Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Monza Free practices review

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Monza Free practices review

01.09.2017: 2017 Italian Grand Prix - Friday Silver Arrows set the practice pace on Friday

2017 Italian Grand Prix - Friday
 
Silver Arrows set the practice pace on Friday




•    Lewis finished the morning session in P1 with Valtteri in P2 at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza


•    Valtteri ended the day in P1 in the afternoon session with Lewis in P2


•    Both drivers ran the Medium (Install), Soft and SuperSoft compound tyre in FP1


•    In FP2, both Valtteri and Lewis then used the Soft and SuperSoft compound tyre


•    The Silver Arrows were the only cars to finish FP1 in under 1:22 with Lewis over a second faster than the Ferraris in P3 and P4


•    In FP2, the four fastest cars finished within half a second of each other


•    Despite the rain that was forecast, it stayed dry for most of the practice sessions






Driver    Chassis No.    P1    P2

Valtteri Bottas     F1 W08 EQ Power+/03     31 Laps     1:21.972     P2     25 Laps     1:21.406     P1

Lewis Hamilton     F1 W08 EQ Power+/05     28 Laps     1:21.537     P1     24 Laps     1:21.462     P2




Valtteri Bottas


First of all it was nice that it stayed dry today because all the forecasts said that the rain could affect the running and we could have limited running before qualifying and the race in the dry. But we got our full plan done. In FP1 we were actually ahead of the plan because we were still worried about the weather. I think it was a good day - at least I have a better feeling than I had after the Friday in Spa, everything started on the right foot.



Initially in FP1 we went slightly in the wrong direction with the setup, but we managed to change it around for FP2 and the car felt a lot better. Overall, it was a positive day, the car is looking strong, but obviously it's the next two days that count.
 



Lewis Hamilton


It's been a good day, a clean day. We got the running done, we got through our programme with no problems. The car seems nicely balanced here. We just have some work to do to eke out a little bit more performance. It looks quite close between us and the Ferraris, so I anticipate it's going to be similar to the last race in that sense.
 



James Allison






It was a slightly unusual Friday because the forecasts were quite pessimistic about the rain - overly pessimistic as it turned out. It meant that we put quite a bit of what we would normally do in the afternoon into the morning session. Considering the slightly unusual nature of the day, we're quite pleased with the way it's worked out.



Both drivers looked fairly competitive on both the long runs and the short runs. It's a very unusual circuit with unique downforce levels, but we looked to be in ok shape. There is a threat of rain for tomorrow, so all bets might be off for what we learned today, but it will be a dry race. So looking strong in the dry today is a good sign.
 


 
Bradley Lord

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mercedes-amg-petronas-f1-monza-practices-review---167651.html

01.09.2017 / MaP

More News

Italian Grand-Prix Free Practice 2 classification
01.09.2017
F1  GRAN PREMIO HEINEKEN D'ITALIA 2017 Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Monza Friday, September 1st, 20171     77     Valtteri Bottas     Mercedes     1:21.406  &n more >>
Italian Grand-Prix Free Practice 1 classification
01.09.2017
F1  GRAN PREMIO HEINEKEN D'ITALIA 2017 Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Monza Friday, September 1st, 20171     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:21.537 more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
31.08.2017
Italian Grand Prix Preview 1-3 SEPTEMBER 2017AUTODROMO NAZIONALE MONZAROUND 13 OF 20 Italy’s Autodromo Nazionale Monza hosts Round 13 of this year’s Formula One World Championship and serves more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
30.08.2017
2017 Italian Grand Prix - Preview  Battle continues with Round 13 of the 2017 season from the Autodromo Nazionale Monza •    Toto Talks Italy •    Featured this Week: Power more >>
Renault Sport F1 Monza Autodromo facts and figures
30.08.2017
Track Notes:Monza is another one of Formula 1’s most prestigious races with its historic and antique feel. In terms of the actual circuit, Monza is fast and flowing with long straigh more >>
Renault Sport F1 driver quotes ahead of Italian Grand-Prix
30.08.2017
NICO HUELKENBERG    Keeping momentumNico Hülkenberg fired his way to a third sixth position of the season in Spa as he lines up more points on the high-speed and historic Monza circui more >>
Renault Sport F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
30.08.2017
FORMULA 1 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX Foreword from Renault Sport Racing Managing Director, Cyril AbiteboulThe Italian Grand Prix caps the end of the European segment of the Formula 1 calendar as we begin to switch our attention to Asia in more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
30.08.2017
2017 ITALIAN GRAND PRIXSahara Force India gets ready for the Italian Grand Prix in Monza.  Vijay Mallya: “It’s hard to look back on the race at Spa, knowing we had the pace to score a lot of points, and came away more >>
McLaren Honda F1 driver and management quotes ahead of Italian Grand-Prix
29.08.2017
FERNANDO ALONSO#FA14  MCL32-05“Like Spa, Monza is one of those legendary tracks where everybody loves watching cars going racing. With the new wider, faster cars this year, it will definitely be another circuit where we’ll see a n more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
LOWDOWNRace title Formula 1 Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia 2017Circuit name Autodromo Nazionale MonzaFirst race 1950Previous winners 2016 Nico Rosberg, 53 laps, 1:17:28.089s 2015 Lewis more >>
Haas F1 driver quotes ahead of Italian Grand-Prix
29.08.2017
  ROMAIN GROSJEANHow has the technical partnership with Ferrari been and how has it evolved as Haas F1 Team went from designing a car to building it first racecar to building the current-generation car whi more >>
Haas F1 Team Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
F1 Set to Worship at Temple of Speed Molto Veloce Monza Meets New Formula One Era  Autodromo Nazionale Monza Circuit Length: 5.793 km (3.6 miles)Laps: 53Race Distance: 306.72 km (190.587 miles)Broadcast: more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
ITALIAN GRAND-PRIX 2017 Autodromo Nazionale MonzaCARLOS SAINZSUPPORTThe Italian GP weekend is a bit of a fru more >>
Pirelli F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
ITALIAN GRAND PRIX - F1 Round 13 of 20Monza, 01-03 September 2017For its home race in Monza, Pirelli will bring the medium, soft and supersoft tyres, just as was the case last yea more >>
Honda to Hold Demonstration Run of Honda RA300 at the F1 Italian Grand Prix
26.08.2017
Honda announced plans to hold a demonstration run of the Honda RA300 on race day of the 2017 FIA* Formula One (F1) World Championship Italian Grand Prix at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza (Monza Circuit) to commemorate the 50th anniversary of Honda's Italian Grand Prix victory with the RA300, which also took place at the Monza circuit more >>
Pirelli Italian Grand-Prix - Selected sets per driver
22.08.2017
SELECTED SETS PER DRIVERThe FIA communicated to Pirelli each team’s tyre choices for the forthcoming Italian Grand Prix (Monza, 1-3 September).               more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: 5th, Start Position: 6th“You hope for a podium every race but realistically, coming here, we thought Ferrari would have an edge on us. We also thought Williams and Force India would be strong and w more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand Prix race
04.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix - Sunday September 4th 2016 •    Nico Rosberg today took his 21st career victory - his 1st at the Autodromo Nazionale di Monza and 7th of the 2016 season so far •   more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix race
04.09.2016
Italian Grand Prix•    Valtteri Bottas finished sixth and Felipe Massa ninth in the Italian Grand Prix•    Valtteri had a good start, running P4 in the opening laps and battling with more >>
Sauber F1 Team Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
Formula 1 Heineken Italian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday 04.09.2016Weather: sunny and dry, 29-30°C air, 35-40°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team finished the 2016 European Formula 1 season at the Italian Grand Prix in M more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
 2016 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 04/09/2016 Carlos Sainz (STR11-01, Car 55)Race: Pos. 15th “I think we tried everything we could today to make it into the points, but when you just don’t have the pace, it&rsq more >>
Renault Sport F1 Team Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
2016 Formula 1 Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia, Sunday Renault Sport Formula One Team experienced a character-building Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia at the Autodromo di Monza. Jolyon Palmer made up a number of positio more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Monza race review
04.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand PrixAutodromo Nazionale di Monza, Sunday September 4“I couldn’t have wished for anything better” Neither McLaren-Honda finished in the points at Monza this afternoon, despite spirited scraps more >>
Haas F1 Team Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
Event:  Italian Grand Prix (Round 14 of 21)Date:  Sunday, Sept. 4Location:  Autodromo Nazionale MonzaLayout:  5.793-kilometer (3.6-mile), 11-turn circuitWeather:  Sunny before turning overcastTemperature:  30 degrees more >>
Pirelli F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
-Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg wins at Monza with a one-stop soft-medium tyre strategy- All three compounds used in the race in a mixture of one and two-stop-strategies-Pirelli's 2017 tyre testing campaign resumes this week with Ferrari and Merc more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
 2016 Formula 1 Italian Grand Prix: Race Sahara Force India scored five points in today’s Italian Grand Prix as Sergio Perez raced to eighth place ahead of Nico Hulkenberg in tenth. P8   & more >>
Italian Grand Prix F1 race classification
04.09.2016
FORMULA 1 GRAN PREMIO HEINEKEN D'ITALIA 2016Autodromo di MonzaSunday, September 4th  2016  1     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     53     more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
2016 Formula 1 Italian Grand Prix: Qualifying  Sahara Force India showed well today in Monza with Sergio Perez qualifying in eighth place just ahead of teammate Nico Hulkenberg in ninth. P8    more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
Italian Grand-Prix -MonzaSaturday, September 3rd 2016DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 6th, 1:22.389 (Practice 3 – P7 1:23.709)“We expected to be floating around the top five and we were one thousandth of a more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
2016 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 03/09/2016Carlos Sainz (STR11-01, Car 55)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:24.240, pos. 13th, 17 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:23.661, (Q2) 1:23.496, pos. 16th more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying
03.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix - Saturday Silver Arrows storm to 8th front-row lockout of the season! •    Lewis Hamilton today took his 56th career pole position - his 5th at the Autodromo Nazionale di Monza and 7th o more >>
Pirelli F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix, QualifyingSaturday, September 3rd, 2016- Lewis Hamilton claims pole position: 2.2 seconds faster than 2015 pole, using P Zero supersoft tyres- As in Belgium, more >>
Sauber F1 Team Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
Formula 1 Heineken Italian Grand Prix – Qualifying Saturday  03.09.2016Weather: sunny and dry, 27-31°C air, 33-42°C trackFor the Sauber F1 Team qualifying ahead of the Italian Grand Prix was already over more >>
Renault Sport F1 Italian Grand Prix Monza qualifying
03.09.2016
2016 Formula 1 Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia, Saturday Renault Sport Formula One Team struggled to find pace at the Autodromo di Monza in qualifying for the Formula 1 Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia 2016. Jolyon Palmer more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix – qualifyingAutodromo Nazionale di Monza, Saturday September 3“We’ll make it good tomorrow” Fernando Alonso will line up 12th and Jenson Button 14th for tomorrow& more >>
Haas F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
Italian Grand Prix: Qualifying  Event:  Qualifying for the Italian Grand Prix (Round 14 of 21)Date:  Saturday, Sept. 3Location:  Autodromo Nazionale MonzaLayout:  5.793-kilometer (3.6-mile), 11-turn circuit more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
Italian GP Qualifying  •    Valtteri Bottas qualified fifth and Felipe Massa 11th for the Italian Grand Prix•    Both cars progressed from Q1 into Q2 after one run each on the supersoft tyre, more >>
Monza F1 Qualifying classification
03.09.2016
Formula1  GRAN PREMIO HEINEKEN D'ITALIA 2016 Autodromo Nazionale MonzaSaturday, September 3rd 20161     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:21.854    more >>
Monza F1 Free Practice 3 classification
03.09.2016
Formula1  GRAN PREMIO HEINEKEN D'ITALIA 2016 Autodromo Nazionale MonzaSaturday, September 3rd 20161     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:22.008     & more >>

Kategorien

2001-2021 automobilsport.com full copyright