Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP preview

Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP preview

11.04.2016: Formula1 Chinese Grand Prix 2016 Shanghai International Circuit

Formula1 Chinese Grand Prix 2016
Shanghai International Circuit



MAX VERSTAPPEN



“I like China, I remember I had some good overtakesthere! The first four corners of the circuit, Turns 1 to 4, are a very special part and tricky to get right.


Another part of the track that I enjoyed last year was Turn 6… I did a good move there! I couldn't overtake Perez on the straight, so I had to do it somewhere else…


I got a good exit out of Turn 5 and, approaching Turn 6, where you normally brake late – as it's a hairpin – I managed to overtake him by braking even later than usual. It's a big relief when you finally get passed a rival and I was very happy.


Turns 7, 8, 9 and 10 are hard on the tyres, so you have to save the rears a bit to get good traction out of there.


 Another thing I remember from this circuit are the overtakes at Turn 14 – I prepared myself well down the long straight each time and in the end managed to get by from very far!


Unfortunately, last year I had a little issue on the main straight with only a few laps to go… And had to retire. I will try not to think about it this year and fight to see the chequered flag in the best possible position”.





Carlos Sainz:


“In China you drive down the main straight and arrive to a couple of very long corners, Turns 1, 2, 3 and 4, which actually feel like two corners, not four.


It's quite a special section and it's where I had my first mistake of the season last year, as I spun. I also remember going side by side with four cars at Turn 6 at the start of the race, which was interesting as its tight there! Turn 7 is only flat in quali.


From Turns 7 to 10 there are a lot of changes of direction before arriving to a second long corner, Turns 12 and 13, that take you to the back straight – it's exactly like the first corner of the track, but in the opposite direction.


I also recall the back straight being a very long one, but DRS helps a lot to overtake. Arriving to Turn 14 is one of the toughest braking zones; it's very bumpy and difficult to get a reference point.


Finally, I'd like to mention the massive downhill as you exit the last corner into the main straight. It's something you don't realize when watching on TV, but the car bounces off quite a lot there.


All in all, an interesting track where I hope to score some good points, something I haven't been able to do yet this season.”

 

 

- Fabiana Valenti- photos Red Bull

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/scuderia-toro-rosso-f1-chinese-gp-preview---147426.html

11.04.2016 / MaP

More News

Mercedes AMG Petronas Featured This Week: Race Starts and statistics
11.04.2016
2016 Chinese Grand Prix Preview Shanghai International CircuitStarts have been a big talking point after the first couple of races. What is the main challenge for teams when it comes to making a clean getaway? Ever sin more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese Grand Prix preview
11.04.2016
2016 Chinese Grand Prix Preview Shanghai International Circuit The 2016 Formula One World Championship continues this weekend with Round Three, the Chinese Grand Prix, from the Shanghai International Circuit more >>
Shanghai International Circuit with Haas F1 Team
11.04.2016
FORMULA 1 - Chinese Grand-Prix 2016Shanghai International Circuit•    Total number of race laps: 56 •    Complete race distance: more >>
Haas F1 team and driver quotes ahead of Chinese GP 2016
11.04.2016
Formula 1 - Chinese Grand-Prix 2016Shanghai International Circuit  GUENTHER STEINER, Team Principal:Two grand prix for Haas F1 Team, two very strong races for Haas F1 Team. Did you think this kind of s more >>
Haas F1 Team Chinese Grand Prix preview
11.04.2016
Riding High Into ShanghaiHaas F1 Team Eyes Third-Straight Point-Paying Result  Haas F1 Team enters the third round of the 2016 FIA Formula One World Championship an impressive fifth in the constructor standings thank more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese Grand Prix preview
11.04.2016
2016 Formula 1 Pirelli Chinese Grand Prix – Sahara Force India looks forward to round three of the 2016 season in China. Q&A with Vijay MallyaTeam Principal, Vijay Mallya, reflects on the opening more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese Grand Prix preview
11.04.2016
2016 Formula One Pirelli Chinese Grand PrixShanghai International Circuit3rd Round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, 15th to 17th April 2016After coming back from the Middle East with a short stop-over at it more >>
Shanghai Circuit turn with Renault Sport F1 and news
10.04.2016
F1 - CHINESE GRAND-PRIX 2016Shanghai International Circuit Circuit notesTurn 1The first corner complex sees the track tighten back on itself, wit more >>
Renault F1 driver quotes ahead of Chinese Grand-Prix
10.04.2016
F1 Chinese Grand Prix 2016Shanghai International Circuit Q&A with Kevin MagnussenGIVE ME A NORMAL RACE“I really want to get those first points on the board.” more >>
Renault Sport F1 Chinese Grand Prix preview
10.04.2016
2016 FORMULA 1 PIRELLI CHINESE GRAND PRIXShanghai International Circuit Cyril AbiteboulIn the first two races we were the first car to finish outside the points. This gives us a clear illustration of our target &nd more >>
Hamilton wins in China with Pirelli soft-soft-medium two stop strategy
12.04.2015
2015 Chinese Grand Prix – Race  Shanghai International Circuit- Lower degradation than expected, especially on soft tyres- two stop strategies for the majority of dirvers, with other variations further down the field more >>
Renault F1 Sport Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
CHINESE GRAND PRIX at Shanghai International Circuit 2015  Today’s Chinese Grand Prix came to a disappointing conclusion with just one Renault-powered car collecting points. Infiniti Red Bull Racing driver Daniel Ricciardo finished in more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
Hard-fought one-two finish for MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS in a tense Chinese Grand Prix, as Lewis Hamilton leads home Nico Rosberg at the Shanghai International Circuit. •    Lewis took his second consecutive more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix   Race Notes•    Felipe Massa finished fifth and Valtteri Bottas sixth in today’s Chinese Grand Prix.•    Valtteri had a good start to overtak more >>
Lotus F1 Team Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
Points of Authority - 2015 Chinese GP, Sunday Lotus F1 Team scored their first points of the season after Romain Grosjean came home in a strong seventh position in the Chinese Grand Prix. It wasn’t so plain sailing for Pastor Maldonado who, more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 12.04.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 21-22°C air, 40-47°C trackStrong result for the Sauber F1 Team in the Chinese Grand Prix on the Shanghai International Circuit. F more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
2015 Formula One Chinese Grand Prix, Race Sahara Force India just missed out on points today with Sergio Perez finishing the Chinese Grand Prix in P11. Teammate Nico Hulkenberg retired on lap 10.  P11  more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
CHINESE GP – RACE  DANIEL RICCIARDO, Finish Position: 9th, Start Position: 7th“We got into anti-stall on the start, which hasn’t happened before; we have to look and see what happened. It’ more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP race
12.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX “It feels like we’ve started the season proper” Shanghai International Circuit, Sunday April 12 McLaren-Honda got both cars safely to the finish in today’s Chine more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP race review
12.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 12/04/2015   Carlos Sainz (STR10-04, Car 55)Race: Pos. 14th “It was a very difficult race for us today. We started on Prime tyres, but the track was ver more >>
F1 Chinese Grand Prix Race result
12.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix - Shanghai International CircuitApril 12th, 20151     Lewis Hamilton     GBR     Mercedes     1: more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGShanghai International Circuit, Saturday April 11“Our main priority now is to finish tomorrow’s race”McLaren-Honda will start 17th (Jenson Button) and 18th more >>
Pirelli F1 Chinese GP qualifying
11.04.2015
- Lewis Hamilton claims pole for Mercedes on P Zero Yellow soft tyre- Two stop strategy most likely for majority of drivers, but three-stopper are possible- Mercedes and Ferrari are the only teams in top 10 to have new sets more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS secured a front-row lockout today in qualifying for the 2015 Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix at the Shanghai International Circuit, with Lewis Hamilton taking pole position ahead of Nico Rosberg. • &nbs more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix Qualifying Qualifying Notes•         Felipe Massa qualified fourth and Valtteri Bottas fifth for tomorrow’s Chinese Grand Prix. more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese GP qualifying
11.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 11.04.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 17-19°C air, 37-47°C trackStrong performance by the Sauber F1 Team in qualifying for the Chinese Grand Prix on the Shangh more >>
Lotus F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
Eight Line Poem - 2015 Chinese GP, Saturday Romain Grosjean placed eighth and Pastor Maldonado eleventh in mild and pleasant conditions during qualifying for the Chinese Grand Prix. Pastor suffered from unwanted oversteer on his final more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
CHINESE GP – QUALIFYING  DANIEL RICCIARDO, Position: 7, 1:38.534 (3rd Practice – P5, 1:39.020)“P7 is what we expected for today. I think we are always trying to find a compromise, us and drivers and more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Chinese GP qualifying review
11.04.2015
2015 CHINESE GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 11/04/2015   Max Verstappen (STR10-03, Car 33)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:39.274, pos. 9th, 19 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:38.387, (Q2) 1:38.393, more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese GP qualifying
11.04.2015
2015 Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix: Qualifying Today’s qualifying session for the Chinese Grand Prix saw Sergio Perez qualify in P15 just ahead of teammate Nico Hulkenberg in P16.  P1 more >>
MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS to #DriveForGood with Laureus in Shanghai and Beyond
11.04.2015
Laureus branding to feature on F1 W06 Hybrid throughout Chinese Grand Prix weekend, Laureus ambassador Nico Rosberg will #DriveForGood throughout 2015 F1 season  On the eve of the 2015 Laureus World Sports Awards, to be held i more >>
F1 Chinese Grand Prix qualifying result 2015
11.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix  - Shanghai International Circuit - April 11th, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:38.285     1:36.423     more >>
F1 Chinese Grand Prix Free Practice 3 classification
11.04.2015
 Chinese Grand Prix  - Shanghai International Circuit - April 11th, 20151     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:37.615         & more >>
Pirelli F1 Chinese GP Practice sessions review
10.04.2015
- Exemplary durability from Pirelli P Zero White Medium and P Zero Yellow Soft tyres: nearly no graining despite cool temperatures- Performance gap of approximately 1.6-1.7 seconds between the two compounds in Shanghai- A more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
Battle resumes at the Shanghai International Circuit as MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS top the times on the opening day in China •    Lewis topped the times in both sessions, with Nico finishing the morning in P2 and the a more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix Practice Objectives: Set-up work, aero evaluations and tyre work Rob Smedley, Head of Performance Engineering: We completed the majority of our plan today, unfortunately w more >>
Sauber F1 Team Chinese GP Free Practices review
10.04.2015
Chinese Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 10.04.2015Weather: sunny/overcast and dry, 14-17°C air, 26-41°C trackThe Sauber F1 Team enjoyed a positive first practice day leading up to the Chinese Grand Prix more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Chinese GP practices review
10.04.2015
“There’s been progress today – hashtag progress!”Shanghai International Circuit, Friday April 10McLaren-Honda enjoyed a positive first day of practice in Shanghai – both cars regularly ran in more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Chinese GP practices
10.04.2015
2015 Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix: Free Practice  Sahara Force India started its Chinese Grand Prix weekend with two busy practice sessions in Shanghai.  Nico Hülkenberg   & more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright