Sahara Force India F1 Silverstone preview

Sahara Force India F1 Silverstone preview

30.06.2014: 2014 Formula 1 Santander British Grand Prix Vijay’s Vision Vijay Mallya sums up the mood following Austria

2014 Formula 1 Santander British Grand Prix


 

Vijay’s Vision


Vijay Mallya sums up the mood following Austria and gets set for the team’s local race.



How pleased were you with the team’s performance in Austria?


“It was a very good boost, especially for Checo, after what happened in Montreal. He got the fastest lap too, which I think says a lot. It was important to get both cars in the points to hold onto our fourth place in the championship, although I think we could have done a bit better with Nico.”
 


How pleased are you with the drivers’ performance over the first half of the season?


“I have a great respect for Checo and his talent. He's a gutsy guy, he loves his racing, and irrespective of who is in front or behind he keeps his cool and displays a lot of maturity, which is great. The way he passed Magnussen in Austria was impressive. He's a talented young lad and I'm happy to have him in the team.


Nico's class is well recognised in the paddock and he’s scored points in every race this year. I expect him to shine in the second half of the season too.”
 


Do you think the car will be suited to Silverstone?


“We have to get out of this mindset of saying we are good on this track and not so good on another track. We need to be competitive on all tracks, which has been the case so far this year. Silverstone is special for us; we regard it as our home track. We'll pull out all the stops and put on a good performance.”



 
Driver's View: Nico Hulkenberg

Nico Hulkenberg aims to extend his points run with another strong showing at Silverstone
.



Nico, how would you sum up the race in Austria?


“We probably did not show our true potential. We were struggling with the car balance and I think that had an impact on the tyres. It’s still good to come away with points, but I think there is more to come when I get on top of the issues we had in Austria.”
 


Silverstone is the team’s home. How much do you enjoy this event?


“It’s definitely one of my favourite races. We had a full house at the last race in Austria and I expect the same at Silverstone. The fans are great and it’s a race with so much history. Because it’s the home of the team, I can spend a lot of time at the factory seeing the faces that I don’t get to see that often. There’s always a good feeling about the whole week.”
 

Tell us about the track and how you think you will fare on the harder tyre compounds?


“All of the drivers enjoy the quick parts of the lap and you have to be committed. When you hook up all the corners in one lap it’s a great feeling. It’s difficult to know how the harder compounds will impact us, but I hope I can continue my run of points.”

 


Driver's View: Sergio Perez

Sergio Perez looks back on his strong performance in Austria and ahead to Silverstone.

 


Sergio, you had a superb drive to sixth in Austria. How would you sum it up?


“It was a very strong race for us and an important result. I think we had the pace to fight for a podium, but allowing for the circumstances I think we did a good job. Considering where we started, I think we took the maximum out of the race. The good start was especially important because I was running the first stint on the prime tyre. That set me up for a strong afternoon.”
 


You’ve starred in the last two races and raced up at the front – clearly the team’s approach is working well…


“The approach we take is to think about how we can be competitive over a 70 lap race. In the last few events I've done really well, apart from Monaco, where we didn't have the opportunity. We're getting there, but it's just unfortunate that we've been unlucky.


In Montreal, for example, we were close to winning the race. I’m sure we can get some good results in the second half of the season.”
 

What are your expectations for Silverstone?


“I think Silverstone will be a bit more of a challenge compared to the last few races, but I am sure we can still do a good job. It’s a track I enjoy and I usually go well there. We have been performing solidly on every track so far and I see no reason we can't put in a similar performance this weekend. It's also the team's local race so this adds an extra motivation for us to do well.”
 


- Sahara Force India F1 - also photo

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/sahara-force-india-f1-silverstone-preview-british-gp---125084.html

30.06.2014 / MaP

More News

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Silverstone 2014 Anniversaries
28.06.2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Silverstone 2014  Anniversaries  Mercedes-Benz Heritage  29 June 1989 - 25 Years Ago: Mercedes-Benz AG is established as part of the restructuring of the Daimler-Benz Group. Prof. Werner Niefer is made Chairman of the Board of Management. Under the umbrella of Daiml more >>
Silverstone: The Inside Line
28.06.2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 - British Grand Prix 2014Lewis Hamilton: Silverstone is a track that really suits my style. It's a seriously fast circuit and making sure you have a stable car through the high-speed corners is cru more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 British GP preview
28.06.2014
F1 - British Grand Prix 2014Round Nine of the 2014 Formula One World Championship brings us to Silverstone for the British Grand Prix, held at the Silverstone Circuit.   more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Silverstone preview
28.06.2014
F1 British Grand-Prix 2014  at Silverstone circuit Sebastian Vettel:I always like going to Silverstone, the track is incredible to drive and the British crowd that turns out to watch the weekend is always massiv more >>
Lotus celebrates Formula 1 provenance with limited edition ‘Exige LF1’
28.06.2014
Fuelled by the excitement and anticipation of the 2014 Formula 1 season, Lotus gives its Exige S range a shot of race adrenaline with the Exige LF1 limited edition.This summer 81 Lotus Exige S cars will receive a Lotus F1 Team inspired more >>
Lotus F1 Team drivers Silverstone preview
28.06.2014
BRITISH Grand Prix 4/5/6 JULY 2014 SILVERSTONEROMAIN GROSJEAN RACE DRIVER #8 more >>
Pirelli Tyre failures to be closely examined, new bonding process not at fault
30.06.2013
2013 British Grand Prix – RaceNico Rosberg has given Mercedes its first victory in the British Grand Prix since 1955 with first place at Silverstone.The were a number of rear-left tyre failures during more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing secures podium in dramatic Silverstone F1 race
30.06.2013
British Grand-Prix 2013 Silverstone•    Mark Webber takes second position, less than one second from race winner, Nico Rosberg•    Fifth consecutive year the Renault-powered Red Bull more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Silverstone race
30.06.2013
BRITISH GP – RACE Car 2 MARK WEBBER, Finish Position: 2nd, Start Position: 4th“What a day! I don’t think any of us expected it to unfold like this. The start was pretty bad, we have to look into that as we had had more >>
Lotus F1 Team Silverstone race review
30.06.2013
Kimi Räikkönen set a new record for consecutive Grand Prix points placings [25] by taking fifth position in an eventful British Grand Prix at Silverstone today. The Finn ran as high as second place in a race punctuated by safety car periods and characterised b more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Silverstone race
30.06.2013
2013 Formula 1 Santander British Grand Prix, RaceSahara Force India picked up eight world championship points as Adrian Sutil and Paul Di Resta delivered strong race performances to finish in seventh and ninth places respectively in today’s British Grand Prix.  more >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Silverstone race
30.06.2013
2013 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIXSilverstone, Sunday June 30“We were very unlucky today”JENSON BUTTONMP4-28A-03Started         &n more >>
Sauber F1 Team Silverstone race review
30.06.2013
 Santander British Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 30.06.2013Weather: sunny, 21-22°C air, 31-34°C trackThe result of the British Grand Prix in Silverstone was influenced by a series of tyre problems, which more >>
Caterham F1 Team Silverstone race
30.06.2013
2013 BRITISH GRAND PRIX   Silverstone, UK - 28th June 2013  WeatherRace: Sunny, windy, air temp 21° / track temp 32° (start), 21° / 31° (lap 26), 22° / 34° (lap x) more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 with Nico Rosberg victory in Silverstone
30.06.2013
British Grand Prix 2013  Race Silverstone 30.6.2013 Nico Rosberg won an eventful British Grand Prix with Lewis Hamilton finishing in fourth place after a battling drive. • &n more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Silverstone race review
30.06.2013
2013 BRITISH GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 30/06/2013  Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-04)RacePosition: 8th“That was a chaotic race, but for most of it I was in a reasonably strong position. more >>
Silverstone F1 Race classification 2013
30.06.2013
FORMULA 1 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIXProvisional Results1     9     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     52     Winner     2     more >>
Hamilton sets fastest ever lap on new Silverstone on Pirelli P Zero white
29.06.2013
2013 British Grand Prix – Qualifyingphoto caption:  Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) on pole for the 2013 British Grand Prix.Local hero Lewis Hamilton has claimed pole position at his home more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Silverstone qualifying - Pole
29.06.2013
QUALIFYING  Lewis Hamilton took pole position for the British Grand Prix with a stunning lap at Silverstone this afternoon. •    Lewis achieved the team's fifth pole posi more >>
Lotus F1 Team Silverstone qualifying 2013
29.06.2013
Romain Grosjean will start from eighth on the grid and Kimi Räikkönen right behind him in ninth after today’s qualifying for the British Grand Prix at Silverstone.After a promising Q1 session where the cars finished P3 and P4 more >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Silverstone qualifying review
29.06.2013
2013 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGSilverstone, Saturday June 29“I will drive my heart out tomorrow.”JENSON BUTTONMP4-28A-03FP312th  &nbs more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Silverstone qualifying review
29.06.2013
 Formula 1 Santander British Grand Prix, Qualifying 2013 Sahara Force India delivered a strong showing at its local track as Paul Di Resta qualified in fifth place for the British Grand Prix with Adrian Sutil in seventh.  more >>
Sauber F1 Team Silverstone qualifying
29.06.2013
Santander British Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 29.06.2013Weather: partly cloudy 16-18°C air, 19-30°C trackQualifying for the British Grand Prix was disappointing for Sauber F1 Team drivers Nic more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Silverstone qualifying review
29.06.2013
2013 BRITISH GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 29/06/2013  Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-04)Third Practice Session Best lap: 1:32.440, pos. 6th, 19 lapsQualifyingBest lap: (Q1) 1:32.097, (Q2) 1:31.182, (Q more >>
Silverstone F1 qualifying result 2013
29.06.2013
FORMULA 1 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX Silverstone 29.6.20131     10     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:30.995    1:31.224    1:29.607 &nb more >>
Silverstone F1 Practice 3 results
29.06.2013
FORMULA 1 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX 2013 at SilverstoneSaturday June 29th, 2013     1     9     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:31.487 more >>
Teams test Pirelli prototype hard tyre after rain at Silverstone
28.06.2013
2013 British Grand Prix – Practice Sessionsphoto caption: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) sets fastest time in FP2 on Friday in Silverstone on Pirelli medium tyres.After a wet start to the day, the drivers eventually got the ch more >>
Lotus F1 Team Silverstone practices review
28.06.2013
British Grand Prix 2013Free Practice 1 & 2        Kimi Raikkönen: Wanted man#GodSaveOurTyres By lotus_F1team: “Last year it was Michael, now it’s Mark... don’t worry, more >>
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Silverstone practices review
28.06.2013
2013 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX – FREE PRACTICE“A difficult day, but a step forward”Silverstone, Friday June 28JENSON BUTTONMP4-28A-03FP1        more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Silverstone practices review
28.06.2013
BRITISH GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE  CAR 1, SEBASTIAN VETTEL  First Practice Session: Position: -, Best Time: No time, Laps: 4Second Practice Session: Position: 3, Best Time: 1:32.680, Laps: 31 more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Silverstone practice review
28.06.2013
2013 Formula 1 Santander British Grand Prix, Free Practice  A damp day at Silverstone saw limited practice running this morning for the Sahara Force India drivers. Conditions improved for the afternoon session as Paul Di Resta set the fourth fastest time, with Adrian Sutil in eighth place.  more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Silverstone practices review
28.06.2013
BRITISH Grand Prix 2013 Silverstone Friday Practices Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton finished the first day of the British Grand Prix weekend in first and fifth places today. •    Ni more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Silverstone practices
28.06.2013
2013 BRITISH GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 28/06/2013  Daniel Ricciardo (STR8-04)First Practice Session Best lap: 1:54.249, pos. 1st, 10 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:33.171, pos. 6th, 34 laps more >>
Sauber F1 Team Silverstone practices review
28.06.2013
Santander British Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 28.06.2013Weather: rain, then dry 17-21°C air, 16-20°C trackAs expected Silverstone lived up to expectations with bad weather and welcomed the more >>
Caterham F1 Team Friday practices review
28.06.2013
BRITISH GRAND PRIX FP1 & FP2Silverstone, UK - 28th June 2013  Caterham F1 Team Partner InformationDell has been ranked in the top five of Newsweek’s Greenest Companies in America for the past three years more >>
Silverstone F1 Practice 2 results
28.06.2013
SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX1     9     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:32.248         332     2 more >>
Silverstone F1 Free Practice 1 results
28.06.2013
SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX 2013 Weather: standing water overall on the track1     19     Daniel Ricciardo     STR-Ferrari     1:54.249       &nbs more >>
Vettel explores the future of Formula One and road car technology ahead of British GP
27.06.2013
•    Ahead of the British Grand Prix, Vettel and Infiniti Red Bull Racing engineer visit Infiniti’s European Technology Center in the UK to discuss future power train and hybrid technologies•    Vettel tests the world’s fastest production hybrid vehicle on dyno and provides performance driving input& more >>
Felipe Massa gets drivers "pit stop ready" at Shell Towcester
27.06.2013
On his way to the Silverstone Circuit, Northamptonshire, Massa joined forces with the Shell Towcester forecourt attendants to deliver a ‘pit stop’ service to Shell customers and share tips on performance driving. more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright