Sahara Force India F1 Chinese Grand Prix preview

Sahara Force India F1 Chinese Grand Prix preview

11.04.2016: 2016 Formula 1 Pirelli Chinese Grand Prix Sahara Force India looks forward to round

2016 Formula 1 Pirelli Chinese Grand Prix –




Sahara Force India looks forward to round three of the 2016 season in China.
 

Q&A with Vijay Mallya


Team Principal, Vijay Mallya, reflects on the opening couple of races ahead of the Chinese Grand Prix.
 


Vijay, the team was out of luck in Bahrain, but there were some positives…


“Bahrain was a missed opportunity. Two front wing changes in the space of two laps put us on the back foot and prevented us from playing a part in the outcome of the race.



It’s disappointing because we know the car has the speed to be right up there fighting for points. So that’s the positive we must focus on as we prepare for the upcoming races.”
 


What can we expect this weekend in China?

“It feels as though we’ve yet to unleash our true potential this season. Both the races so far have been heavily compromised, either by our own mistakes or outside circumstances, so I’d like to see what we can achieve with a clean, trouble-free race to the flag.


When things go to plan, we know we can compete well inside the top ten and I expect everyone in the team to be pushing hard to reverse our recent fortunes.”
 

Did you enjoy watching the close midfield battle in Bahrain?

“The battle in the middle of the pack is too close to call this season and it means that there’s even more pressure on teams and drivers to deliver, especially in qualifying.


It’s going to be very exciting for the fans and that is what we want to see in Formula One.”
 
 


Nico on China

Nico Hulkenberg aims to realise the potential of the VJM09 this weekend.
 


Nico: “When I think of the race in Shanghai I always remember the impressive towers on the main straight and the cool paddock buildings by the lake. It’s definitely a circuit with a special character and its own personality.


The city of Shanghai is also a cool place to visit and I enjoy trying real Chinese food and exploring such a different culture. I’m always fascinated by big cities and feeling the buzz of the place.
 

“The track is also famous for the never-ending turn one. It’s a tricky corner because it’s easy to go in too hot, especially during qualifying, and it’s a corner that eats your tyres.


In fact, looking after the tyres is always hard work because turn 13 is another long right-hander that takes even more life out of them. The rest of the lap has a bit of everything from low-speed to high-speed, which makes it challenging to find a balanced set-up.
 

“My expectations for this weekend are high and, after the disappointment of Bahrain, I hope we can have a clean race in China. There’s good pace in the car and reaching Q3 in Bahrain was proof of that.


We had to work very hard with the car set-up to find the sweet spot, but we learned a lot of things that will carry over into this weekend.”
 
 

 
Sergio on China
Sergio Perez hopes for a change of fortunes in Shanghai.

 


Sergio: “I’ve always enjoyed going to China. Shanghai is an interesting city to explore and you always get huge support from the fans. They always wait outside our hotel every day just to say hello and give us special gifts.
 

“They did a great job with the track design in Shanghai because there is a good mix of corners. Turn one is what everybody talks about and it’s my favourite part of the lap.


It’s such an unusual corner and you have to judge your speed perfectly because you can lose a lot of time if you don’t attack it enough.




Then, on the back straight, we always see lots of drag races and it’s a question of who will brake latest going into the hairpin.
 

“After two disappointing races I want to get my season started properly in Shanghai. The results in Australia and Bahrain could have been so much better, but things just didn’t work out for me.


That’s part of racing and I know things will turn around soon. It was a similar situation as the start of last year before my luck started to change.


The atmosphere in the team is still upbeat and everybody is pushing to get more performance from the car. We made a good step in Bahrain with the upgrades so we are definitely moving in the right direction.”
 
 
- Sahara Force India  also photos

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/sahara-force-india-f1-chinese-gp-preview---147414.html

11.04.2016 / MaP

More News

Sauber F1 Team Chinese Grand Prix preview
11.04.2016
2016 Formula One Pirelli Chinese Grand PrixShanghai International Circuit3rd Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 15th to 17th April 2016After coming back from the Middle East with a short stop-over at it more >>
Shanghai Circuit turn with Renault Sport F1 and news
10.04.2016
F1 - CHINESE GRAND-PRIX 2016Shanghai International Circuit Circuit notesTurn 1The first corner complex sees the track tighten back on itself, wit more >>
Renault F1 driver quotes ahead of Chinese Grand-Prix
10.04.2016
F1 Chinese Grand Prix 2016Shanghai International Circuit Q&A with Kevin MagnussenGIVE ME A NORMAL RACE“I really want to get those first points on the board.” more >>
Renault Sport F1 Chinese Grand Prix preview
10.04.2016
2016 FORMULA 1 PIRELLI CHINESE GRAND PRIXShanghai International Circuit Cyril AbiteboulIn the first two races we were the first car to finish outside the points. This gives us a clear illustration of our target &nd more >>
Hamilton wins in China with Pirelli soft-soft-medium two stop strategy
12.04.2015
2015 Chinese Grand Prix – Race  Shanghai International Circuit- Lower degradation than expected, especially on soft tyres- two stop strategies for the majority of dirvers, with other variations further down the field more >>
Renault F1 Sport Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
CHINESE GRAND PRIX at Shanghai International Circuit 2015  Today’s Chinese Grand Prix came to a disappointing conclusion with just one Renault-powered car collecting points. Infiniti Red Bull Racing driver Daniel Ricciardo finished in more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
Hard-fought one-two finish for MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS in a tense Chinese Grand Prix, as Lewis Hamilton leads home Nico Rosberg at the Shanghai International Circuit. •    Lewis took his second consecutive more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix   Race Notes•    Felipe Massa finished fifth and Valtteri Bottas sixth in today’s Chinese Grand Prix.•    Valtteri had a good start to overtak more >>
Lotus F1 Team Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
Points of Authority - 2015 Chinese GP, Sunday Lotus F1 Team scored their first points of the season after Romain Grosjean came home in a strong seventh position in the Chinese Grand Prix. It wasn’t so plain sailing for Pastor Maldonado who, more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 12.04.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 21-22°C air, 40-47°C trackStrong result for the Sauber F1 Team in the Chinese Grand Prix on the Shanghai International Circuit. F more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
2015 Formula One Chinese Grand Prix, Race Sahara Force India just missed out on points today with Sergio Perez finishing the Chinese Grand Prix in P11. Teammate Nico Hulkenberg retired on lap 10.  P11  more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
CHINESE GP – RACE  DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: 9th, Start Position: 7th“We got into anti-stall on the start, which hasn’t happened before; we have to look and see what happened. It’ more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX “It feels like we’ve started the season proper” Shanghai International Circuit, Sunday April 12 McLaren-Honda got both cars safely to the finish in today’s Chine more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 12/04/2015   Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)Race: Pos. 14th “It was a very difficult race for us today. We started on Prime tyres, but the track was ver more >>
F1 Chinese Grand Prix Race result
12.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix - Shanghai International CircuitApril 12th, 20151     Lewis Hamilton     GBR     Mercedes     1: more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGShanghai International Circuit, Saturday April 11“Our main priority now is to finish tomorrow’s race”McLaren-Honda will start 17th (Jenson Button) and 18th more >>
Pirelli F1 Chinese GP qualifying
11.04.2015
- Lewis Hamilton claims pole for Mercedes on P Zero Yellow soft tyre- Two stop strategy most likely for majority of drivers, but three-stopper are possible- Mercedes and Ferrari are the only teams in top 10 to have new sets more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS secured a front-row lockout today in qualifying for the 2015 Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix at the Shanghai International Circuit, with Lewis Hamilton taking pole position ahead of Nico Rosberg. • &nbs more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix Qualifying Qualifying Notes•         Felipe Massa qualified fourth and Valtteri Bottas fifth for tomorrow’s Chinese Grand Prix. more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese GP qualifying
11.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 11.04.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 17-19°C air, 37-47°C trackStrong performance by the Sauber F1 Team in qualifying for the Chinese Grand Prix on the Shangh more >>
Lotus F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
Eight Line Poem - 2015 Chinese GP, Saturday Romain Grosjean placed eighth and Pastor Maldonado eleventh in mild and pleasant conditions during qualifying for the Chinese Grand Prix. Pastor suffered from unwanted oversteer on his final more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
CHINESE GP – QUALIFYING  DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 7, 1:38.534 (3rd Practice – P5, 1:39.020)“P7 is what we expected for today. I think we are always trying to find a compromise, us and drivers and more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 11/04/2015   Max Verstappen (STR10-03, Car 33)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:39.274, pos. 9th, 19 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:38.387, (Q2) 1:38.393, more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese GP qualifying
11.04.2015
2015 Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix: Qualifying Today’s qualifying session for the Chinese Grand Prix saw Sergio Perez qualify in P15 just ahead of teammate Nico Hulkenberg in P16.  P1 more >>
MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS to #DriveForGood with Laureus in Shanghai and Beyond
11.04.2015
Laureus branding to feature on F1 W06 Hybrid throughout Chinese Grand Prix weekend, Laureus ambassador Nico Rosberg will #DriveForGood throughout 2015 F1 season  On the eve of the 2015 Laureus World Sports Awards, to be held i more >>
F1 Chinese Grand Prix qualifying result 2015
11.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix  - Shanghai International Circuit - April 11th, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:38.285     1:36.423     more >>
F1 Chinese Grand Prix Free Practice 3 classification
11.04.2015
 Chinese Grand Prix  - Shanghai International Circuit - April 11th, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:37.615         & more >>
Pirelli F1 Chinese GP Practice sessions review
10.04.2015
- Exemplary durability from Pirelli P Zero White Medium and P Zero Yellow Soft tyres: nearly no graining despite cool temperatures- Performance gap of approximately 1.6-1.7 seconds between the two compounds in Shanghai- A more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
Battle resumes at the Shanghai International Circuit as MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS top the times on the opening day in China •    Lewis topped the times in both sessions, with Nico finishing the morning in P2 and the a more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix Practice Objectives: Set-up work, aero evaluations and tyre work Rob Smedley, Head of Performance Engineering: We completed the majority of our plan today, unfortunately w more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese GP Free Practices review
10.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 10.04.2015Weather: sunny/overcast and dry, 14-17°C air, 26-41°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team enjoyed a positive first practice day leading up to the Chinese Grand Prix more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP practices review
10.04.2015
“There’s been progress today – hashtag progress!”Shanghai International Circuit, Friday April 10McLaren-Honda enjoyed a positive first day of practice in Shanghai – both cars regularly ran in more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
2015 Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix: Free Practice  Sahara Force India started its Chinese Grand Prix weekend with two busy practice sessions in Shanghai.  Nico Hülkenberg   & more >>
Lotus F1 Team Chinese GP Practices review
10.04.2015
Lotus F1 Team enjoyed a strong first day of running at the Shanghai International Circuit with team Third and Reserve Driver Jolyon Palmer running for the first time in a Grand Prix practice session. Jolyon ran in Romain’s car in the morning with more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
CHINESE GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE   DANIEL RICCIARDO First Practice Session: Position: 6, Best Time: 1:41.029, Laps: 21Second Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:38.311, Laps: 24 laps more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
 2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 10/04/2015  Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:41.112, pos. 8th, 23 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:39.971, pos. 15th more >>
Chinese GP F1 Free Practice 2 result 2015
10.04.2015
Formula 1 China Grand Prix 2015 Shanghai International Circuit   April 10, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     01:37.219     more >>
Chinese GP F1 Free Practice 1 result 2015
10.04.2015
Formula 1 China Grand Prix 2015 Shanghai International Circuit   April 10, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:39.033         more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 partners with HISENSE
09.04.2015
Infiniti Red Bull Racing is pleased to announce today a multi-year partnership with Hisense, China’s leading electronics manufacturer.  Hisense has become an Official Supplier to the Team, enabling the company to showcase its technology and raise global brand aware more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright