Red Bull Racing F1 Italian Grand-Prix qualifying review

Red Bull Racing F1 Italian Grand-Prix qualifying review

02.09.2017: ITALIAN GP: QUALIFYING Soggy conditions on the longest day at Monza couldn’t dampen

ITALIAN GP: QUALIFYING


Soggy conditions on the longest day at Monza couldn’t dampen our spirit. The Bulls recorded our best qualifying of the season with P2 and P3 respectively.



MAX VERSTAPPEN, Position: 2nd*, 1:36.702 *penalty to be applied




"Qualifying was positive today and I was happy with it. To be second is, of course, a very nice surprise and in the wet I always enjoy it. Q1 and Q2 with the tyre choice was a bit difficult as the intermediates never seemed to work very well.



In Q3 on the new extremes I didn't have a lot of grip, I was sliding around and I never really felt that comfortable. I cooled the tyres for one lap and then my final lap was luckily not too bad, it wasn't perfect but second was a good result for us.


We always knew we had the penalties to take tomorrow and having a good Qualifying means I hopefully start 15th rather than at the back. Let's hope we can overtake, move to the front and I think realistically the aim will be for fifth or sixth."




CHRISTIAN HORNER, Team Principal:



"A very positive Qualifying for the team today. To qualify in second and third despite the tricky conditions and after the lengthy delay was the absolute best we could have hoped for here in Monza.



Both Max and Daniel seemed to extract better performance from the extreme tyres and we made the right decisions in adapting to the changing conditions through the Qualifying sessions, and we could capitalise on that in the final shootout.



 It is slightly academic for tomorrow as the penalties see both drivers starting down the grid but we will be hopeful of making good progress as the race unfolds.



At the very least the fans deserve to see an exciting Italian Grand Prix as a reward for their support and waiting in the rain for the late show today."




DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 3rd*, 1:36.841 *penalty to be applied



"It is, of course, annoying about those penalties here. It would have been nice to start up front especially with some different names up that end and not the usual suspects. It would have been a chance to probably stay in the front for longer but at least I put a good effort into Qualifying and that put me up to 18th for the race instead of 19th.


In the end I gained one position for doing a good job and I'll take that. I didn't really enjoy Q1 and Q2. Not because of the conditions, we were just slow as I struggled for grip and felt I was a bit like a passenger. As soon as we started Q3, I felt straight away that there was some grip that I didn't have in the first two sessions.


I still feel we left a bit on the table but generally it was a good recovery so I'm happy. I will enjoy tomorrow's race thoroughly and have some fun. 18th is far down the back so I don't expect to finish there."




- Red Bull also photos Sutton

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/red-bull-racing-f1-italian-gp-qualifying-review---167717.html

02.09.2017 / MaP

More News

Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian Grand-Prix qualifying review
02.09.2017
Italian Grand Prix Qualifying •    Lance Stroll qualified fourth with Felipe Massa ninth for the Italian Grand Prix•    Qualifying was red-flagged for several hours due to poor weath more >>
Haas F1 Team Italian Grand-Prix qualifying review
02.09.2017
Event:  Qualifying for the Italian Grand Prix (Round 13 of 20)Date:  Saturday, Sept. 2Location:  Autodromo Nazionale MonzaLayout:  5.793-kilometer (3.6-mile), 11-turn circuitWeather:  Rain more >>
Sauber F1 Team Italian Grand-Prix qualifying
02.09.2017
Formula 1 Heineken Italian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday  02.09.2017Weather: cloudy/rainy and wet, 14-15°C air, 18-15°C trackThe weather conditions dictated the course of today’s qualifying more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Team Italian Grand-Prix qualifying review
02.09.2017
“EXCELLENT WORK FROM BOTH THE TEAM AND DRIVERS” On a washed-out Saturday morning in Monza, FP3 became little more than an exploratory test bed for the cars ahead of qualifying. With torrential rain delaying more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand-Prix qualifying review
02.09.2017
2017 Italian Grand Prix - Saturday  Lewis claims all-time pole record with the 69th pole of his career •    Lewis claimed his sixth pole at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza and eighth of the 2017 seaso more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand-Prix qualifying review
02.09.2017
2017 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX  QUALIFYING Sahara Force India enjoyed a strong afternoon in Monza as Esteban Ocon set the fifth fastest time during a delayed wet qualifying session. With grid penalties for other cars, he is expected to start from third. Sergio Perez qualified in P11 and is expected to start from ninth. more >>
Pirelli F1 Italian Grand-Prix qualifying review
02.09.2017
- Wet weather with extreme conditions means that FP3 and qualifying are interrupted- Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton claims his 69 pole position, using full wet tyre, following a delay of more than two hours-Dry conditions expected for tomorrow: One-stop strategy should be most likely, although teams are still lacking some data more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand-Prix qualifying review
02.09.2017
2017 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 02/09/2017 Daniil Kvyat (STR12-04, Car 26)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:45.033, pos. 7th, 4 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:39.183, (Q2) 1:38.245, pos. 14th more >>
F1 Monza Italian Grand-Prix qualifying classification
02.09.2017
GRAN PREMIO HEINEKEN D'ITALIA 01 -03 September 2017 Autodromo Nazionale MonzaSaturday, September 2nd 2017 1     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:36.009  &nb more >>
Monza Italian GP F1 Free Practice 3 classification
02.09.2017
GRAN PREMIO  HEINEKEN D'ITALIA 2017 Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Monza01 - 03 September 2017 Saturday, September 2nd 20171     19     Felipe Massa     Williams Mercedes more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Italian Grand-Prix practices
01.09.2017
 Max Verstappen: "We are more or less where we expected to be with the car today. It is hard for us on this track with the long straights which we have to combine with a very low downforce setting so we just try to make the best of it. more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Team Italian Grand-Prix practices review
01.09.2017
In a session where rain threatened for most of the morning – and eventually appeared at the end – both drivers completed their FP1 programmes with no major problems. The team used the session to execute its schedul more >>
Sauber F1 Team Italian Grand-Prix practices review
01.09.2017
Formula 1 Heineken Italian Grand Prix – PracticeFriday 01.09.2017Weather: sunny/cloudy and dry, 22-28°C air, 24-41°C trackThe two practice sessions ahead of the Italian Grand Prix in Monza ran smoothly for the more >>
Renault Sport F1 Team Italian Grand-Prix practices review
01.09.2017
Formula 1 Heineken Italian Grand Prix, Friday  Renault Sport Formula One Team ended the first day of the Formula 1 Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia 2017 with Nico Hülkenberg leading the charge for the team with the twelfth faste more >>
Haas F1 Italian Grand-Prix practices review
01.09.2017
Italian Grand-Prix 2017Event:  Free Practice 1 and Free Practice 2 (FP1 and FP2) Date:  Friday, Sept. 1Location:  Autodromo Nazionale MonzaLayout:  5.793-kilometer (3.6-mile), 11-turn circuitFP1 Weat more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand-Prix practices
01.09.2017
2017 ITALIAN GRAND PRIXFriday, September 1st, 2017 Carlos Sainz (STR12-02, Car 55)First Practice SessionBest lap: 1:23.680, pos. 11th, 22 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:23.150, pos. 11th, 21 la more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand-Prix practices review
01.09.2017
2017 ITALIAN GRAND PRIXSahara Force India completed a positive first day of action in Monza as the sun shone on the Northern Italian circuit.  SERGIO PEREZ - VJM10-02FP1    1:23.317&n more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian Grand-Prix practices review
01.09.2017
Italian Grand Prix Practice Paddy Lowe, Chief Technical Officer: We managed to run our whole programme in FP1 and FP2 without any issues, running a number of different aerodynamic configurations, with both drivers pretty happ more >>
Pirelli F1 Italian Grand-Prix practice sessions
01.09.2017
- Mercedes fastest in both free practice sessions, using supersoft tyres to go quickest- Gap between supersoft and soft is currently around 0.7 seconds: FP2 times nearly a second and a half faster than last year- Some rain in the morning did not affect track evolution, but slick tyres still used throughout the day   more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Monza Free practices review
01.09.2017
2017 Italian Grand Prix - Friday  Silver Arrows set the practice pace on Friday •    Lewis finished the morning session in P1 with Valtteri in P2 at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza •  more >>
Italian Grand-Prix Free Practice 2 classification
01.09.2017
F1  GRAN PREMIO HEINEKEN D'ITALIA 2017 Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Monza Friday, September 1st, 20171     77     Valtteri Bottas     Mercedes     1:21.406  &n more >>
Italian Grand-Prix Free Practice 1 classification
01.09.2017
F1  GRAN PREMIO HEINEKEN D'ITALIA 2017 Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Monza Friday, September 1st, 20171     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:21.537 more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
31.08.2017
Italian Grand Prix Preview 1-3 SEPTEMBER 2017AUTODROMO NAZIONALE MONZAROUND 13 OF 20 Italy’s Autodromo Nazionale Monza hosts Round 13 of this year’s Formula One World Championship and serves more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
30.08.2017
2017 Italian Grand Prix - Preview  Battle continues with Round 13 of the 2017 season from the Autodromo Nazionale Monza •    Toto Talks Italy •    Featured this Week: Power more >>
Renault Sport F1 Monza Autodromo facts and figures
30.08.2017
Track Notes:Monza is another one of Formula 1’s most prestigious races with its historic and antique feel. In terms of the actual circuit, Monza is fast and flowing with long straigh more >>
Renault Sport F1 driver quotes ahead of Italian Grand-Prix
30.08.2017
NICO HUELKENBERG    Keeping momentumNico Hülkenberg fired his way to a third sixth position of the season in Spa as he lines up more points on the high-speed and historic Monza circui more >>
Renault Sport F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
30.08.2017
FORMULA 1 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX Foreword from Renault Sport Racing Managing Director, Cyril AbiteboulThe Italian Grand Prix caps the end of the European segment of the Formula 1 calendar as we begin to switch our attention to Asia in more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
30.08.2017
2017 ITALIAN GRAND PRIXSahara Force India gets ready for the Italian Grand Prix in Monza.  Vijay Mallya: “It’s hard to look back on the race at Spa, knowing we had the pace to score a lot of points, and came away more >>
McLaren Honda F1 driver and management quotes ahead of Italian Grand-Prix
29.08.2017
FERNANDO ALONSO#FA14  MCL32-05“Like Spa, Monza is one of those legendary tracks where everybody loves watching cars going racing. With the new wider, faster cars this year, it will definitely be another circuit where we’ll see a n more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
LOWDOWNRace title Formula 1 Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia 2017Circuit name Autodromo Nazionale MonzaFirst race 1950Previous winners 2016 Nico Rosberg, 53 laps, 1:17:28.089s 2015 Lewis more >>
Haas F1 driver quotes ahead of Italian Grand-Prix
29.08.2017
  ROMAIN GROSJEANHow has the technical partnership with Ferrari been and how has it evolved as Haas F1 Team went from designing a car to building it first racecar to building the current-generation car whi more >>
Haas F1 Team Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
F1 Set to Worship at Temple of Speed Molto Veloce Monza Meets New Formula One Era  Autodromo Nazionale Monza Circuit Length: 5.793 km (3.6 miles)Laps: 53Race Distance: 306.72 km (190.587 miles)Broadcast: more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
ITALIAN GRAND-PRIX 2017 Autodromo Nazionale MonzaCARLOS SAINZSUPPORTThe Italian GP weekend is a bit of a fru more >>
Pirelli F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
ITALIAN GRAND PRIX - F1 Round 13 of 20Monza, 01-03 September 2017For its home race in Monza, Pirelli will bring the medium, soft and supersoft tyres, just as was the case last yea more >>
Honda to Hold Demonstration Run of Honda RA300 at the F1 Italian Grand Prix
26.08.2017
Honda announced plans to hold a demonstration run of the Honda RA300 on race day of the 2017 FIA* Formula One (F1) World Championship Italian Grand Prix at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza (Monza Circuit) to commemorate the 50th anniversary of Honda's Italian Grand Prix victory with the RA300, which also took place at the Monza circuit more >>
Pirelli Italian Grand-Prix - Selected sets per driver
22.08.2017
SELECTED SETS PER DRIVERThe FIA communicated to Pirelli each team’s tyre choices for the forthcoming Italian Grand Prix (Monza, 1-3 September).               more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: 5th, Start Position: 6th“You hope for a podium every race but realistically, coming here, we thought Ferrari would have an edge on us. We also thought Williams and Force India would be strong and w more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand Prix race
04.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix - Sunday September 4th 2016 •    Nico Rosberg today took his 21st career victory - his 1st at the Autodromo Nazionale di Monza and 7th of the 2016 season so far •   more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix race
04.09.2016
Italian Grand Prix•    Valtteri Bottas finished sixth and Felipe Massa ninth in the Italian Grand Prix•    Valtteri had a good start, running P4 in the opening laps and battling with more >>

Kategorien

2001-2021 automobilsport.com full copyright