Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Budapest free practices review

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Budapest free practices review

24.07.2015: Scorching start to Hungarian Grand Prix weekend in Budapest Lewis topped the times in both practice sessions

Scorching start to Hungarian Grand Prix weekend in Budapest




•    Lewis topped the times in both practice sessions with Nico finishing the morning in second and the afternoon in fourth

•    An eventful start to the weekend in Budapest saw three red flag periods across the two sessions

•    Both cars ran the prime (medium) tyre in P1, the prime and option (soft) compound in P2




Drivers    No.    Chassis No.    Practice 1    Practice 2


Lewis Hamilton     44     F1 W06 Hybrid/05     18 laps     1:25.141     P1     36 laps     1:23.949     P1

Nico Rosberg     6     F1 W06 Hybrid/04     22 laps     1:25.250     P2     34 laps     1:24.668     P4

Weather    Clear, hot

Temperatures    Air: 27 - 32 °C    Track: 40 - 55 °C



Lewis Hamilton


It was really good fun out there today. I'm starting to think this might be my favourite track. It's so fun to drive with the combination of corners and undulations. The way it all flows together just feels old school. It's incredibly hot, though - like driving in a sauna!


You're drenched in sweat before you even get in the car with all the thermals on and I lost about half a kilo just in that session. It's a big challenge to get a good lap here in these conditions and I think everyone has struggled a bit.


It's meant to be a bit cooler on Sunday which will be easier to cope with physically but will obviously change the balance a bit, so it should be interesting. Our car feels strong here though and I'm very happy with it so far.
 



Nico Rosberg

Today was a difficult day for me. I didn't ever really find the right balance, moving from oversteer to understeer. The long run pace was okay, so I can build on that. But I definitely have some work to do to improve my setup before tomorrow morning and get some practice in for qualifying during P3.


 It's really hot out there. In the car you are sitting almost on the asphalt, so you can feel the heat very much. It will be a demanding race on Sunday.
 


Paddy Lowe, Executive Director (Technical)


A good start to the weekend. It's been very hot during P2 - both for the drivers and the crew - but was a little cooler during P1, which we suspect will be more representative of temperatures during the race on Sunday.


 The morning session was interrupted by two red flags which meant we couldn't quite do as much as we wanted to, while the afternoon session saw a full programme completed. It seems everyone is finding it tough to put together a complete flying lap, so it should make for an interesting qualifying session tomorrow.
 

 
  Bradley Lord     - photos Mercedes

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mercedes-amg-petronas-f1-budapest-practices-review---139161.html

24.07.2015 / MaP

More News

Pirelli F1 Hungarian GP Practices review
24.07.2015
2015 Hungarian Grand Prix – Practice Sessions- Track temperatures in Hungary some of the hottest seen for two years, but rain is possible for qualifying- Mercedes dominate free practice sessions, both on P Zero White Medium and P more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Budapest free practice review
24.07.2015
2015 Formula 1 Hungarian Grand Prix, Free Practice  Sahara Force India’s day of practice at the Hungaroring was cut short as the team suffered a suspension failure on Sergio Perez’s car. The failure caused the Mexican to c more >>
F1 Hungarian GP Practice 2 classification
24.07.2015
Hungarian Grand Prix - BudapestHungaroringSaturday, July 24th 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:23.949         36 more >>
Formula 1 at Hungaroring - Weather Forecast
24.07.2015
Formula 1 in Hungary: It Won’t Be as Hot as in Recent YearsPhoto Caption: The weather radar in Hungary at the Hungaroring© UBIMET more >>
F1 Hungarian GP Free Practice 1 result
24.07.2015
FORMULA 1 PIRELLI Hungarian Grand Prix 2015Hungaroring, BudapestJuly 24th, 2015Opening practice at Hungaroring was punctuated by a dramatic accident for Sergio Perez, who climbed unhurt from the upturned cockpit of his damaged Force India. more >>
Renault Sport F1 Hungarian Grand Prix preview
22.07.2015
HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX  POWER UNIT DETAILSICEThe Hungaroring is not considered a power sensitive track since one lap is taken at just 45% full throttle. The average speed is just over 180kph during qualifyin more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Hungarian GP preview
22.07.2015
2015 Hungarian Grand Prix – BudapestThe 2015 Formula One World Championship season continues with Round Ten, the Hungarian Grand Prix, from BudapestLewis HamiltonSaying goodbye to Jules was incredibly ha more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Hungarian GP preview
21.07.2015
Formula1 Hungarian Grand Prix in Budapest at Hungaroring 2015Carlos Sainz (Car 55)“I enjoy racing at the Hungaroring. It’s a circuit that I know pretty well as I’ve raced there many times in the junior c more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Hungarian GP preview
21.07.2015
HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX  BUDAPEST24 – 26 JULYROUND 10 of 19 When making a mid-summer trip to the Hungaroring you can expect to endure temperatures in the mid-30s. For a driver in the cockpit of a Formula One car, this c more >>
Pirelli F1 Hungarian Grand Prix preview
20.07.2015
Hungaroring, July 23-26, 2015- Medium and soft P Zero compounds for the tight and twisty Hungaroring- High ambient temperatures increase the challenge for Pirelli's tyres in Hungary- Non stop succession of corners mea more >>
Sauber F1 Team Hungarian Grand Prix preview
20.07.2015
2015 Pirelli Hungarian Grand Prix10th Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 24th to 26th July 2015As we head to the next race, our thoughts are with the family and friends of Jules Bianchi. Everyone at the Sauber F1 Team h more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Hungarian Grand Prix preview
20.07.2015
2015 HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIXFIA FORMULA ONE World Championship -  Round 10/1924-26 June 2015Fernando Alonso “The car ran reliably at Silverstone, which was encouraging, and we go to Hungary hoping to add more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Hungarian Grand Prix preview
20.07.2015
2015 Formula 1 Hungarian Grand Prix  Vijay's visionTeam Principal, Dr Vijay Mallya, hopes for another strong performance in Budapest this weekend. Vijay Mallya: “We head to Budapest i more >>
Lotus F1 Team Hungarian Grand Prix preview
20.07.2015
HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX24/25/26 JULY 2015   HUNGARORINGFEDERICO  GASTALDIHALF TIMELotus F1 Team Deputy Team Principal Federico Gastaldi focuses on what the team wants ahead of the summer shutdown. more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Hungarian GP preview
20.07.2015
Daniel Ricciardo: OK Daniel, what’s so good about the Hungarian Grand Prix? How long have you got? The Hungarian Grand Prix has a lot going for it. Personally, I love these races in the European summer wh more >>
Renault Sport F1 Hungarian GP race review
27.07.2014
Infiniti Red Bull Racing-Renault driver Daniel Ricciardo raced to victory in today’s absorbing Hungarian Grand Prix. Daniel’s win, the second for the team and for the Renault Energy F1-2014 Power Unit this season, came after a thrilling three-way battle fo more >>
All F1 driver quotes after Hungarian GP race
27.07.2014
Hungarian Grand-Prix 2014  in Budapest at HungaroringINFINITI RED BULL RACING#1 Sebastian Vettel“It wasn’t a great race. I spun, wh more >>
Pirelli 2014 Hungarian Grand Prix Race review
27.07.2014
Photo caption:   Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull) claims his second career win today at the Hungarian Grand Prix.- Ricciardo uses three stop strategy to final race before summer break- Heavy rain before the st more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 - Ricciardo takes Hungarian victory
27.07.2014
HUNGARIAN GP – RACE DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: WINNER! Start Position: 4th“Winning this today, it honestly feels as good as the first. It sank in a lot quicker this one, so crossing the line today I more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Hungarian race review
27.07.2014
Lewis Hamilton secured the team's eleventh podium of the season, driving a brilliant race after starting from the pit-lane and finishing third just ahead of teammate Nico Rosberg in fourth position. •    After a downp more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Hungaroring race
27.07.2014
2014 HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 27/07/2014  Jean-Eric Vergne (STR9-01)RacePosition: 9th“I'm very pleased with the weekend, I think it was a good one. As for the race, the team did a more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Hungaroring race review
27.07.2014
2014 HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX“We tried our best, but it didn’t work out”A typically unpredictable wet-to-dry grand prix that resulted in an edge-of-the-seat climax involving three drivers. For M more >>
Sauber F1 Team Hungaroring race review
27.07.2014
Pirelli Hungarian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 27.07.2014Weather: initially wet, then dry, 22-25°C air, 27-36°C trackA strong performance by the Sauber F1 Team at the Hungarian Grand Prix in Budapest was not rewarded. more >>
Lotus F1 Team Hungaroring race review
27.07.2014
Slippery When Wet - 2014 Hungarian GP, SundayPastor Maldonado finished in thirteenth position whilst Romain Grosjean retired from an eventful and highly entertaining 2014 Hungarian Grand Prix. Heavy rain before the start of the race meant that all com more >>
Caterham F1 Team Hungaroring race review
27.07.2014
2014 HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIXHungaroring, Hungary - 27th July 2014   Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationSilanna was founded in 2006 with the mission to invest in revolutionary early stage technologies, bring together more >>
Sahara Force India F1 unlucky at Hungaroring
27.07.2014
2014 Formula 1 Pirelli Hungarian Grand Prix: Race Sahara Force India was out of luck today as Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez retired from the Hungarian Grand Prix. DNF       more >>
Hungaroring F1 race result 2014
27.07.2014
FORMULA 1 PIRELLI  HUNGARY GP  MAGYAR NAGYDÍJ 20141     3     Daniel Ricciardo     Red Bull Racing-Renault     70     1:53:05.058     4 more >>
Pirelli Hungarian Grand Prix qualifying
26.07.2014
2014 Hungarian Grand Prix – Qualifying- Rosberg qualifies on pole position with P Zero Yellow soft tyre by half a second- Some drops of rain in qualifying, on one part of the circuit - Two to three pit stops expecte more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Hungaroring qualifying review
26.07.2014
QUALIFYING  Nico Rosberg took pole position during qualifying at the Hungaroring this afternoon, while a fuel leak saw Lewis eliminated in the Q1 phase without setting a time. •    Nic more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Hungaroring qualifying
26.07.2014
HUNGARIAN GP – QUALIFYING  SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Position: 2nd, (3rd Practice – P3, 1:24.455) “After Q2 I thought if we got everything right then we might have been closer to the Mercedes at the end more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Hungaroring qualifying review
26.07.2014
2014 HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYING“We’ll push all the way to the finish tomorrow”More mixed fortunes for the team today: a mid-afternoon rain shower dropped a large amount of water at Turn One right at more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Hungaroring qualifying review
26.07.2014
2014 HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 26/07/2014  Jean-Eric Vergne (STR9-01)Third Practice Session Best lap 1:25.162, pos. 9th, 17 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:24.941, (Q2) 1:24.637, (Q3) 1:24.720, pos more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Hungaroring qualifying review
26.07.2014
2014 Formula 1 Pirelli Hungarian Grand Prix: Qualifying Qualifying for the Hungarian Grand Prix saw Nico Hulkenberg end the session in ninth place with Sergio Perez in P13. P9   Nico Hulkenberg  more >>
Lotus F1 Team Hungaroring qualifying review
26.07.2014
2014 Hungarian GP, SaturdayRomain Grosjean qualified in fifteenth whilst Pastor Maldonado retired from qualifying at the Hungarorging for the 2014 Hungarian Grand Prix. Romain pushed through to the second wave of qualifying at the 4.4km circuit whilst more >>
Sauber F1 Team Hungaroring qualifying review
26.07.2014
Pirelli Hungarian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 26.07.2014 Weather: sunny/overcast and dry, 26-28°C air, 43-49°C trackIn qualifying for the Hungarian Grand Prix in Budapest the Sauber F1 Team achieved a positive more >>
Caterham F1 Team Hungaroring qualifying review
26.07.2014
2014 HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX - FP3 & QUALIFYINGHungaroring, Hungary - 26th July 2014   Caterham F1 Team Partner informationAll G20 governments are served by DellWeather more >>
Hungaroring F1 qualifying result 2014
26.07.2014
FORMULA 1 PIRELLI MAGYAR NAGYDÍJ 20141     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:25.227    1:23.310    1:22.715     20 more >>
Hungaroring F1 Practice 3 classification 2014
26.07.2014
FORMULA 1 PIRELLI MAGYAR NAGYDÍJ 20141     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:24.048      &n more >>
Pirelli Hungarian GP practice sessions review
25.07.2014
2014 Hungarian Grand Prix – Practice SessionsLewis Hamilton (Mercedes) sets fastest time in both practice sessions on Friday in Budapest.- Limited degradation despite high temperatures and demanding corn more >>

Kategorien

2001-2021 automobilsport.com full copyright