Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Customer Racing  GT America St Pete review

Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Customer Racing GT America St Pete review

27.02.2022: Entries Secure Overall Race Win, Two Masters Class Victories, Five Podium Finishes and a GT4 Pole in Successful GT America Powered by AWS Season-Opening SRO Weekend in St. Petersburg George Kurtz and the No. 04 Riley Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT3 T


Entries Secure Overall Race Win, Two Masters Class Victories, Five Podium Finishes and a GT4 Pole in Successful GT America Powered by AWS Season-Opening SRO Weekend in St. Peters
burg
 


George Kurtz and the No. 04 Riley Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT3 Team Victorious Saturday in Their First Weekend of SRO GT America Powered by AWS Competition Together in St. Petersburg
 
 
 

Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Customer Racing team Riley Motorsports and driver George Kurtz came home winners in their first SRO GT America powered by AWS race weekend together with a victory at the Grand Prix of St. Petersburg on Saturday. After a third place GT3 and overall finish in Friday’s opening race, Kurtz took control of Saturday’s second and final 40-minute sprint of the weekend from the start for a flag-to-flag victory on the 1.8-mile street and airport runway circuit.



 Kurtz’s victory anchored a successful weekend of season-opening SRO competition for Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Customer Racing teams that included a pair of Masters Class victories by David Askew in the No. 63 DXDT Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3, five total podium finishes and a GT4 class pole in qualifying.



Kurtz’s Saturday win also led a Mercedes-AMG motorsport customer team one-two sweep with Scott Smithson crossing the finish line in the No. 08 DXDT Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 just 4.755 seconds behind Kurtz.
 


In Friday’s race, Smithson held second from his outside front-row starting position from the drop of the green flag and staved off a persistent challenge from Kurtz throughout the race for a second-place finish.
 


Kurtz took Friday’s checkered flag in third but his fastest race lap in the 40-minute sprint put him on pole for Saturday’s finale. He took a lead he wouldn’t lose at the race start but the going wasn’t as easy for Smithson.
 
 
 
Just behind Kurtz and the other leaders heading into Turn1, Smithson planned to hug the inside of the corner but was forced to the outside when a multiple-car melee unfolded just in front. Smithson avoided contact but was in sixth place by the time he gathered his car up and got back up to speed.
 


Undeterred, Smithson spent the remainder of the race steadily climbing up the running order. He finally moved to second in the late stages but never had a chance to mount a challenge for the victory before time ran out.
 


Askew not only swept the Masters victories but also battled in the overall top five Friday and Saturday. He finished just behind Smithson and Kurtz in fourth overall on Friday and completed the overall top five in fifth place on Saturday.
 


The GT America GT4 class saw Chris Gumprecht break through for a career-best second-place finish in his No. 79 RENNtech Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT4 on Saturday. The runner-up showing was Gumprecht’s second career podium appearance after finishing third in a GT4 Sprint race in his SRO debut at VIRginia International Raceway (VIR) in 2020.
 
 
 
The early GT4 pacesetter was Chris Cagnazzi in his No. 39 Stephen Cameron Racing Mercedes-AMG GT4. Cagnazzi won the GT4 pole for Friday’s opening round only to be eliminated in a contact incident in that day’s race just after taking the green flag. Cagnazzi was uninjured but his car sustained too much damage to continue and was retired for the weekend.
 


Next up for Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Customer Racing teams in the SRO GT America powered by AWS competition is Rounds 3 and 4 of the series at Sonoma Raceway, April 15 – 17. The Sonoma weekend also marks the season debut for both the SRO Fanatec GT World Challenge America powered by AWS and Pirelli GT4 America SprintX series.
 


George Kurtz, Driver – No. 04 Riley Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT3
: “This is great. The Riley Motorsports guys did a great job and gave me a great car. We felt we had speed but qualifying didn't go our way with some issues. Once we were in front today, we were able to extend the gap and drive away. It's a testament to the team and the hard work we put in during the offseason.


I'm very happy with coming away with a podium yesterday and the win today. I love the Mercedes-AMG GT3. It's a great car for a multitude of tracks. It took us a few of sessions to just get the right setup, and we came into today with a couple of changes that made the difference. You could see the results as we were able to drive away and starting out front was critical. At St. Pete or any street course, it's really difficult to pass. We were smart in traffic, we got out in the lead with a great start, and we never looked back.”
 
 
 
Scott Smithson, Driver – No. 08 DXDT Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3:
“It was kind of mayhem in the first corner Saturday. My vision was to pop to the inside, but there was carnage all around me and I ended up having to go outside. A bunch of cars, even some GT4 cars, got inside me.


It was a lot of work to catch back up, but I finally got there. It was a hard-fought second today, but the Mercedes-AMG GT3 felt awesome, DXDT Racing is awesome – they are such a great group – and I love this series too. It’s a lot of fun. We got our car to where we needed it this weekend to the point, I am really comfortable with the balance. I am really looking forward to the season.”
 



David Askew, Driver – No. 63 DXDT Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3:
“I love street racing and love a street race venue with all the access. It gets me energized to see all the fans and see all of their smiles. This year our watchword is ‘focus’ and we are a smaller, leaner and meaner group. We are focusing just on the performance of the cars and the drivers, and I think it showed at this event. We were fast out of the blocks, had good pace, had good cars and everything worked flawlessly.


The Mercedes-AMG GT3 is a superior piece of machinery, and it is a pleasure running it. We have been running it for years and have a great relationship with Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Customer Racing. With all of the tremendous support they give us, I think we have a real good chance to take a championship this year and that’s what we are after.”
 
 

 
Chris Gumprecht, Driver – No. 79 RENNtech Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT4: “I really needed this. I had so many misses last year and never made it to the podium, but I feel I can do even better than this. I hope there is more of this to come. I want to take this as far as I can go. I love the Mercedes-AMG GT4. It is just incredible, I love the platform, love the car and love RENNtech.


 Everything was just fantastic. This was my first street course race, but I was here in 2020 when the stewards came around on Friday and told us to go home because of the onset of COVID-19. Just before today’s race, my number one mechanic said, ‘it’s good to see the crowds back’ and I said, ‘you took the words right out of my mouth.’ It’s great to be here, fantastic weekend and a huge learning experience.”
 
 


 
Adam Saal - photos Mercedes

Permanent-URL: http://www.automobilsport.com/mercedes-amg-motorsport-racing-gt-america-st-pete-review---234601.html

27.02.2022 / MaP

More News

CrowdStrike Taking to the Streets in St. Petersburg
22.02.2022
· SRO America opener for CrowdStrike: Official Internet and Cloud Security Provider· CrowdStrike Racing’s Kurtz, Moses set for GT America doubleheader· First race for CrowdStrike Racing by Riley Motorsports Mercedes-AMG· CJ Moses returns as a CrowdStrike Racing driver with GMG Racing more >>
GT World Challenge America: Turner Motorsport shows team spirit at Sebring.
05.10.2021
From a sporting perspective, the race weekend in the SRO GT World Challenge America at Sebring (USA) was a disappointment for Turner Motorsport. However, the way the racing played out allowed them to give a perfect display of team s more >>
Lamborghini makes history with 100th GT3 victory thanks to another GT World Challenge America success
07.06.2021
Lamborghini recorded an historic 100th GT3 race victory courtesy of K-PAX Racing’s Jordan Pepper and Andrea Caldarelli in the third round of the Fanatec GT World Challenge America powered by AWS season at Virginia International Raceway. The series leaders achieved the landmark result during the opening race of the weekend, their fourth victory in five races at the start of the season to c more >>
Two More Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Customer Racing Victories on Sunday Cap Outstanding Weekend
07.06.2021
...of SRO America Championships Competition at VIRginia International Raceway Winward Racing Secures First Fanatec GT World Challenge Victory with Russell Ward and Mikael Grenier in No. 33 more >>
GT/GT4/TC America: One-two-three for the BMW M2 CS Racing in Texas
04.05.2021
In the USA, the second event of the season in GT America, GT4 America and TC America was held on the first weekend in May. The venue was the “Circuit Of The Americas“ in Austin, in the US state of Texas. In the two races held in each of the series, BMW teams again enjoyed numerous successes. In GT America, Sean Quinlan (USA) celebrated the GT4 class win in ra more >>
Fanatec GT World Challenge America: Podium for Turner Motorsport
04.05.2021
The Fanatec GT World Challenge America powered by AWS held its second event of the season on the first weekend in May at the “Circuit Of The Americas” in Austin (USA).   Saturday’s race was dominated by heavy rain, which made f more >>
Lamborghini continues perfect start to GT World Challenge America season at COTA
03.05.2021
    Caldarelli and Pepper extend overall points advantage with victory and second place    Sister K-PAX car of Venturini and Lewis claim maiden series win in entertaining Race 2   Lamborghini remains unb more >>
Double Mercedes victory in GT America
10.03.2021
The first ever GT America Sprint Series weekend, also held at Sonoma Raceway, went perfectly for DXDT Racing, with George Kurtz (USA) in the number 04 Mercedes-AMG GT3 posting a lights-to-flag victory in both 40-minute races.  Murillo Racing fielding a Merc more >>
Strong start to title defence in the GT World Challenge
10.03.2021
  Customer Racing team DXDT Racing ensured a successful start to the 2021 Fanatec GT World Challenge Powered by AWS with a class victory at the first event of the GT World Challenge America season at Sonoma Raceway in California. Col more >>
Lamborghini records double victory on GT World Challenge America debut
08.03.2021
Lamborghini kicked off its maiden Fanatec GT World Challenge America powered by AWS campaign in the best possible fashion by completing a clean sweep of victories at Sonoma Raceway, California, thanks to the #3 K-PAX Racing Lamborghini Huracán GT3 Evo duo of Factory Driver Andre more >>
Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Customer Racing Teams Sweep GT America Debut Doubleheader
08.03.2021
...and Secure Fanatec GT World Challenge and Pirelli GT4 Class Victories Sunday at Sonoma Raceway No. 04 DXDT Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Driven by George Kurtz Victorious in Inaugural SRO GT America Powered by AWS Doubleheader at Sonoma Raceway more >>
Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Customer Racing Teams Secure Overall GT America Victory
07.03.2021
....and Three Second-Place Class Finishes in Opening Day of 2021 SRO America Championships Competition at Sonoma Raceway George Kurtz Wins Inaugural SRO GT America Powered by AWS Race at Sonoma Raceway in No. 04 DXDT Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3   more >>
Aston Martin Vantage GT4 entered for 2021 US GT world challenge in record numbers
06.03.2021
    10 Aston Martin Vantages entered across three SRO US series    Partners Heart of Racing expand programme to include Pirelli GT4 America    Aston Martin Vantage GT3 entered in the GT America series for first time    Aston Martin Racing aiming to build on multiple title success of 202 more >>
GMG Racing Is Full Throttle Into Opening Weekend At Sonoma Raceway
06.03.2021
At long last - GMG Racing is ready to blast the first race weekend of 2021 into the stratosphere! So begins the race season in Sonoma, California. Wine Country, you ask? Sure, but there’s no better place than our home state to get the season of sort-of-n more >>
MINI John Cooper Works Team Enters 2021 SRO TC America Season Following Back-To-Back Manufacturers Titles
04.03.2021
MINI USA and the MINI John Cooper Works Team (MINI JCW Team) have announced their participation in the upcoming 2021 SRO TC America series, beginning at Sonoma Raceway on March 5.     In its continued partnership with Indianapol more >>
TR3 Racing Returns to GT World Challenge America with Lamborghini
01.03.2021
After making a dramatic change to its program in the off-season, TR3 Racing is eager to go racing again in 2021 as the Florida-based team prepares for its return to the Fanatec GT World Challenge America Powered by AWS. more >>
Provisional Indianapolis 8 Hour entry revealed
03.09.2020
  - North America’s Intercontinental GT Challenge Powered by Pirelli round takes place on October 2-4- Bentley’s championship leaders Gounon/Pepper/Soulet head star driver list- Packed weekend also features IndyCar Serie more >>
Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Customer Racing Teams at Road America
31.08.2020
....Secure Two Class Victories, a Pair of Pole Positions and a One-Two Pro-Am Podium Sweep Across Two Different SRO Motorsport Group America Racing Series at Road America Mercedes-AMG GT3 Team DXDT Rac more >>
MINI John Cooper Works Team Returns to Racing at VIR After Strong Season Opener
10.07.2020
MINI USA and the MINI John Cooper Works Team are gearing up for an exciting return to racing this weekend as the 2020 SRO TC America season returns to action at Virginia International Raceway in Alton, Va. The races are scheduled for Friday, July 10, at 2:15 pm ET, Saturday, July 11, at 11:30 am ET and Sunday, July 12, at 11:20 am more >>
GMG Eager To Resume Racing At VIR
09.07.2020
After an almost 4-month hiatus from motorsports activity, GMG Racing is excited to jump back into the Sportscar Racing world with 4 Entries in the SRO GT America series. With 4 entries across 3 categories, it will be a busy one for the team, more >>
Podium number 500 for the Ferrari 488 GT3 at Cota
10.03.2020
The record-breaking figures of the Ferrari 488 GT3 are enriched by a new milestone thanks to the podium number 500 won this weekend by the Squadra Corse car, driven by Martin Fuentes and Rodrigo Baptista.Impressive percentages. more >>
GT4/TC America: Wins and podiums for the BMW teams
09.03.2020
The BMW M240i Racing kicked off the TC America season in Austin (USA) with a top four shut-out. In the first TC class race at Circuit of The Americas (COTA) on Saturday, James Clay (USA, BimmerWorld) in the #36 car was the first to cross the finish line. He was followed by Toby Gra more >>
Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Customer Racing Team DXDT Racing Earns Pair of Overall Podium
09.03.2020
Showings and Three Top-Five Finishes in GT World Challenge America Season-Opening Race at Circuit of The Americas No. 04 DXDT Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Piloted by Kurtz and Braun Secu more >>
All-New BMW M2 CS Racing to be Displayed During Circuit of the Americas Weekend
05.03.2020
BMW Customer Racing teams will take the green flag for the start of the 2020 SRO Touring Car (TC) America season on March 7 - 8 at Circuit of the Americas (COTA), in Austin, Texas. BMW returned to SRO TC America competition in 2016 and in the past four seasons has reig more >>
Mercedes AMG - Title defence begins in the GT World Challenge at Cota
04.03.2020
The new season of the GT World Challenge Powered by AWS gets underway this weekend (6 - 8 March) at the Circuit of The Americas with the first two races of the GT World Challenge America. The name of the sponsor may be new, but the concept remains the same. more >>
Blancpain GT World Challenge America: First place for Turner Motorsport in Las Vegas
22.10.2019
Naoto Takeda and Takuya Shirasaka (both JPN) missed out on a top-ten finish at the final race weekend of this season’s Blancpain GT World Challenge America in Las Vegas (USA). The Turner Motorsport duo in the #96 BMW M6 GT3 crossed the finish line in twelfth place overall in the Saturday race. This was enough to earn them first place in the Am class. more >>
Squadra Corse Ferrari Tackles New Challenge at Road America
21.09.2019
Winning every race it entered this season in the Am category of the Blancpain GT World Challenge America, Squadra Corse will take on a new challenge this weekend in the penultimate round of the season at Ro more >>
Two-Car DXDT Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Team Ready for Blancpain GT World Challenge America Doubleheader
19.09.2019
...This Weekend at Road America - David Askew and Ryan Dalziel Co-Drive No. 63 USALCO/DXDT Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 in Road America Doubleheader - George Kurtz and Colin Braun Share No. 04 CrowdStrike/AWS/Accel/DXDT Mercedes-AMG GT3 in Twin 90-Minute Races Saturday and Sunday   more >>
Squadra Corse Scores Fourth Weekend Sweep at Watkins Glen
03.09.2019
Squadra Corse completed its fourth weekend sweep of the season in Blancpain GT World Challenge America Am competition, winning a pair of races at historic Watkins Glen International this weekend. Racing from strength to strengt more >>
DXDT Racing Takes Three Top-Five Finishes in Four Races at WGI
03.09.2019
....at this Weekend’s Blancpain GT World Challenge Watkins Glen International presented by CrowdStrike - George Kurtz and Colin Braun Co-Drive No. 04 CrowdStrike/AWS/DXDT Mercedes-AMG GT3 to Fourth Saturday and Fifth Sunday- David Askew and Ryan Dalziel Co-Drive No. 63 USALCO/DXDT Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 to Fifth on Saturday  more >>
DXDT Racing Back in Action This Weekend at Blancpain GT World Challenge WGI
29.08.2019
Blancpain GT World Challenge Watkins Glen International presented by CrowdStrike - David Askew and Ryan Dalziel Co-Drive No. 63 USALCO/DXDT Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3- George Kurtz and Colin Braun Co-Drive No. 04 CrowdStrike/AWS/DXDT Mercedes-AMG GT3 more >>
Blancpain GT Weekend out West for Squadra Corse and TR3 Racing
14.06.2019
Squadra Corse Racing with Ferrari and TR3 Racing with Ferrari closed out the first half of the 2019 Blancpain GT World Challenge America season with a trip West to Sonoma Raceway. Squadra Co more >>
Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Customer Racing Team Murillo Racing Scores Fourth Race Win of 2019 Season at Sonoma Raceway
11.06.2019
....in the No. 34 Murillo Racing Mercedes-AMG GT4 Christian Szymczak and Kenny Murillo Cap Pole and Double Podium Weekend with Sunday Race Win at Sonoma in Murillo Racing Mercedes-AMG GT4  Mercedes-AMG Mo more >>
Blancpain GT World Challenge America: BMW Power at Sonoma.
11.06.2019
Fans at Sonoma (USA) were treated to a feast of racing action this weekend. The GT4 America Sprint, GT4 American SprintX, GT4 West, and TC America series each held two races on the support programme for the Blancpain GT World Challenge America. BMW Customer Racing teams enjoyed great success. Eleven BMW cars took the start in TC America and pulled off a sensational top-t more >>
DXDT Racing Brings Four-Straight Podium Finishes to Blancpain GT World Challenge America Doubleheader
06.06.2019
...This Weekend at Sonoma Raceway- David Askew Co-Drives No. 63 USALCO/Security National Mortgage Mercedes-AMG GT3 With One-Race Ryan Dalziel Replacement Mike Skeen DXDT Racing brings a four-race run of podium more >>
TR3 Racing and Squadra Corse Sonoma Bound
06.06.2019
Squadra Corse Racing with Ferrari and TR3 Racing with Ferrari will be looking to continue their winning ways in Blancpain GT World Challenge America competition this weekend with a pair of events at Sonoma Raceway. more >>
Byrne and Cosmo Join TR3 Racing with Ferrari
31.05.2019
Guy Cosmo and Patrick Byrne will partner for TR3 Racing with Ferrari in the upcoming Blancpain GT World Challenge America event at Sonoma Raceway on June 7-9.The pair will co-drive the No. 31 Torxen Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo in a pair of 90-minute races, more >>
DXDT Racing Brings Double-Podium Momentum to Blancpain GT World Challenge America Race Weekend
16.05.2019
...at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park- Pair of Podium Finishes One Race Weekend Ago Have DXDT Racing’s Two-Car Mercedes-AMG GT3 Pro-Am Team Primed for More Success- David Askew and Ryan Dalziel Co-Drive No. 63 USALCO/Security National Mortgage Mercedes-AMG GT3 more >>
First North American Double-Win Weekend for Mercedes-AMG GT4 at VIRginia International Raceway (VIR)
02.05.2019
Mercedes-AMG GT3 Entries Secure Two Podium Finishes in VIR Blancpain GT World Challenge America Races Murillo Racing and Matt Fassnacht Sweep Pirelli GT4 America Races at VIRginia International Raceway in No. 53 Mercedes-AMG GT4  more >>

Kategorien

2001-2022 automobilsport.com full copyright