Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Brazilian GP preview

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Brazilian GP preview

05.11.2014: 2014 Brazilian Grand Prix -Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Sao Paulo Round 18 of the 2014 Formula One World Championship

2014 Brazilian Grand Prix -Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Sao Paulo



 
Round 18 of the 2014 Formula One World Championship brings us to São Paulo for the Brazilian Grand Prix, held at the Autódromo José Carlos Pace.


 

Driver / Senior Management Quotes
 
Lewis Hamilton


Winning in the States was just an incredible feeling. I love spending time there and it's fantastic to see how much the sport is growing. I was just blown away by the support I had all weekend, which made the win even more special. Once I got ahead in the race there was no looking back and I still can't quite believe the run we've had recently.


The team are doing an incredible job. Next up, of course, we have Brazil - which is another very, very special place for me. In 2008 I needed to finish fifth or better to take the title and, until the very last corner of the last lap, I was running sixth. I passed Timo (Glock) down the inside and, as I crossed the line, I didn't know if I'd done it or not.


 I honestly though I'd lost it until quite a while after the flag, when the team came over the radio to tell me I'd won the World Championship. That was an incredible emotional rollercoaster and a moment that will stay with me for my entire life.


My record at Interlagos hasn't actually been the best so far in terms of results, though, with only one podium all the way back in 2009. I'm hoping this weekend will be the one to change that.
 


Nico Rosberg

The weekend in Austin was a tough one for me. Qualifying was obviously fantastic but I was disappointed to let the lead slip away in the race and to lose more points in the fight for the Drivers' Championship. In the end, Lewis just did a better job on the day and now it's up to me to make the most of these last two races and capitalise on any opportunity.


It will be tough, but I'm going to give it absolutely everything I've got right up to the flag in Abu Dhabi. That first opportunity comes this weekend at the Brazilian Grand Prix - one of the classic races on the calendar. There is so much history there and, of course, there have been many great Brazilian drivers in Formula One.


I've got a mixed record at this circuit but it's one I really enjoy as it's usually a really action-packed race. It would be great to give my title challenge a final boost with a good result before we head to the showdown in Abu Dhabi.
 



Toto Wolff, Head of Mercedes-Benz Motorsport


What a weekend we had in America - fantastic support from the crowds, a great spectacle on the track and another top result for the Silver Arrows in a key market for Mercedes-Benz.


As a child, I remember the dominant season of McLaren in 1988 - winning race after race throughout the year - so it makes me extremely proud for the team that we have now equalled that record for one-two finishes with the result in Austin.


 Both drivers performed superbly and it was fascinating to see how evenly matched they still are as we approach the end of a long, tough season. It is hugely satisfying to know that now only a Mercedes driver can win the Drivers' Championship.


Although this has appeared likely for some time, you can never rest easily until it is a mathematical certainty. Of course, that's not to say that there will be any rest between now and the end of the season as the double-points race in Abu Dhabi still has the potential to overshadow a great season should reliability become a factor. Our focus is still 100% on ensuring that is not the case.
 


Paddy Lowe, Executive Director (Technical)


Another great result in Austin and a fantastic achievement to have matched the record for one-two finishes in a single season. America is an important market for Formula One and it was great to see such tremendous support for the race throughout our weekend in Texas.


People came from all across the States and created a real carnival atmosphere around the city, which was encouraging to see in a country where there are so many alternatives on offer sports-wise. On track it wasn't an entirely straightforward weekend, with various problems to deal with throughout the practice sessions. When it came down to it, though, the cars delivered strong performance so all credit to the team for their hard work.


The drivers were also in very strong form - competing very evenly and separated by the smallest of margins throughout the race, which was exciting to watch. It's clear that both are in great shape and enjoying the competition in a healthy way. Looking ahead to Brazil, the majority of the track has been resurfaced which will remain a point of great interest throughout the weekend in terms of how the tyres perform.


It's a tricky circuit at the best of times, with high altitude, significant elevation changes and a high frequency of wet conditions. Already, the weather is forecast to include thunder storms on all three running days! It's sure to be an exciting weekend and a good prelude to the title showdown in Abu Dhabi.
 


Nicola Armstrong, Bradley Lord , Wolfgang Schattling - photo Mercedes

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mercedes-amg-petronas-f1-brazilian-gp-preview---129638.html

05.11.2014 / MaP

More News

Sahara Force India F1 Brazilian GP preview
05.11.2014
2014 Formula 1 Grande Premio Petrobras Do Brasil Vijay’s VisionVijay Mallya looks forward to this weekend’s Brazilian Grand Prix. Vijay, the team was out of luck in Austin - do you expect a change o more >>
Lotus F1 Team drivers Brazilian GP preview
05.11.2014
ROMAIN GROSJEANRACE DRIVER #8I’m annoyed and I really want to score in BrazilRomain was somewhat miffed to be biffed out of the points in Austin so he’s gunning to score I’d say everything is pretty on the stree more >>
Renault Sport F1 Brazilian GP preview
04.11.2014
BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX 2014  INTERLAGOS IN NUMBERS(with 1 being the easiest, 5 being the most severe) RÉMI TAFFIN, RENAULT SPORT F1 HEAD OF TRACK OPERATIONSThe ma more >>
Sauber F1 Team Brazilian GP preview
04.11.2014
 2014 Petrobras Brazilian Grand Prix18th Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 7th to 9th November 2014The penultimate race of this year’s FIA Formula One World Championship will take place this weekend. From 7th to 9 more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Brazilian GP preview
04.11.2014
Sebastian Vettel:In Sao Paulo I have taken part in races which we will always remember, for different reasons. Like in 2009, when we almost took the title in the last race of the season. In the end it wasn’t enough and Jenso more >>
Pirelli F1 Brazilian Grand-Prix Interlagos preview
04.11.2014
 Brazilian Grand Prix Preview: Sao Paulo, November 6–9, 2014- Medium and soft tyres for one of the shortest but most intense laps of the year- Variable weather expected in Sao Paul- Brazil is a key market for Pirelli, with s more >>
Tyre nomination for Brazilian Grand Prix altered
17.10.2014
After a meeting of the Tyre Working Group, the tyre nomination for the Brazilian Grand Prix (November 6-9) has been changed, following Pirelli’s proposal and with the unanimous agreement of all the teams. more >>
Renault Sport F1 gives victorious send off to RS27 V8 engine in Brazil
24.11.2013
•    Sebastian Vettel (Infiniti Red Bull Racing-Renault) became the last winner of a race using an F1 V8 engine in today’s Brazilian Grand Prix. Mark Webber finished second in his final F1 race, giving a 1-2 finish for the RS27 more >>
Pirelli Brazilian GP race review
24.11.2013
Vettel wins final race of the year with two pit stopsSebastian Vettel (Red Bull) celebrates his 9th consecutive win this season with do-nutsThis year’s world champion, Sebastian Vettel, has taken his 13th win of the more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Sao Paulo F1 race
24.11.2013
Brazilian Grand-Prix, Sao Paulo 2013 MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS secured second place in the Constructors' Championship today after a thrilling final race of the season. •    The team fin more >>
Infiniti Red Bull F1 Team Sao Paulo race
24.11.2013
BRAZILIAN GP – RACECar 1 SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Finish Position: WINNER, Start Position: 1st“I don’t want to compare the record what we have got today; it’s not fair as it was a different time when Ascari was dr more >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Sao Paulo race
24.11.2013
2013 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIXAutodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Interlagos, Sunday November 25“A great way to end the year”JENSON BUTTONMP4-28A-02Started        &n more >>
Lotus F1 Team Sao Paulo F1 race
24.11.2013
A disappointing end to the 2013 Formula 1 season for Lotus F1 Team yielded the Enstone squad’s first point-less weekend of the year at the final round in Brazil; Heikki Kovalainen dropping three positions from his eleventh placed grid slot whilst more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Sao Paulo F1 race review
24.11.2013
Formula 1 Grande Premio Petrobras Do Brasil 2013, Race  Sahara Force India confirmed its sixth place in the constructors’ championship today as the 2013 Formula One season came to a close in Sao Paulo.  more >>
Sauber F1 Team Sao Paulo F1 race
24.11.2013
Petrobras Brazilian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 24.11.2013Weather: dry, then light drizzle, 18-20°C air, 22-26°C trackThe Brazilian Grand Prix in Interlagos saw just a few rain drops, but in general the track st more >>
Caterham F1 Team Sao Paulo race review
24.11.2013
2013 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX  Sao Paulo, Brazil - 24th November 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationDell has been ranked in top five of Newsweek’s Greenest Companies in America for the past three years & more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Sao Paulo F1 race review
24.11.2013
2013 BRAZIL GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 24/11/2013  Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-01)RacePosition: 10th “The conditions were very difficult with the occasional drop of rain. From the cockpit, it&rsquo more >>
Sao Paulo F1 race result 2013
24.11.2013
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 2013 - São Paulo1 1 S. VETTEL GER Infiniti Red Bull Racing 71 1:32:36.300 198.202 1:15.624 512 2 M. WEBBER AUS Infiniti Red Bull more >>
Strategy wide open for the final F1 race of the 2013 season
23.11.2013
PIRELLI 2013 Brazilian Grand Prix – Qualifying reviewphoto caption:   Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull) in parc fermé after having set pole position for tomorrow’s Brazilian Grand Prix. more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Brazilian qualifying review
23.11.2013
BRAZILIAN GP – QUALIFYING  Car 1 SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Position: POLE POSITION, (3rd Practice – P17, 1:31.857)“It was a surprise to get that time today. I was happy after Q3, it took a long time more >>
Lotus F1 Team Sao Paulo qualifying review
23.11.2013
Romain Grosjean ended the day sixth with Heikki Kovalainen eleventh during a rain affected qualifying session for tomorrow’s Brazilian Grand Prix. The classically unpredictable São Paulo weather saw conditions range from more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Brazil qualifying review
23.11.2013
Sao Paulo - QUALIFYING  Nico Rosberg will start from the front row for the Brazilian Grand Prix tomorrow with Lewis Hamilton qualifying in fifth place. •    Nico's second place sta more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Sao Paulo F1 qualifying
23.11.2013
Formula 1 Grande Premio Petrobras Do Brasil 2013, Qualifying  The wet weather continued at Interlagos as Paul Di Resta and Adrian Sutil qualified in 12th and 16th places respectively for tomorrow’s Brazilian Grand Prix. more >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Brazilian qualifying
23.11.2013
2013 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGAutodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Interlagos, Saturday #movember 23“Hopefully, we’ll have some good racing tomorrow”SERGIO PEREZ more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Sao Paulo F1 qualifying review
23.11.2013
2013 BRAZIL GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 23/11/2013 Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-01)Third Practice SessionBest lap: 1:29.988, pos. 12th, 9 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:27.209, (Q2) 1:27.078, more >>
Sauber F1 Team Sao Paulo qualifying review
23.11.2013
Petrobras Brazilian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 23.11.2013Weather: rain, 19-18°C air, 19-21°C trackSaturday was, yet again, a wet day for the third free practice session and qualifying for more >>
Caterham F1 Team Brazil qualifying review
23.11.2013
2013 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX FP3 & QUALIFYINGSao Paulo, Brazil - 23rd November 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner informationAirbus produce approximat more >>
Sao Paulo F1 Qualifying result 2013
23.11.2013
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 20131     1     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     1:25.381    1:26.420   more >>
Sao Paulo Free Practice 3 result
23.11.2013
FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 20131     2     Mark Webber     Red Bull Racing-Renault     1:27.891     more >>
Wet start to Brazilian Grand Prix Weekend
22.11.2013
2013 Brazilian Grand Prix - Practice Sessionsphoto caption: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) sets fastest time in both practice sessions today, using the Cinturato Green Intermediate tyre.The Brazilian Grand Prix weekend got more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Sao Paulo practices
22.11.2013
 Formula 1 Grande Premio Petrobras Do Brasil 2013, Free Practice  Wet conditions resulted in limited practice mileage for Sahara Force India at Interlagos as Adrian Sutil, Paul Di Resta and James Calado shared driving duties. more >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Sao Paulo practices
22.11.2013
 2013 BRAZILIAN PRIX – FREE PRACTICE“You just never know in Sao Paulo…”Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Interlagos, Friday #movember 22JENSON BUTTONMP4-28A-02FP1  more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Sao Paulo Free practices
22.11.2013
Brazilian Grand-Prix Sao Paulo -   Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton finished today's practice sessions at a wet Interlagos circuit in P1 and P5 respectively. •    The drivers comple more >>
Lotus F1 Team Sao Paulo Free practices review
22.11.2013
Heikki Kovalainen ended a wet first day of practice for the Brazilian Grand Prix with the fourth fastest time at Interlagos. Romain Grosjean was tenth fastest on a day which started wet and became wetter with rainfall over the Brazilian track in S&a more >>
Sauber F1 Team Sao Paulo Friday free practices
22.11.2013
Petrobras Brazilian Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 22.11.2013Weather: rain, 19-21°C air, 20-24°C trackBoth free practice sessions for the Brazilian Grand Prix in Interlagos took place in wet conditions. Nico H more >>
#MakeYourF1Mark top Marks
22.11.2013
We’ve always known that Mark has a devoted fan base but when we asked them to help us prepare for his final grand prix by sending in tributes to the great man in our #MakeYourF1Mark competition we were simply blown away by the incredible response – and more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Sao Paulo Friday Practices
22.11.2013
BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX– FRIDAY PRACTICE  Friday 22 November 2013 CAR 1, SEBASTIAN VETTEL  First Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:25.387, Laps: 17Second Practice Session: Position: 2, Best Time: 1: more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Sao Paulo free practices review
22.11.2013
2013 BRAZIL GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 22/11/2013 Daniil Kvyat (STR8-01)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:26.064, pos. 8th, 17 laps"It was a very positive experience today, running in the wet. I go more >>
Caterham F1 Team Sao Paulo F1 Friday practices review
22.11.2013
2013 BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX FP1 & FP2Sao Paulo, Brazil - 22nd November 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationIn a recent survey of Brazil’s top 3.5 million executives, CNN International was the most-watche more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright