Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP race review

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP race review

12.04.2015: Hard-fought one-two finish for MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS in a tense Chinese Grand




Hard-fought one-two finish for MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS in a tense Chinese Grand Prix, as Lewis Hamilton leads home Nico Rosberg at the Shanghai International Circuit.




•    Lewis took his second consecutive Chinese Grand Prix victory - his fourth in Shanghai and the 35th of his Formula One Career

•    The result also marked his second Grand Chelem; pole, victory, fastest lap and leading from lights to flag

•    Nico claimed his fourth Chinese Grand Prix podium, the 29th of his career, in second place

•    Today's result marks the 31st Silver Arrows Formula One victory and 18th one-two finish from 111 Grand Prix Starts

•    Both drivers ran a two stop strategy of option / option / prime, stopping on laps 15 / 31 (Nico) and 14 / 33 (Lewis)



Driver    Car No.    Chassis No.    Grid    Result     Fastest Lap    Pit Stops


Lewis Hamilton     44     F1 W06 Hybrid/01     P1     P1     1:42.208     2 Stops (L14/33)
Nico Rosberg     6     F1 W06 Hybrid/04     P2     P2     1:42.565     2 Stops (L15/31)
Weather    Clear, dry, mild
Temperatures    Air: 21 - 22 °C    Track: 40 - 47 °C





Lewis Hamilton


I'm really happy. It was a great race and really positive to have a clean weekend throughout every session. The team did a great job. Going into today we expected it to be close with Ferrari as they had been good on the tyres on their long runs.


The goal was to run my own race and manage the tyres as best I could; I was driving as hard as I could within the constraints of the tyres and just trying to stretch out the Option stints for as long as possible. I never really had a threat from Nico but I didn't do anything intentionally to slow him up.


Before the second stops I was able to put in a few fast laps to build the gap which I really enjoyed. Then, it was a case of managing the life of the Prime tyre to the finish. Overall, I've just got to say thank you to the team for a smooth weekend.


We dialled the car in where I wanted and that helped me deliver out there today. It's a great feeling to win again in China in front of all these amazing fans. Their support has been incredible all weekend, so 'xiexie' to all of them!
 


Nico Rosberg


It was great to beat the Ferrari and the team has done a great job since Malaysia. But I'm also a bit frustrated today, as I saw how much of a difference four hundredths of a second to Lewis in Qualifying can make. Lewis managed his tyres a lot in the middle stint and that put me at risk with Vettel right behind.


But the team adapted to box me earlier for the second stop and stay ahead of the Ferrari after he had pitted to try and jump ahead through the undercut on new tyres. So that worked out - but I then had a long final stint to do and the tyres were beginning to give up in the final laps.


 I'm sure we will sit down and discuss it all now. But in general it's up to me to change the situation. I just need to make a better job on Saturday.
 


Toto Wolff


That was a great victory for the team but not an easy one; it was as challenging a race as we anticipated this morning. At the start of the race, we had the pace to pull a little gap to the Ferraris, but they were really strong today. We had to keep the Option tyres alive long enough and asked the guys to drive in an intelligent way.


We chose to stick with the Option for the second stint and had to once again look after them to make them last far enough. We had some good communication during that part of the race, telling each driver what they needed to do to keep the one-two finish safe, and then we switched the pit-stop order for the final stops to protect Nico against Vettel by stopping him before Lewis.


But it's clear from today's race what a big jump Ferrari has made over the winter. They were competitive in Malaysia, very strong here in the opening stint and they will be quick in Bahrain, too. Tonight, though, we can take a moment to appreciate a job well done - then get our heads down and start working for Bahrain next weekend.
 


Paddy Lowe


A fantastic result for the team to get another one-two finish. Malaysia was not only a good reminder of how difficult it is to win a Grand Prix, but also how much we don't like not winning! This weekend we went out there to improve on our performance and everybody did a great job to achieve that.


Ferrari pushed us very hard indeed - especially in the first stint. We were pleasantly surprised to see that Sebastian (Vettel) was the first to fall away and pit on the first set of option tyres. We were then able to shadow his strategy and bring home the one-two.


It certainly wasn't comfortable and the pressure was very much on both the drivers and the crew to nail the necessary laps and pit stops respectively. It was a great group performance and a well-earned team result.
 



 
Nicola Armstrong - photos Mercedes

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mercedes-amg-petronas-f1-chinese-gp-race-review---134761.html

12.04.2015 / MaP

More News

Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix   Race Notes•    Felipe Massa finished fifth and Valtteri Bottas sixth in today’s Chinese Grand Prix.•    Valtteri had a good start to overtak more >>
Lotus F1 Team Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
Points of Authority - 2015 Chinese GP, Sunday Lotus F1 Team scored their first points of the season after Romain Grosjean came home in a strong seventh position in the Chinese Grand Prix. It wasn’t so plain sailing for Pastor Maldonado who, more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 12.04.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 21-22°C air, 40-47°C trackStrong result for the Sauber F1 Team in the Chinese Grand Prix on the Shanghai International Circuit. F more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
2015 Formula One Chinese Grand Prix, Race Sahara Force India just missed out on points today with Sergio Perez finishing the Chinese Grand Prix in P11. Teammate Nico Hulkenberg retired on lap 10.  P11  more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
CHINESE GP – RACE  DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: 9th, Start Position: 7th“We got into anti-stall on the start, which hasn’t happened before; we have to look and see what happened. It’ more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX “It feels like we’ve started the season proper” Shanghai International Circuit, Sunday April 12 McLaren-Honda got both cars safely to the finish in today’s Chine more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 12/04/2015   Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)Race: Pos. 14th “It was a very difficult race for us today. We started on Prime tyres, but the track was ver more >>
F1 Chinese Grand Prix Race result
12.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix - Shanghai International CircuitApril 12th, 20151     Lewis Hamilton     GBR     Mercedes     1: more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGShanghai International Circuit, Saturday April 11“Our main priority now is to finish tomorrow’s race”McLaren-Honda will start 17th (Jenson Button) and 18th more >>
Pirelli F1 Chinese GP qualifying
11.04.2015
- Lewis Hamilton claims pole for Mercedes on P Zero Yellow soft tyre- Two stop strategy most likely for majority of drivers, but three-stopper are possible- Mercedes and Ferrari are the only teams in top 10 to have new sets more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS secured a front-row lockout today in qualifying for the 2015 Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix at the Shanghai International Circuit, with Lewis Hamilton taking pole position ahead of Nico Rosberg. • &nbs more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix Qualifying Qualifying Notes•         Felipe Massa qualified fourth and Valtteri Bottas fifth for tomorrow’s Chinese Grand Prix. more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese GP qualifying
11.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 11.04.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 17-19°C air, 37-47°C trackStrong performance by the Sauber F1 Team in qualifying for the Chinese Grand Prix on the Shangh more >>
Lotus F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
Eight Line Poem - 2015 Chinese GP, Saturday Romain Grosjean placed eighth and Pastor Maldonado eleventh in mild and pleasant conditions during qualifying for the Chinese Grand Prix. Pastor suffered from unwanted oversteer on his final more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
CHINESE GP – QUALIFYING  DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 7, 1:38.534 (3rd Practice – P5, 1:39.020)“P7 is what we expected for today. I think we are always trying to find a compromise, us and drivers and more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 11/04/2015   Max Verstappen (STR10-03, Car 33)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:39.274, pos. 9th, 19 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:38.387, (Q2) 1:38.393, more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese GP qualifying
11.04.2015
2015 Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix: Qualifying Today’s qualifying session for the Chinese Grand Prix saw Sergio Perez qualify in P15 just ahead of teammate Nico Hulkenberg in P16.  P1 more >>
MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS to #DriveForGood with Laureus in Shanghai and Beyond
11.04.2015
Laureus branding to feature on F1 W06 Hybrid throughout Chinese Grand Prix weekend, Laureus ambassador Nico Rosberg will #DriveForGood throughout 2015 F1 season  On the eve of the 2015 Laureus World Sports Awards, to be held i more >>
F1 Chinese Grand Prix qualifying result 2015
11.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix  - Shanghai International Circuit - April 11th, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:38.285     1:36.423     more >>
F1 Chinese Grand Prix Free Practice 3 classification
11.04.2015
 Chinese Grand Prix  - Shanghai International Circuit - April 11th, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:37.615         & more >>
Pirelli F1 Chinese GP Practice sessions review
10.04.2015
- Exemplary durability from Pirelli P Zero White Medium and P Zero Yellow Soft tyres: nearly no graining despite cool temperatures- Performance gap of approximately 1.6-1.7 seconds between the two compounds in Shanghai- A more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
Battle resumes at the Shanghai International Circuit as MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS top the times on the opening day in China •    Lewis topped the times in both sessions, with Nico finishing the morning in P2 and the a more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix Practice Objectives: Set-up work, aero evaluations and tyre work Rob Smedley, Head of Performance Engineering: We completed the majority of our plan today, unfortunately w more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese GP Free Practices review
10.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 10.04.2015Weather: sunny/overcast and dry, 14-17°C air, 26-41°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team enjoyed a positive first practice day leading up to the Chinese Grand Prix more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP practices review
10.04.2015
“There’s been progress today – hashtag progress!”Shanghai International Circuit, Friday April 10McLaren-Honda enjoyed a positive first day of practice in Shanghai – both cars regularly ran in more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
2015 Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix: Free Practice  Sahara Force India started its Chinese Grand Prix weekend with two busy practice sessions in Shanghai.  Nico Hülkenberg   & more >>
Lotus F1 Team Chinese GP Practices review
10.04.2015
Lotus F1 Team enjoyed a strong first day of running at the Shanghai International Circuit with team Third and Reserve Driver Jolyon Palmer running for the first time in a Grand Prix practice session. Jolyon ran in Romain’s car in the morning with more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
CHINESE GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE   DANIEL RICCIARDO First Practice Session: Position: 6, Best Time: 1:41.029, Laps: 21Second Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:38.311, Laps: 24 laps more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
 2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 10/04/2015  Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:41.112, pos. 8th, 23 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:39.971, pos. 15th more >>
Chinese GP F1 Free Practice 2 result 2015
10.04.2015
Formula 1 China Grand Prix 2015 Shanghai International Circuit   April 10, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     01:37.219     more >>
Chinese GP F1 Free Practice 1 result 2015
10.04.2015
Formula 1 China Grand Prix 2015 Shanghai International Circuit   April 10, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:39.033         more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 partners with HISENSE
09.04.2015
Infiniti Red Bull Racing is pleased to announce today a multi-year partnership with Hisense, China’s leading electronics manufacturer.  Hisense has become an Official Supplier to the Team, enabling the company to showcase its technology and raise global brand aware more >>
Renault Sport F1 Chinese GP preview
08.04.2015
CHINESE GRAND PRIX 2015 - Shanghai International Circuit  POWER UNIT DETAILSICEThe 1.3km back straight is one of the key characteristics of the Shanghai circuit. Down the straight the ICE will be at maximum more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP preview
07.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix  ROUND 3 OF 1910-12 APRIL   SHANGHAI INTERNATIONAL CIRCUIT, CHINA Aerodynamic performance is tested at the Chinese Grand Prix thanks to the circuit’s 1km back straight and its more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP preview
07.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX PREVIEWShanghai International Circuit snapshotFernando Alonso“Like Sepang, Shanghai’s got a real mix of corners and some interesting fast stuff around the back of the circu more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP preview
07.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIXCarlos Sainz (Car 55)“China is a circuit that I don’t know at all, in a country that I don’t know very well, so I am looking forward to enjoying a new experience. It’s a very special a more >>
Pirelli F1 China Grand Prix preview
06.04.2015
China Grand Prix Shanghai, April 9-12, 2015- Formula One heads to China with medium and soft tyres: The same choice as the season-opener in Australia- Once again, after Malaysia, tyre strategy is set to be crucial- Varia more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese GP preview
06.04.2015
2015 Chinese Grand Prix at Sepang International Circuit3rd Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 10th to 12th April 2015The Malaysian Grand Prix did not produce the results the Sauber F1 Team had hoped for. Howev more >>
Sahara Force India F1 China GP preview
06.04.2015
Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix 2015Sahara Force India looks ahead to round three of the 2015 Formula One season in Shanghai.  Vijay’s VisionTeam Principal, Dr Vijay Mallya, reflec more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright