Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Brazilian GP preview

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Brazilian GP preview

09.11.2015: 2015 Brazilian Grand Prix - Preview The 2015 Formula One World Championship season continues with Round

2015 Brazilian Grand Prix - Preview




 
The 2015 Formula One World Championship season continues with Round Eighteen, the Brazilian Grand Prix, from São Paulo
 
 

 

Lewis Hamilton


Interlagos is one of the real classics - quite short, tough on tyres, with variable weather and a really tricky start to the lap that always seems to bring drama. Then there's the fans. The Brazilian people are so passionate, fun and outgoing. It's a vibrant country, full of colour, and somewhere that's quite special to me.


This was the home race for Ayrton, so it was a dream of mine to race in São Paulo when I was younger and I always feel his presence when I'm there. He was such a huge hero in Brazil and it's humbling that I always get such a warm response there.


It's amazing to think that it took Ayrton eight attempts to win this race and it's one of the few I haven't yet won myself. If I can change that this weekend it would be a salute to him and another highlight to add to this amazing year, so I'll be going all out to make that happen.
 


Nico Rosberg

I'm really pumped to get to São Paulo and get back out on track after a great weekend in Mexico. For a start, Interlagos is one of the classic races on the calendar. It's a tricky circuit that's a really good challenge for a driver, with plenty of overtaking opportunities and crazy weather that always makes for an action-packed race.


I have good memories from Brazil, too. I've usually been pretty quick there and last year was a good battle with Lewis, when I came out on top. Standing on the top step after a hard-earned win, following in the footsteps of so many great drivers who have won there and with the passionate Brazilian crowd cheering on - that was a great feeling.


I'd love to experience that again, so the aim is to put on another good show for the fans and to carry my form from Mexico into this race. It's always a great feeling to head into a weekend on the back of a win, so I'm confident of a strong performance.
 


Toto Wolff, Head of Mercedes-Benz Motorsport


We came away from Mexico with many positives. On track, our boys delivered strong drives to claim an emphatic one-two for the team. In the garage and on the pit wall, the crew were faultless - fast pit stops, a good race strategy and two cars which performed well at a new venue with unique challenges.


And for the sport, we saw a fantastic event which brought Formula One back to Mexico in style. We now have two races remaining to watch an intense and entertaining battle continue. The rivalry like we have between Lewis and Nico is great for the sport, great for the team and great for the drivers themselves.


They are pushing each other harder and harder, pushing the team forward with them and providing a fascinating story. Of course, they are never without pressure from rivals further afield. Ferrari had a bad weekend in Mexico but they will no doubt be a threat in Brazil - as will Williams after another podium finish last time out.


 This is a race which often brings surprises and never fails to entertain. I, for one, am looking forward to seeing what's in store for us at Interlagos.
 


Paddy Lowe, Executive Director (Technical)


Interlagos is another historic circuit with some great features - most notably the long climb through the final corner, across the start / finish straight and back down into the first corner. The weather can be quite unpredictable in São Paulo too - often leading to dramatic and spectacular races.


Furthermore, the tyres were right on the edge at this circuit last year, so if it does remain dry this may be another issue to contend with across the weekend. However, while the high-altitude location of the circuit has been a talking point in the past, this is insignificant compared to what we experienced at the last race. Likewise, it will be difficult to match the atmosphere in Mexico City which was absolutely fantastic.


But the Brazilian crowd has traditionally been one of the most enthusiastic of the year, so I'm sure they'll be up for the challenge! So, we look forward to another exciting and entertaining weekend in São Paulo. This was, of course, where Lewis clinched his first World Championship title - but surprisingly he has never won at Interlagos.


We saw a fascinating duel between our two drivers there last year, with Nico emerging on top after a fantastic drive. So hopefully we'll be treated to another good battle at the penultimate race of this season.
 


 
Silver Arrows Statistics

 
 
At the Brazilian Grand Prix
 
           Silver Arrows          Lewis Hamilton          Nico Rosberg          Mercedes-Benz Power


Wins          1          0          1          6
Podiums          2          2          1          16
Pole Positions          1          1          1          6
Front Row Starts          3          3          2          16
Fastest Laps          1          3          0          6
Starts          5          8          9          21

 

 
In Formula One
 

           Silver Arrows          Lewis Hamilton          Nico Rosberg          Mercedes-Benz Power


Wins          43          43          12          129

Podiums          91          85          39          354
Pole Positions          51          49          20          134
Front Row Starts          99          88          38          286
Fastest Laps          36          26          14          129
1-2 Finishes          26          N/A          N/A          51
Starts          125          165          183          396
Points (Drivers)          2,338.14          1,831          1,159.5          7,085.14

 
 
Silver Arrows Drivers
 

Name          Wins          Podiums          Pole Positions          Front Row Starts          Fastest Laps          Starts


J. M. Fangio          8          10          7          12          5          12
L. Hamilton          22          36          23          40          14          55
H. Herrmann          0          1          0          0          1          7
K. Kling          0          2          0          3          1          12
H. Lang          0          0          0          0          0          1
S. Moss          1          3          1          5          2          7
N. Rosberg          12          37          20          38          12          113
M. Schumacher          0          1          0          1          1          58
A. Simon          0          0          0          0          0          1
P. Taruffi          0          1          0          0          0          2
Total          43          91          51          99          36          268

 

 

 
Ben Cowley , Bradley Lord - photos Mercedes

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mercedes-amg-petronas-f1-brazil-gp-preview---143088.html

09.11.2015 / MaP

More News

Sahara Force India F1 Brasil GP preview
09.11.2015
Formula 1 Grande Premio Petrobras do Brasil 2015 Vijay's VisionTeam Principal, Dr Vijay Mallya, previews the race in Brazil as the championship nears its conclusion. VJM: “We travel to Brazil off the back of more >>
Brazilian GP: The point by Gian Carlo Minardi
10.11.2014
São Paulo has not lived up to expectations, thanks to an exciting circuit that puts drivers’ ability to the test. As easily expected, we have had a clear supremacy of Mercedes team and its Power-Unit, with four drivers in the top-4 and seven in the top-10. more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Brazilian GP race winner
09.11.2014
Nico Rosberg took victory at the Brazilian Grand Prix after a race-long battle with team-mate Lewis Hamilton, who completed a record-breaking one-two finish for the Silver Arrows at Interlagos. •    Nico took his fifth more >>
Renault Sport F1 Brazilian GP race review
09.11.2014
A strong drive from Sebastian Vettel helped Infiniti Red Bull Racing finish fifth at the Brazilian Grand Prix, guaranteeing the team runners-up spot in the Constructors’ Championship with one round remaining. Team-mate Daniel Ricciardo also looked set for a top-10 more >>
Pirelli F1 Brazilian GP race review
09.11.2014
2014 Brazilian Grand Prix – RaceNico Rosberg (Mercedes) wins the Brazilian Grand Prix.- Top six finishers use three-stop strategy in Brazil: Raikkonen stops twice- Hottest track temperatures in recent history at Interlagos more >>
Lotus F1 Team Brazilian GP race review
09.11.2014
2014 Brazilian GP, Sunday  Sunday 9th November  Pastor Maldonado finished twelfth whilst Romain Grosjean was classified seventeenth in a pit stop-plentiful Brazilian Grand Prix at Interlagos. Romain’s race starte more >>
Sauber F1 Team Brazilian GP race review
09.11.2014
Petrobras Brazilian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 9.11.2014Weather: sunny and dry, 23-25°C air, 44-57°C trackAfter both Sauber F1 Team drivers had shown strong performances in quite cold conditions on Saturday in qualifying for t more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Brazilian GP race review
09.11.2014
2014 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIXAutodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Sunday November 9Today’s was a typically frantic and exciting Brazilian Grand Prix.The race was dominated by tyre wear, the front-runners opting to run a three-stop st more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Brazilian GP race
09.11.2014
2014 Formula 1 Grande Premio Petrobras Do Brasil: Race Sahara Force India scored four points in today’s Brazilian Grand Prix as Nico Hulkenberg raced to eighth place. Teammate Sergio Perez completed the race in P15.   more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Brazilian GP race review
09.11.2014
BRAZILIAN GP – RACE SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Finish Position: 5th, Start Position: 6th“I had a good launch at the start and then into Turn 4… maybe I don’t have the best memories of Turn 4 here from two years ago, I didn& more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Brazilian GP race review
09.11.2014
2014 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 09/11/2014   Daniil Kvyat (STR9-03)RacePosition: 11th“A tough race, but starting from the 17th position on the grid and ending up 11th was the highest more >>
F1 top 3 driver quotes from Interlagos
09.11.2014
Brazilian Grand Prix 2014 Interlagos, Sao PauloNico Rosberg:  I felt comfortable the whole week-end in the car. I am very happy. The atmosphere is fantastic. I am very glad to see the support given here to Felipe Massa. more >>
Interlagos F1 Brazil GP race result 2014
09.11.2014
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 20141     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     71     Winner     1     252  &nbs more >>
Fastest ever pole position at Interlagos for Nico Rosberg
08.11.2014
... on P Zero Yellow soft Pirelli tyres2014 Brazilian Grand Prix – QualifyingNico Rosberg (Mercedes) sets pole position for the Brazilian Grand Prix tomorrow.- Warm and cloudy condition more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Brazilian GP qualifying
08.11.2014
Brazil - 08/11/2014 QUALIFYING  Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton secured a seventh consecutive Silver Arrows front row lockout during qualifying for the Brazilian Grand Prix at Interlagos •    Nico's 10t more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Brazilian GP qualifying review
08.11.2014
BRAZILIAN GP – QUALIFYING  SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Position: 6th, (3rd Practice – P11, 1:11.967) “I got happier with the car as qualifying progressed and we’re in a solid position to start the race tomorrow. It’s hard more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Brazilian GP qualifying review
08.11.2014
2014 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGAutodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Saturday November 8“Whatever happens tomorrow, we can have a strong race”It was a successful turnaround for the whole team today after a diffi more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Brazilian GP qualifying review
08.11.2014
2014 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 08/11/2014   Daniil Kvyat (STR9-03)Third Practice Session Best lap: 1:11.834, pos. 10th, 26 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:11.423, (Q2) no time, pos. 14th (7 grid p more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Brazilian GP qualifying
08.11.2014
2014 Formula 1 Grande Premio Petrobras Do Brasil: Qualifying Qualifying for tomorrow’s Brazilian Grand Prix at Interlagos saw Nico Hulkenberg set the twelfth fastest time of the session. Teammate Sergio Perez ended the day i more >>
Lotus F1 Team Brazilian GP qualifying review
08.11.2014
2014 Brazilian GP, Saturday 8th November  Romain Grosjean qualified fifteenth and Pastor Maldonado eighteenth after a frustrating qualifying session at Interlagos for the Brazilian Grand Prix. Neither driver was able to unlock the pace of the so more >>
Sauber F1 Team Brazilian GP qualifying
08.11.2014
Petrobras Brazilian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 8.11.2014Weather: sunny/overcast and dry, 23-26°C air, 31-40°C trackBoth Sauber F1 Team drivers put in a good performance in qualifying for the Brazilian Grand Prix more >>
Rosberg on pole, top 3 driver quotes from Interlagos
08.11.2014
Brazilian Grand Prix 2014  - Interlagos, Sao PauloNico Rosberg:  ­Pole- man ­ This is a good week-end . I am very happy to be where I am in pole. The risk for me is to make a mistake and I must stay out of reach and no mistakes.&nbs more >>
Interlagos F1 Qualifying result 2014
08.11.2014
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 20141     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:10.347    1:10.303    1:10.023     142  & more >>
Interlagos F1 Brazilian GP Practice 3 result 2014
08.11.2014
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 20141     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:10.446         282     44   more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Brazilian GP practices
07.11.2014
2014 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX – FREE PRACTICE“With some hard work tonight, we should be able to make significant improvements”Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Friday November 7Kevin spent the first half of the more >>
Lotus F1 Team Brazilian GP practices review
07.11.2014
 2014 Brazilian GP, Friday 7th November  Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado completed a total of 124 laps after a solid opening day of practice at Interlagos for the Brazilian Grand Prix. In the morning, Pastor se more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Brazilian GP practices
07.11.2014
MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS set the pace on the opening day at Interlagos, with Nico Rosberg narrowly leading team-mate Lewis Hamilton in the opening practice sessions for the Brazilian Grand Prix. •    Nico finished both the morning and more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Brazilian GP practices
07.11.2014
2014 Formula 1 Grande Premio Petrobras Do Brasil: Free Practice It was a mixed day of practice at Interlagos for Sahara Force India with the bulk of the workload falling on the shoulders of Nico Hulkenberg. Ni more >>
Pirelli F1 Brazilian GP practices review
07.11.2014
2014 Brazilian Grand Prix – Practice Sessions- Track evolution an important factor at Interlagos- Medium and soft tyres separated by 0.8-1.0 seconds- Very hot weather today: Rain still possibility for rest of weekendN more >>
Renault Sport F1 Brazilian GP practices review
07.11.2014
BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX PRACTICE   Key practice points:•    Rain-threatened Brazilian Grand Prix weekend begins under warm and clear skies at Interlagos, where tyre degradation looks set to play a fundamental role more >>
Sauber F1 Team Brazilian GP practices review
07.11.2014
Petrobras Brazilian Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 7.11.2014Weather: sunny and dry, 19-31°C air, 28-58°C trackThere were mixed fortunes on day one of the Brazilian Grand Prix in Interlagos for the two Sauber F1 Tea more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Brazilian GP practices
07.11.2014
BRAZILIAN GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE   DANIEL RICCIARDO First Practice Session: Position: 10, Best Time: 1:14.197, Laps: 27Second Practice Session: Position: 4, Best Time: 1:12.956, Laps: 24“It was a more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Brazilian GP practices review
07.11.2014
2014 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 07/11/2014 Daniil Kvyat (STR9-03)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:13.723, pos. 3rd, 39 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:13.254, pos. 8th, 35 laps more >>
Interlagos F1 Brazilian GP Free Practice 2 result
07.11.2014
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 20141     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:12.123         362     44  &n more >>
Interlagos F1 Brazil GP Free Practice 1 result 2014
07.11.2014
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 20141     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:12.764         302     44 &n more >>
Gian Carlo Minardi Brazilian GP preview
06.11.2014
Seven days after Austin’s Grand Prix, Circus arrives at Interlagos, a historical Formula 1 circuit. The round on the Brazilian circuit is characterized by one of the shortest track of championship and, besides technical problems, it is alwa more >>
Showers mean trickier race weather for Brazilian GP
06.11.2014
UBIMET forecasts high probability of rain showers photo caption: Technical support for the weather observation After two races with more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Brazilian GP preview
05.11.2014
2014 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX JEAN-ERIC VERGNE (25): "...I really like Brazil the country, the atmosphere and I reckon it’s one of my favourite races of the year. The track has been completely resurfaced apparently, but w more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Sao Paulo: The Inside Line and on the Pitwall
05.11.2014
Brazilian Grand Prix 2014 at Sao PauloLewis  You start the lap absolutely flat out into the low-grip Turn One. The corner really falls away from you quite steeply here and it's so easy to lock up, but you need to make sure to more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright