Sauber F1 Australian Grand-Prix preview

Sauber F1 Australian Grand-Prix preview

17.03.2017: Preview 2017 Formula One Rolex Australian Grand Prix 1st Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship

Preview – 2017 Formula One Rolex Australian Grand Prix
1st Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship
 24th to 26th March 2017







“25 years in Formula One” – the Sauber F1 Team is ready to start into the first race weekend of it’s remarkable and historic anniversary year.



This 2017 edition of the grand prix race in Melbourne on the circuit at Albert Park is not only the traditional season opener, it is also the first race for the new, faster and wider Formula One cars with the broader tyres.



After intensive pre-season testing with the Sauber C36-Ferrari in Barcelona with more than 3600 kilometers completed, the Swiss team feels well-prepared for the race ‘down under’.




Marcus Ericsson (car number 9):


“I like Melbourne a lot as it is a fantastic place. The fans and the atmosphere there are just great – I always enjoy being downtown in Melbourne and on the circuit at Albert Park. I can’t wait to finally kick off the 2017 Formula One season in Australia.



After challenging pre-season testing with a lot of data collection and preparation, I am going to Melbourne with a positive mindset. Now we have to see how things work out during the first race weekend with the new car.



The Albert Park circuit is a bit tricky with a mix of permanent race track and a street circuit. In general I think it is going to be a challenge to find the right set-up, but I am confident we will get this done.”





Pascal Wehrlein (car number 94):


“The Australian Grand Prix will be very special for me and also for the Sauber F1 Team. It is the beginning of my new role as a Formula One race driver in the Swiss team, and I am sure when those five lights go out it will be a unique moment on the race day.



During the second week of pre-season testing I had productive days, where I was able to get quite familiar with the Sauber C36-Ferrari procedures.


 After intense physical preparations in the last few weeks I am excited about going to Melbourne, and I feel ready and well-prepared for the challenging season opener. It looks promising at the moment for me, but we never know until we get to Melbourne. I have full trust in our teamwork.”




Track facts:


The Albert Park is a rather special venue and not a permanent race track, thus the surface will be improving throughout the weekend, weather permitting.



It’s abrasiveness is usually expected as quite moderate so Pirelli has allocated the soft, supersoft and ultrasoft compounds for the race weekend. When it comes to set-up for the new C36, braking stability and traction from low speed as well as sharp changes of direction will be important factors.



Circuit    Albert Park / 5.303 km

Race distance    58 laps / 307.574 km

Schedule    Qualifying 17:00 hrs local time (7:00 CET), Race 16:00 hrs local time (6:00 hrs CET)
 






Tyre choices:



Driver    Marcus Ericsson     Pascal Wehrlein

Soft    2    2
Supersoft    4    4
Ultrasoft    7    7
 




Driver information:


    Marcus Ericsson     Pascal Wehrlein



Born    02.09.1990 / Kumla (SE)    18.10.1994 / Sigmaringen (DE)
Marital status    Single    Single
Height / Weight    1,80 m / 70 kg    1,75 m / 63 kg

First GP    Australia 2014    Australia 2016
GP started    56    21
Best race result    8th Australia (2015)    10th Austria (2016)
Best qualifying    10th Malaysia (2015),
10th China (2015),10th Italy (2015)    12th Austria (2016)
Points 2016    –    –
Points in total    9    1
 

- Sauber Team also photos

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/sauber-f1-australian-gp-preview---161958.html

17.03.2017 / MaP

More News

F1 Australian GP - The point by Gian Carlo Minardi
21.03.2016
This season started with a bang, literally. The accident of Fernando Alonso with Gutierrez changed the circumstances in the Grand Prix, frustrating the amazing start made by Ferrari, which has optimized the new system. Then, the red flag changed the strategi more >>
HAAS F1 Team Australian GP race review
20.03.2016
Event: Australian Grand PrixDate: Sunday, March 20Location: Albert Park Circuit in Melbourne, AustraliaLayout: 5.303-kilometer (3.295-mile), 16-turn circuitWeather:  Sunny, 21 degrees Celsius (70 degrees Fahrenheit) more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Australian GP race review
20.03.2016
2016 Australian Grand Prix - Sunday  Nico and Lewis clinch memorable 1-2 after a thrilling race in Melbourne •    Nico took his 15th career victory today - his second at the Melbourne Grand Prix Cicuit more >>
Nico Rosberg win first race of new tyre regulations in Melbourne
20.03.2016
2016 Australian Grand Prix – Race- Top six drivers use five different strategies- Eight drivers use all three compounds availableMercedes driver Nico Rosberg won the first race of the new 2016 more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Australian GP race review
20.03.2016
Australian Grand Prix •    Felipe Massa finished fifth and Valtteri Bottas eighth in the Australian Grand Prix. •    After starting P16 due to a grid penalty for a gearbox ch more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Australian GP race review
20.03.2016
2016 Formula One Rolex Australian Grand Prix Race  Sahara Force India scored six points in today’s season-opening Australian Grand Prix with Nico Hulkenberg coming home in seventh place ahead of Sergio Perez in P13.  more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Australian GP race review
20.03.2016
2016 AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 20/03/2016Carlos Sainz (STR11-02, Car 55)Race: Pos. 9th “I’m not entirely happy with today’s result because I think we could’ve scored more p more >>
Renault Sport F1 Australian GP race review
20.03.2016
2016 Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix, Sunday  Renault Sport Formula One Team began its Formula 1 journey with a solid debut at Albert Park, as Jolyon Palmer led Kevin Magnussen across the line to finish just shy of the points more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Australian GP race review
20.03.2016
2016 Australian Grand Prix  “I got out quickly so my mum could see I was okay!”Albert Park Circuit, Sunday March 20Today’s race was overshadowed by Fernando’s accident with Esteban Gut more >>
Sauber F1 Team Australian GP race
20.03.2016
Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 20.03.2016Weather: dry and sunny/overcast, 22-25°C air, 27-38°C trackIt was a disappointing season opener for the Sauber F1 Team a more >>
Australian GP F1 race result
20.03.2016
F1 Australian Grand Prix 2016Albert Park CircuitSunday, March 20th 20161     Nico Rosberg     GER     Mercedes     1:48:15.565     252   & more >>
Big crash Alonso-Gutierrez in Australian GP
20.03.2016
Australian Grand-Prix 2016 Sunday, March 20th 2016   In the first laps at Albert Park Circuit, a big crash between Fernando Alonso, Honda McLaren driver and Gutierrez, Haas F1 happened. Alonso in a complete destroyed McLaren is safe and well! Short interruption for the race after 10 minutes in the F1 race.   more >>
F1 Australian GP: The point on qualifying from Gian Carlo Minardi
20.03.2016
Nothing seems changed. Everything looks like in November 2015, with the two Mercedes ahead of everyone. I get the impression that they haven’t even revealed all their cards. Once again, Hamilton has been great managing to run just more >>
Pirelli F1 Australian Grand Prix Qualifying review
19.03.2016
F1 Australian Grand-Prix at Albert Park CircuitSaturday, March 19th  2016- New era of qualifying in Melbourne: pole time 2.5 seconds faster than 2015- Race strategy difficult to predict following limited slick runni more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Australian GP qualifying
19.03.2016
2016 Australian Grand Prix - Saturday  Silver Arrows star in Melbourne on landmark day for Lewis •    Lewis today claimed his 50th career pole position - his fifth at the Melbourne Grand Prix circ more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Australian GP qualifying review
19.03.2016
2016 Formula One Rolex Australian Grand Prix: Qualifying  Sahara Force India secured top ten starting positions for tomorrow’s Australian Grand Prix with Sergio Perez qualifying in ninth place ahead of Nico Hulkenberg more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Australian GP qualifying
19.03.2016
Australian GP Qualifying Qualifying Notes•    Felipe Massa qualified sixth and Valtteri Bottas 11th for the Australian Grand Prix.•    In the new qualifying system, both d more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Australian GP qualifying review
19.03.2016
2016 AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 19/03/2016 Max Verstappen (STR11-01, Car 33)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:26.701, pos. 6th, 26 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:26.934, (Q2) 1:25.6 more >>
Haas F1 Team Australian Grand Prix qualifying review
19.03.2016
Australian Grand Prix: Qualifying  Event: Qualifying for the Australian Grand PrixDate: Saturday, March 19Location: Albert Park Circuit in Melbourne, AustraliaLayout: 5.303-kilometer (3.295-mile), 16-turn ci more >>
Renault Sport F1 Team Australian GP qualifying
19.03.2016
2016 Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix, Saturday  Renault Sport Formula One Team opened its Formula 1 qualifying account with Jolyon Palmer setting the fourteenth and Kevin Magnussen the fifteenth fastest time today at Albert P more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Australian GP qualifying
19.03.2016
2016 Australian Grand Prix – qualifying  “We have a better race car than a qualifying car” Albert Park Circuit, Saturday March 19Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button will more >>
Sauber F1 Team Australian GP qualifying review
19.03.2016
Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 19.03.2016Weather: dry and overcast, 17-20°C air, 24-32°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team will start the Australian Grand Prix from P16 (Eri more >>
F1 Australian GP - Qualifying result
19.03.2016
FORMULA 1 ROLEX AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIXAlbert Park Circuit, MelbourneSaturday, March 19th 20161    44    L.HAMILTON    1:23.837    –    –&nb more >>
F1 Australian GP Free practice 3 result
19.03.2016
FORMULA 1 ROLEX AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIXAlbert Park Circuit, MelbourneSaturday, March 19th 20161     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:25.624   &nb more >>
Pirelli F1 Australian Grand Prix practices
18.03.2016
2016 Australian Grand Prix – Practice SessionsFriday, March 18th 2016- Rain writes off realistic Free Practice in Albert Park- Most of the running on Intermediates as track temperatures drop significantly more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Australian GP practices
18.03.2016
2016 Australian Grand Prix - Friday  Stop / start opening day as rain interrupts running at Albert Park •    Lewis topped both sessions in mixed conditions •    Ni more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Australian Free Practices review
18.03.2016
2016 Formula One Rolex Australian Grand Prix: Free Practice  A day of unsettled weather in Albert Park resulted in limited mileage for Sahara Force India during the opening day of practice ahead of this weekend’s Australian Gr more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Australian GP practices review
18.03.2016
2016 AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIX Friday, March 18th 2016 Carlos Sainz (STR11-02, Car 55)First Practice Session Best lap: no time, pos. 22nd, 3 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:39.694, pos. more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Australian GP practices review
18.03.2016
2016 Australian Grand Prix – free practice   “We definitely made the best of today” Albert Park Circuit, Friday March 18Frequent showers, blustery winds and generally changeable condition more >>
Haas F1 Team Australian GP practices review
18.03.2016
Australian Grand Prix: Friday Practice Recap    Event:  Free Practice 1 and Free Practice 2Date:  Friday, March 18Location:  Albert Park Circuit in Melbourne, Australia  Layout:  more >>
Renault Sport F1 Australian GP practices review
18.03.2016
2016 Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix, Friday 18 March 2016  Renault Sport Formula One Team experienced a wet start to the 2016 Formula 1 season with Kevin Magnussen and Jolyon Palmer both taking to a damp Albert Park ci more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Australian GP practices
18.03.2016
Australian GP Practice Objectives: Systems checks and pitstop practice. Rob Smedley, Head of Performance Engineering: It is exciting for us all to be back at track preparing to go racing again. There is more >>
Sauber F1 Team Australian GP practices review
18.03.2016
Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 18.03.2016Weather: FP1: rainy and overcast, 17-19°C air, 18-28°C track; FP2: rainy and overcast, 16-18°C air, 18-21°C track; strong winds more >>
Australian GP F1 Free Practice 2 result
18.03.2016
2016 FORMULA 1 ROLEX AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIXAlbert Park CircuitFriday, March 18th 20161     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:38.841   &nbs more >>
Australian GP F1 Free Practice 1 result
18.03.2016
2016 FORMULA 1 ROLEX AUSTRALIAN GRAND PRIXAlbert Park CircuitFriday, March 18th 20161     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:29.725   &nbs more >>
New Renault Sport Formula One Team livery rides the waves Down Under
16.03.2016
Renault Sport Formula One Team has unveiled its definitive livery for the 2016 FIA Formula One World Championship. The team debuted its distinctive yellow-gold and black colours in an event hosted in Docklands, Melbourne, in a h more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Australian Grand Prix preview
15.03.2016
HEAR FROM THE MANAGEMENTEric BoullierMcLaren-Honda Racing Director“It’s been a very long winter, and I know that I can speak on behalf of the whole McLaren-Honda team when I say that we can’t more >>
McLaren Honda F1 drivers thoughts on Australian GP
15.03.2016
2016 Australian Grand Prix - ALbert Park CircuitTHE DRIVERS ON: THE CIRCUIT#14 Fernando Alonso“It’s been a very long winter – the longest I can remember without Formula 1 – so I’m really looking forward to getting back in the car. This track is always exciting to drive, partly because of its street ci more >>
Melbourne: Showers possible during F1 Qualifying, dry conditions expected for race
15.03.2016
Formula 1 Season 2016 with Weather Information from UBIMETIn 2016 UBIMET joins the Formula 1 season for the third time as the meteorological services provider to the FIA, delivering high-precision meteorolo more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright