Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand Prix preview

Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand Prix preview

30.08.2016: 2016 Formula One Italian Grand Prix Vijay Mallya on Monza Team Principal, Vijay Mallya, celebrates the

2016 Formula One Italian Grand Prix
 





Vijay Mallya on Monza


Team Principal, Vijay Mallya, celebrates the strong showing in Spa and targets more points in Monza.
 

Vijay, one of the best results in the team’s history in Belgium – you must be pleased?



VJM: “Spa has always been a special place for us – we scored our very first points and podium there in 2009, and this year’s race didn’t disappoint us either. We were strong from the first practice session through to Sunday afternoon thanks to an excellent all-round team performance.


We could have been on the podium had some circumstances played out differently, but when you earn 22 points in one race weekend there is no reason to complain at all.”
 



The team has scored 89 points since Monaco and is sitting in fourth in the constructors’ championship. What next for Sahara Force India this season?



VJM: “We need to keep working hard because every race between now and the end of the year will be crucial. To be fourth in the championship is a fantastic feeling for the team, but it will mean nothing unless we are in this position after Abu Dhabi.


The battle in the midfield is getting closer: the gaps are getting smaller and the margins of error disappearing. We know some tracks will work really well for us and we will keep pushing hard all the way.”
 


We now get to the final European race of the season – in Monza’s Temple of Speed…



VJM: “The Italian Grand Prix is one of the best races of the season. It has all the ingredients that make Formula One special. We saw a huge turnout of fans in Belgium last week and I’m sure the tifosi will help create a fantastic atmosphere this weekend too.


Monza is a track that rewards top speed and pushes the engine to its limit. Given our competitive form in Spa, I’m confident we can keep up the momentum this weekend.”
 

 


Nico on Monza


Nico Hulkenberg gets ready for magical Monza following his season-best result in Spa.
 


Nico:
“Monza is a great place to go racing. There are so many different destinations on the calendar and there is something special about each one of them, but Monza is legendary.


It’s a unique track, with very high speeds and low downforce. The setting in the park of Monza is beautiful: the moment you drive through the gates, you feel all the history of the place coming at you. The tifosi, the Italian fans, add to this combination and create a fantastic vibe.
 

“Monza is just on the outskirts of Milan, which is a very interesting place, but during a race weekend you’re just too busy to go and explore.


The parties on Sunday night are not too bad, though! We go to Italy at the end of the summer and the weather is usually still quite hot. Great weather, great fans, great food – it all adds up to make a very cool race.


“Few tracks push the car to the limit as Monza does. There is no margin for error in the braking zones and every mistake costs you time. In terms of set-up, you need to strike a balance between high speed on the straights and downforce in the corners, but the focus is firmly on top speed.


You also need good traction, to make the most of the long straights. We have been doing well on these sort of tracks, so I expect us to be competitive and fighting for points.”
 





Sergio on Monza

Sergio Perez looks forward to the high-speed challenge of Monza.
 


Sergio
: “After a month off on holiday, Spa was the best way to get back into action. We had a very positive weekend, an exciting race and we’re now fourth in the championship!
 

“Italy is one of my favourite places: the people are very warm and welcoming, and they’re absolutely crazy for Formula One. The passion you see from the Italian fans reminds me of the atmosphere we saw in Mexico.


There’s so much support; everyone is chanting and waving flags and there are so many people asking us for a photo when we arrive at or leave the track.
 

“I have great memories from Monza and it’s where I’ve had some of my best races. When I was racing in F3, I had the best weekend of my career there: I started 14th in both races and went on to win both.


I scored a podium there in Formula One and I’ve always had a special relationship with the track. It’s not just what happens at the venue – I have a lot of good friends living nearby and it’s just a very enjoyable experience.
 

“As a fan of our sport, I know Monza has a special place in the history of Formula One. It’s one of the circuits where Formula One should always race.


It’s so incredibly fast and the key to a quick lap is to be good under braking and have good traction out of the corners. You brake really hard at the end of the straights and the car moves a lot: you run with very little wing and having a good balance is very important.
 

“You feel the lightness of the car in every corner because you’ve got so little aero load and it’s even hard to keep the steering wheel level on the straights.


The two Lesmo corners are crucial: you need to be stable under braking and control your traction – get wheelspin out of the corner and you’ll destroy your tyres.


Then you have the Parabolica: it lost a little of its challenge with the tarmac run-off but you still need to be very precise and use the very last inch of track in this interesting corner.”
 
 


 
- Sahara Force India F1 also photos

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/sahara-force-india-f1-italian-gp-preview---154301.html

30.08.2016 / MaP

More News

McLaren Honda F1 management and driver quotes ahead of Italian GP
30.08.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix - MonzaFormula 1  Round 14/21 02-04 September 2016 The drivers on: the event #14 Fernando Alonso “Obviously, I have plenty of happy memories of racing in more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Italian Grand Prix preview
30.08.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix - MonzaFormula 1  Round 14/21 02-04 September 2016 Circuit stats2015 winner Lewis Hamilton, 53 laps, 1:18:00.688s2015 pole position Lewis Hamilton, 1m23.397s2015 fastest lap Lewis H more >>
Italian GP - Autodromo Nazionale Monza stats and facts
30.08.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix - MonzaFormula 1  Round 14/21 02-04 September 2016 •    Total number of race laps: 53   •    Complete race distance: 306.720 kilometers (190.587 more >>
Esteban Gutierrez Haas F1 driver quotes ahead of Italian Grand-Prix
30.08.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix - MonzaFormula 1  Round 14/21 02-04 September 2016   Ferrari and Dallara are two Italian companies that are technical partners of Haas F1 Team. How has their collective insight helped make Haas F1 Te more >>
Romain Grosjean Haas F1 driver quotes ahead of Italian Grand Prix
30.08.2016
2016 Italian Grand Prix - MonzaFormula 1  Round 14/21 02-04 September 2016 Ferrari and Dallara are two Italian companies that are technical partners of Haas F1 Team. How has their collective insight helped make Haas more >>
Haas F1 Teamís Italian Lineage on Display at Italian Grand Prix
30.08.2016
When Haas F1 Team debuted in the 2016 FIA Formula One World Championship to become the first American Formula One team in 30 years, it did so with help from two Italian partners – Scuderia Ferrari and Dallara. It’s a collaboration that continues as Formula One comes more >>
Pirelli Italian Grand Prix preview
30.08.2016
PIRELLI ITALIAN GRAND PRIX PREVIEWRound 14 of 21Monza, Italy, 2-4 September 2016It’s finally here: Pirelli’s home race at the fastest grand prix circuit of them all, making Monza the undisputed ‘temple of speed’. more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand Prix preview
30.08.2016
Formula1 - Italian Grand Prix 2016Autodromo MonzaCarlos SAINZ Jun. “Monza is another home Grand Prix for me, as it's the land of my Italian team, Toro Rosso. It's a very special track and full of tifosi. more >>
Weather outlook for F1 in Italy, Monza
30.08.2016
Formula 1 in Italian Grand-Prix 2016, Monza UBIMET: A lot of sun throughout the week with an increasing chance of rain on SundayItaly to host the fourteenth Formula 1 race of the season t more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian GP review
06.09.2015
Bittersweet Italian Grand Prix sees Lewis victorious as Nico retires •    Lewis took his third Italian Grand Prix victory and seventh of the season •    The result marks his 40th career win on his 160 more >>
Lewis Hamilton remain winner of Italian Grand Prix 2015
06.09.2015
Formula One racing's governing body the FIA have confirmed that no further action will be taken with regards to Mercedes' potentially breaching the minimum starting tyre pressures at Monza.As a result, Lewis Hamilton is set to remain victor of th more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
06.09.2015
Italian GP Race •         Felipe claimed his second podium of the season in front of a cheering Italian crowd in Monza today.•         Valtteri fi more >>
Pirelli F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
06.09.2015
- One-Stop strategy for Hamilton delivers victory at the high-speed Monza Circuit- The top 10 all stop only once, with soft-medium strategyMercedes driver Lewis Hamilton has extended his championship lead by more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
06.09.2015
2015 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 06/09/2015 Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)Race: 11th  “I’m pretty happy with today’s race, especially with our pace. We were quick, and towards the end of the more >>
Sauber F1 Team Italian Grand Prix race review
06.09.2015
Italian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 06.09.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 22-24°C air, 38-40°C trackThe European season came to a positive end for the Sauber F1 Team – being able to fight for points and fini more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Italian Grand Prix race
06.09.2015
2015 ITALIAN GRAND PRIXAutodromo Nazionale di Monza, Sunday September 6 As expected, that was a tough afternoon for McLaren-Honda. Both drivers made strong starts – Jenson Button jumped five cars on the firs more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
06.09.2015
Formula 1 Gran Premio D'Italia 2015, Race Sahara Force India scored 14 points in today’s Italian Grand Prix as Sergio Perez raced to sixth place ahead of Nico Hulkenberg in seventh. The result moves the team back up to fifth place more >>
Renault Sport F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
06.09.2015
ITALIAN GRAND PRIX RACE   Daniel Ricciardo and Daniil Kvyat gave Infiniti Red Bull Racing a double points’ finish in today’s Italian Grand Prix. Despite starting from close to the rear of the grid, the duo fought thro more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Italian Grand Prix race review
06.09.2015
ITALIAN GP – RACE 6 September 2015  DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: 8th, Start Position: 19th“It was a great result for the team considering where we started and the characteristics more >>
Lotus F1 Team Italian Grand Prix race review
06.09.2015
Bitter Pill - 2015 Italian GP, Sunday Lotus F1 Team crashed down to earth with incidents on the first lap of the Italian Grand Prix leading to a double retirement. Both cars started in the top ten but damage to each car in separate in more >>
Monza F1 Italian Grand Prix race result
06.09.2015
Italian Grand Prix at Monza AutodromoSunday, September 6th, 20151     Lewis Hamilton     GBR     Mercedes     1:18:00.6882     Sebastian Vettel   more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Italian GP qualifying review
05.09.2015
2015 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX - QUALIFYING     “It'll be tough to make progress tomorrow”        Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Saturday September 5  Jenson Button and more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian GP qualifying
05.09.2015
Lewis clinches pole after intense qualifying battle at Monza, Nico to start fourth •    Lewis claimed his fourth Italian Grand Prix pole, the 49th of his Formula One career overall •    Nico qualif more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Italian GP qualifying review
05.09.2015
ITALIAN GP – QUALIFYING  DANIIL KVYAT, Position: 14*, (3rd Practice – 17, 1:28.591) “I am not sure where we’re going to start from for the race, we’ll see once all the penalties are applied. We need a good ra more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Italian GP qualifying review
05.09.2015
2015 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 05/09/2015  Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:28.628, pos. 18th, 23 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:25.410, (Q2) 1:25.618, pos. 13th * more >>
Sauber F1 Team Italian GP qualifying review
05.09.2015
Italian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 05.09.2015Weather: FP3: overcast/sunny and damp/dry, 16-19°C air, 19-27°C track; Qualifying: sunny and dry, 21-24°C air, 34-37°C trackA sat more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian GP qualifying
05.09.2015
Italian GP Qualifying Monza AutodromoSaturday, September 5th, 2015 Qualifying Notes•    Felipe qualified fifth and Valtteri sixth for tomorrow’s Italian Grand Prix.• &nb more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian GP qualifying review
05.09.2015
Formula 1 Gran Premio D'Italia 2015, Qualifying  Qualifying for the Italian Grand Prix in Monza saw both Sahara Force India cars progress to Q3, with Sergio Perez setting the seventh fastest time ahead of Nico Hulkenberg in n more >>
Pirelli F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying review
05.09.2015
2015 Italian Grand Prix Monza Qualifying- Lewis Hamilton claims pole again at Monza using Pirelli P Zero Yellow soft compound- One stop strategy expected for the majority of teams, but two stops also possible- After more >>
Lotus F1 Team Italian GP qualifying
05.09.2015
2015 Italian GP, Saturday 5th September  Romain Grosjean has qualified eighth and Pastor Maldonado eleventh for tomorrow’s Italian Grand Prix. After a damp start to the day, the skies cleared and temperatures rose for today more >>
F1 Italian Grand Prix qualifying result
05.09.2015
F1 Italian Grand Prix at Monza AutodromoSaturday, September 5th, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:23.397     152 & more >>
Monza F1 Free Practice 3 classification
05.09.2015
F1 Italian Grand Prix at Monza AutodromoSaturday, September 5th, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:24.544         18 more >>
McLaren Honda Italian GP Free practices review
05.09.2015
2015 ITALIAN GRAND PRIX - FREE PRACTICE Autodromo di Monza, Friday September 4  A difficult pair of free practice sessions for the team today. Jenson was sidelined for the majority of the afternoon after his car suffe more >>
Weather forecast for Italian Grand Prix 2015
04.09.2015
Sunday Lives up to Its Name -  Race Completed without a Drop of Rain•  High risk of rain and thunderstorm on the free practice and qualifying days•  Summery temperatures guaranteed•  Intermittently sunny and dry on the day of the raceEvery year, the race in Italy represents major chal more >>
Pirelli F1 Italian Grand Prix Practice sessions review
04.09.2015
2015 Italian Grand Prix- Monza – Practice Sessions- Mercedes drivers set the pace in borth free practice sessions, using Pirelli PZero medium and soft- Current performace gap of approximately 1.2 seconds betweeen the two com more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Italian GP Free practices
04.09.2015
Double top for the Silver Arrows on opening day in Monza! •    Lewis topped the times in both practice sessions with Nico finishing second in each •    Both F1 W06 Hybrids ran new Power Units t more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Italian GP practices review
04.09.2015
Formula 1 Gran Premio D'Italia 2015, Free Practice  Sahara Force India enjoyed an encouraging first day of practice at Monza, Formula 1’s temple of speed, with both drivers completing each session in the top five.  more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Italian GP free practices
04.09.2015
Italian GP Practice Objectives: aero evaluations, set-up and tyre work. Rob Smedley, Head of Performance Engineering: Today we focused on testing our specific Monza package which all seems to be working very wel more >>
Lotus F1 Team Italian GP Free Practices review
04.09.2015
Back in Business - 2015 Italian GP, Friday Lotus F1 Team opened the Italian Grand Prix weekend with strong top-ten times from Romain and Pastor at the Autodromo di Monza. Romain went seventh fastest in the afternoon FP2 sess more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright