Red Bull Racing F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix race review

Red Bull Racing F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix race review

27.11.2016: DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 3rd, 1:39.589 (Practice 3 – P6 1:41.831) “I’m definitely pleased I got the third place I was





DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 3rd, 1:39.589 (Practice 3 – P6 1:41.831)



“I’m definitely pleased I got the third place I was after. It feels really good. This morning was hard, I did a run quite early and I was nearly a second off Max so it didn’t look good on paper but the track warmed up so much that we didn’t really know what to expect coming into quali.



Q1 was a little bit slow but then I picked it up and Q3 was solid enough so I was happy. We’ll see about the strategy. It’s just nice to do something different to Mercedes.



We know on the same equipment they’re probably going to be quicker so we feel it should make us go a little bit longer at the start and then perhaps we can bring the race back to us towards the end when our tyres might be a bit different.



For tomorrow of course I wish I was in their position, obviously they’ve both got a little bit more pressure than us this weekend, which I’m kind of envious about. But if the win is there for me tomorrow then I’ll go for it and there will be no holding back.



You always have this level of respect as they’re fighting for the title, but if they leave the door open and I think I can pass, then I won’t make it easy for them and let them sail into the sunset.”

 



MAX VERSTAPPEN, Position: 6th, 1:39.818 (Practice 3 – P2 1:40.912)



“I’m pretty disappointed with sixth today. Qualifying up until Q3 went very well, we had no issues and didn’t touch the car. In my last run I was pushing hard and a few tenths up but I locked up into turn 11, if not for that I feel I would have been around P3.




It was a bit unfortunate as my pace was there and the car felt good. It would have been great to be a bit higher on the grid as the tyre strategy means that by starting on the supersoft we need a really strong start and to be careful with the cars behind.



We should be able to stay out a bit longer, the tyre seems to work well in the higher temperatures so this suits the start of the race.



 The pace has been there all weekend so I am definitely aiming to go forward tomorrow and work my way to the guys up front.



 I will put today behind me and focus on having a strong race and closing the season with another successful result.”

 




CHRISTIAN HORNER, Team Principal:
“A great final lap by Daniel to find that half a tenth to move himself ahead of Kimi to get the best seat for tomorrow’s start.



 It was a shame for Max because he was up on his lap but when he arrived at turn 11 he just lost the front axle and therefore the time that he had found was gone.



Nonetheless starting third and sixth on the grid here for what’s bound to be an exciting start tomorrow is not a bad place to be.



Strategically we’ve chosen to start on the supersoft tyre believing it to be a little bit more robust than the ultrasoft which again brings another dimension to the race. Hopefully if we can get a good start then we should be in good shape with those tyres.”






- Red Bull also photos

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/red-bull-racing-f1-abu-dhabi-gp-race-review---158370.html

27.11.2016 / MaP

More News

Renault Sport F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix race review
27.11.2016
Formula 1 Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Sunday      Renault Sport Formula One Team concluded its first FIA Formula 1 Championship season with seventeenth position for Jolyon Palmer and an early retirement from more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix race review
27.11.2016
2016 Formula 1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Race  Sahara Force confirmed its fourth place finish in the constructors’ championship today as Nico Hulkenberg ended his final race for the team in seventh place, just ahead of teammate Sergio Perez in eighth.  more >>
Pirelli F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix race review
27.11.2016
      -  Hamilton wins race, while his Mercedes team mate Rosberg wins Championship, both use identical two-stop strategies- Alternative double stopper used by Ferrari's Vettel to finish on podium- Final dev more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix race review
27.11.2016
Abu Dhabi Grand Prix  •    Felipe Massa finished the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix ninth while Valtteri Bottas retired due to a suspension issue•    Both cars had a clean start on the ultrasoft more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix race review
27.11.2016
2016 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix"Now, it's done"Yas Marina Circuit, Sunday November 27Fernando Alonso finished the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix in 10th position, earning McLaren-Honda one final point in the 2017 FIA Formul more >>
Haas F1 Team Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix race
27.11.2016
Event:  Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (Round 21 of 21)Date:  Sunday, Nov. 27Location:  Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi, UAELayout:  5.554-kilometer (3.451-mile), 21-turn circuitWeather:  Twilight, 25-26 degrees Celsius (77-79 degrees Fahrenheit)Race Winner:  Lewis Hamilton of MercedesChampion:  Nico Rosberg of Mercedes more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix race review
27.11.2016
2016 ABU DHABI GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 27/11/2016 Carlos Sainz (STR11-01, Car 55)Race: Retired“I think it was a positive race up until the accident: I was racing in P14 after staring from P21, overtaking the Ma more >>
Abu Dhabi quotes from top 3 F1 drivers
27.11.2016
Lewis HamiltonNico RosbergSebastian Vettel Lewis ­ I am happy to win todayThe team did a great job. My thoughts is that I did everything I could to win this race. We had lots of proble more >>
F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix race classification - Nico Rosberg World Champion
27.11.2016
FORMULA 1 ETIHAD AIRWAYS ABU DHABI GRAND PRIX Yas Marina CircuitSunday, November 27th 20161     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     55     1:38:04.013  & more >>
Pirelli F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix qualifying review
26.11.2016
2016 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Qualifying- Track evolution and falling temperatures means that times speed up rapidly trought each qualifying session- Mercedes one-two on ultrasoft with Hamilton beating Rosberg, while Red Bull drivers more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix qualifying
26.11.2016
DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 3rd, 1:39.589 (Practice 3 – P6 1:41.831)“I’m definitely pleased I got the third place I was after. It feels really good. This morning was hard, I did a run quite early and I was more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix qualifying
26.11.2016
2016 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix - Saturday Record breaking night under the Yas Marina lights for the Silver Arrows •    Lewis today took his 61st career pole position - his third at the Yas more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix qualifying
26.11.2016
2016 Formula 1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Qualifying  Sahara Force India enjoyed a strong showing in today’s qualifying session with Nico Hulkenberg ending the day in seventh ahead of Sergio Perez in eighth.  more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix qualifying
26.11.2016
Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Qualifying Qualifying Notes•    Felipe Massa qualified 10th and Valtteri Bottas 11th for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix•    In Q1, both drivers were in t more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix qualifying review
26.11.2016
2016 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – qualifying “It’s good to be starting in the top 10” Yas Marina Circuit, Saturday November 26Fernando Alonso posted a brilliant final lap in Q3 to line up nin more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix qualifying review
26.11.2016
2016 ABU DHABI GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 26/11/2016Daniil Kvyat (STR11-03, Car 26)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:44.105, pos. 21st, 13 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:42.003, pos. 17th  more >>
Renault Sport F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix qualifying review
26.11.2016
2016 Formula 1 Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Saturday  26 November 2016 Jolyon Palmer has qualified in fifteenth position for the Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix with Kevin Magnussen setting the eighteenth fastest t more >>
Haas F1 Team Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix qualifying
26.11.2016
Event:  Qualifying for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (Round 21 of 21)Date:  Saturday, Nov. 26Location: Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi, UAELayout:  5.554-kilometer (3.451-mile), 21-turn circuitWeather:  Twilight, 26 degrees Celsius (79 degrees Fahrenheit)Lap Record:  1:38.434 set by Lewis Hamilton in 2011 with McLaren in Q2Pole Win more >>
Sauber F1 Team Abu Dhabi Grand Prix qualifying review
26.11.2016
Formula 1 Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – Qualifying Saturday 26.11.2016Weather: FP3: dry, 29-30°C air, 34-36°C track; Qualifying: dry, 27-26°C air, 30-28°C trackIn qualifying ahead o more >>
Yas Marina Abu Dhabi GP qualifying classification
26.11.2016
FORMULA 1 ETIHAD AIRWAYS ABU DHABI GRAND PRIX 2016Yas Marina CircuitSaturday, November 26th  20161     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:39.487 &nb more >>
Active Ticketing partners with Sahara Force India in Abu Dhabi
26.11.2016
Sahara Force India is pleased to welcome Active Ticketing as a partner for the 2016 season finale. The technology and security company will deliver an innovative mobile application at the 2016 Formula 1 Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. Active Ticketing more >>
Abu Dhabi GP Free Practice 3 classification
26.11.2016
FORMULA 1 ETIHAD AIRWAYS ABU DHABI GRAND PRIX Yas Marina CircuitSaturday, November 26th 20161     5     Sebastian Vettel     Ferrari     1:40.775         15 more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 drivers quotes after Abu Dhabi GP qualifying
25.11.2016
Abu Dhabi Grand-PrixYas Marina CircuitFriday, November 25th 2016   MAX VERSTAPPENFirst Practice Session: 1:43.297, Position: 3, Laps: 26Second Practice Session: 1:41.389, Positio more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix practices
25.11.2016
2016 Formula 1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Free Practice  Sergio Perez              VJM09-02FP1:     1:44.155      more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix practices
25.11.2016
2016 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix - Friday  Silver Arrows light up the Marina to kick off final race weekend of 2016 in style •    Lewis topped both sessions today with Nico P2 in each •&nb more >>
Pirelli F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix practice sessions review
25.11.2016
2016 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – Practice Sessions- High track evolution as usual during free practice at Yas Marina- Lewis Hamilton fastest in FP2, run in representative conditions, using the ultrasolft on its Abu Dhabi more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Abu Dhabi GP practices
25.11.2016
Abu Dhabi GP Practice Rob Smedley, Head of Performance Engineering: In general, we can be quite happy with today’s running. We ran a complex test programme in FP1, predominantly for next year and thi more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Abu Dhabi GP practices review
25.11.2016
2016 ABU DHABI GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 25/11/2016  Carlos Sainz (STR11-01, Car 55)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:44.685, pos. 8th, 21 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:44.478, more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix practices
25.11.2016
2016 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – free practice“A good start” Yas Marina Circuit, Friday November 25A busy day of first practice at Abu Dhabi’s Yas Marina Circuit. The afternoon’s openi more >>
Renault Sport F1 Team Abu Dhabi GP practices
25.11.2016
2016 Formula 1 Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Friday  25 November 2016 Renault Sport Formula One Team opened the final race of the 2016 Formula One season with Jolyon Palmer leading the team’s charge at the Etiha more >>
Haas F1 Team Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix practices
25.11.2016
Abu Dhabi Grand PrixEvent:  Free Practice 1 and Free Practice 2 (FP1 and FP2) Date:  Friday, Nov. 25Location:  Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi, UAELayout:  5.554-kilometer (3.451-mile), 21-turn circuitFP1 Weather:  Sunny, 29-31 degrees Celsius (84-88 degrees Fahrenheit)FP2 Weather:  Twilight, 25-26 degrees Celsius (77-79 more >>
Sauber F1 Team Abu Dhabi GP practices
25.11.2016
Formula 1 Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix  – Friday 25.11.2016Weather: FP1: dry, 30-32°C air, 34-38°C track; FP2: dry, 27-25°C air, 30-27°C trackThe practice sessions ahead of the Abu Dhabi Grand P more >>
Abu Dhabi GP F1 Free Practice 2 classification
25.11.2016
2016 FORMULA 1 ETIHAD AIRWAYS ABU DHABI GRAND PRIX Yas Marina Circuit, Yas MarinaFriday, November 25th 20161     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:40.861    more >>
Formula 1 choses Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi GP to unveil 5kg gold coin
25.11.2016
Limited edition Abu Dhabi Grand PrixTM 5oz & 1/4oz Gold Coins  also launched at final F1® race of the seasonLeading precious metal asset firm, Rosland Capital, have chosen the occasion of the final Formula 1® race of the 2016 se more >>
Abu Dhabi GP F1 Free Practice 1 classification
25.11.2016
2016 FORMULA 1 ETIHAD AIRWAYS ABU DHABI GRAND PRIX Yas Marina Circuit, Yas MarinaFriday, November 25th 20161     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:42.869  &nbs more >>
Stakeholders Contribute to ATCUAE’s Safe Delivery of Abu Dhabi Grand Prix
23.11.2016
Ben Sulayem: 96 Specialists in Formula 1 Medical Team this yearWith the eighth running of the Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Formula One Grand Prix fast approaching at the end of this month, yearlong plans are now falling into place for th more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix preview
22.11.2016
Abu Dhabi Grand Prix  ROUND 21 OF 21YAS MARINA CIRCUIT  25 – 27 NOVEMBER It’s just seven years since Abu Dhabi arrived on the calendar with Formula One’s first ever twilight race, yet the Yas Marina more >>
UBIMET weather forecast for Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix
22.11.2016
Formula 1 in Abu Dhabi, UAE  Dry and possibly dusty conditions on the weekendAbu Dhabi, UAE will host the last Formula 1 race of the season this weekend. UBIMET is the official meteo more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 drivers thoughts on Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix
22.11.2016
Abu Dhabi Grand-Prix 2016Yas Marina CircuitJust one to go! We're off to the final Grand Prix of the season in Abu Dhabi – How time flies! Carlos and Daniil are looking forward to the weekend and beyond and find time to look back too&he more >>

Kategorien

2001-2021 automobilsport.com full copyright