Renault Sport F1 Chinese Grand Prix preview

Renault Sport F1 Chinese Grand Prix preview

10.04.2016: 2016 FORMULA 1 PIRELLI CHINESE GRAND PRIX Shanghai International Circuit

2016 FORMULA 1 PIRELLI CHINESE GRAND PRIX
Shanghai International Circuit





Cyril Abiteboul


In the first two races we were the first car to finish outside the points. This gives us a clear illustration of our target – to finish in the points – and know what we need to do to achieve this.


China is an exciting market for us and one were Groupe Renault has big plans in progress. For Renault Sport we have exciting announcements to make. We have a new partner, a new partner initiative and also a credible and sustainable project which we hope will deliver some very exciting results over a long time frame.


The first two races have given us a guide to where we sit relative to our immediate opposition. We have all the reasons in the world to push in 2016; although this is a long term plan we are by no means ignoring our first season.




Q&A with Fred Vasseur

THE PUSH AND DRIVE IS STRONG


“We know it’s a long term project, but that doesn’t mean we will sit back.”




Two races into the season, what are your observations of watching the team in action?


Honestly, I can say I am impressed. The push and drive from the team is strong. That is not to say there are not improvements to be made.


As everyone is learning, I am a stern taskmaster and there are many elements and details we’ll address. The key to success in motor racing is not just one aspect, it’s focusing on every detail.


 By making many small improvements we will work forwards.



Where do you rate the performance on track?


We are generally where we expected to be, but equally some way short of where we all want to be. We know it’s a long term project, but that doesn’t mean we will sit back.


I want everyone fighting as hard for the position in front whether it’s P10 or P1. That’s how we’ll regain the success we want. In terms of race pace there are positive signs; we’re not so far from Williams and we’re not so far from finishing with points.



This is a long term project; how much is the focus on this season and how much on the future?


Either way, the focus is on being successful and delivering our maximum. We know that it’s unlikely that we will be on the podium or win races in 2016, but that is certainly our longer term aim.


That doesn’t mean we are sitting back. We are determined to get the very best results at every race. We are racers, we will push.



What did you think of the driver performance in Bahrain?


Kevin’s race was similar to the one he had in Melbourne. He started from right at the back and pushed all the way. He showed strong racecraft and delivered a consistent mistake-free race.


We know he is well aware of the weighbridge rules for the future so we’re confident we won’t get the same penalty again. Jolyon on the other hand was not able to demonstrate his performance and that’s because of a component on the car failing.


Clearly no-one wanted this to happen and it’s something we are addressing. We’re all very sorry there was just one car in action for the race.



What are the next targets?


We have finished both races so far as the first car outside of the points so inside the points is where we need to be. For this we don’t only need to add performance to the car, we need to ensure our weekends are mistake-free in every aspect.





Q&A with Nick Chester


A TANGIBLE STEP FORWARD
“We need to maximise every opportunity.”





What’s the challenge of the Shanghai International Circuit?


China is an interesting circuit in terms of layout. The sensitivity is akin to the first two races, in that they’re all heavy power tracks so the relationship between drag, aero and power are similar but they each have unique aspects.

The high speed first corner leading into tighter turn two and three is challenging for drivers with a variety of possible driving lines.




What went wrong for Jolyon in Bahrain?


It was a hydraulic pump that failed which is an extremely rare occurrence. The pump was just over a tenth of the way through its normal working life; usually if a component fails it’s very early in its life or near the end.


We’re working with our supplier to ascertain the cause and have quarantined the batch of components until we can understand the issue. It was a great shame for Jolyon to have missed the race like that.




What’s the feedback from Kevin’s race?


It was good race from Kevin to finish just shy of the points from a pit-lane start to eleventh. He didn’t put a foot wrong and the three-stop strategy worked well. The R.S.16 performed well on the super softs in the race.


 Were it not for the penalty, Kevin should have started from a reasonable position on the grid and that could well have led to points.




Where’s the performance of the R.S.16 relative to the opposition?


On race pace there’s a very close group in the midfield; we saw this in Australia and we saw this in Bahrain. It means we need to maximise every opportunity we have and every performance increase we can find could mean the difference between finishing just shy of the points or scoring.


Our qualifying pace has been behind our race pace in relative terms, so this is an area of focus, but one which goes hand-in-hand with the target of overall performance gains.




How much has been learnt with the new tyres and tyre rules?


We’re learning the compounds and how best to manage the potential allocations. It’s not been a huge surprise that everyone tends to run more on a softer compound than last year.


There are different strategies available for those who want to do a stop less and run on a harder compound like we saw in Bahrain. There’s some variance but generally teams are dropping down one compound.



Anything in the treat cupboard for round three?


We do have some small aero parts to try, however we will have more further down the line with more aero and engine updates which should mean a tangible step forward.


There’s a tight spread of cars ahead of us so we don’t need a lot to make a decent improvement.
 



Circuit data, Shanghai



For China most teams have opted for a mix of the three compounds available – Medium, Soft and Supersoft.


 Laptime and degradation evaluation will be carried out during the second practice session to determine the best race strategy – a two stop using medium and soft or perhaps a more aggressive three stop with soft and supersoft.

- Alan Permane, Trackside Operations Director





Medium


The Egg Fried Rice of the Pirelli tyre selection. A solid ingredient to any race weekend but certainly not the most punchy of tyres.


Soft


The Crispy Aromatic Duck of the round rubber rings. Delivers good things but doesn’t always last as long as you’d want.



Supersoft


The Sweet and Sour of the tyre allocation. Sweet when it delivers its peak performance. Sour when its shorter performance life ends.




Power Unit notes



•    The two long straights and bursts between corners bring the total percentage of wide open throttle time to over 40% of one lap.


•    Shanghai is unusual as there is a very long straight, but a relatively low percentage of the lap is spent at full throttle. This dichotomy is quite unusual as most circuits are one or the other: either a ‘power track’ such as Monza or Montreal, or ‘driveability track’ such as Hungary or Monaco.


•    The average speed over a lap will be 200kph, putting Shanghai in the middle of the table for lap speeds.


•    Race fuel saving will be low, one of the easiest tracks of the year in this respect.


•    Shanghai is one of the most efficient circuits and close to the maximum amount of energy will be stored in the battery per lap. This will allow us to optimize the amount of energy transferred directly from the H to the K or to the battery.


•    The circuit is situated in an industrial zone next to several factories, some of which produce concrete, which leads to a high concentration of dust particles in the air. Air filters and the turbo will be checked after each practice session to prevent blockages and, therefore, a relative loss of power.



Technical notes


Circuit length:            5.451km

Race distance:            305.066km

Race start time:            14:00

Full throttle time per lap :    46s in Q and 43s in the race

Fuel consumption:        1.78 kg/lap with no lift-off required


Energy recovery :    Recovered by the MGUK in brake phase is 1.4MJ with possibility of recovering the maximum FIA allowed 2MJ with overload (using the ICE to charge the battery via the K in part throttle)


Longest time spent at full throttle: 20s on the back straight

Percentage of lap spent braking: 23%

Pitlane length:            350m

Brakewear:            Low

Difficulty for PU :        Medium

Aero level:            Medium



- Renault Sport also photos

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/renault-sport-f1-chinese-gp-preview---147356.html

10.04.2016 / MaP

More News

Hamilton wins in China with Pirelli soft-soft-medium two stop strategy
12.04.2015
2015 Chinese Grand Prix – Race  Shanghai International Circuit- Lower degradation than expected, especially on soft tyres- two stop strategies for the majority of dirvers, with other variations further down the field more >>
Renault F1 Sport Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
CHINESE GRAND PRIX at Shanghai International Circuit 2015  Today’s Chinese Grand Prix came to a disappointing conclusion with just one Renault-powered car collecting points. Infiniti Red Bull Racing driver Daniel Ricciardo finished in more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
Hard-fought one-two finish for MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS in a tense Chinese Grand Prix, as Lewis Hamilton leads home Nico Rosberg at the Shanghai International Circuit. •    Lewis took his second consecutive more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix   Race Notes•    Felipe Massa finished fifth and Valtteri Bottas sixth in today’s Chinese Grand Prix.•    Valtteri had a good start to overtak more >>
Lotus F1 Team Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
Points of Authority - 2015 Chinese GP, Sunday Lotus F1 Team scored their first points of the season after Romain Grosjean came home in a strong seventh position in the Chinese Grand Prix. It wasn’t so plain sailing for Pastor Maldonado who, more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 12.04.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 21-22°C air, 40-47°C trackStrong result for the Sauber F1 Team in the Chinese Grand Prix on the Shanghai International Circuit. F more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
2015 Formula One Chinese Grand Prix, Race Sahara Force India just missed out on points today with Sergio Perez finishing the Chinese Grand Prix in P11. Teammate Nico Hulkenberg retired on lap 10.  P11  more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
CHINESE GP – RACE  DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: 9th, Start Position: 7th“We got into anti-stall on the start, which hasn’t happened before; we have to look and see what happened. It’ more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX “It feels like we’ve started the season proper” Shanghai International Circuit, Sunday April 12 McLaren-Honda got both cars safely to the finish in today’s Chine more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 12/04/2015   Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)Race: Pos. 14th “It was a very difficult race for us today. We started on Prime tyres, but the track was ver more >>
F1 Chinese Grand Prix Race result
12.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix - Shanghai International CircuitApril 12th, 20151     Lewis Hamilton     GBR     Mercedes     1: more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGShanghai International Circuit, Saturday April 11“Our main priority now is to finish tomorrow’s race”McLaren-Honda will start 17th (Jenson Button) and 18th more >>
Pirelli F1 Chinese GP qualifying
11.04.2015
- Lewis Hamilton claims pole for Mercedes on P Zero Yellow soft tyre- Two stop strategy most likely for majority of drivers, but three-stopper are possible- Mercedes and Ferrari are the only teams in top 10 to have new sets more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS secured a front-row lockout today in qualifying for the 2015 Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix at the Shanghai International Circuit, with Lewis Hamilton taking pole position ahead of Nico Rosberg. • &nbs more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix Qualifying Qualifying Notes•         Felipe Massa qualified fourth and Valtteri Bottas fifth for tomorrow’s Chinese Grand Prix. more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese GP qualifying
11.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 11.04.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 17-19°C air, 37-47°C trackStrong performance by the Sauber F1 Team in qualifying for the Chinese Grand Prix on the Shangh more >>
Lotus F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
Eight Line Poem - 2015 Chinese GP, Saturday Romain Grosjean placed eighth and Pastor Maldonado eleventh in mild and pleasant conditions during qualifying for the Chinese Grand Prix. Pastor suffered from unwanted oversteer on his final more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
CHINESE GP – QUALIFYING  DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 7, 1:38.534 (3rd Practice – P5, 1:39.020)“P7 is what we expected for today. I think we are always trying to find a compromise, us and drivers and more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 11/04/2015   Max Verstappen (STR10-03, Car 33)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:39.274, pos. 9th, 19 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:38.387, (Q2) 1:38.393, more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese GP qualifying
11.04.2015
2015 Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix: Qualifying Today’s qualifying session for the Chinese Grand Prix saw Sergio Perez qualify in P15 just ahead of teammate Nico Hulkenberg in P16.  P1 more >>
MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS to #DriveForGood with Laureus in Shanghai and Beyond
11.04.2015
Laureus branding to feature on F1 W06 Hybrid throughout Chinese Grand Prix weekend, Laureus ambassador Nico Rosberg will #DriveForGood throughout 2015 F1 season  On the eve of the 2015 Laureus World Sports Awards, to be held i more >>
F1 Chinese Grand Prix qualifying result 2015
11.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix  - Shanghai International Circuit - April 11th, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:38.285     1:36.423     more >>
F1 Chinese Grand Prix Free Practice 3 classification
11.04.2015
 Chinese Grand Prix  - Shanghai International Circuit - April 11th, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:37.615         & more >>
Pirelli F1 Chinese GP Practice sessions review
10.04.2015
- Exemplary durability from Pirelli P Zero White Medium and P Zero Yellow Soft tyres: nearly no graining despite cool temperatures- Performance gap of approximately 1.6-1.7 seconds between the two compounds in Shanghai- A more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
Battle resumes at the Shanghai International Circuit as MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS top the times on the opening day in China •    Lewis topped the times in both sessions, with Nico finishing the morning in P2 and the a more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix Practice Objectives: Set-up work, aero evaluations and tyre work Rob Smedley, Head of Performance Engineering: We completed the majority of our plan today, unfortunately w more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese GP Free Practices review
10.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 10.04.2015Weather: sunny/overcast and dry, 14-17°C air, 26-41°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team enjoyed a positive first practice day leading up to the Chinese Grand Prix more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP practices review
10.04.2015
“There’s been progress today – hashtag progress!”Shanghai International Circuit, Friday April 10McLaren-Honda enjoyed a positive first day of practice in Shanghai – both cars regularly ran in more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
2015 Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix: Free Practice  Sahara Force India started its Chinese Grand Prix weekend with two busy practice sessions in Shanghai.  Nico Hülkenberg   & more >>
Lotus F1 Team Chinese GP Practices review
10.04.2015
Lotus F1 Team enjoyed a strong first day of running at the Shanghai International Circuit with team Third and Reserve Driver Jolyon Palmer running for the first time in a Grand Prix practice session. Jolyon ran in Romain’s car in the morning with more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
CHINESE GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE   DANIEL RICCIARDO First Practice Session: Position: 6, Best Time: 1:41.029, Laps: 21Second Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:38.311, Laps: 24 laps more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
 2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 10/04/2015  Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:41.112, pos. 8th, 23 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:39.971, pos. 15th more >>
Chinese GP F1 Free Practice 2 result 2015
10.04.2015
Formula 1 China Grand Prix 2015 Shanghai International Circuit   April 10, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     01:37.219     more >>
Chinese GP F1 Free Practice 1 result 2015
10.04.2015
Formula 1 China Grand Prix 2015 Shanghai International Circuit   April 10, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:39.033         more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 partners with HISENSE
09.04.2015
Infiniti Red Bull Racing is pleased to announce today a multi-year partnership with Hisense, China’s leading electronics manufacturer.  Hisense has become an Official Supplier to the Team, enabling the company to showcase its technology and raise global brand aware more >>
Renault Sport F1 Chinese GP preview
08.04.2015
CHINESE GRAND PRIX 2015 - Shanghai International Circuit  POWER UNIT DETAILSICEThe 1.3km back straight is one of the key characteristics of the Shanghai circuit. Down the straight the ICE will be at maximum more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP preview
07.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix  ROUND 3 OF 1910-12 APRIL   SHANGHAI INTERNATIONAL CIRCUIT, CHINA Aerodynamic performance is tested at the Chinese Grand Prix thanks to the circuit’s 1km back straight and its more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP preview
07.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX PREVIEWShanghai International Circuit snapshotFernando Alonso“Like Sepang, Shanghai’s got a real mix of corners and some interesting fast stuff around the back of the circu more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP preview
07.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIXCarlos Sainz (Car 55)“China is a circuit that I don’t know at all, in a country that I don’t know very well, so I am looking forward to enjoying a new experience. It’s a very special a more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright