Sahara Force India F1 Belgian Grand Prix preview

Sahara Force India F1 Belgian Grand Prix preview

22.08.2016: 2016 Formula One Belgian Grand Prix Vijay Mallya on Spa Vijay Mallya sets his sights on a strong showing in Spa as the Formula One season

2016 Formula One Belgian Grand Prix
 




Vijay Mallya on Spa


Vijay Mallya sets his sights on a strong showing in Spa as the Formula One season resumes.
 




Vijay, the team’s strong season continued with more points last time out in Germany. What can we expect this weekend in Spa?


VJM: “More of the same, I hope. We are performing well and delivering results, and Spa represents a good opportunity to continue our run of points finishes. The updates we introduced at Silverstone have made a difference and there is still more performance to be extracted from our chassis.


I think all teams have now switched their focus to 2017 so the pecking order should not change dramatically. Some tracks will suit us more than others, but Spa is certainly a track where the VJM09 can be strong.”
 




The team is now within 15 points of fourth place in the championship. How do you see the battle unfolding…



VJM: “There’s still a long way to go, but at least we are in the fight. I regard our podium in Monaco as the turning point of our season – both in terms of the result and our public perception. Then, our strong showing in Baku just reinforced the great job we are doing as a team.


It’s a fierce battle in the midfield, but we are performing well. Since Monaco we have scored 67 points compared to the 31 of our nearest rival. If we continue scoring at this rate, it will be interesting to see where we can end the season.”
 
 





Nico on Spa


Nico Hulkenberg wants to continue his run of strong results with more points in Spa.
 


Nico:
“It’s nice to get back to action after a month without racing. Holidays are fun – you spend time with your friends, take your mind off work and recharge your batteries – but nothing beats the thrill of a Formula One car. So it’s great to be back, and I can’t think of a better place to return to racing than Belgium.
 

“When I was little, I would go and watch the race in Spa rather than in Germany as it was much closer to where I lived. My dad took me there twice and I remember looking at the drivers and wishing to be in one of those cars.
 

“Spa is one of the best tracks out there. It may sound like a cliché, but it really is great fun to drive it - it’s up there with Suzuka. It’s got great flow, lots of challenging and ballsy corners, high speeds and changes of elevation.


It’s just a great place. Everyone talks about Eau Rouge, but my favourite corner in Spa is Pouhon – the very quick downhill double-left hander. Eau Rouge and Raidillon are legendary, but they’re not the challenge they used to be.
 

“For all the excitement on track, Belgium is one of the quietest weekends off it. There’s not much around the circuit and most of the evenings you just stay in the hotel and have a quiet dinner with your physio or a few friends.




It’s the opposite of some of the “lifestyle” events like Barcelona, Budapest or Montreal – but it’s a nice change to have some more relaxed events. Hopefully we will be able to pick up where we left off in Germany and continue showing our points-scoring form.”
 
 




Sergio on Spa

Sergio Perez looks forward to getting back to action in Spa this weekend.
 


Sergio:
“The summer break was a great opportunity to relax, especially as this season is quite long and the races don’t leave us too much time to recover.


It was nice to spend some time in Mexico, with my family, my dogs and my friends: it’s always great to go home and I can’t wait to be back there later in the year when we come racing in Mexico City.
 

“Spa is one of the most historical tracks; one of those kids dream about, with legendary corners like Eau Rouge. You never get a boring race there. There are many fast corners and you pay a price for all mistakes because it’s an old-school track with not much run-off.


It’s one of the circuits where the driver can make a difference and bravery is rewarded. I have got some great memories from Spa: I won there in GP2 and I had a battle for the lead against Hamilton on the first lap last year.
 

“The key to being fast around Spa is having a good rhythm and enough downforce to be quick in the corners without losing too much on the straights.


You want to be able to attack and defend in sector one, but not have too little wing to be struggling in the twisty parts of sector two. It’s a fine balance you need to strike and it can make or break your weekend.
 

“Eau Rouge is not as difficult as it used to be: you still need to be very precise about where you put your car, but you can easily take the corner flat-out.


A key corner to gain or lose time is turn one: you can easily lose two tenths on that one alone if you make a mistake, and getting the exit right is crucial to carry as much speed as possible down the hill, up Raidillon and onto the Kemmel straight.
 

“We have been really strong in the last few races before the break and hopefully we can keep this form in the second part of the season. Being in the battle for fourth place in the championship gives us a lot of motivation and we approach every weekend knowing we can be strong.


I am enjoying my driving and working with the team, and I think we have everything in place to be competitive this weekend.”
 




- Sahara Force India also photos

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/sahara-force-india-f1-belgian-gp-preview---153834.html

22.08.2016 / MaP

More News

McLaren Honda F1 Belgium Grand Prix management and driver quotes
22.08.2016
The drivers on: the event #14 Fernando Alonso “It’s time to go racing again! I’ve enjoyed the summer break, spent some time with my family in Asturias and at my more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Belgium Grand Prix preview
22.08.2016
2016 Belgian Grand Prix  Round 13/21 26-28 August 2016 Circuit stats2015 winner Lewis Hamilton, 43 laps, 1:23:40.387s2015 pole position Lewis Hamilton, 1m47.197s2015 fastest lap Nico Rosberg 1m52.416s (lap 34) more >>
Pirelli Belgian Grand-Prix preview
22.08.2016
Formula 1 Round 13 of 21Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium, 25-28 August 2016Following a short summer break, Formula 1 resumes at the one of the most epic drivers’ circuits of them all: Spa-Francorchamps in Belgium. The P Zero me more >>
Haas F1 Team Belgian Grand Prix facts and stats
22.08.2016
Formula 1 - Belgium Grand Prix 2016Spa-Francorchamps Circuitcopyright bygigis  Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps •    Total number of race laps: 44   •    Complete race dis more >>
Haas F1 Team quotes ahead of Belgium Grand Prix
22.08.2016
Formula 1 - Belgium Grand Prix 2016Spa-Francorchamps CircuitGUENTHER STEINER, Team PrincipalBelgium is the home of Haas Automation’s European headquarters. You’ve be more >>
Haas F1 Team Back to Business in Belgium
22.08.2016
Formula 1 - Belgium Grand Prix 2016Spa-Francorchamps CircuitBelgian Grand Prix Serves as European Homecoming for Haas AutomationThose toiling within the globe-trotting FIA Formula One World Championship earned a three-week rep more >>
Pirelli After Spa analysis conclusions
03.09.2015
- Technical analysis confirms the absence of any structural problem with the tyres used at the Belgian Grand Prix- Tests have shown that the failures at Spa were down to the exceptional combined effect of debris on more >>
Pirelli Belgian Grand Prix F1 race comment
24.08.2015
2015 Belgian Grand Prix – RacePirelli: Our request of two years ago to fix a maximum limit to the number of laps that can be run with the same tyres was not listened   &nb more >>
Renault F1 Belgian GP race review
23.08.2015
BELGIAN GRAND PRIX RACE  Infiniti Red Bull Racing’s Daniil Kvyat followed up his Hungarian Grand Prix podium with another strong result in today’s Belgian Grand Prix. The Russian driver passed the flag in more >>
Spectacular Spa Double for the Silver Arrows!
23.08.2015
Belgian Grand Prix at Spa Francorchamps 2015•    Lewis took his second Belgian Grand Prix win, the 39th of his F1 career and sixth of 2015 •    Nico completed a seventh Silver Arrows 1-2 of the se more >>
Lotus F1 Team Belgian GP race
23.08.2015
2015 Belgian GP, Sunday  Lotus F1 Team returned to the Formula 1 Grand Prix podium for the first time since the US Grand Prix in 2013 thanks to a superb drive from Romain Grosj more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Belgian GP race
23.08.2015
BELGIAN GP – RACE   DANIIL KVYAT, Finish Position: 4th, Start Position: 12th “It was a very interesting race and really good fun today. I had a lot of overtaking opportunities and the car performed well. Th more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Belgian GP race
23.08.2015
2015 Formula One Shell Belgian Grand Prix, Race Sahara Force India scored ten points today as Sergio Perez raced to fifth place in the Belgian Grand Prix. Teammate Nico Hulkenberg was unable to take the start following a loss of power on t more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Belgian GP race
23.08.2015
Belgian GP Race at Spa Francorchamps Race Notes:•    Felipe Massa finished sixth and Valtteri Bottas ninth in the Belgian Grand Prix•    Both cars struggled at the start and l more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Belgian GP race review
23.08.2015
2015 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 23/08/2015 Max Verstappen (STR10-02, Car 33)Race: 8th“What an entertaining race, it was a great achievement to start from so far back and finish eighth in the end! My pace more >>
Sauber F1 Team Belgian GP race
23.08.2015
Shell Belgian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 23.08.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 24-25°C air, 34-39°C trackScoring one point at the Belgian Grand Prix was the maximum the Sauber F1 Team could achieve. Marcus Ericss more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Spa race review
23.08.2015
2015 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX    Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Sunday August 23As predicted, the flat-out sweeps of Spa-Francorchamps proved difficult for the McLaren-Honda package, and we finished 13th (Fernando Alo more >>
Spa F1 Belgian Grand Prix race result
23.08.2015
Formula1  - SHELL Belgian Grand Prix 2015Sunday, August 23rd 2015 full results www.formula1.com  more >>
Pirelli F1 Belgian Grand Prix qualifying
23.08.2015
2015 Belgian Grand Prix – Spa Francorchamps- Hamilton's six consecutive pole positions this season equals Michael Schumacher's benchmark, using P Zero yellow soft- Performance gap of approximately 1,4/1.5 seconds betwe more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Belgian GP qualifying review
23.08.2015
 Belgian Grand Prix 2015Spa-Francorchamps  QUALIFYING  Lewis storms to Spa pole, Nico seals an all silver front row! •    Lewis took his third Belgian Grand Prix pole a more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Belgian GP qualifying review
23.08.2015
Belgian GP Qualifying Qualifying Notes•    Valtteri qualified third and Felipe seventh for tomorrow’s Belgian Grand Prix.•    After making it through the first two sessions comfortabl more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Belgian GP qualifying
23.08.2015
2015 Formula 1 Belgian Grand Prix, Qualifying  Sahara Force India delivered a strong qualifying performance in Spa-Francorchamps today with Sergio Perez setting the fifth fastest time ahead of Nico Hulkenberg in P11. more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Belgian GP qualifying
23.08.2015
BELGIAN GP – QUALIFYING   DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 6*, (3rd Practice – 6, 1:49.930)“It’s pretty cool that everyone is so close and I am pretty happy with the lap. I don’t t more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Belgian GP qualifying
23.08.2015
2015 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 22/08/2015  Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:50.552, pos. 11th, 20 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:49.109, (Q2) 1:49.065, (Q3) 1:49.771 more >>
Lotus F1 Team Belgian Grand Prix qualifying
23.08.2015
 2015 Belgian GP,Spa Francorchamps Saturday 22nd August  Lotus F1 Team enjoyed their best qualifying session of 2015, with Romain Grosjean fourth fastest and Pastor Maldonado eighth at an uncharacteristically hot Spa-Francorch more >>
Sauber F1 Team Belgian GP qualifying
23.08.2015
Shell Belgian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 22.08.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 21-24°C air, 28-41°C trackThe result in qualifying for the Belgian Grand Prix was not as expected for the Sauber F1 Team. Marcus Ericsson made it into Q2 and will start the race from P13, while Felipe Nasr qualified in P16. more >>
Spa F1 Belgian GP Qualifying result
22.08.2015
Formula1 SHELL Belgium Grand-PrixSaturday, August 22nd 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:48.908     1:48.024     1:47.197   & more >>
Pirelli investigation update on Nico Rosberg's right-rear tyre deflation
22.08.2015
2015 Belgian Grand Prix Pirelli confirms no structural integrity issue following a full investigation on Nico Rosberg's right-rear deflation in Free Practice. This issue is consistent with an external cut into the ty more >>
Practice 3 Belgian GP result 2015
22.08.2015
Formula1 SHELL Belgium Grand-PrixSaturday, August 22nd 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:48.98 more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Team Belgian GP practices review
21.08.2015
Belgian Grand Prix 2015Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Friday August 21The stop-start nature of today’s practice sessions, which were affected by a number of red- and yellow-flag interruptions, meant it was difficult to fully more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Spa practices review
21.08.2015
Shell Belgian Grand Prix at  Spa-Francorchamps Friday, August 21st, 2015 Dramatic start to Belgian Grand Prix weekend in Spa •    Nico topped the times in both practice sessions with Lewis more >>
Lotus F1 Team Belgian GP free practices
21.08.2015
 2015 Belgian GP, Friday 21st August  Lotus F1 Team opened their Belgian Grand Prix weekend with a strong top ten time from Romain to underlie the team’s potential after an eventful and challenging first day back on track. more >>
Sauber F1 Team Belgian GP practices review
21.08.2015
Shell Belgian Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 21.08.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 17-24°C air, 22-40°C trackPostive practice sessions ahead of the Belgian Grand Prix for the Sauber F1 Team in terms of pace, finishing more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Belgian GP Practices
21.08.2015
Belgian GP Practice Objectives: aero evaluations, set-up and tyre work. Rob Smedley, Head of Performance Engineering: We have had a decent Friday. We had set ourselves an ambitious programme to complete and although more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Spa Free Practice review
21.08.2015
2015 Formula One Shell Belgian Grand Prix, Free Practice  Sahara Force India returned to action after the summer break with a positive day of practice in Spa-Francorchamps. Nico Hülkenberg  more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Belgian GP practices
21.08.2015
BELGIAN GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE   DANIEL RICCIARDO First Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:51.373, Laps: 18Second Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:50.136, Laps: 15  &ld more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Belgian GP Spa practices
21.08.2015
2015 BELGIAN GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 21/08/2015 Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:52.421, pos. 8th, 26 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:51.037, pos. 12th more >>
SPA F1 practice 2 result
21.08.2015
Belgium Grand Prix in Spa FrancorchampsFriday, August 21st 20151     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:49.385         19 more >>
Spa F1 Free Practice result
21.08.2015
2015 Belgian Grand Prix in Spa FrancorchampsFriday, August 21st 20151     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:51.082         192 & more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright