BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team - WSBK - Assen - Preview

BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team - WSBK - Assen - Preview

23.04.2013: FIM World Superbike Championship The Netherlands – Assen. 26th – 28th April 2013 3rd of 15 race weekends

FIM World Superbike Championship  The Netherlands – Assen.

26th – 28th April 2013

3rd of 15 race weekends

 

Just over a week after the successful Sunday at Aragón circuit in Spain, the BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team now heads to the iconic “TT Circuit Assen”.


 The Dutch track will host the third round of the 2013 FIM World Superbike Championship this weekend (26th to 28th April). Factory riders Marco Melandri (ITA) and Chaz Davies (GBR) aim to confirm the potential of their BMW S 1000 RRs by racing at the very front again.
 

With his double win in Spain, Chaz propelled himself to second in the Riders’ Championship, having collected 63 points in total over the first two rounds of the season. Marco, who has stood twice on the podium so far this year, improved one position in Spain and currently sits fourth with 43 points. In the Manufacturers’ Championship, BMW is second with 79 points.
 

The BMW Motorrad GoldBet STK Team with riders Sylvain Barrier (FRA) and Greg Gildenhuys (RSA) is also on duty in Assen, tackling the second round of the 2013 FIM Superstock 1000 Cup. The squad had a brilliant start to the season at Aragón, with reigning champion Sylvain winning the opening race on his brand new BMW HP4 equipped with the electronic damping system (DDC).

 
Assen from the rider’s point of view:


Chaz Davies:


“After my double win at Aragón I am really looking forward to Assen. Obviously it is a confidence booster every time you win, but doing it twice really sets you up for the next races. I am very comfortable now with the RR and how I am feeling on the bike.


On top of that, Assen is a circuit I enjoy and one that has been good for me in the past. Back in 2011, I celebrated my first World Championship victory there by winning the Supersport race, last year it was the first time for me to go through to Superpole 3 and I had a pretty decent pace in the dry.


I liked the character of the old Assen circuit a bit more, but it still has the camber in the corners, which is quite special. And obviously there is the history of Assen as well. Every time you go there you feel the tradition. It is a race to look forward to.”
 

Marco Melandri:


“My shoulder was feeling ok in Aragón for most of the weekend. Only towards the end of race two did I start struggling. The shoulder was a bit inflamed so to compensate I stressed the other arm more and as a result I got some cramps. Anyhow, I am quite calm because I have enough time until the next race to cure the inflammation. In the meantime I am continuing with physiotherapy and training in order to be fit in Assen.

 
“Assen is a nice track and I feel really comfortable there, even if I prefer the old layout which was wider. What really concerns me is the weather. Last year we weren’t lucky with it, so I hope this time it will be good and not too cold.


The best thing in World Superbikes is the fact that balances are constantly changing. In Australia, it seemed that Aprilia was unbeatable. Then in Aragón, it changed. For Assen I expect an open race, with Aprilia, Kawasaki and Chaz being very fast. I feel better and I am improving my feeling with the bike. I am quite optimistic that we will not have the same issues as in Aragón.”

 
 

Assen from a technical point of view:


Andrea Dosoli (Technical Director BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team):



“After the successful race weekend in sunny Spain we are now heading to Assen, where unpredictable weather conditions could play an important role. The Dutch racetrack has been the venue of memorable races in the past, earning the title of being the ‘University of Motorcycling’.


The layout, even if it has been modified a few years ago, is technical and flowing. It will be demanding for the riders and for our engineers it will be the perfect playground to consolidate the performance shown so far.
 

Chaz, after the double win at Aragón, can count on a very good technical package. He and his crew will adapt this base to the requirements of the Dutch track, trying to use 100 percent of the RR’s potential.


Marco deserves the important results he is used to getting after the unlucky weekend he experienced in Spain. The racing and the R&D department of the team have worked hard to improve his feeling on our winning RR. Now we are all looking forward to the Assen race.”

 

Assen from a sporting point of view:


Serafino Foti (Sport Director BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team):

“After Aragón we are very motivated and confident. Of course we know that in World Superbikes each race can have a different result and that our competitors are really strong. So it will not be easy for us to repeat such a success. We need to keep concentrated and work hard to keep our focus on the championship which is just starting and very long.


The race and R&D team have done an excellent job. Now we need to enable Marco to compete at the very front and to ride a successful race. The races in Assen are always special. Very often we have to deal with extremely changeable weather conditions. It can change from wet to dry conditions and vice versa very quickly. We hope to have stable weather conditions which allow us to work well.
 

“In Aragón we had a successful start to this year’s Superstock 1000 Cup. We made our debut with the brand new BMW HP4 equipped with DDC, the electronic damping system which the HP RaceSupport Team and the STK team worked on over the last months. Sylvain did a great job in the opening race, confirming his determination and speed. Now we need to keep this high concentration and work consistently towards our target.”
 

 

Assen from Pirelli’s point of view:



The Assen track is very interesting because the tyres, although not very stressed from a thermal point of view, must be capable of providing the rider with great precision and a lot of directional stability.


During the springtime, which is when the Dutch round is schedules, the Assen circuit is generally subjected to weather conditions which are often unpredictable as well as rather cold temperatures. For the Superbike class, Pirelli will take three slick solutions for dry on the front and four for the rear.


These are joined by the rear qualifier, the intermediate solutions and the wet solutions. On the front the slicks that Pirelli has chosen are the same ones which were used on the Spanish “Motorland Aragón” circuit in the last round.


There will be an SC1 solution (R426) in a soft blend and the SC2 standard solution (R982) in medium blend, joined by the S41 development solution in a soft blend as an alternative to the standard SC1 (R426) intended to reduce cold tearing and to provide greater mechanical stability, a good compromise between the SC2 for solidity and the SC1 in terms of grip.

 
On the other hand, the rear selection will include a range of four options. These will include the standard SC1 (R828) in medium compound which were already seen at Phillip Island and which were used by all the riders on the starting grid at Aragón, as well as the standard SC2 (R832) in hard blend, capable of providing greater resistance even in the event of low temperatures.


In addition to the standard SC1 and SC2 solutions, the R829 will be present, a development solution that met the track for the first time at Aragón and which, in terms of compound hardness, fall halfway between the standard SC1 and SC2, as well as the R1688, a new SC1 compound development solution capable of ensuring better grip than the R829 and more sturdiness than the R828.


In the event of varying weather conditions with rain showers, the Assen round could also see the debut of the new intermediate tyre designed by Pirelli, the Diablo Wet.

 

Danilo Coglianese- photo BMW

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/superbike-bmw-motorrad-goldbet-sbk-team-assen-preview---110205.html

23.04.2013 / MaP

More News

BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team WSBK Motorland Aragón Qualifying 1
13.04.2013
Motorland Aragón – Free Practice & Qualifying Practice 1. BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team Rider Chaz Davies #19 Weather conditions: Sunny.Temperature more >>
BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team WSBK Motorland Aragón Preview
10.04.2013
Spain – Motorland Aragón.12th – 14th April 20132nd of 15 race weekends Almost seven weeks have passed since the BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team kick-start more >>
Yamaha Kick Off Title Challenge with Victory in British Superbike at Brands Hatch
08.04.2013
Yamaha’s campaign to take the 2013 MCE British Superbike Championship and Motorpoint Supersport Championship titles began in style yesterday at Brands Hatch with race wins in both classes. Milwaukee Yamaha Team rider James Ellison more >>
BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team Jerez testing
15.03.2013
Testing – Jerez.14th to 15th March 2013. The BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team conducted another two days of testing at Jerez de la Frontera in southern Spain. Thus, the team made use of the long break between the first two rounds of the 2013 FIM Superbike World Championship. From the Superbike team, it was factory rider Chaz Dav more >>
World Superbike and World Supersport 2013 standings after Phillip Islands
26.02.2013
Round 01: Phillip Island Circuit – AustraliaSuperbike Race 1 Rank     Rider (Team)1     S. GUINTOLI (Aprilia Racing Team)2     E. LAVERTY (Aprilia Racing Team)3     M. FABRIZIO (Red Devils Roma)4     C. DAVIES (BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK)5  & more >>
Honda's Rea and Haslam Score Points on Frist Day of New Season
26.02.2013
Jonathan Rea (Pata Honda World Superbike Team) and Leon Haslam (Pata Honda World Superbike Team) each scored points inside the top ten in the two 22-lap FIM Superbike World Championship races at Phillip Island in Australia today, leaving the first round in sixth and seventh pl more >>
Sam Lowes Strikes in Phillip Island with Yamaha
24.02.2013
Sam Lowes made an impressive start to his World Supersport season aboard the Yakhnich Yamaha YZF-R6 in Phillip Island today, taking second on the podium in the shortened 15lap race. The young British rider started from the front having take more >>
BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team,Phillip Island, Races
24.02.2013
photo caption: BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team Rider Marco Melandri #33 (ITA).Phillip Island – Races.  Sunday, 24th February 2013.Weather conditions: Sunny with light clouds in the afternoon. more >>
BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team Phillip Island, Superpole
23.02.2013
Phillip Island (AUS) 23 February 2013. photo caption: BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team Rider Marco Melandri #33 (ITA) riding the BMW S 1000 RR.      Phillip Island – Qualifying Practice 2 more >>
Sam Lowes and Yakhnich Motorsport together for 2013 - 2015
02.11.2012
22yrs old Sam Lowes and Yakhnich Motorsport team have signed a three years contract with the aim to win the World Supersport Championship and then move on to the World Superbike class. The English rider, third in the 2012 World Supersport Championship, will ride next year on the Yakhnich Motorsport Yamaha R6 and will be teammate of 25 yrs old Russian rider Vla more >>
BMW Motorrad commitment to the Superbike World Championship 2013.
17.07.2012
BMW Motorrad realigns motor sports activitiesBMW Motorrad will also line up a factory team at the start of the FIM Superbike World Championship in 2013. At the same time, the company is carrying out a strategic realignment and pooling superbike activities. BMW Motorrad Italia will take responsibility for the factory race and test team as more >>
BMW Motorrad Motorsport - WSBK - Phillip Island - Races
28.02.2012
Phillip Island – Races Sunday, 26th February 2012.  Weather conditions: Overcast at noon, sunny in the afternoon.Temperature: Air: 31 – 34 °C, Track: 42 – 54 °CNumber of riders participating: 24 from 14 t more >>
‘Nitro Nori’ Haga fired up for MCE British Superbike Championship with Swan Yamaha
13.02.2012
The Swan Yamaha team has today (Monday) confirmed that World Superbike sensation Noriyuki Haga will be completing their line-up for the 2012 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship as he permanently replaces the injured Ian Hutc more >>
Incredible Front Row for Melandri in Eventful Wet Superpole
11.06.2011
WORLD SUPERBIKE SAN MARINO - ROUND 6                Misano, San MarinoYamaha World Superbike Rider Marco Melandri fought hard and performed flawlessly to earn a well- deserved front row on tomorrow's more >>
Davies Eager to get Back to Business on his R6 in Misano
08.06.2011
With just over a month off since the last round of the World Supersport calendar in Monza, the Yamaha Parkingò Team is geared up and all ready to hit the Adriatic coast for this weekends racing in Misano. Following the high of the spectacular double podium at the teams home race in Monza, Chaz Davies and his team are aiming to replicate victory at the s more >>
Yamaha World Superbike Team Set Out for Round Six at Misano, San Marino
08.06.2011
WORLD SUPERBIKE SAN MARINO - ROUND 6   Misano, San MarinoMisano, San Marino 08/06/2011     Circuit Length: 4226Lap Record: 1'40.187 (Broc Parkes, 1/1/2008)Fastest Lap Ever: 1'39.398 (Broc Parkes, 1/1/2008)Just less than two weeks after the US calendar stop off in Salt Lake City, the more >>
BMW Motorrad Motorsport - WSBK - Salt Lake City - Vorschau
23.05.2011
Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika – Salt Lake City28. – 30. Mai 2011  05. von 13 WM-RennwochenendenDas Team BMW Motorrad Motorsport reist nach Übersee: Im „Miller Motorsports Park“ in der Nähe von Salt Lake City (USA) findet die fünfte Runde der FIM Superbike-Weltmeisterschaft 2011 statt. Der Zeitplan versch more >>
Yamaha ParkinGO Team Head to Monza Seeking Fourth Consecutive Race Win
04.05.2011
2011 World Supersport Italy  Monza                Circuit Length: 5792Lap Record: 1'52.635 (Chris Vermeulen, 1/1/2003)Fastest Lap Ever: 1'49.706 (Cal Crutchlow, 5/10/2009) Yamaha ParkinGO Team head to round four of the 2011 World Supersport Championship in Mon more >>
Yamaha World Superbike Team Aim for Success at Home Round in Monza
04.05.2011
2011 World Superbike Italy Monza            Circuit Length: 5792Lap Record: 1'42.937 (Cal Crutchlow, 1/1/2010)Fastest Lap Ever: 1'42.121 (Max Biaggi, 5/9/2010)Last Years Winner: Max BiaggiNext stop on the 2011 World Superbike calendar is Monza , located northeast of Milan. After the hi more >>
BMW Motorrad Motorsport WSBK Monza Preview
03.05.2011
Italy – Monza  06 – 08 May 201104 of 13 race weekends This weekend (06 to 08 May) sees the Monza circuit in Italy host the fourth round of the 2011 FIM Superbike World Championship. For Team BMW Motorrad Motorsport the legendary “Autodromo Nazionale di Monza” - situated north of Milan - represents very more >>
BMW Motorrad Italia Superstock team - CIV - Monza
01.05.2011
Emotions ran high for the BMW Motorrad Italia Superstock Team in the second round of the CIV (Italian Championship), which took place at Monza. Sylvain Barrier and Lorenzo Zanetti had achieved the top two times in qualifying but on the out-lap the Italian found a small oil leak from t more >>
Third Consecutive Win for Yamaha ParkinGO Team
18.04.2011
Yamaha ParkinGO Team rider Chaz Davies took his maiden victory in the World Supersport Championship today on the historic Dutch track in Assen. The Brit didn’t hesitate to take the lead right off the grid and ride his YZF-R6 to cross the chequered flag with over seven seconds ahead of his competitors. Davies put in a spectacular performance, keeping the more >>
Laverty and Melandri put on a strong battle in Assen
18.04.2011
WORLD SUPERBIKE NETHERLANDS - ROUND 3                Assen The Dutch track proved challenging for Yamaha World Superbike riders; Melandri and Laverty this afternoon in Assen. Marco Melandri got off to a less than perfect start off the grid in race one falling from eighth back to eleventh in the more >>
BMW Motorrad Motorsport - WSBK - Assen - Rennen
17.04.2011
Wetter: Überwiegend sonnig.Temperatur: Luft: 15 – 19 °C, Strecke: 17 – 26 °CTeilnehmende Fahrer: 21 von 12 TeamsSchnellste Runde Rennen 1: Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) 1:36.660 minSchnellste Runde Rennen 2: Leon Camier (Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team) 1:36.476 min Das Team BMW Motorra more >>
BMW Motorrad Italia Superbike Team - Assen - Race
17.04.2011
The TT Circuit in Assen brought BMW Motorrad Italia Superbike Team more World Championship points, won by Ayrton Badovini in both races with Barry Veneman also scoring championship points at this event, as substitute for the inj more >>
Scassa Scores Second Consecutive World Supersport Pole in Assen
16.04.2011
Yamaha ParkinGo Team rider Luca Scassa set himself up for the best possible start to tomorrow's World Supersport race in Assen this afternoon. The Italian championship leader left it until the dying minutes of the second qualifying session to jump to the top, putting down a 1'38.008 lap aboard his Yamaha YZF-R6 with less than three minutes remaining of the hea more >>
Maiden Front Row in Assen Superpole for Laverty
16.04.2011
WORLD SUPERBIKE NETHERLANDS - ROUND 3          Assen Qualifying 2 Yamaha World Superbike Team riders Eugene Laverty and Marco Melandri provided impressive performances in Assen for today’s Superpole sessions to secure first and second row grid starts respectively ahead of tomorrow’s two races. Both riders do more >>
BMW Motorrad Motorsport - WSBK- Assen - Superpole
16.04.2011
Weather conditions: Mostly cloudy.Temperature: Air: 16 – 17 °C, Track: 16 – 19 °CNumber of riders participating: 21 from 12 teamsFastest lap Qualifying Practices: Jonathan Rea (Castrol Honda) 1:36.035 minFastest lap Superpole 3: Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) 1:35.292 min more >>
Successful First Qualifying for Yamaha ParkinGO Team at Assen
16.04.2011
WORLD SUPERSPORT NETHERLANDS - ROUND 3     Assen  Qualifying 1  - 15/04/2011Yamaha World Supersport riders; Luca Scassa and Chaz Davies, successfully completed a series of fast laps in free practice and Qualifying sessions on the historic Assen TT race track this afternoon. Following the team’s One Two victory in the last round o more >>
Melandri and Laverty get down to business on the Dutch track
16.04.2011
WORLD SUPERBIKE NETHERLANDS - ROUND 3     Assen  Qualifying 1  - 15/04/2011Yamaha World Superbike riders Marco Melandri and Eugene Laverty experienced the historic Assen TT race track on their YZF-R1’s for the first time in this morning’s free practice session. Sunshine and a dry track proved ideal conditions to try the mac more >>
BMW Motorrad Motorsport - WSBK - Assen - Qualifying Practice 1
15.04.2011
Weather conditions: Mostly cloudy.Temperature: Air: 16 – 20 °C, Track: 18 – 21 °CNumber of riders participating: 21 from 12 teamsFastest lap Free Practice: Jakub Smrz (Effenbert-Liberty Racing) 1:37.159 minFastest lap Qualifying Practice 1: Jakub Smrz (Effenbert-Liberty Racing) 1:36.058 min  more >>
BMW Motorrad Motorsport - WSBK - Assen - Preview
11.04.2011
The Netherlands – Assen. 15 – 17 April 201103 of 13 race weekends The BMW Motorrad Motorsport team is preparing for the third race weekend of the 2011 FIM Superbike World Championship, which will be held from 15th to 17th April at the iconic “TT Circuit” in Assen (NDL). Assen is the capital of the Dutch prov more >>
Outstanding One Two Race Win for Yamaha ParkinGO Team
28.03.2011
Luca Scassa and Chaz Davies provided an impressive performance to deliver the first one two race win of the 2011 World Supersport Championship for the Yamaha ParkinGO Team. Scassa delivered his second victory of the season on his 2009 more >>
Spectacular First Race Victory for Marco Melandri at Donington Park
28.03.2011
WORLD SUPERBIKE UNITED KINGDOM - ROUND 2 Donington Park    Spectacular First Race Victory for Marco Melandri Yamaha World Superbike rider Marco Melandri provided an extraordinary performance today in Donington Park delivering hi more >>
BMW Motorrad Motorsport - WSBK - Donington - Rennen
27.03.2011
Wetter: Bewölkt, aber trocken.Temperatur: Luft: 7 – 10 °C, Strecke: 6 – 16 °CTeilnehmende Fahrer: 19 von 12 Teams   Schnellste Runde Rennen 1: Noriyuki Haga (PATA Racing Team Aprilia) 1:2 more >>
BMW Motorrad Italia Superbike Team Donington Park race
27.03.2011
The BMW Motorrad Italia Superbike team have scored ten points overall from the second round of the Superbike World Championship 2011. more >>
BMW Motorrad Motorsport - WSBK - Donington - Qualifying Practice 1
25.03.2011
Weather conditions: Sunny with some scattered clouds.Temperature: Air: 15 – 20 °C, Track: 19 – 22 °CNumber of riders participating: 20 from 12 teamsFastest lap Free Practice: Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) 1:29.978 minFastest lap Qualifying Practice 1: Max Biaggi (Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team) 1:28.794 min  more >>
BMW Motorrad Italia Superbike Team - WSBK - Donington Park - Day 1
25.03.2011
Change in direction of results for the BMW Motorrad Italia Superbike team during the first day of the second round of the Superbike World Championship, with the race taking place on Sunday at the English circuit of Doningto more >>
BMW Motorrad Italia Superbike Team - WSBK - Donington Park - Preview
23.03.2011
Next Sunday at Donington Park, the BMW Motorrad Italy Superbike team will face the second round of the Superbike World Championship 2011.Unfortunately, James Toseland cannot line up for the team. He more >>

Kategorien

2001-2021 automobilsport.com full copyright