli confirms no structural integrity issue following a full investigation on Nico Rosberg's right-rear deflation in Free Practice. This issue is consistent with an external cut into the ty more >>
Practice 3 Belgian GP result 2015
22.08.2015
Formula1 SHELL Belgium Grand-PrixSaturday, August 22nd 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:48.98 more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Team Belgian GP practices review
21.08.2015
Belgian Grand Prix 2015Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Friday August 21The stop-start nature of today’s practice sessions, which were affected by a number of red- and yellow-flag interruptions, meant it was difficult to fully more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Spa practices review
21.08.2015
Shell Belgian Grand Prix at  Spa-Francorchamps Friday, August 21st, 2015 Dramatic start to Belgian Grand Prix weekend in Spa •    Nico topped the times in both practice sessions with Lewis more >>
Lotus F1 Team Belgian GP free practices
21.08.2015
 2015 Belgian GP, Friday 21st August  Lotus F1 Team opened their Belgian Grand Prix weekend with a strong top ten time from Romain to underlie the team’s potential after an eventful and challenging first day back on track. more >>
Sauber F1 Team Belgian GP practices review
21.08.2015
Shell Belgian Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 21.08.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 17-24°C air, 22-40°C trackPostive practice sessions ahead of the Belgian Grand Prix for the Sauber F1 Team in terms of pace, finishing more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Belgian GP Practices
21.08.2015
Belgian GP Practice Objectives: aero evaluations, set-up and tyre work. Rob Smedley, Head of Performance Engineering: We have had a decent Friday. We had set ourselves an ambitious programme to complete and although more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Spa Free Practice review
21.08.2015
2015 Formula One Shell Belgian Grand Prix, Free Practice  Sahara Force India returned to action after the summer break with a positive day of practice in Spa-Francorchamps. Nico Hülkenberg  more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Belgian GP practices
21.08.2015
BELGIAN GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE   DANIEL RICCIARDO First Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:51.373, Laps: 18Second Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:50.136, Laps: 15  &ld more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Belgian GP Spa practices
21.08.2015
2015 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 21/08/2015 Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:52.421, pos. 8th, 26 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:51.037, pos. 12th more >>
SPA F1 practice 2 result
21.08.2015
Belgium Grand Prix in Spa FrancorchampsFriday, August 21st 20151     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:49.385         19 more >>
Spa F1 Free Practice result
21.08.2015
2015 Belgian Grand Prix in Spa FrancorchampsFriday, August 21st 20151     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:51.082         192 & more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Belgien GP Vorschau
19.08.2015
Die Formel 1-Saison 2015 geht beim Großen Preis von Belgien in Spa-Francorchamps in ihre elfte Runde. Lewis HamiltonEs war gut, eine Rennpause einzulegen. Ich habe mich erholt, trainiert und meine Akkus aufgeladen. A more >>
Renault F1 Belgian GP preview
19.08.2015
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX 2015 in Spa FrancorchampsPOWER UNIT DETAILSICESpa is the hardest circuit of the year for the Power Units. Over 65% of the 7km track is spent flat out, which translates as around 73secs per la more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Belgian GP preview
18.08.2015
Formula1 - Belgian Grand-Prix at Spa Francorchamps 2015What are you expecting from the weekend ahead in Belgium?MV: “The Hungaroring was clearly a good track for us from a performance and point-scoring point of view. Spa more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Belgian GP preview
18.08.2015
2015 Formula One Shell Belgian Grand Prix Vijay's visionTeam Principal, Dr Vijay Mallya, looks forward to a strong second half of the season. VJM: “The summer break has given us a chance to reg more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Belgian GP preview
18.08.2015
Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps snapshot        2015 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX PREVIEW    Formula1 Round 11/1921-23 August 2015      Fernando Alonso more >>
Pirelli F1 Belgian GP preview
18.08.2015
 Belgian Grand Prix Preview: Spa-Francorchamps, August 20-23, 2015- Medium and soft P Zero compounds as Formula one enters second half of the season- High speeds and a long lap make Spa one of the most challenging tracks of the year more >>
Gian Carlo Minardi -Road to Spa -Francorchamps
18.08.2015
After a three weeks break, the F1 Worls Championship is ready to start again with enthusiasm thanks to the appeal of the Spa-Francorchamps and to the results at the Hungaroring. It also restarts with some uncertainties due to the variable weather condition more >>
Sauber F1 Team 2015 Shell Belgian Grand Prix preview
18.08.2015
11th Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 21st to 23rd August 2015After a two week summer break and factory shutdown, Formula One and, therefore, also the Sauber F1 Team returns to the legendary Ardennes race track in Spa-F more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Belgian GP preview
18.08.2015
Daniel RICCIARDO: So, Daniel, when did you first encounter the Beast of the Ardennes? When I was a kid I played the racing games quite a bit and Spa was always the track I played – it was my favourite &ndas more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Belgian GP preview
17.08.2015
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX RACE SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS21 – 23 AUGUST The Spa-Francorchamps circuit is one of Formula One’s most iconic and revered. The extreme climb through Eau Rouge with clouds of spray hanging between more >>
Lotus F1 Team drivers Belgian Grand Prix preview
14.08.2015
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX  -  21/22/23 AUGUST 2015SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS ROMAIN GROSJEAN  -SPARK REIGNITEDRomain Grosjean bounces back from the summer shutdown ready for results on the splend more >>
Lotus F1 Team Belgian GP Spa preview
14.08.2015
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX  -  21/22/23 AUGUST 2015SPA-FRANCORCHAMPSFEDERICO GASTALDIHEALTH SPALotus F1 Team Deputy Team Principal Federico Gastaldi returns from the summer shutdown galvanised more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 - Daniel Ricciardo win Spa battle
24.08.2014
BELGIAN GP – RACE  DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: WINNER! Start Position: 5th“You know everyone was saying we didn’t really have a chance around here, but I think we had some really good pace more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Spa race review
24.08.2014
Nico Rosberg took second place in today's Belgian Grand Prix, while Lewis Hamilton retired in the latter stages of a dramatic race at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps. •    Lewis pitted on the second lap after suffering a puncture more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Spa race review
24.08.2014
2014 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX Spa-Francorchamps, Sunday August 24“Formula 1 delivered a magnificent afternoon’s entertainment here in Belgium today”Both McLarens featured prominently in an action-packed race on the world’s most challenging racetrack. more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Spa race review
24.08.2014
2014 Formula 1 Shell Belgian Grand Prix: Race   Sahara Force India scored two points in today’s Belgian Grand Prix as Sergio Perez finished in ninth place. Teammate Nico Hulkenberg finished in P11. The team has now scored 100 points, making this more >>
Pirelli Belgian GP Spa F1 race review
24.08.2014
2014 Belgian Grand Prix – Racephoto caption:  Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull) celebrates winning the Belgian Grand Prix.- Daniel Ricciardo wins his second consecutive race with a two-stop strategy: sets his fast more >>
Renault F1 Belgian GP race review
24.08.2014
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX RACE  Infiniti Red Bull Racing and Renault scored their third victory of the season in today’s Belgian Grand Prix.Daniel Ricciardo finished ahead of Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg at the legendary Spa-Fran more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Spa race review
24.08.2014
2014 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 24/08/2014 Daniil Kvyat (STR9-04)RacePosition: 10th“This was a good but tough race, especially the end where I was defending my position against Hulkenberg who was on new more >>
Caterham F1 Team Spa race review
24.08.2014
2014 BELGIAN GRAND PRIXSpa-Francorchamps, Belgium – 24 August 2014Marcus Ericsson, P17André Lotterer, RET André Lotterer, car #45: “I didn’t even get  the chance to sweat unfortunately more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright