Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand Prix preview

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand Prix preview

01.09.2015: 2015 Italian Grand Prix - Monza The 2015 Formula One World Championship season continues with Round Twelve, the Italian Grand Prix,

2015 Italian Grand Prix - Monza




 
The 2015 Formula One World Championship season continues with Round Twelve, the Italian Grand Prix, from Monza
 
 

 

Lewis Hamilton


Spa was a really positive weekend for me. I felt comfortable right the way through and it was great to finally get another win at one of the real classic F1 circuits. Now, we head to another of those in Monza. It's an awesome track - so fast and with some of the most passionate fans you'll see anywhere in the world.


I was actually at this circuit with Sir Stirling Moss earlier this year, driving the banking in his old Mercedes W 196, which was just awesome. Having that taste of what it was like for those guys back in the day really gives you a feel for the history of this place and why it became so legendary. It's still a big challenge today, too.


 Fast, but really technical at the same time with some heavy braking and big kerbs to ride for the best line. Racing in Italy brings back a lot of good memories for me and I'd love to add to those this weekend, so that's the aim.
 


Nico Rosberg


The race in Spa was definitely disappointing. My start was not good so I need to work on that and also on finding those extra tenths in qualifying to get back on top there. I know I have the car underneath me to get pole and the win every time with this incredible machine the team have built, so nothing less will do.


Monza is next and I can't wait to try out this season's Silver Arrow there. I'm sure it will suit our car and it's a circuit I really enjoy, so all the ingredients are there for a strong weekend. I'm sure the Tifosi will want a red car to be on the top step but, whatever the result, you know they will create an unbelievable atmosphere.


Standing on the podium last year was a great experience and the target is to be one step higher this time around.
 



Toto Wolff, Head of Mercedes-Benz Motorsport


It was a fantastic performance from the entire team in Spa. We brought a competitive package to the car, the crew were flawless and both Lewis and Nico produced strong drives. The result was particularly satisfying after an eventful day on Friday, where the team did well to react to a challenging situation.


 A positive weekend meant that we left Belgium with our Championship position significantly strengthened - but the fortunes of our rivals also played a part in that and the outcome of the race overall was a reminder that nothing can be taken for granted.


Top results in this sport are far more easily lost than gained - and one bad weekend can produce a big swing in points. We can be proud of what we have achieved so far this season but the battle is by no means won.
 


Paddy Lowe, Executive Director (Technical)


Monza is one of the true classics of the sport - a fantastic race track with a lot of heritage. With the old banking still in place, there is nowhere better to get a real impression of how Formula One used to be in the early days. The circuit itself is quite unique - very high speed, with a special minimum drag aerodynamic package required and significant demand placed on the engine.


The brakes, too, are worked hard here, with three big stops around the lap. Kerbs are also a factor, with a good suspension setup crucial to allow the drivers to ride the kerbs and find time in the first sector particularly. The crowds are spectacular - certainly one of the most enthusiastic of the year - although, they are mostly cheering for another team! We hope for a strong performance in Monza.


 However, you can never be certain at a track with such unique characteristics, so we will need to ensure we are well prepared as ever for the weekend.
 
 


Silver Arrows Statistics At the Italian Grand Prix
 
           Silver Arrows          Lewis Hamilton          Nico Rosberg          Mercedes-Benz Power


Wins          3          2          0          8
Podiums          5          3          1          20
Pole Positions          3          3          0          9
Front Row Starts          6          5          1          18
Fastest Laps          4          3          1          12
Starts          7          8          9          23

 
 
 
Italian Grand Prix Week: Calendar

 
Wednesday 02/09/15          •    Anniversary: 100th Formula One Podium for Mercedes-Benz Power (2001 Belgian Grand Prix)

Thursday 03/09/15          •    Event: 2015 Italian Grand Prix Media Day

•    Anniversary: The Inaugural Formula One Italian Grand Prix (1950)

•    Anniversary: 50th Formula One Pole Position for Mercedes-Benz Power (2005 Italian Grand Prix)

Friday 04/09/15          •    Event 2015 Italian Grand Prix Practice 1 / Practice 2

•    Anniversary: 50th Formula One Win for Mercedes-Benz Power (2005 Italian Grand Prix)

Saturday 05/09/15          •    Event: 2015 Italian Grand Prix Practice 3 / Qualifying

Sunday 06/09/15          •    Event: 2015 Italian Grand Prix



 
 
Ben Cowley , Bradley Lord - photos Mercedes

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mercedes-amg-petronas-f1-italian-gp-preview---140421.html

01.09.2015 / MaP

More News

Pirelli Italian Grand Prix Monza preview
01.09.2015
Italian Grand Prix at  Monza, September 3-6, 2015- P Zero white medium and P Zero yellow soft for top speeds in the region of 360kph and forces of 4.5g at Pirelli's home race- The technical investigation into Vettel's more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand Prix preview
01.09.2015
Formula 1 Gran Premio D'Italia 2015 Vijay's VisionTeam Principal, Dr Vijay Mallya, looks forward to the final European race of the 2015 season. VJM: “The high-speed challenge of historic more >>
Sauber F1 Team Italian Grand Prix preview
01.09.2015
Italian Grand Prix at Monza Autodromo12th Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 4th to 6th September 2015The Italian Grand Prix is like a home race for the Sauber F1 Team as the Monza track is not far away fr more >>
Lotus F1 driver quotes ahead of Italian Grand Prix 2015
29.08.2015
ITALIAN GRAND PRIX4/5/6 SEPTEMBER 2015   MONZAROMAIN GROSJEANPODIUM DANCINGFresh off the back of his Belgian third place, Romain Grosjean sets out his targets for a similarly strong performa more >>
Lotus F1 Team Italian Grand Prix Monza preview
29.08.2015
ITALIAN GRAND PRIX4/5/6 SEPTEMBER 2015   MONZA FEDERICO GASTALDIMONZA MAGICDeputy Team Principal Federico Gastaldi looks ahead to the Italian Grand Prix. more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 driver quotes ahead Italian GP
28.08.2015
Daniil Kvyat:   We’ve just left one of F1’s big boy tracks, Spa, and we’re headed for another – Monza. Absolutely. Monza is my favourite tra more >>
Pirelli tyres experience high-speed extremes in Monza
12.09.2014
At last weekend’s Italian Grand Prix in Monza, Red Bull driver Daniel Ricciardo – the winner of three grands prix this year – reached 362.1 kph (while slipstreaming) on the main straight: the highest top speed that will be clocked in 2014. At the speed Ricciardo recorded, the wheel is rotating around 2800 times every minute, or just under 50 times every second. more >>
Italian GP.. The point by Gian Carlo Minardi
08.09.2014
We have experienced a lively Grand Prix, with too many mistakes and the first seasonal retirement for Fernando Alonso, after so many races. It’s certainly not been a good weekend for the colours of Maranello, both in terms of performances and reliability. In fact, Ferrari says goodbye to the home race with a disappointing ninth place and only two points in world ranking more >>
Dry training sessions, a sunny Grand Prix and a cloudless race finish in Monza
08.09.2014
caption: UBIMET meteorologists chicking radar images in a truck in MonzaAn exciting race in Northern Italy – who would have expected Fernando Alonso to drop out of the race for the first t more >>
Pirelli Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
- One stop strategy for all but one of the finishers- Extremely low degradation despite high top speeds and warm temperatures- Hamilton wins Italian Grand Prix for the second time with Pirelli- Kvyat uses different strategy to nearly claim points finish from the back of the grid more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian GP review
07.09.2014
Monza - 07/09/2014 RACE  Lewis Hamilton won the 2014 Italian Grand Prix with Nico Rosberg second, achieving the team's seventh 1-2 finish. •    Lewis took his sixth win of the season, driving more >>
Renault Sport F1 Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
ITALIAN GRAND PRIX RACE 2014  Infiniti Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo showed good performance to race to a strong fifth in today’s Italian Grand Prix. Daniel overtook four cars in less than 10 laps to secure fifth and consolidate his more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
2014 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX“Superb wheel-to-wheel action – fantastic entertainment for the fans”Autodromo di Monza, Sunday September 7Eventual finishing positions of eighth (Jenson Button) and 10th (Kevin Magnussen) more >>
Sauber F1 Team Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
Italian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 07.09.2014Weather: sunny and dry, 25-26°C air, 37-45°C trackThe Italian Grand Prix on the highspeed track in Monza became, as expected, a difficult race for the Sauber F1 Team. Adrian Sutil more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
2014 Formula 1 Gran Premio D'Italia: Race  Sahara Force India scored six points in Monza as Sergio Perez battled hard to finish in seventh place at the Italian Grand Prix. Nico Hulkenberg finished the race in P12.  more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
ITALIAN GP – RACE DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: 5th, Start Position: 9th“The strategy helped today, it kept the tyres fresh enough to go those extra few laps at the end. I saw the cars in front of me pit and the more >>
Lotus F1 Team Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
To The End - 2014 Italian GP, SundaySunday 7th September  Pastor Maldonado finished fourteenth and Romain Grosjean sixteenth after a fast-paced Italian Grand Prix under blue skies at Monza today. Pastor made a great start and dro more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
Daniil Kvyat (STR9-03)RacePosition: 11th“I feel disappointed with how my race ended. We had a brake disc failure I think, but I managed to hang on and bring the car home in P11. It’s a shame when you give it your hundred more >>
Caterham F1 Team Italian GP race review
07.09.2014
2014 ITALIAN GRAND PRIXAutodromo di Monza, Italy – 7 September 2014Kamui Kobayashi, P17Marcus Ericsson, P19 Weather:Dry, sunny, min/max track temp 37°-44°, air temp 25° more >>
Christian Albers has resigned from his position as CEO for Caterham F1 Team.
07.09.2014
Manfredi Ravetto is taking over his current duties with immediate effect. Christijan Albers, Team Principal: “Over the past months I have dedicated all my energy to ensure the takeover of the team would go as smoothly as more >>
Top three F1 driver quotes from Monza
07.09.2014
Lewis Hamilton, winner A great crowd. Amazing the line filled out with fans. Thank you for your support. We are team-mates and we are very proud to be 1-2 again, the seventh time of the season. It is also the first time that I won six more >>
Monza Italian GP F1 race result 2014
07.09.2014
FORMULA 1 GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA 20141     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     53     Winner     1     252     more >>
Pirelli Italian GP F1 qualifying review
06.09.2014
 2014 Italian Grand Prix Monzaphoto caption : Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) sets pole position for tomorrow’s Italian Grand Prix.- Hamilton on pole using P Zero White medium tyres: Speeds in excess of 350 KPH- One pit more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Italian GP qualifying review
06.09.2014
2014 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYING  Autodromo di Monza, Saturday September 6“The team has done a great job to deliver this Monza-specific package”After showing promise in all three free practice sessions, both dri more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian GP qualifying review
06.09.2014
2014 Formula 1 Gran Premio D'Italia: Qualifying Qualifying for the Italian Grand Prix at Monza saw Sergio Perez secure tenth place on the grid with Nico Hulkenberg ending the session in P14.P10      Ser more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
06.09.2014
Formula1 Italian Grand Prix at Monza qualifying 2014 Lewis Hamilton took pole position for the 2014 Italian Grand Prix with Nico Rosberg completing a front low lockout for the team. •    Today's result is th more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Italian GP qualifying review
06.09.2014
ITALIAN GP – QUALIFYING SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Position: 8th, (3rd Practice – P6, 1:26.290)“I think realistically anything from P5 to P10 was maybe possible, but it was very close. It’s a shame when you more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian GP qualifying review
06.09.2014
 2014 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 06/09/2014  Daniil Kvyat (STR9-03)Third Practice Session Best lap: 1:26.437, pos. 8th, 21 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:26.261, (Q2) 1:26.070, pos. 11th more >>
Sauber F1 Team Monza qualifying review
06.09.2014
Italian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 06.09.2014Weather: sunny and dry, 22-26°C air, 32-46°C trackIn qualifying for the Italian Grand Prix in Monza, Adrian Sutil and Esteban Gutiérrez came in 15th and 16th, more >>
Caterham F1 Team Italian GP qualifying review
06.09.2014
2014 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX: FP3 & QUALIFYINGAutodromo di Monza, Italy – 6 September 2014Fastest laps / positions:FP3: KOB 1:28.265, P18 / ERI 1:29.251, P21QF: KOB 1:27.671, P19 / ERI 1:28.562, P22  more >>
Monza Italian GP F1 Qualifying result 2014
06.09.2014
FORMULA 1 GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA 20141     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:25.363    1:24.560    1:24.109     202   & more >>
Monza Italian GP F1 Practice 3 classification 2014
06.09.2014
FORMULA 1 GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA 20141     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:25.519         232     14     Fernando Alonso     Ferrari     1:25.931     0.412   &nbs more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Monza practice review
05.09.2014
2014 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – FREE PRACTICEAutodromo di Monza, Friday September 5“Set for a close and exciting grand prix weekend”For the second of the season’s two successive high-speed low-downforce more >>
Pirelli Italian Grand Prix F1 practice sessions review
05.09.2014
Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) set the fastest time in this afternoon’s practice session.- Just one pit stop expected for the fastest track of the year- Low wear and degradation on the hard and medium tyres- Diffe more >>
Lotus F1 Team Italian GP practices review
05.09.2014
Don't Be a Drag - 2014 Italian GP, Friday  Friday 5th September  Pastor Maldonado, Romain Grosjean and Charles Pic all took turns in the E22 today on the first day of practice for the Italian Grand Prix. Charles took to the more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Italian GP practices
05.09.2014
ITALIAN GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE   SEBASTIAN VETTEL  First Practice Session: Position: 6, Best Time: 1:27.271, Laps: 27Second Practice Session: Position: 7, Best Time: 1:26.762, Laps: 27&ldqu more >>
Sauber F1 Team Monza free practices review
05.09.2014
Italian Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 05.09.2014Weather: sunny/overcast and dry, 21-26°C air, 25-43°C track   At the Italian Grand Prix on the high speed track in Monza Esteban Gutiérrez, along with test and more >>
Caterham F1 Team Monza Free practices review
05.09.2014
2014 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX: FP1 & FP2Autodromo di Monza, Italy – 5 September 2014 Fastest laps / positions:FP1: ERI 1:30.948, P23 / MER 1:30.704, P22FP2: KOB 1:29.178, P21 / ERI 1:29.275, P22  more >>
Renault Sport F1 Italian GP practice review
05.09.2014
Formula1  Italian Grand Prix, Monza 2014Key practice points:•    F1 back at the ‘Cathedral of Speed’, the Autodromo di Monza, where over 75% of the lap is taken at full throttle& more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright