Renault Sport F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview

Renault Sport F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview

30.08.2017: FORMULA 1 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX Foreword from Renault Sport Racing

FORMULA 1 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX



Foreword from Renault Sport Racing Managing Director, Cyril Abiteboul


The Italian Grand Prix caps the end of the European segment of the Formula 1 calendar as we begin to switch our attention to Asia in the early autumn months.



Monza is a legendary circuit with an electric atmosphere to match and it seems to be a fitting way to end what has been an exciting summer of racing on some of Europe’s finest circuits.



Previous to Monza, we enjoyed a successful weekend in Belgium and made a return to the points courtesy of Nico’s sixth place; his third of the season. Nico had a really strong and sensible race and did a lot right to get the team a number of points.
 


We are, however, left with a taste of frustration as we couldn’t put Jolyon into the top ten. He had the pace in qualifying to be on course for a career best grid position but a gearbox issue forced him to start from fourteenth which meant Sunday would be difficult.



We once again saw the Red Bull of Daniel Ricciardo on the podium for the sixth time this season which has included a win. The retirement of Max Verstappen and the enormous disappointment that followed lead us to react as early as Monza and the introduction of new components to improve reliability.



But remaining on the positives and we have scored more points at the last three Grands Prix than the four teams above us in the Constructors’ Championship. We have managed 16 points since Great Britain in July with Force India on (14), Haas (6), Toro Rosso (7) and Williams (5). The latest updates have all worked as they should to help us increase performance and put us in the top ten on a regular basis.



Monza is one of the most demanding races on the engine due to its frequent and prolonged high speed straights and curves; it really is the Temple of Speed! We have to approach the weekend with a sense of caution as we know the remaining races after this weekend should be more favourable for us.



It will be about seeing how we go about this to get the most out of the car. Our aim remains to get both cars in the points to keep gaining ground on the teams above us.



It will be an exciting weekend for everyone involved in Italy; the fans, the drivers and all the racing staff. We head there with momentum on our side and we look forward to getting out to Monza. 




Speed arena


Technical Officer Bob Bell
explains the balance between 2018 and 2017 car development as the R.S.17 heads for its thirteenth outing of the season in Italy.



What’s the outlook for Monza?



Monza is a high-speed, low downforce track, the lowest we run on throughout the season. We can go there with a reasonable amount of confidence having shown in Spa, a high power track, that we can compete.


We have a couple of new aero refinements with the aerodynamics packages and wing settings tailored for the low downforce demands with a low-downforce and minimal drag optimised package.




How do you sum up the performances in recent weeks?



We can take heart with the step forward we have made across Britain, Hungary and Spa and I think it bodes well for the rest of the season. There aren’t too many surprises left with the circuits we’re going to and we have the capacity to keep development going for the rest of the year. We just have to get both drivers home scoring points.




Have we discovered the problem with Jolyon’s gearbox?



Everything points to it being a one-off as opposed to anything endemic. We will address it for Monza and ensure it doesn’t occur again. Reliability is still a priority and we must ensure that Monza is a trouble free weekend. Pace is where we hoped it would be at this point in the season but reliability still needs to improve.

It was disappointing for Jolyon. His pace at the start of the weekend was a great confidence boost for him and I’m sure had he not had that problem he would have qualified seventh or eighth on the grid.




We’re closing in on the final stretch of the calendar, is there much to report with development?



We are already working on the 2018 car but some elements developed in the wind tunnel can be used on the R.S.17. We are continuing the development of this year’s car. We have the capability to do a good job in balancing the development of the 2018 car and transferring the concepts onto this year’s, so it’s a busy time in Enstone!



- Renault Sport F1 also photo

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/renault-sport-f1-italian-gp-preview---167562.html

30.08.2017 / MaP

More News

Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
30.08.2017
2017 ITALIAN GRAND PRIXSahara Force India gets ready for the Italian Grand Prix in Monza.  Vijay Mallya: “It’s hard to look back on the race at Spa, knowing we had the pace to score a lot of points, and came away more >>
McLaren Honda F1 driver and management quotes ahead of Italian Grand-Prix
29.08.2017
FERNANDO ALONSO#FA14  MCL32-05“Like Spa, Monza is one of those legendary tracks where everybody loves watching cars going racing. With the new wider, faster cars this year, it will definitely be another circuit where we’ll see a n more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
LOWDOWNRace title Formula 1 Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia 2017Circuit name Autodromo Nazionale MonzaFirst race 1950Previous winners 2016 Nico Rosberg, 53 laps, 1:17:28.089s 2015 Lewis more >>
Haas F1 driver quotes ahead of Italian Grand-Prix
29.08.2017
  ROMAIN GROSJEANHow has the technical partnership with Ferrari been and how has it evolved as Haas F1 Team went from designing a car to building it first racecar to building the current-generation car whi more >>
Haas F1 Team Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
F1 Set to Worship at Temple of Speed Molto Veloce Monza Meets New Formula One Era  Autodromo Nazionale Monza Circuit Length: 5.793 km (3.6 miles)Laps: 53Race Distance: 306.72 km (190.587 miles)Broadcast: more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
ITALIAN GRAND-PRIX 2017 Autodromo Nazionale MonzaCARLOS SAINZSUPPORTThe Italian GP weekend is a bit of a fru more >>
Pirelli F1 Italian Grand-Prix preview
29.08.2017
ITALIAN GRAND PRIX - F1 Round 13 of 20Monza, 01-03 September 2017For its home race in Monza, Pirelli will bring the medium, soft and supersoft tyres, just as was the case last yea more >>
Honda to Hold Demonstration Run of Honda RA300 at the F1 Italian Grand Prix
26.08.2017
Honda announced plans to hold a demonstration run of the Honda RA300 on race day of the 2017 FIA* Formula One (F1) World Championship Italian Grand Prix at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza (Monza Circuit) to commemorate the 50th anniversary of Honda's Italian Grand Prix victory with the RA300, which also took place at the Monza circuit more >>
Pirelli Italian Grand-Prix - Selected sets per driver
22.08.2017
SELECTED SETS PER DRIVERThe FIA communicated to Pirelli each team’s tyre choices for the forthcoming Italian Grand Prix (Monza, 1-3 September).               more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: 5th, Start Position: 6th“You hope for a podium every race but realistically, coming here, we thought Ferrari would have an edge on us. We also thought Williams and Force India would be strong and w more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand Prix race
04.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix - Sunday September 4th 2016 •    Nico Rosberg today took his 21st career victory - his 1st at the Autodromo Nazionale di Monza and 7th of the 2016 season so far •   more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix race
04.09.2016
Italian Grand Prix•    Valtteri Bottas finished sixth and Felipe Massa ninth in the Italian Grand Prix•    Valtteri had a good start, running P4 in the opening laps and battling with more >>
Sauber F1 Team Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
Formula 1 Heineken Italian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday 04.09.2016Weather: sunny and dry, 29-30°C air, 35-40°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team finished the 2016 European Formula 1 season at the Italian Grand Prix in M more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
 2016 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 04/09/2016 Carlos Sainz (STR11-01, Car 55)Race: Pos. 15th “I think we tried everything we could today to make it into the points, but when you just don’t have the pace, it&rsq more >>
Renault Sport F1 Team Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
2016 Formula 1 Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia, Sunday Renault Sport Formula One Team experienced a character-building Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia at the Autodromo di Monza. Jolyon Palmer made up a number of positio more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Monza race review
04.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand PrixAutodromo Nazionale di Monza, Sunday September 4“I couldn’t have wished for anything better” Neither McLaren-Honda finished in the points at Monza this afternoon, despite spirited scraps more >>
Haas F1 Team Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
Event:  Italian Grand Prix (Round 14 of 21)Date:  Sunday, Sept. 4Location:  Autodromo Nazionale MonzaLayout:  5.793-kilometer (3.6-mile), 11-turn circuitWeather:  Sunny before turning overcastTemperature:  30 degrees more >>
Pirelli F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
-Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg wins at Monza with a one-stop soft-medium tyre strategy- All three compounds used in the race in a mixture of one and two-stop-strategies-Pirelli's 2017 tyre testing campaign resumes this week with Ferrari and Merc more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
04.09.2016
 2016 Formula 1 Italian Grand Prix: Race Sahara Force India scored five points in today’s Italian Grand Prix as Sergio Perez raced to eighth place ahead of Nico Hulkenberg in tenth. P8   & more >>
Italian Grand Prix F1 race classification
04.09.2016
FORMULA 1 GRAN PREMIO HEINEKEN D'ITALIA 2016Autodromo di MonzaSunday, September 4th  2016  1     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     53     more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
2016 Formula 1 Italian Grand Prix: Qualifying  Sahara Force India showed well today in Monza with Sergio Perez qualifying in eighth place just ahead of teammate Nico Hulkenberg in ninth. P8    more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
Italian Grand-Prix -MonzaSaturday, September 3rd 2016DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 6th, 1:22.389 (Practice 3 – P7 1:23.709)“We expected to be floating around the top five and we were one thousandth of a more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
2016 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 03/09/2016Carlos Sainz (STR11-01, Car 55)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:24.240, pos. 13th, 17 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:23.661, (Q2) 1:23.496, pos. 16th more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying
03.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix - Saturday Silver Arrows storm to 8th front-row lockout of the season! •    Lewis Hamilton today took his 56th career pole position - his 5th at the Autodromo Nazionale di Monza and 7th o more >>
Pirelli F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix, QualifyingSaturday, September 3rd, 2016- Lewis Hamilton claims pole position: 2.2 seconds faster than 2015 pole, using P Zero supersoft tyres- As in Belgium, more >>
Sauber F1 Team Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
Formula 1 Heineken Italian Grand Prix – Qualifying Saturday  03.09.2016Weather: sunny and dry, 27-31°C air, 33-42°C trackFor the Sauber F1 Team qualifying ahead of the Italian Grand Prix was already over more >>
Renault Sport F1 Italian Grand Prix Monza qualifying
03.09.2016
2016 Formula 1 Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia, Saturday Renault Sport Formula One Team struggled to find pace at the Autodromo di Monza in qualifying for the Formula 1 Gran Premio Heineken d’Italia 2016. Jolyon Palmer more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix – qualifyingAutodromo Nazionale di Monza, Saturday September 3“We’ll make it good tomorrow” Fernando Alonso will line up 12th and Jenson Button 14th for tomorrow& more >>
Haas F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
Italian Grand Prix: Qualifying  Event:  Qualifying for the Italian Grand Prix (Round 14 of 21)Date:  Saturday, Sept. 3Location:  Autodromo Nazionale MonzaLayout:  5.793-kilometer (3.6-mile), 11-turn circuit more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
03.09.2016
Italian GP Qualifying  •    Valtteri Bottas qualified fifth and Felipe Massa 11th for the Italian Grand Prix•    Both cars progressed from Q1 into Q2 after one run each on the supersoft tyre, more >>
Monza F1 Qualifying classification
03.09.2016
Formula1  GRAN PREMIO HEINEKEN D'ITALIA 2016 Autodromo Nazionale MonzaSaturday, September 3rd 20161     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:21.854    more >>
Monza F1 Free Practice 3 classification
03.09.2016
Formula1  GRAN PREMIO HEINEKEN D'ITALIA 2016 Autodromo Nazionale MonzaSaturday, September 3rd 20161     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:22.008     & more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix Free Practices
02.09.2016
F1 Italian Grand-Prix at MonzaFriday, September 2nd 2016MAX VERSTAPPENFirst Practice Session: 1:24.982, Position: 8, Laps: 25Second Practice Session: 1:23.732, Position: 5, Laps: 25“It was a good more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian Grand Prix practices review
02.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix - Friday  Sizzling start for the Silver Arrows during sweltering opening day in Monza •    Nico Rosberg topped the morning session with Lewis Hamilton in P2 • more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian GP free practices review
02.09.2016
Italian GP Practice Objectives: Aero evaluations, set-up and tyre work. Rob Smedley, Head of Performance Engineering: It’s been a bit of a disjointed day today with reliability issues, especially with Felipe’s car. more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand Prix Free Practices
02.09.2016
2016 Formula 1 Italian Grand Prix: Free Practice  Sahara Force India completed a busy practice programme in Monza with Sergio Perez, Nico Hulkenberg and Alfonso Celis covering a combined total of 144 laps in preparation for Sunday’s more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand Prix Free Practices
02.09.2016
2016 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX  – FRIDAY 02/09/2016 Carlos Sainz (STR11-01, Car 55)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:25.973, pos. 16th, 20 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:25.240, pos. 17th, 31 laps more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Italian Grand Prix Free Practices
02.09.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix – free practice “A positive day & reasonably happy” Autodromo Nazionale di Monza, Friday September 2A busy first day’s practice at the fabled Pista Magica. At the start of FP1, J more >>
Sauber F1 Team Italian Grand Prix Free Practices review
02.09.2016
Formula 1 Heineken Italian Grand Prix – Friday Practices  - 2.9.2016Weather: sunny and dry, 26-31°C air, 29-43°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team continued with its aero measurements during the first free practice ses more >>

Kategorien

2001-2021 automobilsport.com full copyright