Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Malaysian Grand Prix preview

Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Malaysian Grand Prix preview

26.09.2016: R16 - MALAYSIA Grand Prix 2016 Sepang International Circuit So Carlos, Daniil… Next up is the Malaysian GP! What comes to mind when you think of racing there?

R16 - MALAYSIA Grand Prix 2016
Sepang International Circuit

 

So Carlos, Daniil… Next up is the Malaysian GP! What comes to mind when you think of racing there?



Daniil Kvyat: Sepang… What memories! The first time we went there it was our first ever races in our lives in Formula BMW!



Carlos Sainz: Yes, that's correct! It was a special time for us…


DK: We also had our first nice little battles on track, driving side by side at Turns 1 and 2…! So I have a lot of good memories of us racing there, as teammates.


CS: Yes, this was back in 2010, our debut in Formula BMW. It was also during a Formula 1 weekend…


DK: I was a bit nervous!


CS: Especially because it was in front of all the F1 people…


DK: Pressure already!


CS: We were 15 years old, I was also nervous.


DK: Then we went back to race in Malaysia a month later and we were already very fast drivers… I won two races that weekend, and Carlos, you won another two!


CS: Yes, our first ever wins in our Formula BMW careers… Boom!


DK: Sepang is an interesting track. As we already saw in 2010, the first two corners offer a good opportunity for racing and overtaking…


CS: The start there is always exciting as you can take different lines and go very wide into braking…


DK: …Or very tight!


CS: What I'd point out is that they've resurfaced the track this year, so the amount of grip might change a bit and let's see how it goes with the Soft compound over there.


DK: It's also very hot, like in Singapore.


CS: Wow yeah, I remember that last year, the track temperature for the race was 64 degrees!


DK: Yeah, you could cook a fried egg on the tarmac! [They both laugh]


CS: But it's still not as tough as racing in Singapore…


DK: That's right, I agree, because the straights are longer and you have a bit more time to relax, it's not all corners and more corners.CS: So I'd say Malaysia is the second toughest race, after Singapore.



DK: It will be a challenging race, so let's see what we are capable of. The only negative part for us this year is that maybe Sepang has too many long straights…



CS: Yes, that's true. We really like the corner sections like Turns 1 and 2, 7 and 8 or the section that goes from Turn 9 to 14… But not the long straights!


DK: We should build chicanes halfway through every straight! [He says with a giggle!] It would be nice, eh?! Anyway, having chicanes or straights, nothing changes… Their race mode for Malaysia is ON!

 

 

- Fabiana Valenti, photo Scuderia Toro Rosso

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/scuderia-toro-rosso-f1-malaysian-gp-preview---155590.html

26.09.2016 / MaP

More News

Haas F1 Management and driver quotes ahead of Malaysian Grand-Prix 2016
26.09.2016
Formula 1 - Malayasian Grand-Prix 2016Sepang International CircuitGUENTHER STEINER, Team Principal  After a difficult weekend like the one you experienced in Singapore, how do you put it behind you and focus on the next opportuni more >>
Haas F1 Team Turns Page from Singapore to Sepang
26.09.2016
Motivated for MalaysiaPerhaps no team competing in the FIA Formula One World Championship is looking forward to the Malaysian Grand Prix Oct. 2 at the Sepang International Circuit more than Haas F1 Team. The first American Fo more >>
Malaysian Grand Prix event details and predictions
21.09.2016
Event: Formula 1 - Malaysian Grand PrixLocation: Sepang International Circuit, Sepang, MalaysiaDate: Sunday, October 2nd, 2016; 3:00 AM ETThe first Malaysian Grand Prix was run in 1962 as a part of other racing series, but i more >>
Pirelli selected sets per driver for Malaysian F1 Grand-Prix
21.09.2016
Malaysian Grand Prix: September 30 – October 2 2016The FIA communicated to Pirelli each team’s tyre choices for the forthcoming Malaysian Grand Prix (Kuala Lumpur, September 30 – October 2).   more >>
Pirelli announce compound choices for GP of Malaysia 2016
16.06.2016
Pirelli will bring the following three compounds to the sixteenth round of the 2016 Formula One season in Malaysia*, to be held (September 29 – October 2) on the Sepang circuit:      P Zero Orange hard  &nbs more >>
Pirelli F1 Malaysian Grand Prix race review
29.03.2015
2015 Malaysian Grand Prix – Race- Ferrari claims first win since Spain 2013 with a two-stop strategy in extremely hot conditions- Limited degradation from the start of the weekend on a track surface hot enough to cook an egg more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Malaysian GP review
29.03.2015
Double podium for MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS in enthralling Malaysian Grand Prix at the Sepang International Circuit •    Lewis and Nico claimed a second consecutive double podium today, finishing P2 and P3 respectively more >>
Renault Sport F1 Malaysian Race review
29.03.2015
 All four Renault-powered cars finished in the points in today’s Malaysian Grand Prix. After 56 laps of hard-fought racing the two Scuderia Toro Rosso cars passed the flag in seventh and eighth, leading home the Infiniti Red Bull Racing duo, who fini more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Malaysian GP review
29.03.2015
Malaysian Grand Prix Race Notes•    Valtteri Bottas finished fifth and Felipe Massa sixth in today’s Malaysian Grand Prix•    After a poor start Valtteri benefited from an ear more >>
Sauber F1 Team Malaysian GP race
29.03.2015
Petronas Malaysian Grand Prix – Race – Sunday, 29.03.2015Weather: sunny and dry, 33-35°C air, 53-61°C trackAfter a quite a promising qualifying to the Malaysian Grand Prix on the Sepang International Circuit, the more >>
Lotus F1 Team Malaysian GP race review
29.03.2015
Spinning Around - 2015 Malaysian GP, Sunday  Romain Grosjean finished just shy of the points whilst Pastor Maldonado had to retire from a promising but ultimately rather frustrating Malaysian Grand Prix at Sepang International Circ more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Malaysian GP race review
29.03.2015
2015 MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY 29/03/2015 Max Verstappen (STR10-03, Car 33)Race: Pos. 7th “I really enjoyed that! I’m very happy to have scored my first ever points in F1 and to end seventh! more >>
Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Malaysian GP race review
29.03.2015
MALAYSIAN GP – RACE DANIIL KVYAT, Finish Position: 9th, Start Position: 5th “We took the maximum out of the situation today. We are lacking some pace and need to catch up, I am confident that the team can d more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Malaysian GP review
29.03.2015
2015 MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIXSepang International Circuit, Sunday March 29“Able to mix it with the others”Despite failing to get both cars to the flag, the Malaysian Grand Prix marked a significant step-up in more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Malaysian GP race
29.03.2015
2015 Formula One Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix, Race Sahara Force India battled hard in the Malaysian Grand Prix with Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg finishing in P13 and P14 respectively.  P13    more >>
Constructors' Championship standings after Malaysian Grand-Prix 2015
29.03.2015
FIA FORMULA1 Championship 2015Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team 43 12 33 23 76Scuderia Ferrari 15 3 NC 37 14 52Williams Martini Racing 12 4 18 56 30Sauber F1 Team 14 58 12 NC 14Scuderia Tor more >>
Drivers' Championship standings after Malaysian GP 2015
29.03.2015
FIA FORMULA1 Championship 2015L. HAMILTON 25 1 18 2    43S. VETTEL 15 3 251   40 N. ROSBERG 18 2 15 3    33F. MASSA 12 4 8 6     20 more >>
Malaysia GP 2015 top 3 driver quotes
29.03.2015
MALAYSIAN Grand Prix 2015 - Sepang International CircuitSebastian Vettel ­Grazia a tuti la scuderia. Oggi ho fatto una grande gara.Thanks a lot . Today is really a special day. This more >>
F1 Race in Malaysia classification 2015
29.03.2015
2015 FORMULA 1 PETRONAS MALAYSIA GRAND PRIX Kuala Lumpur  01       S. Vettel       Ferrari     56 laps     2502       L. Hamilton   more >>
Pirelli F1 Malaysian Grand Prix qualifying review
28.03.2015
- Split strategies during rain-affected qualifying: Hamilton on pole with Cinturato Intermediate- Ferrari drivers and WIlliams driver Valtteri Bottas the only ones to use just the P Zero Hard Tyre in Q1- Three stop strategy most l more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Malaysian GP qualifying
28.03.2015
Sepang QUALIFYING  Dramatic afternoon session in Sepang sees Lewis and Nico take first and third position during qualifying for tomorrow's Malaysian Grand Prix •    Pole for Lewis today marks his 40t more >>
Williams Martini Racing F1 Malaysian GP qualifying
28.03.2015
Malaysian Grand Prix Qualifying Qualifying Notes•    Felipe Massa qualified seventh and Valtteri Bottas ninth for tomorrow’s Malaysian GP•    The end of Q2 w more >>
Lotus F1 Team Malaysian GP qualifying review
28.03.2015
 2015 Malaysian GP, Saturday 28th March  Romain Grosjean qualified eighth and Pastor Maldonado twelfth after a rain-affected qualifying for the Malaysian Grand Prix at the Sepang International Circuit. Both cars progress more >>
Sauber F1 Team Malaysian GP Qualifying
28.03.2015
Petronas Malaysian Grand Prix – Qualifying – Saturday, 28.03.2015Weather: 3rd practice: sunny and dry, 33-35°C air, 58-62°C trackQualifying: dry in the beginning; then heavy rain, 34-24°C air, 55-27°C track more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Malaysian GP qualifying review
28.03.2015
2015 MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX – QUALIFYINGSepang International Circuit, Saturday March 28“Real progress is being made”McLaren-Honda will start from 17th (Jenson Button) and 18th (Fernando Alonso) on the grid more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Malaysian GP qualifying
28.03.2015
2015 MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX – SATURDAY 28/03/2015  Max Verstappen (STR10-03, Car 33)Third Practice Session - Best lap: 1:40.989, pos. 9th, 18 lapsQualifying - Best lap: (Q1) 1:40.793, (Q2) 1:41.430, (Q3) 1:5 more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Malysian qualifying review
28.03.2015
2015 Formula 1 Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix: Qualifying  Sahara Force India survived the rain storms in Sepang today as Nico Hulkenberg qualified in P13 ahead of Sergio Perez in P14.  P13 &nb more >>
Qualifying Malaysian Grand Prix result 2015
28.03.2015
Malaysian Grand Prix 2015 - Sepang International Circuit1     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:39.269     1:41.517     1:49.834     more >>
Sepang Free Practice 3 Classification 2015
28.03.2015
Malaysian Grand Prix 2015 - Sepang International Circuit1     6     Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:39.690           132   more >>
Pirelli F1 Malaysian GP practice sessions
27.03.2015
- Track temperatures of 56 degrees, similar to the highest temperatures in 2014, cause high wear and degradation- Performance gap of approximately 0.9 -1.0 seconds between hard and medium compounds- No blistering despite the e more >>
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Malaysian GP practices review
27.03.2015
Mixed bag for MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS on a hot and humid opening day at the Sepang International Circuit •    Nico topped the times during the morning session, with Lewis claiming top spot in the afternoon •&nbs more >>
Sahara Force India F1 Malaysian GP practices
27.03.2015
2015 Formula 1 Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix: Free Practice  Sahara Force India started its Malaysian Grand Prix weekend with two productive practice sessions in the hot and humid conditions at Sepang.   more >>
Lotus F1 Team Malaysian GP practices review
27.03.2015
2015 Malaysian GP, Friday Lotus F1 Team opened-up strongly but experienced a modicum of frustration in the first day of running for the Malaysian Grand Prix. In hot and humid conditions at the Sepang International Circu more >>
Williams Martini F1 Malaysian GP practices
27.03.2015
Malaysian Grand Prix Practice Objectives: Set-up work, aero evaluations and tyre work Rob Smedley, Head of Performance Engineering:  It was a really busy day for us today with plenty o more >>
Sauber F1 Team Malaysian GP practices
27.03.2015
Petronas Malaysian Grand Prix – Practice – Friday, 27.03.2015 Weather: sunny and dry, 29-35°C air, 39-61°C trackThe Malaysian Grand Prix on the Sepang International Circuit started in extreme conditions with very more >>
Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Malaysian GP practices review
27.03.2015
2015 MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX – FRIDAY 27/03/2015  Max Verstappen (STR10-03, Car 33)First Practice SessionBest lap: 1:41.803, pos. 7th, 23 lapsSecond Practice SessionBest lap: 1:41.220, pos. 8th, 30 more >>
Red Bull Racing F1 Malaysian GP practices review
27.03.2015
MALAYSIA GP – FRIDAY PRACTICE   DANIIL KVYAT First Practice Session: Position: 9, Best Time: 1:42.055, Laps: 18Second Practice Session: Position: 4, Best Time: 1:40.346, Laps: 17& more >>
McLaren Honda F1 Malaysian GP practices review
27.03.2015
2015 MALAYSIAN GRAND PRIX – FREE PRACTICE“A definite step forward”Sepang International Circuit, Friday March 27FERNANDO ALONSOMP4-30-03FP1       & more >>
Sepang Malaysian GP Practice 2 classification
27.03.2015
Petronas Malaysian Grand Prix 2015 - Sepang International Circuit1     44     Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes     1:39.790           162 more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright