Renault Sport F1 Hungarian Grand Prix preview

Renault Sport F1 Hungarian Grand Prix preview

22.07.2015: HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX POWER UNIT DETAILS ICE

HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX




 
POWER UNIT DETAILS


ICE


The Hungaroring is not considered a power sensitive track since one lap is taken at just 45% full throttle. The average speed is just over 180kph during qualifying, with each corner taken from second to fourth gear.


The ICE is given a relatively easy ride in Budapest. The only opportunities of sustained full throttle are the 790m pit straight and the 500m straight between Turns 3 and 4.



TURBOCHARGER



Of all the races in the first part of the season, this is the one where the turbo will be the most highly solicited. The driver is constantly on and off the power and having a turbo that can kick in instantly with accurate power will greatly reduce lap time by improving driveability.


Sector two is critical for turbo response since the corners are mid to low speed, with rapid braking events. Delivering power when needed is important to overall lap time reduction.


The entry and exit into and from Turn 11 at the end of Sector Two is particularly important as there is a short straight before the final complex of the track.



MGU-K



The heavy braking zones will provide the K with the opportunity to recover energy. The first corner is the first chance as the cars go from over 300kph to just under 85kph.


Turns 6 and 7 (the chicane) feature another heavy braking zone that gives further opportunity. The drivers will brake down to 100kph for this sharp change of direction.


Other large stops are spread throughout the lap, including Turns 8, 9, 11 and 12. These right-angled turns are very similar in characteristics, with the driver braking to just over 130kph.



MGU-H



The MGU-H is really put through its paces in Budapest, possibly more than at any other circuit so far this year since the small bursts of power between the corners are intense.


The section from Turns 4 to 11 is the twistiest part of the track and drivers will be at partial throttle for 65% of this extended complex. Cars negotiate principally third gear corners with an average of 150kph.


This goes to show that a high proportion of the lap is spent cornering at mainly medium speeds. The MGU-H has to recover energy where it can as the straights are few and far between but it must ensure good boost control for driveability. This means that the MGU-H is highly solicited for control purposes.
 


NEWS FROM TOTAL


The Renault Energy F1-2015 and its lubricants are subject to enormous forces. At 12,000rpm, a piston goes from 0 to 37 m/s 400 times per second. That is over 130 kph! Some parts such as bearings have a protective film of oil to give a comfortable barrier of 2 to 3 microns, but other moving parts, particularly in the valvetrain, are separated by just a few thousandths of microns.


Total produces an engine lubricant that reduces internal friction and optimizes the energy released during combustion, all while aiding mechanical reliability and cooling.



RÉMI TAFFIN, DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS


We go to Budapest, like everyone, with a heavy heart following the passing of our colleague Jules Bianchi. Our thoughts are naturally with his family at this sad time and we will be racing with him at the forefront of our minds.


Hungary is very different to the previous three races on the calendar. With so many low and medium speed corners and only two short straights, the emphasis is on low speed driveability and energy recovery rather than outright top speed and power. This type of track allows us to play out our strategies better so we hope to be closer to the front in qualifying and able to play a greater role in the race result.


We’ve maintained a good PU reliability since the Spanish GP but we need to continue to strengthen it to keep watching our performance improve race after race. Both of these factors are critical in the tough conditions of Hungary so we hope to secure a good result to finish the first part of the season.



RENAULT 2015 FAST FACTS

  The Hungaroring is located in an area with very high levels of sand. These particles are very abrasive if they enter the internals of the engine so the filters will be checked on a regular basis and cleaned to avoid any potential wear and tear. Renault Sport F1 will also work with Total to use high grade lubricants to avoid any additional wear.


Ambient temperatures are between 30 and 40°C in Hungary at the end of July. Heat dissipation is key to dealing with the hot conditions but the high downforce settings required for this track do not afford the luxury of additional air inlets to cool the engine. The dynos back at Viry will test engines over the Hungaroring cycle in high ambient conditions to prepare for this race in particular.


Fuel consumption per kilometre is high in Hungary due to the high number of stops and short bursts of power. Although some of the heavy load is offset by the high average ambient temperatures, engineers will still pay a lot of attention to the consumption rate. Fortunately the MGU-K and H are able to recover a lot of energy to keep fuel within the permitted limits.


Renault engines have won at the Hungaroring eight times. The V10 claimed victory five times between 1990 and 1997 with the V8 powering Fernando Alonso and Mark Webber to wins in 2003 and 2010 respectively. Daniel Ricciardo scored his second victory of the year in Hungary in 2014.



FOCUS ON…HUNGARY 2003



In 2002 Renault returned to a full works team status. Its goals were ambitious: win races and go for a title. The timeframe was equally ruthless, but no one expected victories quite so quickly. Renault’s first win came in Hungary only the following year.


Pascal Aragnouet was an engine technician in the Renault F1 Team garage at the time. ‘The Hungarian Grand Prix was at the end of August in 2003 so we’d just returned from holidays. I remember it was very busy when we got back. The car was working well and the whole team was confident so there was an extra impetus as we felt we could get some good results.


‘We arrived in Budapest in an optimistic frame of mind. Benetton had always been strong at the track and – it’s hard to put into words – we felt that things could go our way again. It was just a feeling, but we were more confident than normal.


We started practice and had no real problems, then qualifying came on Saturday. Fernando went and put it on pole! We were surprised that we were faster than the Ferraris, but from what Fernando was saying on the radio and in the debriefs, he felt ultra-comfortable in the car and was very confident in himself.


‘Race day came and Fernando kept his lead from the start and managed to pull away at an incredibly fast rate. It came down to his confidence in the car I think. He managed to pull away at around one second a lap and before his first stop he came on the radio and asked what had happened to the rest of the field! You don’t often hear that…


‘He came in for fuel and there was such a large gap that everything felt very relaxed. That’s until the end of the race, that is. In the closing laps we had such a big margin that you start to think something will happen – a puncture or a technical problem. As it happened he was able to lap almost everyone, even up to fifth place and came home to score his first victory.


‘It was a fantastic feeling after that and it really lifted morale. It was the first win for Fernando and the first for Renault since its return. We went back to Viry full of motivation and confidence that we could really be a great team. It was there that we really got everything started.’




Renault Sport F1- also photo

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/renault-sport-f1-hungarian-gp-preview---139087.html

22.07.2015 / MaP

More News

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Hungarian GP preview
22.07.2015
2015 Hungarian Grand Prix – BudapestThe 2015 Formula One World Championship season continues with Round Ten, the Hungarian Grand Prix, from BudapestLewis HamiltonSaying goodbye to Jules was incredibly ha more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Hungarian GP preview
21.07.2015
Formula1 Hungarian Grand Prix in Budapest at Hungaroring 2015Carlos Sainz (Car 55)“I enjoy racing at the Hungaroring. It’s a circuit that I know pretty well as I’ve raced there many times in the junior c more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Hungarian GP preview
21.07.2015
HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX  BUDAPEST24 – 26 JULYROUND 10 of 19 When making a mid-summer trip to the Hungaroring you can expect to endure temperatures in the mid-30s. For a driver in the cockpit of a Formula One car, this c more >>
Pirelli F1 Hungarian Grand Prix preview
20.07.2015
Hungaroring, July 23-26, 2015- Medium and soft P Zero compounds for the tight and twisty Hungaroring- High ambient temperatures increase the challenge for Pirelli's tyres in Hungary- Non stop succession of corners mea more >>
Sauber F1 Team Hungarian Grand Prix preview
20.07.2015
2015 Pirelli Hungarian Grand Prix10th Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 24th to 26th July 2015As we head to the next race, our thoughts are with the family and friends of Jules Bianchi. Everyone at the Sauber F1 Team h more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Hungarian Grand Prix preview
20.07.2015
2015 HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIXFIA FORMULA ONE World Championship -  Round 10/1924-26 June 2015Fernando Alonso “The car ran reliably at Silverstone, which was encouraging, and we go to Hungary hoping to add more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Hungarian Grand Prix preview
20.07.2015
2015 Formula 1 Hungarian Grand Prix  Vijay's visionTeam Principal, Dr Vijay Mallya, hopes for another strong performance in Budapest this weekend. Vijay Mallya: “We head to Budapest i more >>
Lotus F1 Team Hungarian Grand Prix preview
20.07.2015
HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX24/25/26 JULY 2015   HUNGARORINGFEDERICO  GASTALDIHALF TIMELotus F1 Team Deputy Team Principal Federico Gastaldi focuses on what the team wants ahead of the summer shutdown. more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Hungarian GP preview
20.07.2015
Daniel Ricciardo: OK Daniel, what’s so good about the Hungarian Grand Prix? How long have you got? The Hungarian Grand Prix has a lot going for it. Personally, I love these races in the European summer wh more >>
Renault Sport F1 Hungarian GP race review
27.07.2014
Infiniti Red Bull Racing-Renault driver Daniel Ricciardo raced to victory in today’s absorbing Hungarian Grand Prix. Daniel’s win, the second for the team and for the Renault Energy F1-2014 Power Unit this season, came after a thrilling three-way battle fo more >>
All F1 driver quotes after Hungarian GP race
27.07.2014
Hungarian Grand-Prix 2014  in Budapest at HungaroringINFINITI RED BULL RACING#1 Sebastian Vettel“It wasn’t a great race. I spun, wh more >>
Pirelli 2014 Hungarian Grand Prix Race review
27.07.2014
Photo caption:   Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull) claims his second career win today at the Hungarian Grand Prix.- Ricciardo uses three stop strategy to final race before summer break- Heavy rain before the st more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 - Ricciardo takes Hungarian victory
27.07.2014
HUNGARIAN GP – RACE DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: WINNER! Start Position: 4th“Winning this today, it honestly feels as good as the first. It sank in a lot quicker this one, so crossing the line today I more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Hungarian race review
27.07.2014
Lewis Hamilton secured the team's eleventh podium of the season, driving a brilliant race after starting from the pit-lane and finishing third just ahead of teammate Nico Rosberg in fourth position. •    After a downp more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Hungaroring race
27.07.2014
2014 HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 27/07/2014  Jean-Eric Vergne (STR9-01)RacePosition: 9th“I'm very pleased with the weekend, I think it was a good one. As for the race, the team did a more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Hungaroring race review
27.07.2014
2014 HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX“We tried our best, but it didn’t work out”A typically unpredictable wet-to-dry grand prix that resulted in an edge-of-the-seat climax involving three drivers. For M more >>
Sauber F1 Team Hungaroring race review
27.07.2014
Pirelli Hungarian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 27.07.2014Weather: initially wet, then dry, 22-25°C air, 27-36°C trackA strong performance by the Sauber F1 Team at the Hungarian Grand Prix in Budapest was not rewarded. more >>
Lotus F1 Team Hungaroring race review
27.07.2014
Slippery When Wet - 2014 Hungarian GP, SundayPastor Maldonado finished in thirteenth position whilst Romain Grosjean retired from an eventful and highly entertaining 2014 Hungarian Grand Prix. Heavy rain before the start of the race meant that all com more >>
Caterham F1 Team Hungaroring race review
27.07.2014
2014 HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIXHungaroring, Hungary - 27th July 2014   Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationSilanna was founded in 2006 with the mission to invest in revolutionary early stage technologies, bring together more >>
Sahara Force India F1 unlucky at Hungaroring
27.07.2014
2014 Formula 1 Pirelli Hungarian Grand Prix: Race Sahara Force India was out of luck today as Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez retired from the Hungarian Grand Prix. DNF       more >>
Hungaroring F1 race result 2014
27.07.2014
FORMULA 1 PIRELLI  HUNGARY GP  MAGYAR NAGYDÍJ 20141     3     Daniel Ricciardo     Red Bull Racing-Renault     70     1:53:05.058     4 more >>
Pirelli Hungarian Grand Prix qualifying
26.07.2014
2014 Hungarian Grand Prix – Qualifying- Rosberg qualifies on pole position with P Zero Yellow soft tyre by half a second- Some drops of rain in qualifying, on one part of the circuit - Two to three pit stops expecte more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Hungaroring qualifying review
26.07.2014
QUALIFYING  Nico Rosberg took pole position during qualifying at the Hungaroring this afternoon, while a fuel leak saw Lewis eliminated in the Q1 phase without setting a time. •    Nic more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Hungaroring qualifying
26.07.2014
HUNGARIAN GP – QUALIFYING  SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Position: 2nd, (3rd Practice – P3, 1:24.455) “After Q2 I thought if we got everything right then we might have been closer to the Mercedes at the end more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Hungaroring qualifying review
26.07.2014
2014 HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYING“We’ll push all the way to the finish tomorrow”More mixed fortunes for the team today: a mid-afternoon rain shower dropped a large amount of water at Turn One right at more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Hungaroring qualifying review
26.07.2014
2014 HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 26/07/2014  Jean-Eric Vergne (STR9-01)Third Practice Session Best lap 1:25.162, pos. 9th, 17 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:24.941, (Q2) 1:24.637, (Q3) 1:24.720, pos more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Hungaroring qualifying review
26.07.2014
2014 Formula 1 Pirelli Hungarian Grand Prix: Qualifying Qualifying for the Hungarian Grand Prix saw Nico Hulkenberg end the session in ninth place with Sergio Perez in P13. P9   Nico Hulkenberg  more >>
Lotus F1 Team Hungaroring qualifying review
26.07.2014
2014 Hungarian GP, SaturdayRomain Grosjean qualified in fifteenth whilst Pastor Maldonado retired from qualifying at the Hungarorging for the 2014 Hungarian Grand Prix. Romain pushed through to the second wave of qualifying at the 4.4km circuit whilst more >>
Sauber F1 Team Hungaroring qualifying review
26.07.2014
Pirelli Hungarian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 26.07.2014 Weather: sunny/overcast and dry, 26-28°C air, 43-49°C trackIn qualifying for the Hungarian Grand Prix in Budapest the Sauber F1 Team achieved a positive more >>
Caterham F1 Team Hungaroring qualifying review
26.07.2014
2014 HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX - FP3 & QUALIFYINGHungaroring, Hungary - 26th July 2014   Caterham F1 Team Partner informationAll G20 governments are served by DellWeather more >>
Hungaroring F1 qualifying result 2014
26.07.2014
FORMULA 1 PIRELLI MAGYAR NAGYDÍJ 20141     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:25.227    1:23.310    1:22.715     20 more >>
Hungaroring F1 Practice 3 classification 2014
26.07.2014
FORMULA 1 PIRELLI MAGYAR NAGYDÍJ 20141     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:24.048      &n more >>
Pirelli Hungarian GP practice sessions review
25.07.2014
2014 Hungarian Grand Prix – Practice SessionsLewis Hamilton (Mercedes) sets fastest time in both practice sessions on Friday in Budapest.- Limited degradation despite high temperatures and demanding corn more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Hungaroring practices review
25.07.2014
HUNGARIAN GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE   SEBASTIAN VETTEL  First Practice Session: Position: 5, Best Time: 1:27.220, Laps: 28Second Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:25.111, Laps: 33 more >>
McLaren Mercedes F1 Hungaroring practices review
25.07.2014
2014 HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX – FREE PRACTICEHungaroring, Friday July 25From the burning heat of central Germany to the baking plains of northern Hungary, the grand prix paddock regrouped for this weekend’s Hungarian Grand Prix, the more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Hungaroring practices
25.07.2014
2014 Formula 1 Pirelli Hungarian Grand Prix: Free Practice  Sahara Force India opened its Hungarian Grand Prix weekend with two productive sessions in the scorching Budapest heat. Nico Hulkenberg& more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Hungaroring practices review
25.07.2014
Hungarian Grand Prix Budapest Friday Practices MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS kicked off the Hungarian Grand Prix weekend at the top of the time sheets, with Lewis Hamilton narrowly edging Nico Rosberg to top both practice sessions at the Hungar more >>
Sauber F1 Team Hungaroring practices review
25.07.2014
Pirelli Hungarian Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 25.07.2014Weather: sunny and dry, 23-28°C air, 40-57°C trackDuring both practice sessions for the Hungarian Grand Prix in Budapest the Sauber F1 Team was able to go through the p more >>
Renault Sport F1 Hungarian GP practices review
25.07.2014
RENAULT SPORT HUNGARIAN GRAND PRIX PRACTICE - Hungaroring, Budapes  Key practice points:•    F1 in Budapest, Hungary, for the final race of the first half of the season•  &n more >>

Kategorien

2001-2021 automobilsport.com full copyright